DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 as amended in applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 17 November 2023 are presently under consideration.
Claims 22-25 are cancelled by applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 17 November 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 5-12, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the solid dielectric electrolyte (200) comprises a range of materials composed by…” where applicant’s use of the open ended transitional phrase “comprises” followed by the transitional phrase “composed of” which normally excludes any element or ingredient not specified in the claim renders the scope of claim 2 indefinite as it’s not clear if the solid dielectric electrolyte is open or closed from further comprising additional materials. Furthermore, the recitation “wherein the solid dielectric electrolyte (200) comprises a range of materials” renders the claim indefinite as it’s unclear how many of these materials of the range the electrolyte requires to meet the limitations of claim 2.
As such, the scope of claim 2 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the solid electrolyte dielectric (200) comprises two interfaces with two similar or dissimilar conductors (500, 600)” where it’s unclear if the two similar or dissimilar conductors are the same as the inner conductor and outer conductor recited in claim 1 or new conductors. As such, the scope of claim 3 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 5 recites “the two similar or dissimilar (500, 600) conductors” but claim 5 and the claims from which claim 5 depend lack antecedent basis for the two similar or dissimilar (500, 600) conductors and it’s unclear what conductors are being referenced. It’s not clear if the two similar or dissimilar conductors are the same as the inner conductor and outer conductor recited in claim 1 or new conductors. As such, the scope of claim 5 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 6 recites “the two similar or dissimilar (500, 600) conductors” but claim 6 and the claims from which claim 6 depend lack antecedent basis for the two similar or dissimilar (500, 600) conductors and it’s unclear what conductors are being referenced. It’s not clear if the two similar or dissimilar conductors are the same as the inner conductor and outer conductor recited in claim 1 or new conductors. As such, the scope of claim 6 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 7 recites “the two similar or dissimilar (500, 600) conductors” but claim 7 and the claims from which claim 7 depend lack antecedent basis for the two similar or dissimilar (500, 600) conductors and it’s unclear what conductors are being referenced. It’s not clear if the two similar or dissimilar conductors are the same as the inner conductor and outer conductor recited in claim 1 or new conductors. As such, the scope of claim 7 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the ferroelectric electrolyte comprises Li-based (1-x)Li.sub.2.99Ba.sub.0.005ClO+xLi.sub.3-2y-zM.sub.yH.sub.zClO, with 0≤x≤1” but this renders claims 8 indefinite as claim 8 does not define the ranges of y or z and it’s unclear what scope of materials are thus encompassed by the recited Li-based electrolyte.
Claim 9 recites “wherein the ferroelectric electrolyte comprises Na-based (1-x)Na.sub.2.99Ba.sub.0.005ClO+xNa.sub.3-2y-zM.sub.yH.sub.zClO, with 0≤x≤1 and 0≤z≤2” but this renders claims 9 indefinite as claim 9 does not define the range of y and it’s unclear what scope of materials are thus encompassed by the recited Na-based electrolyte.
Claim 10 recites “coaxial cell according to claim 1, comprising two interfaces with two similar or dissimilar semiconductors or a conductor and a semiconductor” where it’s unclear if the two interfaces between the two similar or dissimilar semiconductors or a conductor and a semiconductor or another unrecited material or layer that is forming the two interfaces with the two similar or dissimilar semiconductors or a conductor and a semiconductor.
Additionally, it’s unclear if the recited “a conductor” is a new conductor or also means to reference one of the inner or outer conductor recited in claim 1.
For these reasons, the scope of claim 10 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 11 recites “the conductor comprises Al and the semiconductor comprises Si” which renders claim 11 indefinite as it’s not clear which conductor (inner conductor or outer conductor) is being referenced by the recitation “the conductor comprises Al” and it’s not clear what semiconductor is being referenced as claim 11 lacks antecedent basis for the recitation of “the semiconductor”.
Claim 12 recites “wherein the ferroelectric electrolyte comprises Li-based, Li.sub.2.99Ba.sub.0.005ClO or a Li.sub.2.99Ba.sub.0.005ClO+Li.sub.3-2y-zM.sub.yH.sub.zClO mixture” which renders claim 12 indefinite as claim 12 does not define the ranges of x, y or z and it’s unclear what scope of materials are thus encompassed by the recited Li-based electrolyte.
