Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/17/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on JP2021-089572 dated 05/27/2021.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okuno (WO2020246265A1), cited in the IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Okuno teaches, in Fig. 16: lens unit (“imaging section 13D”; [0189]) comprising:
a lens (“light receiving lens 132A”; [0114]) that has an optical axis (see Fig. 16);
a lens frame (“the lens barrel 133”; [0114]) holding the lens (see Fig. 16);
a lens barrel (“a second member 1342”; [0126]) that has a central axis along the optical axis (see Fig. 16), houses the lens frame (133) on an inner circumferential side (see Fig. 16 in which 133 is on the inner side of 1341 and 1342), and is connectable to a substrate (“support structure 134 supports image pickup element 131”; [0125]) on which an imaging element (“image pickup element 131”; [0125]) is mounted; and
a temperature compensation member (“first member 1341”; [0126]) that comprises a first portion and a second portion (first portion being the top edge of 1341 and the second portion being the bottom of 1341) that are apart from each other in a direction parallel to the optical axis (“first member 1341 … arranged so as to be aligned along a direction parallel to the optical axis direction”; [0127]),
wherein the first portion (top side of 1341) of the temperature compensation member is in contact with the lens barrel (1342) (“first member 1341 and the second member 1342 may be fixed so that they are in contact with each other”; [0129]) and the second portion (bottom side of 1341) of the temperature compensation member is in contact with the lens frame (133) (“the lens barrel 133 and the first member 1341 may be fixed so that they are in contact with each other”; [0129]),
by the lens frame (133) being connected to the lens barrel (1342) via the temperature compensation member (with the provision from para [0129] that the components may be touching, see Fig. 16 in which 1341 is between 133 and 1342), the lens frame (133) is movable in the direction parallel to the optical axis with respect to the lens barrel (1342) when a length of the temperature compensation member (1341) in the direction parallel to the optical axis changes (“by appropriately setting the length L1 of the first member 1341 along the optical axis direction, the linear expansion coefficient K1 of the first member 1341, the length L2 of the second member 1342 along the optical axis direction, and the linear expansion coefficient K2 of the second member 1342, it is possible to match the distance Lh, which is the decrease in the inter-element distance when the temperature rises, to the amount of movement when the focal position of the light-receiving lens 132B moves to position -a when the temperature rises”; [0227]), and
a length of extension in the direction parallel to the optical axis per unit temperature of a part of the temperature compensation member (1341) from the first portion (top edge of 1341) to the second portion (bottom edge of 1341) differs from a length of extension in the direction parallel to the optical axis per unit temperature of a part of the lens barrel (1342) closer to a lens barrel side connected to the substrate than a part of the lens barrel in contact with the first portion of the temperature compensation member (1341) (“it is necessary to at least satisfy the condition L1 x k1 < L2 x k2 “; [0188], “a first member 1341 and a second member 1342 that have different linear expansion coefficients”; [0126], given that the two components have different linear expansion coefficients and lengths, it would be reasonable to assume that the length of extension would be different in each component).
Regarding claim 3, Okuno teaches the lens unit according to claim 1. Okuno further teaches: in the direction parallel to the optical axis, a linear expansion coefficient of the temperature compensation member (1341) differs from a linear expansion coefficient of the lens barrel (1342) (“a first member 1341 and a second member 1342 that have different linear expansion coefficients”; [0126], see also the arrows in Fig. 17 which show the direction of expansion).
Regarding claim 6, Okuno teaches the lens unit according to claim 1. Okuno further teaches in Fig. 16: the lens (132A) comprises at least a first lens and a second lens (“light receiving lens 132A is composed of a compound lens that combines multiple lenses 132a to 132c”; [0114]), and
a focal length of the lens is determined in a structure in which the first lens is combined with the second lens (“these multiple lenses 132a to 132c are aligned in the axial direction of the lens barrel 133 inside the lens barrel 133 so that their optical axes overlap”; [0114], with the provision of ‘lenses aligned in the axial direction’ it would be appropriate to expect that the light of each lens would have a combined focusing effect on the focal length).
