DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the amendment and arguments filed on March 10, 2026.
Claims 7-11 are pending.
Claims 7-11 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 14, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8-9, filed March 10, 2026, with respect to the objection the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (See Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0209576, hereinafter Hwang, in view of Zhou et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0210768, hereinafter Zhou.
Regarding Claim 7, Hwang discloses a terminal (Figure 1,2, 7-9 and 15-22) comprising:
a receiver configured to receive, from a second terminal, first control information including information related to reserved resources for a data channel in direct terminal-to- terminal communication, and to receive, from a third terminal, second control information including information related to reserved resources for a data channel in the direct terminal-to-terminal communication (Figure 15; Paragraph [0320] the first device may receive, through a first physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), first sidelink control information (SCI) including information related to a plurality of sidelink (SL) resources reserved by a second device. In step S1520, the first device may receive, through a second PSCCH, second SCI including information related to a plurality of SL resources reserved by a third device. For example, a first SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the second device may overlap with a second SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the third device);
a controller configured to detect a collision of the reserved resources based on the first control information and the second control information (Figure 15; Paragraph [0318-0320] Based on various embodiments of the present disclosure, if the UE-A which has received information related to SL resources from the UE-B and/or the UE-C detects a conflict (e.g., conflict between transmissions or conflict between transmission and reception (i.e., half-duplex problem)) on all or part of SL resources, the UE-A may transmit information related to resource conflict/overlap to the UE-B and/or the UE-C based on a PSFCH resource related to the SL resource. Through this, the UE-B and/or the UE-C can perform resource reselection for the SL resource, and a resource conflict between UEs can be minimized. In particular, in a situation where the UE-B and the UE-C cannot recognize each other's collision, the UE-B and/or the UE-C may perform resource reselection for the SL resource by the UE-A transmitting information related to resource conflict/overlap to the UE-B and/or the UE-C, and a resource conflict between UEs can be minimized; For example, a first SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the second device may overlap with a second SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the third device. In step S1530, the first device may determine a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource related to the first SL resource and the second SL resource);
and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the second terminal, a feedback channel including collision information of the reserved resources based on a first timing or a second timing (Figure 15 and 16; Paragraph [0318-0330] a first SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the second device may overlap with a second SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the third device. In step S1530, the first device may determine a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource related to the first SL resource and the second SL resource. In step S1540, the first device may transmit, to the second device or the third device, information related to overlap based on the PSFCH resource).
Hwang discloses a terminal which receives information related to reserved resources and detects a collision of the reserved resources and transmits on a feedback channel information indicating the collision information of the reserved resources at a timing but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first timing is based on a first time from reception of the first control information until transmission of the feedback channel, and wherein the second timing is based on a time from reception of the feedback channel by the second terminal until the collision of the reserved resources.
However, Zhou more specifically teaches wherein the first timing is based on a first time from reception of the first control information until transmission of the feedback channel, and wherein the second timing is based on a time from reception of the feedback channel by the second terminal until the collision of the reserved resources (Paragraph [0273] he UE performs decoding on the sub-channel M in slot N and obtain an SCI and the associated PSSCH, and transmits PSFCH associated with the SCI and the PSSCH on the PSFCH resource in the sub-channel M+M1 in slot N+N1. N1 is explicitly indicated in a field in the SCI, and M1 is predefined or included in the PSFCH configuration. Further, if there is no PSFCH resource on the sub-channel M+M1 in the slot N+N1 according to the PSFCH configuration, the UE determines another available PSFCH resource according to a predefined rule. For example, the PSFCH resources determined by the UE are PSFCH resources in subchannel M+M1 in the earliest slot containing PSFCH resources after the slot N+N1. Alternatively, it is PSFCH resources in the sub-channel M+M2 in slot N+N1, where M2 is the minimum value that satisfies the following conditions: sub-channel M+M2 contains PSFCH resources and M2>M1 (or may also be replaced by M2<M1); That is Zhou discloses a timing from reception of the feedback channel and timing at which the feedback channel that is earliest in a time domain can be transmitted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hwang with the teachings of Zhou. Zhou provides a solution for improved and efficient physical sidelink feedback avoiding the PSSCH collision and the PSFCH collision in which all UEs use the same N1 and follow the same PSSCH-PSFCH mapping criteria, thus UEs using the same PSSCH resources uses the same PSFCH time domain resources, which avoids resource waste due to the same PSSCH corresponding to multiple PSFCH time domain resources. The common value of N1 helps to reduce the complexity of the system both in mode 1 in which the base station schedules sidelink transmission and in mode 2 in which the UE selects sidelink resources, and ensures the fixity of the PSSCH-PSFCH mapping at the system level (Zhou Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0012, 0245 and 0275-0276]).
