DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks submitted on 08/18/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 05/21/2025. Independent claims 1, 12, 27 and 29 are amended. Claim 17 is cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-16 and 18-30 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/18/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-8, 10,12-15, 18-24 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-WG SA2 Meeting #145E e-meeting; S2-2103816; Title: Mapping UE IP address and GPSI; Source to WG: Ericsson; Elbonia, May 17th - 28th, 2021; 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson, hereinafter, in view of Chen et al. (2024/0314718), Chen hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 27, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson teaches an apparatus (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, AF, first entity) for wireless communications (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1.: AF in untrusted domain correlates UE data collection and NWDAF request) by a first entity (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, AF, first entity), and a method (§6.2.8.2.4.x) for wireless communications (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1.: AF in untrusted domain correlates UE data collection and NWDAF request) by a first entity (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, AF, first entity) , comprising: providing information to a second entity (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, NEF, second entity) an update request comprising information identifying at least one user equipment (UE) identifier (ID) and at least one corresponding static internet protocol (IP) address, wherein the update request requests creation of or an update to a relation between the at least one UE ID and the at least one corresponding static IP address for a protocol data unit (PDU) session associate with a data network name (DNN) of a single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1 & 6.2.8.2.4.x - If the AF <first entity> receives the Naf_EventExposure_Subscribe from NWDAF, via NEF, including Target for Event Reporting set to GPSI, the AF < first entity> request the NEF <second entity> to provide the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both.. Step 1 - The AF <first entity> requests NEF <second entity> to provide the IPv4address or IPv6 prefix or both serving the PDU session for this GPSI towards the NEF using Nnef_UEid_Get_Request. Step 2 - The NEF finds the SMF serving the PDU session(s) for this SUPI, DNN, S-NSSAI using Nudm_UECM_Get_Request including GPSI type of requested information set to SMF Registration Info and the S-NSSAI and DNN. Step 3 - The UDM provides the SMF id and the PDU Session id using Nudm_UECM_Get_Response to the NEF. Step 4 - The NEF sends Nsmf_EvenExposure_Subscribe to the SMF identified in step 3, including the Target for Event Reporting set to the PDU Session id provided in step 2 and the Event ID set to IP address/prefix allocation/change. Step 5 - The SMF provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the NEF. Step 6 - The NEF <second entity> provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the AF <first entity>. Step 7 - The AF <first entity> correlates the UE data that includes the UE IP address and the NWDAF request for the GPSI using the retrieved IPv4 address or IP v6 prefix.);
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson does not expressly teach a memory having executable instructions stored thereon; and a processor configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the apparatus to, and receiving a response indicating whether the update request is granted from the second entity.
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses a memory (Fig. 10, 1006/Fig. 11, 1106) having executable instructions stored (Fig. 10-11 & ¶0174) thereon; and a processor (Fig. 10, 1004/Fig. 11, 1104) configured to execute the executable instructions (Fig. 10-11 & ¶0174) to cause the apparatus to, and receiving a response indicating whether the update request is granted from the second entity. (Fig. 5A & ¶0106 - Step 518) The NEF 400 (i.e., second entity) transmits to the AF 312 (i.e., first entity), an NEF response indicating whether the request described in Step 510A is granted or not. Also, see Fig. 6-7, 518).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for dynamically determining /changing QoS (quality of service) of any UE(s) (User Equipment) for setting up a new PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session for edge computing type of scenarios (e.g., scheduled sports events) operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Chen)
Re. Claims 2 and 28, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claims 1 and 27.
3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson further teaches wherein the first entity comprises an application function (AF) (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, AF).
Re. Claim 3, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 1.
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson does not expressly teach wherein the at least one UE ID comprises a list of generic public subscription identifiers (GPSIs) for one or more members of a group of UEs; and the information further comprises an external group ID for the group of UEs.
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses wherein the at least one UE ID comprises a list of generic public subscription identifiers (GPSIs) for one or more members of a group of UEs; and the information further comprises an external group ID for the group of UEs. (Fig. 5A & ¶0092:¶0104 - Step 510A) AF 312 (i.e., first entity) decides to transmit a request with QoS requirement to a Mobile Network Operator (MNO) via an enhanced NEF API (i.e. Nnef_AFsessionWithQoS) or a new API, including the following parameters: An identity (e.g. Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) or UE IP address, like “ipv4Addr”/“ipv6Addr”) for one specific UE that has not established a protocol data unit (PDU) session yet, an identity for a group of UEs (e.g., externalGroupId), a list identities for a group of UEs, or a UE indication, which identifies whether the request applies to any UE, i.e. all UEs, (e.g., anyUeInd). The attribute of the UE indication will be set to “true” if applicable for any UE, otherwise, set to “false”.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for dynamically determining /changing QoS (quality of service) of any UE(s) (User Equipment) for setting up a new PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session for edge computing type of scenarios (e.g., scheduled sports events) operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Chen)
Re. Claim 4, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 3.