Regarding claim 7, Okuno teaches the lens unit according to claim 1. Okuno further teaches in Fig. 16: when the lens barrel (1342) is connected to the substrate, a focus of the lens is formed on an imaging surface (131a) of the imaging element (131) at least at a predetermined temperature (“The imaging element 131 is positioned so that its imaging surface 131a coincides with the focal position (here, the image plane position) of the light receiving lens 132A at a predetermined temperature T”; [0128]).
Regarding claim 8, Okuno teaches the lens unit according to claim 1. Okuno further teaches in Fig. 16: at least one selected from the group consisting of the first portion (top side of 1341) and the second portion (bottom side of 1341) of the temperature compensation member is a plane that intersects the direction parallel to the optical axis (see Fig. 16 in which the plane of both the top and bottom surfaces of 1341 intersect the plane of the optical axis).
Regarding claim 9, Okuno teaches, in Fig. 16: an imaging device (Fig. 16) comprising:
a lens unit (“imaging section 13D”; [0189]); and
a substrate (“support structure 134 supports image pickup element 131”; [0125]) on which an imaging element is mounted (“image pickup element 131”; [0125]),
wherein the lens unit (13D) comprises a lens (“light receiving lens 132A”; [0114]) that has an optical axis, a lens frame (“the lens barrel 133”; [0114]) holding the lens (see Fig. 16),
a lens barrel (“a second member 1342”; [0126]) that has a central axis along the optical axis (see Fig. 16), houses the lens frame (133) on an inner circumferential side (see Fig. 16 in which 133 is on the inner side of 1341 and 1342), and is connected to the substrate (“support structure 134 supports image pickup element 131”; [0125]), and
a temperature compensation member (“first member 1341”; [0126]) that comprises a first portion and a second portion (first portion being the bottom edge of 1341 and the second portion being the top of 1341) that are apart from each other in a direction parallel to the optical axis (“first member 1341 … arranged so as to be aligned along a direction parallel to the optical axis direction”; [0127]),
the first portion (top side of 1341) of the temperature compensation member (1341) is in contact with the lens frame (“the lens barrel 133 and the first member 1341 may be fixed so that they are in contact with each other”; [0129]) and the second portion (bottom side of 1341) of the temperature compensation member (1341) is in contact with the lens barrel (“first member 1341 and the second member 1342 may be fixed so that they are in contact with each other”; [0129]),
by the lens frame (133) being connected to the lens barrel (1342) via the temperature compensation member (with the provision from para [0129] that the components may be touching, see Fig. 16 in which 1341 is between 133 and 1342), the lens frame (133) is movable in the direction parallel to the optical axis with respect to the lens barrel (1342) when a length of the temperature compensation member (1341) in the direction parallel to the optical axis changes (“by appropriately setting the length L1 of the first member 1341 along the optical axis direction, the linear expansion coefficient K1 of the first member 1341, the length L2 of the second member 1342 along the optical axis direction, and the linear expansion coefficient K2 of the second member 1342, it is possible to match the distance Lh, which is the decrease in the inter-element distance when the temperature rises, to the amount of movement when the focal position of the light-receiving lens 132B moves to position -a when the temperature rises”; [0227]), and
a length of extension in the direction parallel to the optical axis per unit temperature of a part of the temperature compensation member (1341) from the first portion (bottom edge of 1341) to the second portion (top edge of 1341) differs from a length of extension in the direction parallel to the optical axis per unit temperature of a part of the lens barrel (1342) closer to a lens barrel side connected to the substrate than a part of the lens barrel in contact with the second portion of the temperature compensation member (1341) (“it is necessary to at least satisfy the condition L1 x k1 < L2 x k2 “; [0188], “a first member 1341 and a second member 1342 that have different linear expansion coefficients”; [0126], given that the two components have different linear expansion coefficients and lengths, it would be reasonable to assume that the length of extension would be different in each component).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the embodiments of Okuno (WO2020246265A1).
