DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 2, figure 8, in the reply filed on 3/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/27/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the water diversion valve in combination with the water outlet device of claims 7 and 11-13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The water outlet device is clearly shown and the diversion valve is clearly show, but what is not shown is these two elements in the same device. This is required by claims 7 and 11-13. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 1, in the terms “at least one water inlets” and “at least one second water intents,” the word “inlets” should be changed to “inlet”. This issue is also found in a few dependent claims as well. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, it is unclear what is meant by the term “intelligent closestool.” Secondly, It is unclear how a closestool can be intelligent. Nothing in claim 10 or claim 1 have provide any structure or function that would make the closestool intelligent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Rong (2019/0283048).
Regarding claim 1, Rong shows a water outlet device (250), comprising: a core (252), wherein the core comprises a mixing chamber (inside 252), at least one first water inlet (246, 258), at least one second water inlet (254), and a water outlet (260), wherein the water outlet connects with the mixing chamber (fig 6); wherein a tangential direction of the mixing chamber, a radial direction of the mixing chamber, and an axial direction of the mixing chamber are defined (figure 6, the mixing chamber has all those directions); the at least one first water inlet are disposed in the mixing chamber along the tangential direction (fig 6) so that a water flow entering the mixing chamber from the at least one first water inlet is capable of forming a vortex; and the at least one second water inlets are disposed in the mixing chamber along the axial direction (fig 6) so that a water flow entering the mixing chamber from the at least one second water inlet is capable of forming a stable water flow; and the water outlet is capable of spraying water flows in different states by adjusting a water intake ratio of the at least one first water inlet and the at least one second water inlet (fig 7a-7c).
Regarding claim 2, wherein a centerline of the water outlet coincides with an axis of the mixing chamber (fig 6).
Regarding claim 6, wherein an inner wall surface of the mixing chamber is an arc-shaped curved surface, and a shape of the arc-shaped curved surface is a truncated cone, a cone, an ellipsoid, or a cylinder (fig 6 shows a cylinder shaped mixing chamber).
Regarding claims 7 and 11, further comprising a water diversion valve (270), wherein the water diversion valve is configured to enable the water flow to selectively enter at least one of: the at least one first water inlets, or the at least one second water inlets (fig 6)
Regarding claim 10, Rong shows an intelligent closestool (the shower head 100 is being considered a closestool because it have be used as one), comprising the water outlet device of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong (2019/0283048) in view of Tilton et al. (2007/0018017)
Regarding claim 3, Rong shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein a cross-sectional area of the mixing chamber closer to the water outlet gradually decreases.
However, Tilton et al. teaches a very similar device where a cross-sectional area of the mixing chamber closer to the water outlet gradually decreases (165, fig 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to have the cross section of the mixing chamber of Rong gradually decrease towards the outlet, in order to increase flow velocity towards the outlet of the mixing chamber.
Regarding claim 12, further comprising a water diversion valve (270), wherein the water diversion valve is configured to enable the water flow to selectively enter at least one of: the at least one first water inlets, or the at least one second water inlets (fig 6)
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong (2019/0283048).
Regarding claim 4, Rong shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 1, but fails to show wherein an aperture of the water outlet is between 1 mm and 2 mm; or a flow area of the water outlet is between 0.8 mm2 and 3 mm2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Rong to so that the an aperture of the water outlet is between 1 mm and 2 mm; or a flow area of the water outlet is between 0.8 mm2 and 3 mm2, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 77 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984).
In this case, the device of Rong would not operate differently with the aperture of the water outlet being between 1 mm and 2 mm; or a flow area of the water outlet being between 0.8 mm2 and 3 mm2. , since the nozzle of Rong and the claimed nozzle are identical in every other way and changing the proportion of the proximal end will not affect the function of the nozzle. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality in the claimed range.
Regarding claim 13, further comprising a water diversion valve (270), wherein the water diversion valve is configured to enable the water flow to selectively enter at least one of: the at least one first water inlets, or the at least one second water inlets (fig 6).
Claim(s) 8, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong (2019/0283048) in view of Hamilton (1,968,391)
Regarding claims 8, 15 and 17, Rong and Rong as modified above, shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claims 7, 11 and 13 respectively, but fails to disclose that the water diversion valve comprises: a valve seat comprising a first water diversion hole and a second water diversion hole, wherein the first water diversion hole connects with the at least one first water inlets, and the second water diversion hole connects with the at least one second water inlets; and a moving member movably connected to the valve seat and comprising a third water diversion hole, wherein the third water diversion hole is capable of connecting with a water supply pipe; wherein when the moving member moves relative to the valve seat, the third water diversion hole selectively corresponds to at least one of: the first water diversion hole, or the second water diversion hole.