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson does not expressly teach wherein the at least one corresponding static IP address comprises a list of static IP addresses and corresponding IP versions for one or more members of the group of UEs.
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses wherein the at least one corresponding static IP address comprises a list of static IP addresses and corresponding IP versions for one or more members of the group of UEs. (Fig. 5A-5B & ¶0007: ¶0009 - a method of operation of an Application Function (AF) comprises transmitting a request to a Network Exposure Function (NEF) and receiving, from the NEF, an NEF response indicating whether the request is granted or not. Herein, the request comprises information indicating at least one UE that has not established a PDU session yet. ..the information indicating the at least one UE comprises a UE identity (UE ID) of a specific UE of the at least one UE… the UE ID is a Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) or a UE IP address. Fig. 5A-5B & ¶0013 - the information indicating the plurality of UEs comprises a list of UE IDs of the plurality of UEs, a UE group ID of the plurality of UEs, or a UE indication that identifies whether the request applies to any UE of the plurality of UEs. Fig. 5A & ¶0092:¶0104 - Step 510A) AF 312 (i.e., first entity) decides to transmit a request with QoS requirement to a Mobile Network Operator (MNO) via an enhanced NEF API (i.e. Nnef_AFsessionWithQoS) or a new API, including the following parameters: An identity (e.g. Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) or UE IP address, like “ipv4Addr”/“ipv6Addr”) for one specific UE that has not established a protocol data unit (PDU) session yet, an identity for a group of UEs (e.g., externalGroupId), a list identities for a group of UEs, or a UE indication, which identifies whether the request applies to any UE, i.e. all UEs, (e.g., anyUeInd). The attribute of the UE indication will be set to “true” if applicable for any UE, otherwise, set to “false”.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for dynamically determining /changing QoS (quality of service) of any UE(s) (User Equipment) for setting up a new PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session for edge computing type of scenarios (e.g., scheduled sports events) operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Chen)
Re. Claim 5, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 3.
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson does not expressly teach wherein the information in the update request comprises instructions to create, update, or delete at least one of group subscription data or UE subscription data in a unified data repository (UDR).
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses wherein the information in the update request comprises instructions to create, update, or delete at least one of group subscription data or UE subscription data in a unified data repository (UDR). (Fig. 5A-5B & ¶0104: ¶0109 - Step 514A) The NEF 400 transmits a data update request to the UDR 404 for storage. The data update request includes information associated with identity/indication of UE(s) and optional conditions described in Step 510A. The data update request will also include QoS data, such as the QOS Reference, the IP Flows, the DNN/S-NSSAI, the usageThreshold, and/or the qosMonInfo described in Step 510A. The data update request may be transmitted via an enhanced Nudr_DataRepository Service. … Step 516) The UDR 404 transmits to NEF 400 a UDR response indicating that the data update information is stored in the UDR 404. Step 520) The PCF 310 transmits a subscription to the UDR 404 for subscribing a notification corresponding to the data update request. The subscription may be transmitted via a Nudr_DM service. Alternatively, the PCF 310 transmits a query to the UDR 404, during UE registration, for requesting the notification corresponding to the data update request. Step 522A) The UDR 404 transmits to the PCF 310 a notification corresponding to the data update request, wherein the notification comprises the information associated with identity/indication of UE(s), QoS data, and optional conditions described in Step 510A. Step 518) - The PCF 310 transmits to the AF 312, a notification response indicating that the PCF successfully receives the notification. Step 526) The PCF 310 may transmit to the SMF 308 a subscription for subscribing the location notification (if available) that notifies when the target UE(s) 212 enters or exits the one or more geographic zones. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presences of “at least one of” & “or” in the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for dynamically determining /changing QoS (quality of service) of any UE(s) (User Equipment) for setting up a new PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session for edge computing type of scenarios (e.g., scheduled sports events) operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Chen)
Re. Claim 6, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 1.