Regarding claim 2, Okuno teaches the lens unit according to claim 1. Okuno further teaches in Fig. 17A: the first portion (outer side of 1341) of the temperature compensation member is connected to the lens barrel (1342) at a position farther from the lens barrel side (1342) connected to the substrate than the second portion (inner side of 1341) of the temperature compensation member,
when a focal length of the lens becomes longer due to a rise in temperature (“when the temperature of the light receiving lens 132A rises by a temperature ΔT from the above-mentioned predetermined temperature T, the focal position moves in a direction away from the light receiving lens 132A”; [0195]), the length of extension in the direction parallel to the optical axis per unit temperature of the part of the temperature compensation member (1341) from the first portion (top edge of 1341) to the second portion (bottom edge of 1341) is smaller than the length of extension in the direction parallel to the optical axis per unit temperature of the part of the lens barrel (1342) closer to the lens barrel side connected to the substrate than the part of the lens barrel in contact with the first portion of the temperature compensation member (it is necessary to at least satisfy the condition L1 x k1 < L2 x k2 “; [0188], “a first member 1341 and a second member 1342 that have different linear expansion coefficients”; [0126], given that the two components have different linear expansion coefficients and lengths, it would be reasonable to assume that the length of extension in 1341 would be smaller than the length of expansion 1342).
However Fig. 17 of Okuno does not teach to a configuration such that focal length becomes shorter when the temperature rises.
In an alternate embodiment of Okuno as shown in Figs. 15a, Okuno teaches: when the focal length of the lens becomes shorter due to a rise in temperature (“when the temperature of the light receiving lens 132B rises by a temperature ΔT from the above-mentioned predetermined temperature T, the focal position moves in a direction closer to the light receiving lens 132B”; [0174]), the length of extension in the direction parallel to the optical axis per unit temperature of the part of the temperature compensation member (1341) from the first portion to the second portion is smaller than a length of extension in the direction parallel to the optical axis per unit temperature of a part of the lens barrel closer (1342) to the lens barrel side connected to the substrate than a part of the lens barrel in contact with the second portion of the temperature compensation member (“both first member 1341 and second member 1342 expand”; [0175], “The distance Lh is expressed by the following equation (12). Lh=(L2×k2-L1×k1)×ΔT”; [0178]-[0179], the expression is configured such that the expansion of 1342 must be greater than that of 1341 in order ensure that the expression of Lh is positive).
Furthermore, Okuna teaches this configuration such that the disclosure provides “a three-dimensional measuring device that can ensure a wide measurement range in a specified temperature range, and an optical assembly for a three-dimensional measuring device that is equipped therewith” (Okuna, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the embodiments of Okuna to provide a device in which the optical assembly is capable of correction for a shortened and lengthened focal length, for the purpose of providing a three-dimensional measuring device that can ensure a wide measurement range in a specified temperature range (Okuna, [0006]).
Regarding claim 4, Okuno teaches the lens unit according to claim 3. Okuno further teaches in Fig. 1: a position at which the first portion (top edge of 1341) of the temperature compensation member is connected to the lens barrel (1342) is farther from the lens barrel side connected to the substrate than a position at which the second portion (bottom edge of 1341) of the temperature compensation member is connected to the lens barrel (1342) (see Fig. 16 in which the top edge portion is farther away from the substrate than the bottom edge portion),
when a focal length of the lens becomes longer due to a rise in temperature (“when the temperature of the light receiving lens 132A rises by a temperature ΔT from the above-mentioned predetermined temperature T, the focal position moves in a direction away from the light receiving lens 132A”; [0195]), the linear expansion coefficient in the direction parallel to the optical axis of the temperature compensation member (1341) is smaller than the linear expansion coefficient in the direction parallel to the optical axis of the lens barrel (1342) (“the linear expansion coefficient of the first member 1341 is smaller than the linear expansion coefficient of the second member 1342”; [0191]).
However Fig. 17 of Okuno does not teach to a configuration such that focal length becomes shorter when the temperature rises.
In an alternate embodiment of Okuno as shown in Figs. 19a, Okuno teaches:
when the focal length of the lens becomes shorter due to a rise in temperature (“As shown in Figure 19 (A), when the temperature of the light receiving lens 132B rises by a temperature ΔT from the above-mentioned predetermined temperature T, the focal position moves in a direction closer to the light receiving lens 132B”; [0215]), the linear expansion coefficient in the direction parallel to the optical axis of the temperature compensation member (1341) is greater than the linear expansion coefficient in the direction parallel to the optical axis of the lens barrel (1342) (“In this configuration example, the linear expansion coefficient of the first member 1341 is greater than the linear expansion coefficient of the second member 1342”; [0211]).
