DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed on 5/20/2026, has been fully considered and entered. Claims 1, 31, 32, 35 and 45 are amended, claims 2, 6, 10, 11, 13, 16-25, 27-30, 33 and 34 are canceled, and claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 12, 14, 15, 26, 31, 32 and 35-45 are currently pending.
Claim objection has been withdrawn for claim 45 based on amendment.
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn for 101 withdrawn for claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 12, 14, 15, 26, 31, 32 and 35-45 based on amendment and remarks/arguments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that any combination of D1 and D2 does not explicitly teach amended independent claim 1 that recite, executing, by a first edge computing apparatus proximal to the respective location, respective executable code instructions configured to operate on the respective semantic-location-data to enable determination, in accordance with the respective predetermined validity-time-interval, of respective time-valid location-based information, wherein the respective time-valid location-based information is valid within the respective predetermined validity-time-interval and relates to any information relevant to the respective cell, including a claim of presence.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. D1 teaches dynamic proof of location can provide consensus on whether an event or agent is verifiably at a certain point in time and space by producing a digital authentication certificate that is designed to be fraud proof, called a presence claim. Examiner asserts that when the event or agent is verifiably at a certain point in time and space by presence claim (Page 4), and since the claim has not specify how the time-valid location-based information is related to any information relevant the respective cell, this teaching by D1 may be interpreted as the respective time-valid location-based that relates to any information relevant to the respective cell, including a claim of presence. Further, D1 teaches In the Proof of Location protocol these nodes are known as Zone Anchors and or Zone Authorities, depending on the ability to host a full node. Together, these entities form a Zone, local to an area that offers location verification services to the market while also bonding tokens to insure accordance with the protocol rules (Page 4). FOAM is designed to be a solution for blockchain based economies. Smart contracts that will execute autonomous code with geospatial data as an input will require secure location verification (Page 3). In addition, D2 teaches for each position, we want to provide a physical location as well as all semantic locations, which covers this position (Page 22). Therefore, the combination of D1 and D2 teaches amended independent claim 1 that recite, executing, by a first edge computing apparatus proximal to the respective location, respective executable code instructions configured to operate on the respective semantic-location-data to enable determination, in accordance with the respective predetermined validity-time-interval, of respective time-valid location-based information, wherein the respective time-valid location-based information is valid within the respective predetermined validity-time-interval and relates to any information relevant to the respective cell, including a claim of presence.
Applicant further argues that independent claims 31, 32 and 35 have been amended to include similar features as discussed above with respect to claim 1, and would overcome claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103. Additionally, the dependent claims would also overcome claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Independent claims 31, 32 and 35 recite similar features as claim 1, and therefore are rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1. Dependent claims would also remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 12, 14, 15, 26, 31, 32 and 35-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "relates to any information relevant to" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claims 31, 32 and 35 recites similar features and therefore are rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above. Claims 3-5, 7-9, 12, 14, 15, 26 and 36-45 depend either directly or indirectly from independent claims 1, 31, 32 and 35, and do not clarify the indefiniteness indicated above, and are therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 15, 26, 31, 32, 35 and 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foamspace Corp (“FOAM Technical Whitepaper Draft 0.4 Contents”, 4 May 2018, Pages 1-32, XP055862154 and D1 hereinafter), as cited by applicant, in view of Roth J, (“Flexible Positioning for Location-Based Services”, Internet Citation, 3 June 2003, XP002388044 and D2 hereinafter), as cited by applicant.