Claim 12 recites “the conductor” but it’s not clear which conductor (inner conductor or outer conductor) is being referenced by the recitation “the conductor” and thus claim 12 is rendered indefinite.
Further regarding the claim 12 recitation “the conductor comprises Li or a Li alloy such as the solid solution of Mg in lithium or Li on magnesium” the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Further regarding the claim 12 recitation “an insulator such as air, vacuum, polymer, plasticizer, ionic liquid, insulating tape, glue, or binder”, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 16 recites “wherein the self-charge is ensured or enhanced under a gradient temperature from −30 to 250° C” but it’s not clear what “self-charge” is being referenced in the claim as no self-charge was previously recited and thus it’s unclear what self-charge function is being referenced in claim 16. As such, the scope of claim 16 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 17 recites “wherein the self-charge is ensured or enhanced under a variable temperature fluctuation over time from −30 to 250° C” but it’s not clear what “self-charge” is being referenced in the claim as no self-charge was previously recited and thus it’s unclear what self-charge function is being referenced in claim 17. As such, the scope of claim 17 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 10, 18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by KWON et al (US 2012/0009331).
Regarding claim 1 KWON discloses a coaxial cell comprising: a solid electrolyte dielectric (200) (KWON, [0036], [0012]-[0013] Fig. 1A see: electrolyte layer 130 as a solid electrolyte including materials such as PEO, polyphenylene oxide (PPO), polyetherimide (PEI), polyethersulfone (PES), or PVAc which are dielectric) arranged between two similar or dissimilar nearly coaxial or coaxial materials comprising an inner conductor (100) and an outer conductor (300) (KWON, [0036], Fig. 1A see: electrolyte 130 between tubular current collector 120 and current collector 110).
Regarding claim 3 KWON discloses coaxial cell according to claim 1, wherein the solid electrolyte dielectric (200) comprises two interfaces with two similar or dissimilar conductors (500, 600) which physically share the same axis (KWON, [0036], Fig. 1A see: electrolyte 130 contacting cathode active material 121 and anode active material 111).
Regarding claim 10 KWON discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, comprising two interfaces with two similar or dissimilar semiconductors or a conductor and a semiconductor (KWON, [0030], [0032], [0036], Fig. 1A see: cathode active material 121 and anode active material 111 having interfaces with current collector 120 and current collector 110 and formed of semiconductors where current collectors 110, 120 are also conductors or semiconductors).
Regarding claim 18 KWON discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, comprising coaxial layers associated in series or external circuit conductor wires (KWON, Fig. 1A see: the layers 110, 111, 130, 121, 120, and 140 are deposited in series (sequence) in a coaxial manner).
Regarding claim 20 KWON discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, comprising L, I, W, U, C, T, circular, squared or rectangular cross-sections structured shape arrangements (KWON, Fig. 1A see: coaxial cell having a circular cross-section).
Regarding claim 21 KWON discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, comprising a structural arrangement as a load-carrying beam or a structural element ([0036] Fig. 1A see: the battery includes a protective coating 140 and thus is considered to include a structural element).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al (US 2012/0009331) as applied to claims 1, 3, 10, 18, and 20-21 above, and further in view of Sun et al (“Ferroelectric Materials as a Ceramic Filler in Solid Composite Polyethylene Oxide‐Based Electrolytes” 2000 J. Electrochem. Soc. 147 2462-2467).
Regarding claim 4 KWON discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the solid electrolyte dielectric (200) comprises a ferroelectric electrolyte, comprising two interfaces with two similar or dissimilar insulators.
Sun discloses adding ferroelectric materials (BaTiO3, PbTiO3, and LiNbO3) to solid polyethylene Oxide-Based Electrolytes to provide long-term interfacial stability (Sun, see Abstract).
Sun and KWON are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of electrochemical cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the cell of KWON in view of Sun such that the solid electrolyte (polyethylene Oxide) of KWON further comprises ferroelectric materials (BaTiO3, PbTiO3, and LiNbO3) as in Sun as Sun teaches this provides long-term interfacial stability (Sun, see Abstract). Furthermore, by such a modification, the solid electrolyte dielectric of KWON is thus considered to comprise a ferroelectric electrolyte and as each of the electrode materials of KWON which contact the electrolyte can include insulating polymer binders (KWON, [0010]-[0011]), the ferroelectric electrolyte of modified KWON thus comprises two interfaces with two similar or dissimilar insulators.