Hamilton shows a diversion valve that includes a valve seat (18) comprising a first water diversion hole (inlet to one of 19) and a second water diversion hole (inlet to the other 19), wherein the first water diversion hole connects with the at least one first water inlet (19), and the second water diversion hole connects with the at least one second water inlet (the other 19); and a moving member (20) movably connected to the valve seat and comprising a third water diversion hole (21), wherein the third water diversion hole is capable of connecting with a water supply pipe (5); wherein when the moving member moves relative to the valve seat, the third water diversion hole selectively corresponds to at least one of: the first water diversion hole, or the second water diversion hole (pane 1, lines 85-90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use the diversion valve of Hamilton in place of the diversion valve of Rong, in order to be able to easily connect each the first and second inlets to the fluid supply by simply rotating one part relative to another.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong (2019/0283048) as modified by Tilton et al. (2007/0018017) above, further in view of Hamilton (1,968,391)
Regarding claim 16, Rong as modified above, shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 12, but fails to disclose that the water diversion valve comprises: a valve seat comprising a first water diversion hole and a second water diversion hole, wherein the first water diversion hole connects with the at least one first water inlets, and the second water diversion hole connects with the at least one second water inlets; and a moving member movably connected to the valve seat and comprising a third water diversion hole, wherein the third water diversion hole is capable of connecting with a water supply pipe; wherein when the moving member moves relative to the valve seat, the third water diversion hole selectively corresponds to at least one of: the first water diversion hole, or the second water diversion hole.
Hamilton shows a diversion valve that includes a valve seat (18) comprising a first water diversion hole (inlet to one of 19) and a second water diversion hole (inlet to the other 19), wherein the first water diversion hole connects with the at least one first water inlet (19), and the second water diversion hole connects with the at least one second water inlet (the other 19); and a moving member (20) movably connected to the valve seat and comprising a third water diversion hole (21), wherein the third water diversion hole is capable of connecting with a water supply pipe (5); wherein when the moving member moves relative to the valve seat, the third water diversion hole selectively corresponds to at least one of: the first water diversion hole, or the second water diversion hole (pane 1, lines 85-90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use the diversion valve of Hamilton in place of the diversion valve of Rong as modified above, in order to be able to easily connect each the first and second inlets to the fluid supply by simply rotating one part relative to another.
Claim(s) 9, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong (2019/0283048) as modified by Hamilton (1,968,391) above, further in view of Roderick (1,120,975).
Regarding claims 9, 18 and 20 Rong as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claims 8, 15 and 17 respectfully, including wherein the valve seat and the moving member are both disc-shaped and rotatably stacked on each other (Hamilton), the first water diversion hole and the second water diversion hole extend along a circumferential direction of the valve seat and are arranged at intervals (Hamilton); and the third water diversion hole extends along a circumferential direction of the moving member (Hamilton).
But fails to disclose the first water diversion hole, the second water diversion hole, and the third water diversion hole are all waist-shaped holes.
Roderick teaches waste shaped holes in a rotary diversion valve (fig 2-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to make the holes in the diversion valve waist shaped, in order to allow more fluid to flow through them per unit to time compared to round holes of the same diameter as the witch of the waist shaped holes.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong (2019/0283048) as modified by Tilton et al. (2007/0018017) and Hamilton (1,968,391) above, further in view of Roderick (1,120,975).
Regarding claim 19 Rong as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 16 respectfully, including wherein the valve seat and the moving member are both disc-shaped and rotatably stacked on each other (Hamilton), the first water diversion hole and the second water diversion hole extend along a circumferential direction of the valve seat and are arranged at intervals (Hamilton); and the third water diversion hole extends along a circumferential direction of the moving member (Hamilton).
But fails to disclose the first water diversion hole, the second water diversion hole, and the third water diversion hole are all waist-shaped holes.
Roderick teaches waste shaped holes in a rotary diversion valve (fig 2-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to make the holes in the diversion valve waist shaped, in order to allow more fluid to flow through them per unit to time compared to round holes of the same diameter as the witch of the waist shaped holes.
Conclusion
/JASON J BOECKMANN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 4/29/2026