Regarding claim 1, D1 teaches a computer-implemented method for providing time-valid location-based information (Page 4; Proof of Location is a fraud proof authentication certificate that serves as a first class object on the blockchain and represents that an entity was at a certain space in time), the method comprising:
for an environment, defining a plurality of cells (Page 4; a Zone is a quorum that maintains clock sync for a given region), each cell comprising:
a respective location with a range based on a geographical extent of the respective cell within the environment (Page 17; for a given Zone the validator set is effectively the collection of Zone Authorities that share a “location horizon” – the maximum spherical range of the physical radio signal. Each Zone Authority has a location horizon, and the overlap in horizons constrains the possible validator set for a Zone);
a respective predetermined validity-time-interval (Page 3; Dynamic Proof of Location can provide consensus on whether an event or agent is verifiably at a certain point in time and space by producing a digital authentication certificate that is designed to be fraud proof, called a Presence Claim. Zone Anchor beacon running the FOAM protocol will need to provide accurate time synchronization for a set period of time. Page 4; Proof of Location is a fraud proof authentication certificate that serves as a first class object on the blockchain and represents that an entity was at a certain space in time. Examiner asserts that authentication certificate generally that the proof of location has validity time interval); and
respective location-data relevant to the respective location (Page 5; localization refers to the problem of identifying a node’s spatial position within some defined coordinate system. In order to compute a given spatial position, geolocation systems integrate signal information from a set of spatially distributed sources, solving for either transmission distance or angular incidence parameters. Within Wireless Sensor Networks (WSN) the location of beacons, or nodes, in the network is very important for the monitoring and collection of data, as events logged by a sensor occur within a certain location bound. Figure 1 and Page 6; triangulation and positioning); and
executing, by a first edge computing apparatus proximal to the respective location (Page 4; In the Proof of Location protocol these nodes are known as Zone Anchors and or Zone Authorities, depending on the ability to host a full node. Together, these entities form a Zone, local to an area that offers location verification services to the market while also bonding tokens to insure accordance with the protocol rules), respective executable code instructions (Page 3; FOAM is designed to be a solution for blockchain based economies. Smart contracts that will execute autonomous code with geospatial data as an input will require secure location verification) configured to operate on the respective location-data to enable determination, in accordance with the respective predetermined validity-time-interval, of respective time-valid location-based information (Page 4; a Service Level Agreement (SLA) is the form of staking smart contract Zone Anchors and Zone Authorities bond to in order to offer location verification services. Page 20; FOAM token incentivizes users to contribute computation and radio power towards secure location services in a way that aligns with financing alternative means of obtaining secure localization and location verification standards that are suitable for autonomous smart contracts. Page 24; A proof-of-location is the following data, contained in a smart contract: 1. A geohash with precision score from its validator(s); 2. A reference to the Zone Authority that issued the presence-claim; 3. A reference to a valid presence claim; 4. A computational proof of the correctness of the presence-claim);
wherein the respective time-valid location-based information is valid within the respective predetermined validity-time-interval and relates to any information relevant to the respective cell, including a claim of presence (Page 3; Dynamic Proof of Location can provide consensus on whether an event or agent is verifiably at a certain point in time and space by producing a digital authentication certificate that is designed to be fraud proof, called a Presence Claim. Zone Anchor beacon running the FOAM protocol will need to provide accurate time synchronization for a set period of time. Page 4; Proof of Location is a fraud proof authentication certificate that serves as a first class object on the blockchain and represents that an entity was at a certain space in time. Page 24; A proof-of-location is the following data, contained in a smart contract: 1. A geohash with precision score from its validator(s); 2. A reference to the Zone Authority that issued the presence-claim; 3. A reference to a valid presence claim; 4. A computational proof of the correctness of the presence-claim).
D1 does not explicitly teach respective semantic-location-data relevant to the respective location. In an analogous art, D2 teaches respective semantic-location-data relevant to the respective location (Page 22; for each position, we want to provide a physical location as well as all semantic locations, which covers this position). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 because the use of semantic location in blockchain technology can enhance the interoperability and traceability of data across different systems.
Regarding claim 31, claim 31 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1. Further, D1 teaches a system (Page 4; a Proof of Location system is needed as a crucial infrastructure) configured to provide time-valid location-based information for an environment (Page 4; Proof of Location is a fraud proof authentication certificate that serves as a first class object on the blockchain and represents that an entity was at a certain space in time); wherein the system comprises a first edge computing apparatus proximal to the respective location (Page 4; a Zone Anchor is a device with a radio transmitter, a local clock, and a public key).
Regarding claim 32, claim 32 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1. Further, D1 teaches a computer program product comprising a non-transitory memory device including one or more computer code instructions configured to perform functions (Page 3; FOAM is designed to be a solution for blockchain based economies. Smart contracts that will execute autonomous code with geospatial data as an input will require secure location verification. Page 20; FOAM token incentivizes users to contribute computation and radio power towards secure location services in a way that aligns with financing alternative means of obtaining secure localization and location verification standards that are suitable for autonomous smart contracts. Page 24; A proof-of-location is the following data, contained in a smart contract: 1. A geohash with precision score from its validator(s); 2. A reference to the Zone Authority that issued the presence-claim; 3. A reference to a valid presence claim; 4. A computational proof of the correctness of the presence-claim).
