DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-5 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by D1 (Ericsson, “Discussion on switching mechanisms for a Multi-USIM device” available to the public on 5/10/2021, found in IDS dated 1/17/2024) in view of Chen et al (2023/0047213).
Regarding claims 1 and 11. D1 teaches a method and a user equipment (UE) configured to operate in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver; at least processor; and at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor (top of page 4 wherein UE comprises USIM1, USIM2, and processor, memory and program), perform operations comprising:
registering to a first network and a second network and establishing a connection with the first network (page 1, lines 20-22 wherein UE notifies network A of its switch from Network A (for MUSIM purpose): RAT Concurrency: Network A is NR and Network B can either be LTE or NR);
receiving, from the second network, a paging for a switching operation from the first network to the second network (page 4 – wherein UE receives RRCRelease and the UE includes additional assistance information to help the network in deciding how to handle the UE, for example, the UE should only be paged for voice, page 5 – The UE leaves the RRC CONNECTED (e.g., to establish an RRC connection with another network) only when receiving the RRCRelease message from the current network);
transmitting, to the first network, first information informing a state of the connection (page 3 wherein the UE sends NAS Service Request or Registration Request message indicating leave request to release the CM-Connected state) and second information informing that paging filtering information is to be transmitted (page 4 wherein UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, sends for instance NAS SERVICE REQUEST including a new indication that it is leaving the other PLMN. Besides the leaving indication, the UE includes additional assistance information to help the network in deciding how to handle the leaving UE. Information in temporarily restricting/filter MT data/signalling: an indication that the UE should only be paged for voice, an indication that the UE should not be paged at all or PDN connection(s) for MT notification/paging restriction);
transmitting, to the first network, the paging filtering information informing one or more types of paging preferred by the UE (page 4 wherein UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, sends for instance NAS SERVICE REQUEST including a new indication that it is leaving the other PLMN. Besides the leaving indication, the UE includes additional assistance information to help the network in deciding how to handle the leaving UE. Information in temporarily restricting/filter MT data/signalling: an indication that the UE should only be paged for voice, an indication that the UE should not be paged at all or PDN connection(s) for MT notification/paging restriction); and
receiving, from the first network based on the second information, a message instructing to leave a connected state in the first network after transmitting the paging filtering information (page 4 – move the UE to RRC_IDLE, page 5 – the UE leaves the RRC CONNECTED (e.g, to establish an RRC connection with another network) only when receiving the RRCRelease message from the current network).
D1 does not explicitly teach the state of connection preferred by the UE.
Chen teaches the UE and network comprise memory, transceiver, processor and program (figure 4, 0132-0137) related to multi-subscriber module (Multi-SIM) (0002, 0042) wherein the UE is registered to a first and second network and establishes a connection with the first network while the second network pages the UE. Therefore, a mechanism for the UE to notify the Network A of its leaving (e.g., switching from network A to network B) may be needed (0043, 0075, 0088-0089). For example, the UE may receive from network B, a paging message with a paging cause related to voice service and the UE transmits to network A the network switch request upon receiving a paging. The UE informs the network of the UE’s preferences to leave the RRC_CONNECTED state (0070, 0011 – the preferred RRC state is RRC_INACTIVE, 0012 – the preferred RRC state is RRC_IDLE). The UE assistance information may serve different purposes. One purpose is for power saving by indicating a preferred RRC state (e.g., RRC_IDLE, RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_CONNECTED) and another purpose is for the network switch request wherein the network switch request indicates the preferred RRC state of the UE. For example, the UE indicates to network A that the UE is about (or intends) to leave network A when the preferred RRC state in the network switch request is RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE (0074, 0090-0091 – preferredRRC-State (idle, inactive, connected), 0092 and TABLE 2 – preferredRRC-State = idle,inactive,connected and networkSwitchCause = voice, high Priority)). The UE transmits the network switch request message upon receiving a paging message from the second network. The paging message may be related to a voice service or high priority service. Based on the receiving paging message, the UE is aware that there may be an important service about to take place in the second network, such as incoming voice call. Therefore, the UE transmits the network switch request message to inform the first network of its leaving/switching from the first network to the second network (0119).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to include preferred RRC state in the UE assistance information as taught by Chen with the benefit to provide standardizing support for a multi-USIM (or multi-SIM) UE from a performance perspective in that network functionality can be based on predictable UE behavior (Chen at 0042).
