DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds the maximum length of 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102006848 B1 (Park) in view of Larson in US Patent 2931373.
Regarding Claims 1 and 3, Park teaches a vehicular rooftop tent comprising: a first cover part (100) including a first plate-shaped member (110); a second cover part (200) including a second plate-shaped member (210) and rotatably connected to the first cover part; a tent portion (500) coupled to the first cover part and the second cover part; and a waterproof part (400) in which one end is fastened to the first cover part (at 412), wherein the rooftop tent has a folded mode (Fig. 2) in which the first cover part and the second cover part are arranged side by side and the tent part is accommodated in a space between the first cover part and the second cover part, and an unfolded mode (Fig. 1) in which the tent part is unfolded by rotating one of the first cover part and the second cover part about a hinge connection part (300) with respect to the other, and the waterproof part comprising: a fastening rod (412) detachably fastened to an edge (121) of the first cover part in the folding mode state; a waterproof fabric (410) in which one end is connected to the fastening rod and closes a space between the first cover part and the second cover part; and a tightening module 420) provided at the other end of the waterproof fabric.
Park is silent on the details of the tightening module. Larson teaches a waterproof fabric (22) including a tightening module (37) provided at a lower end of the waterproof fabric and selectively tightening or releasing the other end of the waterproof fabric, wherein the tightening module includes a belt receiving part (40) provided along the edge of the other end of the waterproof fabric, including a space inside, and open at both ends (at 44) and a belt (42) accommodated inside the belt receiving part and having both ends exposed (46) to the outside of the belt receiving part to be selectively connected or separated. Larson further teaches that the waterproof fabric is provided to wrap underneath the corners and protect a bottom surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park by using a tightening module as taught by Larson in order to provide a securable and easily released closure for the waterproof fabric. Park, as modified by Larson would thereby have the cover capable of covering at least a portion of the bottom surface of the second cover portion in the folding mode state.
Regarding Claim 4, Park, as modified, teaches that the first cover part includes a first edge frame (121) having a shape capable of inserting the fastening rod and having a waterproof member fastening passage (122) in which a gap is formed along a longitudinal direction, and the fastening rod is inserted into the waterproof member fastening passage to fasten the waterproof part to the first edge frame.
Regarding Claim 5, Park, as modified, teaches a first corner frame (132/134) covering at least one of corner portions of the first plate-shaped member, and a second corner frame (232/234) covering at least one of corner portions of the second plate-shaped member, and wherein the first corner frame includes: an outer fastening member (132) fastened to a corner portion of the first plate-shaped member; and an inner fastening member (134) fastened to the outer fastening member and the first plate-shaped member such that at least a portion of the outer fastening member is stacked, and wherein the second corner frame includes: a tent outer fastening member (232) fastened to a corner portion of the second plate-shaped member to be in contact with one surface of the second plate-shaped member; and a tent inner fastening member (234) fastened to the tent outer fastening member so that at least a portion of the tent outer fastening member is stacked.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as modified, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zenger in US Patent 751132. Park, as modified, is silent on the use of a buckle on the belt. Zenger teaches a belt (A) with a hook part (H) provided at one end of the belt, and a ring part (I) provided at the other end of the belt and into which the hook part is inserted, and wherein at least one of the hook part and the ring part is provided to be adjustable (at F) in the belt. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park, as modified, by adding a buckle as taught by Zenger in order to allow the user to securely cinch the belt in place.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Christensen, Cassetta, Wang et al., Zhou, Park et al., Beavers, Dunn et al., Chang et al., Heacock, Yan et al., and Ferguson teach rooftop or vehicle tents.
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636