Regarding claim 35, claim 35 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1. Further D1 teaches an apparatus comprising a processor and a memory device including instructions, the memory device and the instructions configured to, with the processor, cause the apparatus to provide functions (Page 3; FOAM is designed to be a solution for blockchain based economies. Smart contracts that will execute autonomous code with geospatial data as an input will require secure location verification. Page 20; FOAM token incentivizes users to contribute computation and radio power towards secure location services in a way that aligns with financing alternative means of obtaining secure localization and location verification standards that are suitable for autonomous smart contracts. Page 24; A proof-of-location is the following data, contained in a smart contract: 1. A geohash with precision score from its validator(s); 2. A reference to the Zone Authority that issued the presence-claim; 3. A reference to a valid presence claim; 4. A computational proof of the correctness of the presence-claim).
Regarding claims 3 and 41, the combination of D1 and D2 teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 31, as described above. Further, D1 teaches wherein: the first edge computing apparatus is configured to execute the respective code instructions on the respective location-data (Page 4; a Service Level Agreement (SLA) is the form of staking smart contract Zone Anchors and Zone Authorities bond to in order to offer location verification services. Page 20; FOAM token incentivizes users to contribute computation and radio power towards secure location services in a way that aligns with financing alternative means of obtaining secure localization and location verification standards that are suitable for autonomous smart contracts. Page 24; A proof-of-location is the following data, contained in a smart contract: 1. A geohash with precision score from its validator(s); 2. A reference to the Zone Authority that issued the presence-claim; 3. A reference to a valid presence claim; 4. A computational proof of the correctness of the presence-claim) to generate a signed certificate comprising the respective time-valid location-based information for the cell (Page 3; Dynamic Proof of Location can provide consensus on whether an event or agent is verifiably at a certain point in time and space by producing a digital authentication certificate that is designed to be fraud proof, called a Presence Claim. Page 4; A Presence Claim (PC) is a set of counter-signed Requests with the same Nonce, which is intended to provide enough data to constitute an exact localization. The presence claim is subject to fraud proof computation before being authenticated as a proof); a second edge computing apparatus proximal to the respective location (Page 4; the Verifiers) is configured to: execute the respective code instructions on the respective location-data to generate validation information (Page 4; the Verifiers are computational engines that incentivized to check the time logs of Zones for fraud and finalize Proofs of Location); and when the signed certificate matches the validation information to within a predetermined threshold, validate the signed certificate to provide a validated signed certificate (Page 23; Verifiers in the FOAM Proof of Location protocol are any computational entity that is able to read the blockchain data produced by Zones and check Presence Claims for fraud proof. What a verifier is looking for is if the “SLA’s” of Zones are being fulfilled, further they are conducting fraud proofs to see if the data is accurate, if the clocks were in fact in sync and if their corresponding location claims can be proven from the published data).
In addition, D2 teaches one or more of: second-semantic-location-data relevant to the second cell; a second-device within the second cell; third-semantic-location-data relevant to the third cell; and a third-device within the third cell (Page 22; for each position, we want to provide a physical location as well as all semantic locations, which covers this position). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 because the use of semantic location in blockchain technology can enhance the interoperability and traceability of data across different systems.