Regarding Claim 8, Hwang in view of Zhou disclose the terminal as claimed in Claim 7. Hwang in view of Zhou further discloses wherein the first timing is a timing at which the feedback channel that is the earliest in a time domain can be transmitted after the first time (Zhou Paragraph [0273] he UE performs decoding on the sub-channel M in slot N and obtain an SCI and the associated PSSCH, and transmits PSFCH associated with the SCI and the PSSCH on the PSFCH resource in the sub-channel M+M1 in slot N+N1. N1 is explicitly indicated in a field in the SCI, and M1 is predefined or included in the PSFCH configuration. Further, if there is no PSFCH resource on the sub-channel M+M1 in the slot N+N1 according to the PSFCH configuration, the UE determines another available PSFCH resource according to a predefined rule. For example, the PSFCH resources determined by the UE are PSFCH resources in subchannel M+M1 in the earliest slot containing PSFCH resources after the slot N+N1. Alternatively, it is PSFCH resources in the sub-channel M+M2 in slot N+N1, where M2 is the minimum value that satisfies the following conditions: sub-channel M+M2 contains PSFCH resources and M2>M1 (or may also be replaced by M2<M1); That is Zhou discloses a timing from reception of the feedback channel and timing at which the feedback channel that is earliest in a time domain can be transmitted).
Regarding Claim 9, Hwang in view of Zhou disclose the terminal as claimed in Claim 7. Hwang in view of Zhou further discloses wherein the second terminal performs reselection without using the reserved resources corresponding to the feedback channel (Hwang Paragraph [0093-0096] Autonomous resource (re)selection procedure considering the indication from feedback channel; Zhou Paragraph [0009] Autonomous resource selection).
Regarding Claim 10, Hwang discloses a communication method performed by a terminal (Figure 1,2, 7-9 and 15-22), the method comprising:
receiving, from a second terminal, first control information including information related to reserved resources for a data channel in direct terminal-to-terminal communication, and receiving, from a third terminal, second control information including information related to reserved resources for a data channel in the direct terminal-to-terminal communication (Figure 15; Paragraph [0320] the first device may receive, through a first physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), first sidelink control information (SCI) including information related to a plurality of sidelink (SL) resources reserved by a second device. In step S1520, the first device may receive, through a second PSCCH, second SCI including information related to a plurality of SL resources reserved by a third device. For example, a first SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the second device may overlap with a second SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the third device);
detecting a collision of the reserved resources based on the first control information and the second control information (Figure 15; Paragraph [0318-0320] Based on various embodiments of the present disclosure, if the UE-A which has received information related to SL resources from the UE-B and/or the UE-C detects a conflict (e.g., conflict between transmissions or conflict between transmission and reception (i.e., half-duplex problem)) on all or part of SL resources, the UE-A may transmit information related to resource conflict/overlap to the UE-B and/or the UE-C based on a PSFCH resource related to the SL resource. Through this, the UE-B and/or the UE-C can perform resource reselection for the SL resource, and a resource conflict between UEs can be minimized. In particular, in a situation where the UE-B and the UE-C cannot recognize each other's collision, the UE-B and/or the UE-C may perform resource reselection for the SL resource by the UE-A transmitting information related to resource conflict/overlap to the UE-B and/or the UE-C, and a resource conflict between UEs can be minimized; For example, a first SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the second device may overlap with a second SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the third device. In step S1530, the first device may determine a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource related to the first SL resource and the second SL resource);
and transmitting, to the second terminal, a feedback channel including collision information of the reserved resources based on a first timing or a second timing (Figure 15 and 16; Paragraph [0318-0330] a first SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the second device may overlap with a second SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the third device. In step S1530, the first device may determine a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource related to the first SL resource and the second SL resource. In step S1540, the first device may transmit, to the second device or the third device, information related to overlap based on the PSFCH resource).