Regarding claim 2. D1 teaches wherein the switching operation comprises at least one of: releasing or suspending the connection with the first network; establishing a connection with the second network; or receiving data from the second network (page 4 – wherein UE receives RRCRelease and the UE includes additional assistance information to help the network in deciding how to handle the UE, for example, the UE should only be paged for voice … move the UE to CM_IDLE, page 5 – The UE leaves the RRC CONNECTED (e.g., to establish an RRC connection with another network) only when receiving the RRCRelease message from the current network).
Chen teaches the UE and network comprise memory, transceiver, processor and program (figure 4, 0132-0137) related to multi-subscriber module (Multi-SIM) (0002, 0042) wherein the UE is registered to a first and second network and establishes a connection with the first network while the second network pages the UE. Therefore, a mechanism for the UE to notify the Network A of its leaving (e.g., switching from network A to network B) may be needed (0043, 0075, 0088-0089). For example, the UE may receive from network B, a paging message with a paging cause related to voice service and the UE transmits to network A the network switch request upon receiving a paging. The UE informs the network of the UE’s preferences to leave the RRC_CONNECTED state (0070, 0011 – the preferred RRC state is RRC_INACTIVE, 0012 – the preferred RRC state is RRC_IDLE). The UE assistance information may serve different purposes. One purpose is for power saving by indicating a preferred RRC state (e.g., RRC_IDLE, RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_CONNECTED) and another purpose is for the network switch request wherein the network switch request indicates the preferred RRC state of the UE. For example, the UE indicates to network A that the UE is about (or intends) to leave network A when the preferred RRC state in the network switch request is RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE (0074, 0090-0091 – preferredRRC-State (idle, inactive, connected), 0092 and TABLE 2 – preferredRRC-State = idle,inactive,connected and networkSwitchCause = voice, high Priority)). The UE transmits the network switch request message upon receiving a paging message from the second network. The paging message may be related to a voice service or high priority service. Based on the receiving paging message, the UE is aware that there may be an important service about to take place in the second network, such as incoming voice call. Therefore, the UE transmits the network switch request message to inform the first network of its leaving/switching from the first network to the second network (0119).
Regarding claim 3. D1 teaches wherein the state of the connection by the UE comprises a radio resource control (RRC) state by the UE in the first network when the UE leaves a connected state in the first network, and
wherein the RRC state by the UE comprises at least one of an inactive state or an idle state (page 3 wherein the UE sends NAS Service Request or Registration Request message indicating leave request to release the CM-Connected state).
D1 does not explicitly teach the state of connection preferred by the UE.
Chen teaches the UE and network comprise memory, transceiver, processor and program (figure 4, 0132-0137) related to multi-subscriber module (Multi-SIM) (0002, 0042) wherein the UE is registered to a first and second network and establishes a connection with the first network while the second network pages the UE. Therefore, a mechanism for the UE to notify the Network A of its leaving (e.g., switching from network A to network B) may be needed (0043, 0075, 0088-0089). For example, the UE may receive from network B, a paging message with a paging cause related to voice service and the UE transmits to network A the network switch request upon receiving a paging. The UE informs the network of the UE’s preferences to leave the RRC_CONNECTED state (0070, 0011 – the preferred RRC state is RRC_INACTIVE, 0012 – the preferred RRC state is RRC_IDLE). The UE assistance information may serve different purposes. One purpose is for power saving by indicating a preferred RRC state (e.g., RRC_IDLE, RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_CONNECTED) and another purpose is for the network switch request wherein the network switch request indicates the preferred RRC state of the UE. For example, the UE indicates to network A that the UE is about (or intends) to leave network A when the preferred RRC state in the network switch request is RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE (0074, 0090-0091 – preferredRRC-State (idle, inactive, connected), 0092 and TABLE 2 – preferredRRC-State = idle,inactive,connected and networkSwitchCause = voice, high Priority)). The UE transmits the network switch request message upon receiving a paging message from the second network. The paging message may be related to a voice service or high priority service. Based on the receiving paging message, the UE is aware that there may be an important service about to take place in the second network, such as incoming voice call. Therefore, the UE transmits the network switch request message to inform the first network of its leaving/switching from the first network to the second network (0119).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to include preferred RRC state in the UE assistance information as taught by Chen with the benefit to provide standardizing support for a multi-USIM (or multi-SIM) UE from a performance perspective in that network functionality can be based on predictable UE behavior (Chen at 0042).
