DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 8, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hasenberg et al. (US 10, 040,584 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Hasenberg et al. discloses a hydrogen sulfide producing device for producing hydrogen sulfide by reacting sulfur vapor with hydrogen gas, the hydrogen sulfide producing device comprising: a reactor (reaction vessel, 110) having a liquid sulfur filling part inside; a first heating unit (internal heating system, 180) for heating liquid sulfur to produce the sulfur vapor; and a hydrogen supply member (hydrogen containing gas inlet, 130) connected to the reactor (110) (see Abstract; figure 1; and column 3, line 58 through column 5, line 58).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wölfert et al. (US 7,833,509 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Wölfert et al. discloses a hydrogen sulfide producing device for producing hydrogen sulfide by reacting sulfur vapor with hydrogen gas, the hydrogen sulfide producing device comprising: a reactor (1) having a liquid sulfur filling part inside; a first heating unit (tube, 21) for heating liquid sulfur to produce the sulfur vapor; and a hydrogen supply member (feed device, 11) connected to the reactor (1) (see Abstract; figure 1; and column 13, line 58 through column 15, line 56).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP H03103311 A.
Regarding claim 1, JP H03103311 A discloses a hydrogen sulfide producing device for producing hydrogen sulfide by reacting sulfur vapor with hydrogen gas, the hydrogen sulfide producing device comprising: a reactor (1) having a liquid sulfur filling part inside; a first heating unit (heat exchange, 5) for heating liquid sulfur to produce the sulfur vapor; and a hydrogen supply member (pipeline, 4) connected to the reactor (1) (see Abstract; figure 1; and description).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art references are JP H03103311 A and Li et al. (CN 102500285 B)
Regarding claim 2, JP H03103311 A discloses a hydrogen sulfide producing device wherein an interior of the reactor (1) includes a heat-insulating member (heat exchanging part, 14); and separately reactor (9) includes a catalyst support member (see Abstract; figure 1; and description).
Li et al. discloses a hydrogen sulfide producing device (a sulfureted hydrogen synthesis device) wherein an interior of the reactor includes a catalyst support member (catalyst bed layer) provided above the liquid sulfur filling part, the hydrogen sulfide producing device further comprises a second heating unit (each section catalyst bed layer are provided with at least more than two layers of heat exchange coil (21)) for heating a space formed by the catalyst support member, and an inner wall of the reactor (see Abstract; figures 1-3 and paragraphs 0028-0039).
The prior art references fail to disclose or suggest the combination of a hydrogen sulfide producing device wherein an interior of the reactor includes a catalyst support member provided above the liquid sulfur filling part and a heat-insulating member provided above the catalyst support member, the hydrogen sulfide producing device further comprises a second heating unit for heating a space formed by the catalyst support member, the heat-insulating member, and an inner wall of the reactor, and an upper space and a lower space of the heat-insulating member communicate with each other in a part of the heat-insulating member or around the heat-insulating member.
Claims 3-5 depend on claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, JP H03103311 A discloses a hydrogen sulfide producing device wherein an interior of the reactor (1) includes a heat-insulating member (heat exchanging part, 14); and separately reactor (9) includes a catalyst support member (see Abstract; figure 1; and description).
Li et al. discloses a hydrogen sulfide producing device (a sulfureted hydrogen synthesis device) wherein an interior of the reactor includes a catalyst support member (catalyst bed layer) provided above the liquid sulfur filling part, the hydrogen sulfide producing device further comprises a second heating unit (each section catalyst bed layer are provided with at least more than two layers of heat exchange coil (21)) for heating the catalyst support member and an upper space of the catalyst support member (see Abstract; figures 1-3 and paragraphs 0028-0039).
The prior art references fail to disclose or suggest the combination of a hydrogen sulfide producing device wherein an interior of the reactor includes a catalyst support member provided above the liquid sulfur filling part and a heat-insulating member provided between the catalyst support member and the liquid sulfur filling part, the hydrogen sulfide producing device further comprises a second heating unit for heating the catalyst support member and an upper space of the catalyst support member, and an upper space and a lower space of the heat-insulating member communicate with each other in a part of the heat-insulating member or around the heat-insulating member.
Claims 7-9 depend on claim 6.
Regarding claim 10, JP H03103311 A discloses a hydrogen sulfide producing device further comprising: a liquid sulfur supply member connected to the liquid sulfur filling part; and separately reactor (9) includes a catalyst support member (see Abstract; figure 1; and description).
Li et al. discloses a hydrogen sulfide producing device (a sulfureted hydrogen synthesis device) wherein an interior of the reactor includes a catalyst support member (catalyst bed layer) provided above the liquid sulfur filling part, the hydrogen sulfide producing device further comprises a second heating unit (each section catalyst bed layer are provided with at least more than two layers of heat exchange coil (21)) for heating the catalyst support member and an upper space of the catalyst support member (see Abstract; figures 1-3 and paragraphs 0028-0039).
The prior art references fail to disclose or suggest the combination of a hydrogen sulfide producing device
JP H03103311 A fails to disclose or suggest a device wherein the hydrogen sulfide producing device further comprises a second heating unit for heating a space formed by the catalyst support member and an inner wall of the reactor.
Claims 11-14 depend on claim 10.
Conclusion
NATASHA E. YOUNG
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/NATASHA E YOUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774