Regarding claims 4 and 42, the combination of D1 and D2 teaches all of the limitations of claims 3 and 41, as described above. Further, D1 teaches wherein, for a respective cell of the plurality of cells: the respective location-data comprises presence-data representative of a first-indication-of-presence of a client-device within the geographic extent of the respective cell (Page 5; localization refers to the problem of identifying a node’s spatial position within some defined coordinate system. In order to compute a given spatial position, geolocation systems integrate signal information from a set of spatially distributed sources, solving for either transmission distance or angular incidence parameters. Within Wireless Sensor Networks (WSN) the location of beacons, or nodes, in the network is very important for the monitoring and collection of data, as events logged by a sensor occur within a certain location bound. Figure 1 and Page 6; triangulation and positioning); the signed certificate is representative of the first-indication-of-presence of the client-device within the geographic extent of the respective cell (Page 3; Dynamic Proof of Location can provide consensus on whether an event or agent is verifiably at a certain point in time and space by producing a digital authentication certificate that is designed to be fraud proof, called a Presence Claim. Page 4; Proof of Location is a fraud proof authentication certificate that serves as a first class object on the blockchain and represents that an entity was at a certain space in time); the validation information is representative of a second-indication-of-presence of the client-device within the geographic extent of the respective cell (Page 23; Verifiers in the FOAM Proof of Location protocol are any computational entity that is able to read the blockchain data produced by Zones and check Presence Claims for fraud proof. What a verifier is looking for is if the “SLA’s” of Zones are being fulfilled, further they are conducting fraud proofs to see if the data is accurate, if the clocks were in fact in sync and if their corresponding location claims can be proven from the published data)); the signed certificate matches the validation information when an overlap between the first-indication-of-presence and the second-indication-of-presence satisfies an overlap criterion (Page 23; What a verifier is looking for is if the “SLA’s” of Zones are being fulfilled, further they are conducting fraud proofs to see if the data is accurate, if the clocks were in fact in sync and if their corresponding location claims can be proven from the published data). Page 24; a proof-of-location is the following data, contained in a smart contract: 3 a reference to a valid presence claim, and 4 a computational proof of the correctness of the presence-claim); and when the signed certificate matches the validation information, the validated signed certificate comprises location-data representative of the location of the client-device within the respective cell (Page 24; a proof-of-location is the following data, contained in a smart contract: 3 a reference to a valid presence claim, and 4 a computational proof of the correctness of the presence-claim).
In addition, D2 teaches respective semantic-location-data (Page 22; for each position, we want to provide a physical location as well as all semantic locations, which covers this position). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 because the use of semantic location in blockchain technology can enhance the interoperability and traceability of data across different systems.
Regarding claims 5 and 43, the combination of D1 and D2 teaches all of the limitations of claims 4 and 42, as described above. Further, D1 teaches further comprising, when the validated signed certificate comprises location-data representative of the location of the client-device within the respective cell (Page 3; Dynamic Proof of Location can provide consensus on whether an event or agent is verifiably at a certain point in time and space by producing a digital authentication certificate that is designed to be fraud proof, called a Presence Claim. Page 24; a proof-of-location is the following data, contained in a smart contract: 3 a reference to a valid presence claim, and 4 a computational proof of the correctness of the presence-claim), providing the client-device with access to cell-information relevant to the respective cell (Page 4; A proof of Location system is needed as a crucial infrastructure in our decentralized future and it can open new marketplaces of privacy preserving location data. Use cases may arise supply chain’s, real time mapping for autonomous vehicles, Internet of Things data markets and location based consumer applications that integrates with blockchain required secure proof).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of D1 and D2 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, D1 teaches wherein: defining a blockchain (Page 4; blockchain) operative on an edge computing network comprising the first edge computing apparatus (Page 4; a Zone Anchor is a device with a radio transmitter, a local clock, and a public key); defining a smart contract for a cell of the plurality of cells (Page 3; FOAM is designed to be a solution for blockchain based economies. Smart contracts that will execute autonomous code with geospatial data as an input will require secure location verification. Page 20; FOAM token incentivizes users to contribute computation and radio power towards secure location services in a way that aligns with financing alternative means of obtaining secure localization and location verification standards that are suitable for autonomous smart contracts), wherein the smart contract comprises (i) the respective executable code instructions for the cell (Page 3; FOAM is designed to be a solution for blockchain based economies. Smart contracts that will execute autonomous code with geospatial data as an input will require secure location verification), and (ii) a scope configured to define an executability condition for the respective executable code instructions (Pages 3-4; Proof of Location is intended to utilize token staking incentives to grow network coverage and utilize a verifier set for fraud proofs, and enforce protocol rules. Safety deposits allow for attributable byzantine behavior in the form of slashing conditions); executing, using the first edge computing apparatus, the smart contract on the respective