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10, 12-13, 15-18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2018/0123165), and further in view of Goodenough et al (US 2019/0115162).
Regarding claim 1 Park discloses a coaxial cell comprising:
a solid electrolyte (200) arranged between two similar or dissimilar nearly coaxial or coaxial materials comprising an inner conductor (100) and an outer conductor (300) (Park, [0019] Fig. 1A-1B see: fiber battery cell comprising inner fiber core 110 acting as an anode and outer conductive layer 130 as a cathode with electrolyte layer 120 such as a glassy solid electrolyte therebetween).
Park discloses the solid electrolyte can be a glassy solid electrolyte such as a lithium ion conducting glassy material but doesn’t explicitly disclose said electrolyte is a solid electrolyte dielectric.
Goodenough teaches a electrochemical cell including a solid electrolyte including a glass electrolyte formed as a solid electrolyte dielectric ([0037], [0097] Fig. 1 see: energy-powered electrochemical cell 10 including a solid metal polymer/glass electrolyte 30 including a solid glass electrolyte 40 formed as a dry, amorphous-ceramic dielectric electrolyte). Goodenough teaches such an electrolyte allows the cell to function to harvest energy from a heat source including in vehicles such as the wings and upper fuselage of airplanes (see Abstract and para [0090]).
Goodenough and Park are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of electrochemical cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the cell of Park in view of Goodenough such that the solid electrolyte of Park is a solid electrolyte dielectric as taught by Goodenough ([0037], [0097] Fig. 1 see: energy-powered electrochemical cell 10 including a solid metal polymer/glass electrolyte 30 including a solid glass electrolyte 40 formed as a dry, amorphous-ceramic dielectric electrolyte) as Park teaches the electrolyte can be a glassy solid electrolyte and the cell is incorporated into a composite part of a vehicle such as an aircraft (Park, see Abstract) and Goodenough teaches the disclosed electrolyte allows the cell to function to harvest energy from a heat source including in vehicles such as the wings and upper fuselage of airplanes (see Abstract and para [0090]).
Regarding claim 2 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, and Goodenough further teaches wherein the solid dielectric electrolyte (200) comprises a range of materials composed by R.sub.3-2yM.sub.yCl.sub.1-xHal.sub.xO.sub.1-zA.sub.z with (R═Li, Na, K; M═Be, Ca, Mg, Sr, and Ba; Hal═F, Br, I; A═S, Se) and 0≤y≤0.5, 0≤x≤1, and 0≤z≤1, R.sub.3-3yM.sub.yCl.sub.1-xHal.sub.xO.sub.1-zA.sub.z with (R═Li, Na, K; M═B, Al; Hal═F, Br, I; A═S, Se) and 0≤y≤0.5, 0≤x≤1, and 0≤z≤1, R.sub.3-2y-zM′.sub.yH.sub.zCl.sub.1-xHal.sub.xO.sub.1-dA.sub.d (R═Li, Na, K; M′═Be, Ca, Mg, Sr, and Ba; Hal═F, Br, I; A═S, Se) and 0≤y≤0.5, 0≤z≤2, 0≤x≤1, and 0≤d≤1, R.sub.3-3y-zM′.sub.yH.sub.zCl.sub.1-xHal.sub.xO.sub.1-dA.sub.d with 0≤y≤0.5, 0≤z≤2, 0≤x≤1, and 0≤d≤1, a mixture thereof or a mixture of thereof with Li.sub.2S, Na.sub.2S, K.sub.2S, Li.sub.2O, Na.sub.2O, K.sub.2O, SiO.sub.2, Al.sub.2O.sub.3, ZnO, AlN, LiTaO.sub.3, BaTiO.sub.3, HfM.sub.2, or H.sub.2S or a mixture thereof with a polymer, a plasticizer, or a glue (Goodenough, [0056] see: glass electrolyte may be an A.sup.+-glass electrolyte as in WO2015/128834 (US 2016/0365602A1) incorporated by reference where US20160365602A1 at Abstract discloses the electrolyte as formula R3-2xMxHalO where R is Li or Na, M═Be, Ca, Mg, Sr, and Ba; Hal═F, Br, I, Cl and mixtures thereof and in para [0025] teaches Li3-2x0.005Ba0.005ClO as an example).