Regarding claim 4. D1 teaches wherein the message instructing to leave the connected state in the first network instructs the UE to enter a non-connected state which is identical to the RRC state preferred by the UE or different from the RRC state preferred by the UE (page 4 – network sends RRCRelease to place the UE in RRC_IDLE and/or RRC_INACTIVE).
Chen teaches the UE may transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state (associated with network A) if a suspend configuration is provided by network A (0096). The UE may receive a network response to transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state. For example, the network may transmit an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration in response to the network switch request (e.g., the preferred RRC state set to RRC_INACTIVE (0106). It is beneficial for the UE to receive the response message from the first network (and a suspend configuration), especially when the UE prefers to transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state to quickly resume the RRC operation to the first network later (0124).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to send a RRC Release message with a suspend configuration in response to the network switch request as taught by Chen. It is beneficial for the UE to receive the response message from the first network (and a suspend configuration), especially when the UE prefers to transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state to quickly resume the RRC operation to the first network later (Chen at 0124).
Regarding claim 5. D1 does not teach wherein the non-connected state comprises the inactive state, and wherein the message instructing to leave the connected state in the first network comprises an RRC release message including a suspend configuration.
Chen teaches the UE may transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state (associated with network A) if a suspend configuration is provided by network A (0096). The UE may receive a network response to transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state. For example, the network may transmit an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration in response to the network switch request (e.g., the preferred RRC state set to RRC_INACTIVE (0106). It is beneficial for the UE to receive the response message from the first network (and a suspend configuration), especially when the UE prefers to transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state to quickly resume the RRC operation to the first network later (0124).
It would have been extremely obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to send a RRC Release message with a suspend configuration in response to the network switch request as taught by Chen. It is beneficial for the UE to receive the response message from the first network (and a suspend configuration), especially when the UE prefers to transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state to quickly resume the RRC operation to the first network later (Chen at 0124).
Regarding claim 9. D1 teaches wherein the one or more types of paging comprises at least one of: a paging related with only a voice service; a paging related with only a data service; a paging for disabling a short-messaging service (SMS); or a paging for resuming the connection with the first network (page 4 wherein UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, sends for instance NAS SERVICE REQUEST including a new indication that it is leaving the other PLMN. Besides the leaving indication, the UE includes additional assistance information to help the network in deciding how to handle the leaving UE. Information in temporarily restricting/filter MT data/signalling: an indication that the UE should only be paged for voice, an indication that the UE should not be paged at all or PDN connection(s) for MT notification/paging restriction).
Chen teaches the UE and network comprise memory, transceiver, processor and program (figure 4, 0132-0137) related to multi-subscriber module (Multi-SIM) (0002, 0042) wherein the UE is registered to a first and second network and establishes a connection with the first network while the second network pages the UE. Therefore, a mechanism for the UE to notify the Network A of its leaving (e.g., switching from network A to network B) may be needed (0043, 0075, 0088-0089). For example, the UE may receive from network B, a paging message with a paging cause related to voice service and the UE transmits to network A the network switch request upon receiving a paging. The UE informs the network of the UE’s preferences to leave the RRC_CONNECTED state (0070, 0011 – the preferred RRC state is RRC_INACTIVE, 0012 – the preferred RRC state is RRC_IDLE). The UE assistance information may serve different purposes. One purpose is for power saving by indicating a preferred RRC state (e.g., RRC_IDLE, RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_CONNECTED) and another purpose is for the network switch request wherein the network switch request indicates the preferred RRC state of the UE. For example, the UE indicates to network A that the UE is about (or intends) to leave network A when the preferred RRC state in the network switch request is RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE (0074, 0090-0091 – preferredRRC-State (idle, inactive, connected), 0092 and TABLE 2 – preferredRRC-State = idle,inactive,connected and networkSwitchCause = voice, high Priority)). The UE transmits the network switch request message upon receiving a paging message from the second network. The paging message may be related to a voice service or high priority service. Based on the receiving paging message, the UE is aware that there may be an important service about to take place in the second network, such as incoming voice call. Therefore, the UE transmits the network switch request message to inform the first network of its leaving/switching from the first network to the second network (0119).
Regarding claim 10. D1 teaches wherein the UE is in communication with at least one of a mobile device, a network, or autonomous vehicles other than the UE (top of page 4 wherein UE communicates with a network).