semantic-location-data for the cell (Page 3; FOAM is designed to be a solution for blockchain based economies. Smart contracts that will execute autonomous code with geospatial data as an input will require secure location verification) to provide a signed certificate comprising the respective time-valid location-based information for the cell (Page 3; Dynamic Proof of Location can provide consensus on whether an event or agent is verifiably at a certain point in time and space by producing a digital authentication certificate that is designed to be fraud proof, called a Presence Claim. Page 4; A Presence Claim (PC) is a set of counter-signed Requests with the same Nonce, which is intended to provide enough data to constitute an exact localization. The presence claim is subject to fraud proof computation before being authenticated as a proof); and writing the signed certificate into the blockchain (Pages 4 and 24; Shared State Machine is maintained by the Zone Authorities in a Zone on the state of synchronicity. A consensus algorithm is used to vote on writing to the shared state machine).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of D1 and D2 teaches all of the limitations of claim 15, as described above. Further, D1 teaches wherein the edge computing network comprises the second edge computing apparatus (Page 4; the Verifiers), the method comprising: executing, using the second edge computing apparatus, the smart contract on the respective location-data to provide validation information (Page 3; FOAM is designed to be a solution for blockchain based economies. Smart contracts that will execute autonomous code with geospatial data as an input will require secure location verification); and when the validation information matches the signed certificate to within a predetermined threshold (Page 23; Verifiers in the FOAM Proof of Location protocol are any computational entity that is able to read the blockchain data produced by Zones and check Presence Claims for fraud proof. What a verifier is looking for is if the “SLA’s” of Zones are being fulfilled, further they are conducting fraud proofs to see if the data is accurate, if the clocks were in fact in sync and if their corresponding location claims can be proven from the published data), writing a validated signed certificate, comprising the respective time-valid location-based information, to the blockchain (Pages 4 and 24; Shared State Machine is maintained by the Zone Authorities in a Zone on the state of synchronicity. A consensus algorithm is used to vote on writing to the shared state machine).
In addition, D2 teaches respective semantic-location-data (Page 22; for each position, we want to provide a physical location as well as all semantic locations, which covers this position). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 because the use of semantic location in blockchain technology can enhance the interoperability and traceability of data across different systems.
Claims 7-9, 12, 14, 36-40, 44 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2, as applied in the claims above, further in view of Brown et al. (US 20210281510 A1 and Brown hereinafter).
Regarding claims 7, 36 and 44, the combination of D1 and D2 teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 35 and 31, as described above. Further, D1 teaches wherein the plurality of cells comprises: a first cell (Page 4; a Zone is a quorum that maintains clock sync for a given region); a second cell (Page 4; a Zone is a quorum that maintains clock sync for a given region); a third cell (Page 4; a Zone is a quorum that maintains clock sync for a given region).
The combination of D1 and D2 does not explicitly teach wherein: the first cell is related to the second cell by a first mapping; the second cell is related to the third cell by a second mapping; the first cell is related to the third cell by a third mapping comprising a product of the first mapping with the second mapping; and the third cell comprises a union of the first cell and the second cell. In an analogous art, Brown teaches wherein: the first cell is related to the second cell by a first mapping; the second cell is related to the third cell by a second mapping; the first cell is related to the third cell by a third mapping comprising a product of the first mapping with the second mapping (Paragraph 0118; In basic category theory, an algebra on the category, C, is any functor from C to the category of sets, Set. The utility of algebra is this: We can develop a purely abstract category that gives a complete characterization of the theory of groups, say. Any particular group will be given by a functor from the abstract category to Set. Such a functor is understood to give semantics to the theory that is the category. It turns out that, not only is Set a category, it also enjoys the structural properties required of an operad. By analogy, therefore, the operad functor, F: O.fwdarw.Set may be understood as an algebra on the operad O. There is another category of interest, Rel, whose morphisms—rather than being functions between sets—are relations between sets. Because of the usual relation between functions and relations, there is a faithful embedding of Set in Rel. As it happens, Rel also has the structure of an operand. A functor of the form G: O.fwdarw.Rel is a relational algebra on O. By mathematical basic category theory definition, morphism means first set [which is interpreted as cell in the claims] is related to second set by first relationship, second set is related to third set by second relationship, and first set is related to third set by a product of first and second relationship); and the third cell comprises a union of the first cell and the second cell (Paragraphs 0113 and 0118; disjoint union). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1, D2 and Brown because there is a need to build High-Resolution virtualization models that take into account use cases and to provide the basis of novel software-defined network infrastructure (Brown, Paragraph 0006).
Regarding claims 8, 37 and 45, the combination of D1 and D2 teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 35 and 31, as described above. Further, D1 teaches wherein the plurality of cells comprises: a first cell (Page 4; a Zone is a quorum that maintains clock sync for a given region); a second cell (Page 4; a Zone is a quorum that maintains clock sync for a given region); a third cell (Page 4; a Zone is a quorum that maintains clock sync for a given region).