3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson further teaches wherein the second entity comprises a network exposure function (NEF) or a unified data management (UDM). (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, NEF. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presences of “or” in the limitation).
Re. Claim 7, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 1.
3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson further teaches wherein the at least one UE ID comprises one or more generic public subscription identifiers (GPSIs) for one or more particular UEs to be configured with respective static IP addresses. (Summary of change: The AF in the untrusted may map the GPSI to a UE IP address or the NWDAF may do the mapping instead and provide the UE IP address to the AF. Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1 & 6.2.8.2.4.x - If the AF receives the Naf_EventExposure_Subscribe from NWDAF, via NEF, including Target for Event Reporting set to GPSI, the AF request the NEF to provide the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both.. Step 1 - The AF requests NEF to provide the IPv4address or IPv6 prefix or both serving the PDU session for this GPSI towards the NEF using Nnef_UEid_Get_Request. Step 2 - The NEF finds the SMF serving the PDU session(s) for this SUPI, DNN, S-NSSAI using Nudm_UECM_Get_Request including GPSI type of requested information set to SMF Registration Info and the S-NSSAI and DNN. …. Step 7 - The AF correlates the UE data that includes the UE IP address and the NWDAF request for the GPSI using the retrieved IPv4 address or IP v6 prefix).
Re. Claim 8, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 6.
3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson further teaches comprising allocating the corresponding static IP addresses in the request. (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1 & 6.2.8.2.4.x - If the AF receives the Naf_EventExposure_Subscribe from NWDAF, via NEF, including Target for Event Reporting set to GPSI, the AF request the NEF to provide the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both. Step 4. -The NEF sends Nsmf_EvenExposure_Subscribe to the SMF identified in step 3, including the Target for Event Reporting set to the PDU Session id provided in step 2 and the Event ID set to IP address/prefix allocation/change. Step 5. -The SMF provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the NEF. Step 6 -The NEF provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the AF.)
Re. Claim 10, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 7.
3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson further teaches transmitting an allocation request with the one or more GPSIs for the one or more particular UEs to a network entity (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1 & 6.2.8.2.4.x - If the AF <first entity> receives the Naf_EventExposure_Subscribe from NWDAF, via NEF, including Target for Event Reporting set to GPSI, the AF < first entity> request the NEF <second entity> to provide the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both.. Step 1 - The AF <first entity> requests NEF <second entity> to provide the IPv4address or IPv6 prefix or both serving the PDU session for this GPSI towards the NEF using Nnef_UEid_Get_Request. Step 2 - The NEF finds the SMF serving the PDU session(s) for this SUPI, DNN, S-NSSAI using Nudm_UECM_Get_Request including GPSI type of requested information set to SMF Registration Info and the S-NSSAI and DNN. Step 3 - The UDM provides the SMF id and the PDU Session id using Nudm_UECM_Get_Response to the NEF. Step 4 - The NEF sends Nsmf_EvenExposure_Subscribe to the SMF identified in step 3, including the Target for Event Reporting set to the PDU Session id provided in step 2 and the Event ID set to IP address/prefix allocation/change. Step 5 - The SMF provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the NEF.); and receiving one or more static IP addresses from the network entity in response to the allocation request (Step 6 - The NEF <second entity/Network entity> provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the AF <first entity>.).
Re. claims 12 and 29, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson teaches an method (§6.2.8.2.4.x) for wireless communications (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1.: AF in untrusted domain correlates UE data collection and NWDAF request) by a second entity (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, NEF, second entity), and an apparatus (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, NEF, second entity) for wireless communications (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1.: AF in untrusted domain correlates UE data collection and NWDAF request) by a second entity (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, NEF, second entity): receive, from a first entity (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, AF, first entity), an update request comprising information identifying at least one user equipment (UE) ID and at least one corresponding static UE internet protocol (IP) address, wherein the update request requests creation of or an update to a relation between the at least one UE ID and the at least one corresponding static UE IP address for a protocol data unit (PDU) session (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1 & 6.2.8.2.4.x - If the AF <first entity> receives the Naf_EventExposure_Subscribe from NWDAF, via NEF, including Target for Event Reporting set to GPSI, the AF < first entity> request the NEF <second entity> to provide the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both.. Step 1 - The AF <first entity> requests NEF <second entity> to provide the IPv4address or IPv6 prefix or both serving the PDU session for this GPSI towards the NEF using Nnef_UEid_Get_Request. Step 2 - The NEF finds the SMF serving the PDU session(s) for this SUPI, DNN, S-NSSAI using Nudm_UECM_Get_Request including GPSI type of requested information set to SMF Registration Info and the S-NSSAI and DNN. Step 3 - The UDM <second entity> provides the SMF id and the PDU Session id using Nudm_UECM_Get_Response to the NEF. Step 4 - The NEF sends Nsmf_EvenExposure_Subscribe to the SMF identified in step 3, including the Target for Event Reporting set to the PDU Session id provided in step 2 and the Event ID set to IP address/prefix allocation/change. Step 5 - The SMF provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the NEF. Step 6 - The NEF <second entity> provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the AF <first entity>. Step 7 - The AF <first entity> correlates the UE data that includes the UE IP address and the NWDAF request for the GPSI using the retrieved IPv4 address or IP v6 prefix);
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson does not expressly teach a memory having executable instructions stored thereon; and a processor configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the apparatus to, and request an update of subscription data based on the relation received in the update request.