Chen teaches the UE and network comprise memory, transceiver, processor and program (figure 4, 0132-0137) related to multi-subscriber module (Multi-SIM) (0002, 0042) wherein the UE is registered to a first and second network and establishes a connection with the first network while the second network pages the UE. Therefore, a mechanism for the UE to notify the Network A of its leaving (e.g., switching from network A to network B) may be needed (0043, 0075, 0088-0089). For example, the UE may receive from network B, a paging message with a paging cause related to voice service and the UE transmits to network A the network switch request upon receiving a paging. The UE informs the network of the UE’s preferences to leave the RRC_CONNECTED state (0070, 0011 – the preferred RRC state is RRC_INACTIVE, 0012 – the preferred RRC state is RRC_IDLE). The UE transmits the network switch request message upon receiving a paging message from the second network. The paging message may be related to a voice service or high priority service. Based on the receiving paging message, the UE is aware that there may be an important service about to take place in the second network, such as incoming voice call. Therefore, the UE transmits the network switch request message to inform the first network of its leaving/switching from the first network to the second network (0119).
2. Claims 6-8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by D1 in view of Chen further in view of Jung (2024/0188174).
Regarding claims 6 and 12. D1 does not explicitly teach wherein the first information and the second information are transmitted to the first network via a radio resource control (RRC) signalling, and wherein the paging filtering information is transmitted to the first network via a non- access stratum (NAS) signalling.
However, D1 teaches (page 2 – either RRC or NAS could be used for switching procedure for leaving RRC_CONNNECTED state, page 3 – For leaving in E-UTRA/5GS access, the NAS-level leaving MM procedure is recommended to be supported. The UE sends NAS Service Request or Registration Request message indicating leave request to release the CM-Connected state).
Chen teaches using RRC signaling for transmitting RRC state preference (preferredRRC-State = idle, inactive, connected) and paging filter (networkSwitchCause = voice, high priority) (see rejection listed above).
Jung teaches UE supporting a plurality of USIMs (0002, 0015-0017, 0020). The USIM1 of the UE may transmit, to the NW1, an RRC message and/or a NAS messaging including information indicating, for SIM2 preference to release RRC Connection Mode and a preferred RRC state (RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE or preference to RRC_CONNECTED) and paging restriction information (0232, 0256, 0293) wherein the paging restriction indicates a cause value (e.g., paging cause indicating voice) (0254, 0291, 0328, 0367, 0392).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 in view of Chen to use an RRC message or a NAS message or include the NAS message in the RRC message as taught by Jung thereby offering different design options, as well as, saving network signaling by combining RRC information (e.g., preferred RRC state) with paging restriction information (e.g., a paging related voice).
Regarding claims 7 and 13. D1 teaches wherein the RRC signalling comprises UE assistance information, wherein the UE assistance information or multi-user subscriber identity module (MUSIM) assistance information in the UE assistance information comprises at least one of the first information or the second information, and wherein the first information informs an intend of the UE to leave a connected state in the first network and the state of the connection by the UE in the first network after the leaving (page 3 wherein the UE sends NAS Service Request or Registration Request message indicating leave request to release the CM-Connected state) and second information informing that paging filtering information is to be transmitted (page 4 wherein UE is in RRC_CONNECTED state, sends for instance NAS SERVICE REQUEST including a new indication that it is leaving the other PLMN. Besides the leaving indication, the UE includes additional assistance information to help the network in deciding how to handle the leaving UE. Information in temporarily restricting/filter MT data/signalling: an indication that the UE should only be paged for voice, an indication that the UE should not be paged at all or PDN connection(s) for MT notification/paging restriction).
D1 does not explicitly teach the state of connection preferred by the UE.
Chen teaches the UE and network comprise memory, transceiver, processor and program (figure 4, 0132-0137) related to multi-subscriber module (Multi-SIM) (0002, 0042) wherein the UE is registered to a first and second network and establishes a connection with the first network while the second network pages the UE. Therefore, a mechanism for the UE to notify the Network A of its leaving (e.g., switching from network A to network B) may be needed (0043, 0075, 0088-0089). For example, the UE may receive from network B, a paging message with a paging cause related to voice service and the UE transmits to network A the network switch request upon receiving a paging. The UE informs the network of the UE’s preferences to leave the RRC_CONNECTED state (0070, 0011 – the preferred RRC state is RRC_INACTIVE, 0012 – the preferred RRC state is RRC_IDLE). The UE assistance information may serve different purposes. One purpose is for power saving by indicating a preferred RRC state (e.g., RRC_IDLE, RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_CONNECTED) and another purpose is for the network switch request wherein the network switch request indicates the preferred RRC state of the UE. For example, the UE indicates to network A that the UE is about (or intends) to leave network A when the preferred RRC state in the network switch request is RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE (0074, 0090-0091 – preferredRRC-State (idle, inactive, connected), 0092 and TABLE 2 – preferredRRC-State = idle,inactive,connected and networkSwitchCause = voice, high Priority)). The UE transmits the network switch request message upon receiving a paging message from the second network. The paging message may be related to a voice service or high priority service. Based on the receiving paging message, the UE is aware that there may be an important service about to take place in the second network, such as incoming voice call. Therefore, the UE transmits the network switch request message to inform the first network of its leaving/switching from the first network to the second network (0119).