Regarding claim 4 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, and Goodenough discloses wherein the solid electrolyte dielectric (200) comprises a ferroelectric electrolyte (Goodenough, [0057]-[0058] see: electrolyte includes formed ferroelectric molecules and thus considered ferroelectric), and regarding the clam 4 recitation “comprising two interfaces with two similar or dissimilar insulators”, said electrolyte shares an interface with the outer conductive layer 130 of Park which can further comprise a matrix material such as an epoxy resin, glass or a thermoplastic polymer (Park, [0019]) and Goodenough teaches the electrolyte also including a polymer of the metal polymer electrolyte ([0066] see: a polyacrylate or a polyethylene glycol which are also insulators) and thus also shares an interface with this material.
Regarding claim 5 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 4, and Goodenough discloses wherein the ferroelectric electrolyte comprises Na-based Na.sub.2.99Ba.sub.0.005ClO (Goodenough, [0056] see: glass electrolyte may be an A.sup.+-glass electrolyte as in WO2015/128834 (US 2016/0365602A1) incorporated by reference where US20160365602A1 at Abstract and claim 16 discloses the electrolyte as formula R3-2xMxHalO where R=Na, M=Ba, Hal=Cl, and x=0.005) and the two similar or dissimilar (500, 600) conductors are Cu (Goodenough, [0070], [0074] see: electrodes can be copper).
Regarding claim 6 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 4, and Goodenough discloses wherein the ferroelectric electrolyte comprises Na-based Na.sub.2.99Ba.sub.0.005ClO (Goodenough, [0056] see: glass electrolyte may be an A.sup.+-glass electrolyte as in WO2015/128834 (US 2016/0365602A1) incorporated by reference where US20160365602A1 at Abstract and claim 16 discloses the electrolyte as formula R3-2xMxHalO where R=Na, M=Ba, Hal=Cl, and x=0.005) and the two similar or dissimilar (500, 600) conductors are Zn and Cu (Goodenough, [0070], [0074], [0076] see: electrodes can be copper and zinc).
Regarding claim 7 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 4, and Goodenough discloses wherein the ferroelectric electrolyte comprises Na-based Na.sub.2.99Ba.sub.0.005ClO (Goodenough, [0056] see: glass electrolyte may be an A.sup.+-glass electrolyte as in WO2015/128834 (US 2016/0365602A1) incorporated by reference where US20160365602A1 at Abstract and claim 16 discloses the electrolyte as formula R3-2xMxHalO where R=Na, M=Ba, Hal=Cl, and x=0.005) and the two similar or dissimilar (500, 600) conductors are Zn and C foam or sponge or wires or nanotubes or graphene or graphite or carbon black or any other allotrope or carbon structure, with or without impurities (Goodenough, [0070], [0074], [0076] see: electrodes can be zinc and a form of carbon).
Regarding claim 8 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 4, and Goodenough discloses wherein the ferroelectric electrolyte comprises Li-based (1-x)Li.sub.2.99Ba.sub.0.005ClO+xLi.sub.3-2y-zM.sub.yH.sub.zClO, with 0≤x≤1, (Goodenough, [0056] see: glass electrolyte may be an A.sup.+-glass electrolyte as in WO2015/128834 (US 2016/0365602A1) incorporated by reference where US20160365602A1 at Abstract and claim 14 discloses the electrolyte as formula R3-2xMxHalO where R=Li, M=Ba, Hal=Cl, and x=0.005) and Goodenough further teaches the anode (the inner conductor) can comprise Li rod (Goodenough, [0056] see: WO2015/128834 (US 2016/0365602A1) incorporated by reference where US20160365602A1 at paras [0150]-[0151] discloses the anode as lithium metal) and the outer conductor (300) comprises a mixture of MnO.sub.2 with carbon black a deposited on a current collector outer shell (Goodenough, [0074] see: cathode can include MnO2 with carbon with on a metal foam support). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to mix the MnO.sub.2 and carbon black with a binder for the purpose of adhering them together to the metal foam support.
