Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by JP 2018-530853.
853 teaches a superconductor conductor (para. 0001) comprising a stranded wire having a plurality of metal element wires twisted together (stranded wire; para. 0036) one or more tape shaped superconductor wires each having a superconductor layer formed on a surface of a flexible substrate and being spirally wound around the stranded wire along its longitudinal direction (para. 0074, 0092), a flexible smoothing layer disposed between the stranded wire and the superconductor wires so as to cover the periphery of the stranded wire along its longitudinal direction (para. 0036-0037).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2018-530853 in view of Takayasu (US 2014/0243207).
853 teaches a product as described above in claim 12, but fails to teach a winding wound with the superconductor conductor.
Takayasu, however, teaches a superconducting coil magnet wherein superconductor cables are wound (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of orindary skill in the art to provide the superconductor conductor cables of 853 wound in a winding in order to produce a superconducting magnet as taught by Takayasu.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11, 13-14, 16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the dimensions of the metal element wires and the stranded wire as recited in claim 1 in combination with the limitations of claim 1.
Specifically, the closest prior art of record US 2004/0200637 teaches stranded wire having a diameter of 16.5 mm (Table II).
The prior art of record fails to teach the superconductor wires having a bending angle of 12 or less along the outer circumference of the stranded wire in combination with the limitations of claim 13.
Conclusion
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735