Jung teaches UE supporting a plurality of USIMs (0002, 0015-0017, 0020). The USIM1 of the UE may transmit, to the NW1, an RRC message and/or a NAS messaging including information indicating, for SIM2 preference to release RRC Connection Mode and a preferred RRC state (RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE or preference to RRC_CONNECTED) and paging restriction information (0232, 0256, 0293) wherein the paging restriction indicates a cause value (e.g., paging cause indicating voice) (0254, 0291, 0328, 0367, 0392).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to include preferred RRC state in the UE assistance information as taught by Chen with the benefit to provide standardizing support for a multi-USIM (or multi-SIM) UE from a performance perspective in that network functionality can be based on predictable UE behavior (Chen at 0042).
Regarding claims 8 and 14. D1 teaches wherein the NAS signalling or NAS assistance information in the NAS signalling comprises at least one of the paging filtering information or an indication to release an on-going service in the first network (page 2 – either RRC or NAS could be used for switching procedure for leaving RRC_CONNNECTED state, page 3 – For leaving in E-UTRA/5GS access, the NAS-level leaving MM procedure is recommended to be supported. The UE sends NAS Service Request or Registration Request message indicating leave request to release the CM-Connected state).
Chen teaches the UE and network comprise memory, transceiver, processor and program (figure 4, 0132-0137) related to multi-subscriber module (Multi-SIM) (0002, 0042) wherein the UE is registered to a first and second network and establishes a connection with the first network while the second network pages the UE. Therefore, a mechanism for the UE to notify the Network A of its leaving (e.g., switching from network A to network B) may be needed (0043, 0075, 0088-0089). For example, the UE may receive from network B, a paging message with a paging cause related to voice service and the UE transmits to network A the network switch request upon receiving a paging. The UE informs the network of the UE’s preferences to leave the RRC_CONNECTED state (0070, 0011 – the preferred RRC state is RRC_INACTIVE, 0012 – the preferred RRC state is RRC_IDLE). The UE assistance information may serve different purposes. One purpose is for power saving by indicating a preferred RRC state (e.g., RRC_IDLE, RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_CONNECTED) and another purpose is for the network switch request wherein the network switch request indicates the preferred RRC state of the UE. For example, the UE indicates to network A that the UE is about (or intends) to leave network A when the preferred RRC state in the network switch request is RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE (0074, 0090-0091 – preferredRRC-State (idle, inactive, connected), 0092 and TABLE 2 – preferredRRC-State = idle,inactive,connected and networkSwitchCause = voice, high Priority)). The UE transmits the network switch request message upon receiving a paging message from the second network. The paging message may be related to a voice service or high priority service. Based on the receiving paging message, the UE is aware that there may be an important service about to take place in the second network, such as incoming voice call. Therefore, the UE transmits the network switch request message to inform the first network of its leaving/switching from the first network to the second network (0119).
Jung teaches UE supporting a plurality of USIMs (0002, 0015-0017, 0020). The USIM1 of the UE may transmit, to the NW1, an RRC message and/or a NAS messaging including information indicating, for SIM2 preference to release RRC Connection Mode and a preferred RRC state (RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE or preference to RRC_CONNECTED) and paging restriction information (0232, 0256, 0293) wherein the paging restriction indicates a cause value (e.g., paging cause indicating voice) (0254, 0291, 0328, 0367, 0392).
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claim 18 is allowed.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2023/0007624) Murray et at teaches the UE signals the network through UEAssistanceInformation as described in TS 38.300 Release 16 and propose that this procedure may be extended to include assistance information for multi-SIM which includes paging rules used to enable paging filtering (0362, Code example 6A, Multi-USIM assistance information includes PagingCause = MT-signalling, MT-data, MT-VoiceCall, Mt-VideoCall, MT-SMS, Code example 7A – PreferredRRC State (idle, inactive, connected) for release preference).
/BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646