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses a memory (Fig. 10, 1006/Fig. 11, 1106) having executable instructions stored (Fig. 10-11 & ¶0174) thereon; and a processor (Fig. 10, 1004/Fig. 11, 1104) configured to execute the executable instructions (Fig. 10-11 & ¶0174) to cause the apparatus to, and request an update of subscription data based on the relation received in the update request (Fig. 5A-5B & ¶0104: ¶0109 - Step 514A) The NEF 400 transmits a data update request to the UDR 404 for storage. The data update request includes information associated with identity/indication of UE(s) and optional conditions described in Step 510A. The data update request will also include QoS data, such as the QOS Reference, the IP Flows, the DNN/S-NSSAI, the usageThreshold, and/or the qosMonInfo described in Step 510A. The data update request may be transmitted via an enhanced Nudr_DataRepository Service. … Step 516) The UDR 404 transmits to NEF 400 a UDR response indicating that the data update information is stored in the UDR 404. Step 520) The PCF 310 transmits a subscription to the UDR 404 for subscribing a notification corresponding to the data update request. The subscription may be transmitted via a Nudr_DM service. Alternatively, the PCF 310 transmits a query to the UDR 404, during UE registration, for requesting the notification corresponding to the data update request. Step 522A) The UDR 404 transmits to the PCF 310 a notification corresponding to the data update request, wherein the notification comprises the information associated with identity/indication of UE(s), QoS data, and optional conditions described in Step 510A. Step 518) - The PCF 310 transmits to the AF 312, a notification response indicating that the PCF successfully receives the notification. Step 526) The PCF 310 may transmit to the SMF 308 a subscription for subscribing the location notification (if available) that notifies when the target UE(s) 212 enters or exits the one or more geographic zones. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presences of “or” in the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for dynamically determining /changing QoS (quality of service) of any UE(s) (User Equipment) for setting up a new PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session for edge computing type of scenarios (e.g., scheduled sports events) operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Chen)
Re. Claim 13, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 12.
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson does not expressly teach receiving a data management query from a third entity; and transmitting the update of subscription data in response to the data management query to the third entity.
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses teach receiving a data management query from a third entity (Fig. 5A-5B & ¶0157 - In step 522A/522B, the UDR 404 (i.e., third entity) transmits a notification to a policy control function (like the PCF 310) corresponding to the data update request. In one embodiment, the notification comprises information associated with the information indicating the at least one UE (associated with the UE ID for a specific UE or the UE indication for any UE) that has not established a PDU session yet. In another embodiment, the notification from the UDR to the PCF comprises information associated with the information indicating the plurality of UEs (associated with the list of UE IDs, the UE group ID, or the UE indication for the plurality of UEs).); and transmitting the update of subscription data in response to the data management query to the third entity. (Fig. 5A-5B & ¶0159 - In step 524, the UDR 404 receives from the PCF 310 a notification response indicating that the PCF 310 successfully receives the notification.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for dynamically determining /changing QoS (quality of service) of any UE(s) (User Equipment) for setting up a new PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session for edge computing type of scenarios (e.g., scheduled sports events) operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Chen)
Re. Claim 14, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 13.
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson does not expressly teach wherein the third entity comprises a unified data repository (UDR).