Furthermore, Okuna teaches this configuration such that the disclosure provides “a three-dimensional measuring device that can ensure a wide measurement range in a specified temperature range, and an optical assembly for a three-dimensional measuring device that is equipped therewith” (Okuna, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the embodiments of Okuna to provide a device in which the optical assembly is capable of correction for a shortened and lengthened focal length using differing linear expansion coefficients, for the purpose of providing a three-dimensional measuring device that can ensure a wide measurement range in a specified temperature range (Okuna, [0006]).
Regarding claim 10, Okuno teaches the lens unit according to claim 2. Okuno further teaches in Fig. 16: in the direction parallel to the optical axis, a linear expansion coefficient of the temperature compensation member differs (1341) from a linear expansion coefficient of the lens barrel (1342) (“a first member 1341 and a second member 1342 that have different linear expansion coefficients”; [0126], see also the arrows in Fig. 17 which show the direction of expansion).
Regarding claim 11, Okuno teaches the lens unit according to claim 10. Okuno further teaches in Fig. 16: a position at which the first portion (top side of 1341) of the temperature compensation member (1341) is connected to the lens barrel (1342) is farther from the lens barrel side connected to the substrate than a position at which the second portion (bottom edge of 1341) of the temperature compensation member is connected to the lens barrel (1342) (see Fig. 16 in which the top edge portion is farther away from the substrate than the bottom edge portion),
when a focal length of the lens becomes longer due to a rise in temperature (“when the temperature of the light receiving lens 132A rises by a temperature ΔT from the above-mentioned predetermined temperature T, the focal position moves in a direction away from the light receiving lens 132A”; [0195]), the linear expansion coefficient in the direction parallel to the optical axis of the temperature compensation member (1341) is smaller than the linear expansion coefficient in the direction parallel to the optical axis of the lens barrel (1342) (“the linear expansion coefficient of the first member 1341 is smaller than the linear expansion coefficient of the second member 1342”; [0191]).
However Fig. 17 of Okuno does not teach to a configuration such that focal length becomes shorter when the temperature rises.
In an alternate embodiment of Okuno as shown in Figs. 19a, Okuno teaches:
when the focal length of the lens becomes shorter due to a rise in temperature (“As shown in Figure 19 (A), when the temperature of the light receiving lens 132B rises by a temperature ΔT from the above-mentioned predetermined temperature T, the focal position moves in a direction closer to the light receiving lens 132B”; [0215]), the linear expansion coefficient in the direction parallel to the optical axis of the temperature compensation member (1341) is greater than the linear expansion coefficient in the direction parallel to the optical axis of the lens barrel (1342) (“In this configuration example, the linear expansion coefficient of the first member 1341 is greater than the linear expansion coefficient of the second member 1342”; [0211]).
Furthermore, Okuna teaches this configuration such that the disclosure provides “a three-dimensional measuring device that can ensure a wide measurement range in a specified temperature range, and an optical assembly for a three-dimensional measuring device that is equipped therewith” (Okuna, [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the embodiments of Okuna to provide a device in which the optical assembly is capable of correction for a shortened and lengthened focal length using differing linear expansion coefficients, for the purpose of providing a three-dimensional measuring device that can ensure a wide measurement range in a specified temperature range (Okuna, [0006]).
Claims 5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuno (WO2020246265A1), as in claims 3, 10, and 11, and further in view of Saito (JP-S58203405-A), cited in the IDS.
Regarding claim 5, Okuno teaches the lens unit according to claim 3. Okuno further teaches: a material of at least a part of the lens frame (133) differs from a material of at least a part of the lens barrel (1342) (“the material of the first member and the second member that should have a smaller linear expansion coefficient is not particularly limited, and can be made of various metallic materials, for example, a stainless steel alloy”; [0243]).
Okuno does not explicitly state that that the lens frame is a different material than that of the lens barrel.