Regarding claim 10 modified Park discloses coaxial cell according to claim 1, comprising two interfaces with two similar or dissimilar semiconductors or a conductor and a semiconductor (Goodenough, [0073]-[0074] see: cathode can be a spinel, or olivine or metal oxide semiconductor forming one interface with the electrolyte and anode can be a conductor).
Regarding claim 12 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 4, wherein the ferroelectric electrolyte comprises Li-based, Li.sub.2.99Ba.sub.0.005ClO or a Li.sub.2.99Ba.sub.0.005ClO+Li.sub.3-2y-zM.sub.yH.sub.zClO mixture or a composite (Goodenough, [0056] see: glass electrolyte may be an A.sup.+-glass electrolyte as in WO2015/128834 (US 2016/0365602A1) incorporated by reference where US20160365602A1 at Abstract and claim 14 discloses the electrolyte as formula R3-2xMxHalO where R=Li, M=Ba, Hal=Cl, and x=0.005), and the conductor comprises Li or a Li alloy such as the solid solution of Mg in lithium or Li on magnesium (Goodenough, [0056] see: WO2015/128834 (US 2016/0365602A1) incorporated by reference where US20160365602A1 at paras [0150]-[0151] discloses the anode as lithium metal),
and regarding the clam 12 recitation “and an electrolyte surface area is in contact with an insulator such as air, vacuum, polymer, plasticizer, ionic liquid, insulating tape, glue, or binder”, said electrolyte shares an interface with the outer conductive layer 130 of Park which can further comprise a matrix material such as an epoxy resin, glass or a thermoplastic polymer (Park, [0019]) and Goodenough teaches the electrolyte also including a polymer of the metal polymer electrolyte ([0066] see: a polyacrylate or a polyethylene glycol which are also insulators) and thus also shares an interface with this material.
Regarding claim 13 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, and Goodenough discloses comprising at least one interface between a ferroelectric (Goodenough, [0076] see: one of the electrodes can further includes Fe3O4 which is ferroelectric) and a superconductor (Goodenough, [0056] see: glass electrolyte (which contacts the electrodes) may be an A.sup.+-glass electrolyte as in WO2015/128834 (US 2016/0365602A1) incorporated by reference where US20160365602A1 at para [0016] notes the electrolyte is a super conductor).
Regarding claim 15 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, and the claim 15 recitation “wherein an electrical current of electrons (730) is conducted from the inner conductor (100) to the outer conductor (300) through the surface of solid dielectric electrolyte (200) providing self-charge as in a feedback-cell at a constant temperature” is directed to an intended use of the claimed coaxial cell.
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Goodenough discloses at paras [0040]-[0047] that the heat energy-powered electrochemical cells of the present disclosure exhibit self-charge and self-cycling behaviors at a given temperature or temperature range and the coaxial cell of modified Park is thus is considered fully capable of the claimed function.
Regarding claim 16 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, and the claim 16 recitation “wherein the self-charge is ensured or enhanced under a gradient temperature from −30 to 250° C” is directed to an intended use of the claimed coaxial cell.
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Goodenough discloses at paras [0040]-[0047] that the heat energy-powered electrochemical cells of the present disclosure exhibit self-charge and self-cycling behaviors at a given temperature or temperature range and the coaxial cell of modified Park is thus is considered fully capable of the claimed function.
Regarding claim 17 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, and the claim 17 recitation “wherein the self-charge is ensured or enhanced under a variable temperature fluctuation over time from −30 to 250° C” is directed to an intended use of the claimed coaxial cell.
A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Goodenough discloses at paras [0040]-[0047] that the heat energy-powered electrochemical cells of the present disclosure exhibit self-charge and self-cycling behaviors at a given temperature or temperature range and the coaxial cell of modified Park is thus is considered fully capable of the claimed function.
Regarding claim 18 modified Park discloses The coaxial cell according to claim 1, and Goodenough further teaches comprising coaxial layers associated in series or external circuit conductor wires (Goodenough, [0035] Fig. 2 see: attaching external leads/wires to power a device (LED)).
Regarding claim 20 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, comprising L, I, W, U, C, T, circular, squared or rectangular cross-sections structured shape arrangements (Park, Figs. 1A-1B see: battery cells 100 having a circular cross-section).