Hwang discloses a terminal which receives information related to reserved resources and detects a collision of the reserved resources and transmits on a feedback channel information indicating the collision information of the reserved resources at a timing but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first timing is based on a first time from reception of the first control information until transmission of the feedback channel, and wherein the second timing is based on a time from reception of the feedback channel by the second terminal until the collision of the reserved resources.
However, Zhou more specifically teaches wherein the first timing is based on a first time from reception of the first control information until transmission of the feedback channel, and wherein the second timing is based on a time from reception of the feedback channel by the second terminal until the collision of the reserved resources (Paragraph [0273] he UE performs decoding on the sub-channel M in slot N and obtain an SCI and the associated PSSCH, and transmits PSFCH associated with the SCI and the PSSCH on the PSFCH resource in the sub-channel M+M1 in slot N+N1. N1 is explicitly indicated in a field in the SCI, and M1 is predefined or included in the PSFCH configuration. Further, if there is no PSFCH resource on the sub-channel M+M1 in the slot N+N1 according to the PSFCH configuration, the UE determines another available PSFCH resource according to a predefined rule. For example, the PSFCH resources determined by the UE are PSFCH resources in subchannel M+M1 in the earliest slot containing PSFCH resources after the slot N+N1. Alternatively, it is PSFCH resources in the sub-channel M+M2 in slot N+N1, where M2 is the minimum value that satisfies the following conditions: sub-channel M+M2 contains PSFCH resources and M2>M1 (or may also be replaced by M2<M1); That is Zhou discloses a timing from reception of the feedback channel and timing at which the feedback channel that is earliest in a time domain can be transmitted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hwang with the teachings of Zhou. Zhou provides a solution for improved and efficient physical sidelink feedback avoiding the PSSCH collision and the PSFCH collision in which all UEs use the same N1 and follow the same PSSCH-PSFCH mapping criteria, thus UEs using the same PSSCH resources uses the same PSFCH time domain resources, which avoids resource waste due to the same PSSCH corresponding to multiple PSFCH time domain resources. The common value of N1 helps to reduce the complexity of the system both in mode 1 in which the base station schedules sidelink transmission and in mode 2 in which the UE selects sidelink resources, and ensures the fixity of the PSSCH-PSFCH mapping at the system level (Zhou Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0012, 0245 and 0275-0276]).