The combination of D1 and D2 does not explicitly teach wherein the third cell is formed from an operation on the first cell and the second cell. In an analogous art, Brown teaches wherein the third cell is formed from an operation on the first cell and the second cell (Paragraph 0118; In basic category theory, an algebra on the category, C, is any functor from C to the category of sets, Set. The utility of algebra is this: We can develop a purely abstract category that gives a complete characterization of the theory of groups, say. Any particular group will be given by a functor from the abstract category to Set. Such a functor is understood to give semantics to the theory that is the category. It turns out that, not only is Set a category, it also enjoys the structural properties required of an operad. By analogy, therefore, the operad functor, F: O.fwdarw.Set may be understood as an algebra on the operad O. There is another category of interest, Rel, whose morphisms—rather than being functions between sets—are relations between sets. Because of the usual relation between functions and relations, there is a faithful embedding of Set in Rel. As it happens, Rel also has the structure of an operand. A functor of the form G: O.fwdarw.Rel is a relational algebra on O. By mathematical basic category theory definition, morphism means first set [which is interpreted as cell in the claims] is related to second set by first relationship, second set is related to third set by second relationship, and first set is related to third set by a product of first and second relationship. Paragraphs 0113 and 0118; disjoint union). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1, D2 and Brown because there is a need to build High-Resolution virtualization models that take into account use cases and to provide the basis of novel software-defined network infrastructure (Brown, Paragraph 0006).
Regarding claims 9 and 38, the combination of D1 and D2 teaches all of the limitations of claims 8 and 37, as described above. Further, D1 teaches wherein the operation relates to: (i) the geographical extent; (ii) the predetermined validity-time-interval; or (iii) a combination of the geographical extent and the predetermined validity-time-interval, of the first cell and of the second cell (Page 17; for a given Zone the validator set is effectively the collection of Zone Authorities that share a “location horizon” – the maximum spherical range of the physical radio signal. Each Zone Authority has a location horizon, and the overlap in horizons constrains the possible validator set for a Zone. Page 3; Dynamic Proof of Location can provide consensus on whether an event or agent is verifiably at a certain point in time and space by producing a digital authentication certificate that is designed to be fraud proof, called a Presence Claim. Zone Anchor beacon running the FOAM protocol will need to provide accurate time synchronization for a set period of time. Page 4; Proof of Location is a fraud proof authentication certificate that serves as a first class object on the blockchain and represents that an entity was at a certain space in time. Examiner asserts that authentication certificate generally that the proof of location has validity time interval).
The combination of D1 and D2 does not explicitly teach wherein the operation comprises at least one of: a union of the first cell and the second cell; an intersection of the first cell and the second cell; a relative complement of the first cell in the second cell; a symmetric difference of the first cell and the second cell; a distance between the first cell and the second cell; and a selection of a pair of points from the first cell and the second cell respectively. In an analogous art, Brown teaches wherein the operation comprises at least one of: a union of the first cell and the second cell; an intersection of the first cell and the second cell; a relative complement of the first cell in the second cell; a symmetric difference of the first cell and the second cell; a distance between the first cell and the second cell; and a selection of a pair of points from the first cell and the second cell respectively (Paragraph 0118; In basic category theory, an algebra on the category, C, is any functor from C to the category of sets, Set. The utility of algebra is this: We can develop a purely abstract category that gives a complete characterization of the theory of groups, say. Any particular group will be given by a functor from the abstract category to Set. Such a functor is understood to give semantics to the theory that is the category. It turns out that, not only is Set a category, it also enjoys the structural properties required of an operad. By analogy, therefore, the operad functor, F: O.fwdarw.Set may be understood as an algebra on the operad O. There is another category of interest, Rel, whose morphisms—rather than being functions between sets—are relations between sets. Because of the usual relation between functions and relations, there is a faithful embedding of Set in Rel. As it happens, Rel also has the structure of an operand. A functor of the form G: O.fwdarw.Rel is a relational algebra on O. By mathematical basic category theory definition, morphism means first set [which is interpreted as cell in the claims] is related to second set by first relationship, second set is related to third set by second relationship, and first set is related to third set by a product of first and second relationship. Paragraphs 0113 and 0118; disjoint union). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1, D2 and Brown because there is a need to build High-Resolution virtualization models that take into account use cases and to provide the basis of novel software-defined network infrastructure (Brown, Paragraph 0006).
