DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group VIII, claims 29-33 and the species election of the 15th recited structure of claim 30 for formula (1) in the reply filed on May 11, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Based on the results of the search, the species election requirement between the species of the 15th recited compound and the 18th recited compound of claim 30 has been withdrawn.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 11-17, 19, 21, and 29-33 remain pending in the current application, claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 11-17, 19, and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Claims 29-33 have been considered on the merits.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 11-17, 19, 21, and 29-33 are currently pending.
Claims 1-2, 6, 11-12,14-15, 17, and 29 are amended.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 11-17, 19, and 21 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 3-5, 7-8, 10, 18, 20, 22-28 are cancelled.
Claims 31-33 are new
Claims 29-33 have been considered on the merits.
Drawings
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities: there is description of color in the Specification of Fig. 4A in 0018; Fig. 5C in 0019 and the various colors cannot be distinguished from each other since the figures are in black and white.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the use of trademarks.
The use of the terms Neurobasal™ in 0005-0006, 0059, 00488-00489, 00494; N2 B-27™ Supplement in 0017, 00513-00514; Bio-Gel® P100 in 00492; StemCyte® in 00493; StemExpress® in 00493; FACS-Aria™ II in 00497-00498; Histopaque® 1119 in 00498; eBioscience® in 00500; BioLegend® in 00500; FlowJo® software in 00500 and Table 1; Diva® software in Table 1; Illumina NextSeq® in 00502; Illumina HiSeq® in 00502; Cell Ranger™ in 00503; Ready-SET-GO!® Elisa kits in 00508; Zeiss® LSM-780 in 00508, which are a trade names or a marks used in commerce, have been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: minor grammatical error in claims.
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: The periods after the roman numerals denoting the different components need to be replaced with a parenthesis. For example, in claim 31 "i." should be corrected to "i)" in line 2. In other words, a claim should only contain one period. Please see MPEP 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is appreciated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2009/0131336 A1) .
With respect to claims 29 and 30, Cho teaches a cell culture medium containing a compound, 4-pyrimidin-2-yl-piperazin-1-yl)-(5-thiophen-2-yl-isoxazol-3-yl)-methanone or derivative 39 having the same structure as the 15th recited compound of Formula 1 in claim 30 (Table 6, 0293 and 00393).
Derivative 39 15th recited structure
Therefore, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ying et al. (WO 2020/076739 A1, published Apr. 16, 2020) (ref. of record) as evidenced by Selleckchem.com (“SKL2001, Wnt/β-catenin Agonist” product data sheet, accessed online Jul. 8, 2026, copyright 2013).
With respect to claims 29 and 31, Ying teaches a cell culture medium for granulocyte/macrophage progenitors (GMPs) containing a growth factor, a B-Raf kinase inhibitor and a Wnt activator and/or a GSK-3 inhibitor (0005). With respect to claims 29 and 30, Ying teaches the Wnt activator is SKL 2001 which has the same structure as the 18th recited compound of Formula 1 in claim 30 (0051) as evidenced by Selleckchem.com (pg. 1) and the first structure of Fig. 1 of the instant application.
SKL 2001 18th recited structure
Therefore, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying et al. (WO 2020/076739 A1, published Apr. 16, 2020) as evidenced by Selleckchem.com (“SKL2001, Wnt/β-catenin Agonist” product data sheet, accessed online Jul. 8, 2026, copyright 2013) in view of Webster et al. (US 2016/0303124 A1).
With respect to claims 29 and 31, Ying teaches a cell culture medium for granulocyte/macrophage progenitors (GMPs) containing a growth factor, a B-Raf kinase inhibitor and a Wnt activator and/or a GSK-3 inhibitor (0005). With respect to claims 29 and 30, Ying teaches the Wnt activator is SKL 2001 which has the same structure as the 18th recited compound of Formula 1 in claim 30 (0051) as evidenced by Selleckchem.com (pg. 1) and the first structure of Fig. 1 of the instant application.
SKL 2001 18th recited structure
With respect to claim 32, Ying teaches the growth factor is stem cell factor (SCF) (0005). With respect to claim 33, Ying teaches the B-raf kinase inhibitor is GDC-0879, PLX4032, GSK2118436, BMS-908662, LGX818, PLX3603, RAF265, RO5185426, vemurafenib, PLX8394, SB590885, and any combination thereof.
Ying does not teach the medium containing a mitogen-activated kinase interacting protein kinases 1 and 2 (Mnk1/2) inhibitor as recited in claim 31.
However, Webster teaches a composition of immune cells containing a Mnk1/2 inhibitor (0015 and 0074). Webster teaches the immune cells can be granulocytes and macrophages (0072 and 0228). In addition, Webster teaches that a MNK-specific inhibitor increases the activity of immune cells and enhances immune cell response (0015 and 0074).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the cell culture medium of Ying to include a Mnk1/2 inhibitor for the benefit of increasing the activity of the cells as taught by Webster. It would have been obvious to include additional components to the medium of Ying that are known to be beneficial to granulocytes such as a Mnk1/2 inhibitor for increasing the cell’s activity as taught by Webster. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification to the cell culture medium taught by Ying, since Webster teaches MNK-specific promoters are beneficial in maintaining the activity of immune cells.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,006,513 B2 as evidenced by Selleckchem.com (“SKL2001, Wnt/β-catenin Agonist” product data sheet, accessed online Jul. 8, 2026, copyright 2013). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims encompass those of the issue patent. In addition, both claim cell culture media.
With respect to instant claims 29 and 30, claims 1 and 14 of US Pat. No. 12,006,513 B2 recite the limitations of a cell culture medium containing the 18th recited structure of instant claim 30. Claim 14 recites that the Wnt activator is SKL 2001 which has the same structure as the 18th recited compound of Formula 1 in claim 30 as evidenced by Selleckchem.com (pg. 1) and the first structure of Fig. 1 of the instant application.
SKL 2001 18th recited structure
Claims 29 and 30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 19 of copending Application No. 18/660178 as evidenced by Selleckchem.com (“SKL2001, Wnt/β-catenin Agonist” product data sheet, accessed online Jul. 8, 2026, copyright 2013). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims encompass those of the copending patent application. In addition, both claim cell culture media. With respect to instant claims 29 and 30, claims 11 and 19 of Appl. No. 18/660178 recite the limitations of a cell culture medium containing the 18th recited structure of instant claim 30 as evidenced by Selleckchem.com (pg. 1) and the first structure of Fig. 1 of the instant application.
SKL 2001 18th recited structure
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hanna et al. (US 2017/0275593 A1)
With respect to claims 31 and 32, Hanna teaches a cell culture medium for pluripotent stem cells containing growth factors including stem cell factor (SCF) and a B-Raf kinase inhibitor (0016, 0018, 0022, 0391, 0408). With respect to claim 33, Hanna teaches the B-Raf kinase inhibitor is SB590885 (0385-0386).
Wu et al. "Wnt10b promotes hair follicles growth and dermal papilla cells proliferation via Wnt/β-Catenin signaling pathway in Rex rabbits." Bioscience reports 40.2 (2020): BSR20191248.
With respect to claims 29 and 30, Wu teaches a cell culture medium containing the Wnt/β-Catenin Pathway inhibitor, XAV939 (pg. 2 para. 4).
Examiner Contact Information
/EMILY A CORDAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632