Regarding Claim 11, Hwang discloses a communication system comprising a first terminal, a second terminal, and a third terminal (Figure 1,2, 7-9 and 15-22), wherein the first terminal comprises:
a receiver configured to receive, from the second terminal, first control information including information related to reserved resources for a data channel in direct terminal-to- terminal communication, and to receive, from the third terminal, second control information including information related to reserved resources for a data channel in the direct terminal-to-terminal communication (Figure 15; Paragraph [0320] the first device may receive, through a first physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), first sidelink control information (SCI) including information related to a plurality of sidelink (SL) resources reserved by a second device. In step S1520, the first device may receive, through a second PSCCH, second SCI including information related to a plurality of SL resources reserved by a third device. For example, a first SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the second device may overlap with a second SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the third device);
a controller configured to detect a collision of the reserved resources based on the first control information and the second control information (Figure 15; Paragraph [0318-0320] Based on various embodiments of the present disclosure, if the UE-A which has received information related to SL resources from the UE-B and/or the UE-C detects a conflict (e.g., conflict between transmissions or conflict between transmission and reception (i.e., half-duplex problem)) on all or part of SL resources, the UE-A may transmit information related to resource conflict/overlap to the UE-B and/or the UE-C based on a PSFCH resource related to the SL resource. Through this, the UE-B and/or the UE-C can perform resource reselection for the SL resource, and a resource conflict between UEs can be minimized. In particular, in a situation where the UE-B and the UE-C cannot recognize each other's collision, the UE-B and/or the UE-C may perform resource reselection for the SL resource by the UE-A transmitting information related to resource conflict/overlap to the UE-B and/or the UE-C, and a resource conflict between UEs can be minimized; For example, a first SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the second device may overlap with a second SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the third device. In step S1530, the first device may determine a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource related to the first SL resource and the second SL resource);
and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the second terminal, a feedback channel including collision information of the reserved resources based on a first timing or a second timing, wherein the second terminal comprises: a transmitter configured to transmit the first control information to the first terminal and a receiver configured to receive the feedback channel from the first terminal based on the first timing or the second timing (Figure 15 and 16; Paragraph [0318-0330] a first SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the second device may overlap with a second SL resource among the plurality of SL resources reserved by the third device. In step S1530, the first device may determine a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource related to the first SL resource and the second SL resource. In step S1540, the first device may transmit, to the second device or the third device, information related to overlap based on the PSFCH resource).
Hwang discloses a terminal which receives information related to reserved resources and detects a collision of the reserved resources and transmits on a feedback channel information indicating the collision information of the reserved resources at a timing but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first timing is based on a first time from reception of the first control information until transmission of the feedback channel, and wherein the second timing is based on a time from reception of the feedback channel by the second terminal until the collision of the reserved resources.
However, Zhou more specifically teaches wherein the first timing is based on a first time from reception of the first control information until transmission of the feedback channel, and wherein the second timing is based on a time from reception of the feedback channel by the first terminal until the collision of the reserved resources (Paragraph [0273] he UE performs decoding on the sub-channel M in slot N and obtain an SCI and the associated PSSCH, and transmits PSFCH associated with the SCI and the PSSCH on the PSFCH resource in the sub-channel M+M1 in slot N+N1. N1 is explicitly indicated in a field in the SCI, and M1 is predefined or included in the PSFCH configuration. Further, if there is no PSFCH resource on the sub-channel M+M1 in the slot N+N1 according to the PSFCH configuration, the UE determines another available PSFCH resource according to a predefined rule. For example, the PSFCH resources determined by the UE are PSFCH resources in subchannel M+M1 in the earliest slot containing PSFCH resources after the slot N+N1. Alternatively, it is PSFCH resources in the sub-channel M+M2 in slot N+N1, where M2 is the minimum value that satisfies the following conditions: sub-channel M+M2 contains PSFCH resources and M2>M1 (or may also be replaced by M2<M1); That is Zhou discloses a timing from reception of the feedback channel and timing at which the feedback channel that is earliest in a time domain can be transmitted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hwang with the teachings of Zhou. Zhou provides a solution for improved and efficient physical sidelink feedback avoiding the PSSCH collision and the PSFCH collision in which all UEs use the same N1 and follow the same PSSCH-PSFCH mapping criteria, thus UEs using the same PSSCH resources uses the same PSFCH time domain resources, which avoids resource waste due to the same PSSCH corresponding to multiple PSFCH time domain resources. The common value of N1 helps to reduce the complexity of the system both in mode 1 in which the base station schedules sidelink transmission and in mode 2 in which the UE selects sidelink resources, and ensures the fixity of the PSSCH-PSFCH mapping at the system level (Zhou Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0012, 0245 and 0275-0276]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409