Regarding claims 12 and 39, the combination of D1/D2/Brown teaches all of the limitations of claims 7 and 37, as described above. Further, D1 teaches wherein, when a validated signed certificate comprises location-data representative of a presence of a first-client-device within the first cell (Page 3; Dynamic Proof of Location can provide consensus on whether an event or agent is verifiably at a certain point in time and space by producing a digital authentication certificate that is designed to be fraud proof, called a Presence Claim. Page 4; A Presence Claim (PC) is a set of counter-signed Requests with the same Nonce, which is intended to provide enough data to constitute an exact localization. The presence claim is subject to fraud proof computation before being authenticated as a proof), providing the first-client-device access (Page 4; A proof of Location system is needed as a crucial infrastructure in our decentralized future and it can open new marketplaces of privacy preserving location data. Use cases may arise supply chain’s, real time mapping for autonomous vehicles, Internet of Things data markets and location based consumer applications that integrates with blockchain required secure proof).
In addition, D2 teaches one or more of: second-semantic-location-data relevant to the second cell; a second-device within the second cell; third-semantic-location-data relevant to the third cell; and a third-device within the third cell (Page 22; for each position, we want to provide a physical location as well as all semantic locations, which covers this position). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 because the use of semantic location in blockchain technology can enhance the interoperability and traceability of data across different systems.
Regarding claims 14 and 40, the combination of D1/D2/Brown teaches all of the limitations of claims 12 and 39, as described above. Further, D1 teaches wherein the third cell comprises an intermediate-cell, different than the first cell and the second cell, the method comprising: when the validated signed certificate comprises location-data representative of a presence of the first-client-device within the first cell (Page 3; Dynamic Proof of Location can provide consensus on whether an event or agent is verifiably at a certain point in time and space by producing a digital authentication certificate that is designed to be fraud proof, called a Presence Claim . Page 4; A Presence Claim (PC) is a set of counter-signed Requests with the same Nonce, which is intended to provide enough data to constitute an exact localization. The presence claim is subject to fraud proof computation before being authenticated as a proof), providing first-cell-functionality to the first-client-device (Page 4; A proof of Location system is needed as a crucial infrastructure in our decentralized future and it can open new marketplaces of privacy preserving location data. Use cases may arise supply chain’s, real time mapping for autonomous vehicles, Internet of Things data markets and location based consumer applications that integrates with blockchain required secure proof); and when the validated signed certificate comprises an intermediate signed certificate that comprises intermediate-location-data representative of a presence of the first-client-device within the intermediate cell (Page 3; Dynamic Proof of Location can provide consensus on whether an event or agent is verifiably at a certain point in time and space by producing a digital authentication certificate that is designed to be fraud proof, called a Presence Claim . Page 4; A Presence Claim (PC) is a set of counter-signed Requests with the same Nonce, which is intended to provide enough data to constitute an exact localization. The presence claim is subject to fraud proof computation before being authenticated as a proof), providing an intermediate-cell-functionality to the first-client-device (Page 4; A proof of Location system is needed as a crucial infrastructure in our decentralized future and it can open new marketplaces of privacy preserving location data. Use cases may arise supply chain’s, real time mapping for autonomous vehicles, Internet of Things data markets and location based consumer applications that integrates with blockchain required secure proof), wherein the intermediate-cell-functionality is different than the first-cell-functionality (Page 4; a computational proof of the correctness of the presence-claim. Page 4; Zone Anchor, Zone authority; Verifiers are computational engines that incentivized to check the time logs of Zones for fraud and finalize Proofs of Location. The verifiers need to have at least the same computational power as that of an Authority inside a zone. Because Verifiers compute locations from the time stamped data they can be said to be mining triangulations).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Winton et al. (WO 2021030877 A1) discloses a system for tokenization of geospatial area.
Nasrulin et al., “A Robust Spatio-Temporal Verification Protocol for Blockchain”, 20 October 2018, ICIAP: International Conference on Image Analysis and Processing, 17th International Conference, Naples, Italy, September 9-13, 2013. Proceedings; Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg, Pages 52-67, XP047491659, ISBN: 078-3-642-17318-9, discloses applications collect spatio-temporal data for providing location-based servicethat use Blockchain technology to enable trustless reliable decentralized applications
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JING GAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647