Regarding claim 21 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, comprising a structural arrangement as a load-carrying beam or a structural element (Park, [0018], Figs. 1A-1B see: battery cells 100 woven into the composite structure of a composite part such as a part for an aircraft).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2018/0123165), in view of Goodenough et al (US 2019/0115162) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, 10, 12-13, 15-18, and 20-21 above, and further in view of KWON et al (US 2012/0009331).
Regarding claim 3 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, wherein the solid electrolyte dielectric (200) comprises two interfaces with two similar or dissimilar conductors (500, 600) which physically share the same axis (Park, [0019] Fig. 1A-1B see: electrolyte layer 120 having an interface with each of inner fiber core 110 and outer conductive layer 130 which are coaxial).
In the alternative where the two similar or dissimilar conductors as claimed are not referring to the inner and outer conductors and it’s not clear Park explicitly discloses these limitations, the prior art of KWON discloses a coaxial cell further comprising where the cell includes two conductors sharing interfaces with the electrolyte (KWON, [0036] Fig. 3 see: anode 110 includes an anode active material 111 and cathode 120 includes cathode active material 121 each having an interface with electrolyte layer 130).
KWON and modified Park are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of coaxial cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the cell of Park in view of KWON such that the solid electrolyte dielectric (200) of modified Park comprises two interfaces with two similar or dissimilar conductors (500, 600) which physically share the same axis as in KWON (KWON, [0036] Fig. 3 see: anode 110 includes an anode active material 111 and cathode 120 includes cathode active material 121 each having an interface with electrolyte layer 130) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of known cathode and anode active materials for their intended use in a coaxial cell to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2018/0123165), in view of Goodenough et al (US 2019/0115162) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, 10, 12-13, 15-18, and 20-21 above, and further in view of Lu et al (US 2018/0226682).
Regarding claim 9 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 4, and Goodenough teaches wherein the ferroelectric electrolyte comprises Na-based (1-x)Na.sub.2.99Ba.sub.0.005ClO+xNa.sub.3-2y-zM.sub.yH.sub.zClO, with 0≤x≤1 and 0≤z≤2 (Goodenough, [0056] see: glass electrolyte may be an A.sup.+-glass electrolyte as in WO2015/128834 (US 2016/0365602A1) incorporated by reference where US20160365602A1 at Abstract and claim 16 discloses the electrolyte as formula R3-2xMxHalO where R=Na, M=Ba, Hal=Cl, and x=0.005, the inner conductor (100) comprises Na (Goodenough, para [0101] see: anode can be metallic sodium (Na)) and although Goodenough teaches the outer conductor (300) can comprise carbon black deposited on a current collector outer shell Goodenough, para [0070], [0074] see: cathode can be carbon on a metal foam) modified Park does not explicitly disclose a mixture of Na.sub.3V.sub.2(PO.sub.4).sub.3 with carbon black and a binder deposited on a current collector outer shell.
Lu teaches for electrochemical devices such as sodium metal batteries, suitable positive electrodes include Na.sub.3V.sub.2(PO.sub.4).sub.3 (para [0059]).
Lu and modified Park are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of electrochemical cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the cell of modified Park in view of Lu such that the outer conductor further comprises Na.sub.3V.sub.2(PO.sub.4).sub.3 as taught by Lu (para [0059]) as Lu teaches such a material is suitable for sodium metal battery implementations. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to mix the Na.sub.3V.sub.2(PO.sub.4).sub.3 and carbon black with a binder for the purpose of adhering them together to the metal foam support.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2018/0123165), in view of Goodenough et al (US 2019/0115162) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, 10, 12-13, 15-18, and 20-21 above, in further view of Braga et al (Performance of a ferroelectric glass electrolyte in a selfcharging electrochemical cell with negative capacitance and resistance, Appl. Phys. Rev. 7, 011406 (2020)) and further in view of KWON et al (US 2012/0009331).
Regarding claim 11 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 4, wherein the ferroelectric electrolyte comprises Li-based Li.sub.2.99Ba.sub.0.005ClO (Goodenough, [0056] see: glass electrolyte may be an A.sup.+-glass electrolyte as in WO2015/128834 (US 2016/0365602A1) incorporated by reference where US20160365602A1 at Abstract and claim 14 discloses the electrolyte as formula R3-2xMxHalO where R=Li, M=Ba, Hal=Cl, and x=0.005), the conductor comprises Al (Goodenough, [0070] see: electrode includes Al).