However in a related invention in the field of temperature compensation mechanisms for lens systems, xxx teaches in Fig. 5: a material of at least a part of the lens frame (“lens holder 112 … made of a material with a relatively small thermal expansion coefficient, such as metal or glass fiber plastic”; first para, page 12) differs from a material of at least a part of the lens barrel (“temperature compensation holder 113 is made of a material with a relatively large thermal expansion coefficient, such as plastic”; first para, page 12).
Furthermore, Saito teaches this configuration such that “by appropriately setting the relationship between the thermal expansion coefficient of the lens material and the thermal expansion coefficient of the collimator holder 3 and the lens barrel 9, it is possible to eliminate the deviation caused by temperature changes in the position of the light receiving surface and the circle of least confusion in the reading optical system” (Saito, first para, page 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okuno to incorporate the teachings of Saito to provide a device in which the lens frame is a different material than that of the lens barrel, for the purpose of eliminate the deviation caused by temperature changes (Saito, first para, page 5).
Regarding claim 12, Okuno teaches the lens unit according to claim 10. Okuno further teaches: a material of at least a part of the lens frame (133) differs from a material of at least a part of the lens barrel (1342) (“the material of the first member and the second member that should have a smaller linear expansion coefficient is not particularly limited, and can be made of various metallic materials, for example, a stainless steel alloy”; [0243]).
Okuno does not explicitly state that that the lens frame is a different material than that of the lens barrel.
However in a related invention in the field of temperature compensation mechanisms for lens systems, xxx teaches in Fig. 5: a material of at least a part of the lens frame (“lens holder 112 … made of a material with a relatively small thermal expansion coefficient, such as metal or glass fiber plastic”; first para, page 12) differs from a material of at least a part of the lens barrel (“temperature compensation holder 113 is made of a material with a relatively large thermal expansion coefficient, such as plastic”; first para, page 12).
Furthermore, Saito teaches this configuration such that “by appropriately setting the relationship between the thermal expansion coefficient of the lens material and the thermal expansion coefficient of the collimator holder 3 and the lens barrel 9, it is possible to eliminate the deviation caused by temperature changes in the position of the light receiving surface and the circle of least confusion in the reading optical system” (Saito, first para, page 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okuno to incorporate the teachings of Saito to provide a device in which the lens frame is a different material than that of the lens barrel, for the purpose of eliminate the deviation caused by temperature changes (Saito, first para, page 5).
Regarding claim 13, Okuno teaches the lens unit according to claim 11. Okuno further teaches: a material of at least a part of the lens frame (133) differs from a material of at least a part of the lens barrel (1342) (“the material of the first member and the second member that should have a smaller linear expansion coefficient is not particularly limited, and can be made of various metallic materials, for example, a stainless steel alloy”; [0243]).
Okuno does not explicitly state that that the lens frame is a different material than that of the lens barrel.
However in a related invention in the field of temperature compensation mechanisms for lens systems, xxx teaches in Fig. 5: a material of at least a part of the lens frame (“lens holder 112 … made of a material with a relatively small thermal expansion coefficient, such as metal or glass fiber plastic”; first para, page 12) differs from a material of at least a part of the lens barrel (“temperature compensation holder 113 is made of a material with a relatively large thermal expansion coefficient, such as plastic”; first para, page 12).
Furthermore, Saito teaches this configuration such that “by appropriately setting the relationship between the thermal expansion coefficient of the lens material and the thermal expansion coefficient of the collimator holder 3 and the lens barrel 9, it is possible to eliminate the deviation caused by temperature changes in the position of the light receiving surface and the circle of least confusion in the reading optical system” (Saito, first para, page 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okuno to incorporate the teachings of Saito to provide a device in which the lens frame is a different material than that of the lens barrel, for the purpose of eliminate the deviation caused by temperature changes (Saito, first para, page 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20180031803 A1: a focal position of the plurality of the lenses is shifted to the opposite side to the object side accompanied with a temperature rise, and a linear expansion coefficient of the holder is smaller than a linear expansion coefficient of the base.
US 20220146777 A1: an optical unit in which there exists a difference in linear expansion coefficient between the lens (first lens and second lens) and the intermediate spacer.
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872