Modified Park does not explicitly disclose where the electrolyte incudes Li.sub.2S or the semiconductor comprises Si.
Braga teaches such ferroelectric electrolyte comprising Li-based Li.sub.2.99Ba.sub.0.005ClO further comprise Li.sub.2S (Braga, Page 4, III Experimental see: Li-glass electrolyte with composition 90wt. % Li2.99Ba0.005ClO 10 wt. % Li2S or 50wt. % Li2.99Ba0.005ClO 50. wt % Li2S) where Li.sub.2S was add to increase the performance of phenomena associated with the ferroelectric character of the electrolyte by adding Li2S dipoles (Braga, Pages 4-5, see section IV RESULTS AND DISCUSSION A. Ferroelectric glass-electrolyte 50 wt. % Li2.99Ba0.005ClO 50 wt. % Li2S mixture).
Braga and modified Park are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of electrochemical cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the cell of modified Park in view of Braga such that the Li-based Li.sub.2.99Ba.sub.0.005ClO electrolyte of modified Park further comprise Li.sub.2S as in Braga (Braga, Page 4, III Experimental see: Li-glass electrolyte with composition 90wt. % Li2.99Ba0.005ClO 10 wt. % Li2S or 50wt. % Li2.99Ba0.005ClO 50. wt % Li2S) for the purpose of increasing the performance of phenomena associated with the ferroelectric character of the electrolyte by adding Li2S dipoles as in Braga (Braga, Pages 4-5, see section IV RESULTS AND DISCUSSION A. Ferroelectric glass-electrolyte 50 wt. % Li2.99Ba0.005ClO 50 wt. % Li2S mixture).
Modified Park does not explicitly disclose where the semiconductor comprises Si.
KWON teaches a coaxial cell comprising an anode including Si (para [0010]).
KWON and modified Park are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of coaxial cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the cell of Park in view of KWON such that the anode of Park further comprises Si as in KWON (para [0010]) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of known anode material for their intended use in a coaxial cell to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2018/0123165), in view of Goodenough et al (US 2019/0115162) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, 10, 12-13, 15-18, and 20-21 above, and further in view of CHANG et al (US 2019/0214672).
Regarding claim 14 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the superconductor comprises ZnO.
CHANG teaches an electrochemical cell where the solid electrolyte which can include a glassy active metal ionic conductor further can comprise ZnO (CHANG, [0044]-[0045]).
CHANG and modified Park are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of electrochemical cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the cell of modified Park in view of CHANG such that the glassy electrolyte of modified Park (the material acting as a Li.sup.+ ion or Na.sup.+ ion superconductor) further comprises ZnO as in CHANG (CHANG, [0044]-[0045]) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of known electrolyte additive for its intended use in a glassy solid electrolyte of an electrochemical cell to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2018/0123165), in view of Goodenough et al (US 2019/0115162) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, 10, 12-13, 15-18, and 20-21 above, and further in view of Yau (US 2016/0197337).
Regarding claim 19 modified Park discloses the coaxial cell according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a structural carbon composite insulation layer.
Yau discloses providing a structural carbon composite insulation layer on an electrochemical cell to provide an outer protective casing (Yau, Fig. 1A see: outer casing 10 formed of non-conducting materials including composites, carbon fiber).
Yau and modified Park are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of electrochemical cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the cell of modified Park in view of Yau such that the cell further comprises a structural carbon composite insulation layer as in Yau to provide an outer protective casing as in Yau (Yau, Fig. 1A see: outer casing 10 formed of non-conducting materials including composites, carbon fiber).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Braga et al (Dataset on a ferroelectric based electrostatic and electrochemical Li-cell with a traditional cathode, Data in brief 29 (2020) 105087) discloses solid electrolyte dielectrics that are ferroelectric.
Braga et al (Extraordinary Dielectric Properties at Heterojunctions of Amorphous Ferroelectrics, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2018, 140, 17968−17976) discloses solid electrolyte dielectrics that are ferroelectric.
Braga et al (Low-Temperature Performance of a Ferroelectric Glass Electrolyte Rechargeable Cell, ACS Appl. Energy Mater. 2019, 2, 4943−4953) discloses solid electrolyte dielectrics that are ferroelectric.
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726