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses teach wherein the third entity comprises a unified data repository (UDR). (Fig. 5A-5B & ¶0157 - In step 522A/522B, the UDR 404 (i.e., third entity) transmits a notification to a policy control function (like the PCF 310) corresponding to the data update request. In one embodiment, the notification comprises information associated with the information indicating the at least one UE (associated with the UE ID for a specific UE or the UE indication for any UE) that has not established a PDU session yet. In another embodiment, the notification from the UDR to the PCF comprises information associated with the information indicating the plurality of UEs (associated with the list of UE IDs, the UE group ID, or the UE indication for the plurality of UEs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for dynamically determining /changing QoS (quality of service) of any UE(s) (User Equipment) for setting up a new PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session for edge computing type of scenarios (e.g., scheduled sports events) operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Chen)
Re. Claim 15, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 12.
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson does not expressly teach transmitting, a response regarding the update request, to the first entity that the update of subscription data based on the relation has been submitted.
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses teach transmitting, a response regarding the update request, to the first entity that the update of subscription data based on the relation has been submitted. (Fig. 5A-5B & ¶0104: ¶0109 - Step 514A) The NEF 400 transmits a data update request to the UDR 404 for storage. The data update request includes information associated with identity/indication of UE(s) and optional conditions described in Step 510A. The data update request will also include QoS data, such as the QOS Reference, the IP Flows, the DNN/S-NSSAI, the usageThreshold, and/or the qosMonInfo described in Step 510A. The data update request may be transmitted via an enhanced Nudr_DataRepository Service. … Step 516) The UDR 404 transmits to NEF 400 a UDR response indicating that the data update information is stored in the UDR 404. Step 520) The PCF 310 transmits a subscription to the UDR 404 for subscribing a notification corresponding to the data update request. The subscription may be transmitted via a Nudr_DM service. Alternatively, the PCF 310 transmits a query to the UDR 404, during UE registration, for requesting the notification corresponding to the data update request. Step 522A) The UDR 404 transmits to the PCF 310 a notification corresponding to the data update request, wherein the notification comprises the information associated with identity/indication of UE(s), QoS data, and optional conditions described in Step 510A. Step 518) - The PCF 310 transmits to the AF 312, a notification response indicating that the PCF successfully receives the notification. Step 526) The PCF 310 may transmit to the SMF 308 a subscription for subscribing the location notification (if available) that notifies when the target UE(s) 212 enters or exits the one or more geographic zones).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for dynamically determining /changing QoS (quality of service) of any UE(s) (User Equipment) for setting up a new PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session for edge computing type of scenarios (e.g., scheduled sports events) operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Chen)
Re. Claim 18, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 12.
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson does not expressly teach wherein the at least one UE ID comprises a list of generic public subscription identifiers (GPSIs) for one or more members of a group of UEs; and the update request further comprises an external group ID for the group of UEs.
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses wherein the at least one UE ID comprises a list of generic public subscription identifiers (GPSIs) for one or more members of a group of UEs; and the update request further comprises an external group ID for the group of UEs. (Fig. 5A & ¶0092:¶0104 - Step 510A) AF 312 (i.e., first entity) decides to transmit a request with QoS requirement to a Mobile Network Operator (MNO) via an enhanced NEF API (i.e. Nnef_AFsessionWithQoS) or a new API, including the following parameters: An identity (e.g. Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) or UE IP address, like “ipv4Addr”/“ipv6Addr”) for one specific UE that has not established a protocol data unit (PDU) session yet, an identity for a group of UEs (e.g., externalGroupId), a list identities for a group of UEs, or a UE indication, which identifies whether the request applies to any UE, i.e. all UEs, (e.g., anyUeInd). The attribute of the UE indication will be set to “true” if applicable for any UE, otherwise, set to “false”.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for dynamically determining /changing QoS (quality of service) of any UE(s) (User Equipment) for setting up a new PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session for edge computing type of scenarios (e.g., scheduled sports events) operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Chen)
Re. Claim 19, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 18.
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson does not expressly teach wherein the at least one corresponding static IP address comprises a list of static IP addresses and corresponding IP versions for one or more members of the group of UEs.
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses wherein the at least one corresponding static IP address comprises a list of static IP addresses and corresponding IP versions for one or more members of the group of UEs. (Fig. 5A & ¶0092:¶0104 - Step 510A) AF 312 (i.e., first entity) decides to transmit a request with QoS requirement to a Mobile Network Operator (MNO) via an enhanced NEF API (i.e. Nnef_AFsessionWithQoS) or a new API, including the following parameters: An identity (e.g. Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) or UE IP address, like “ipv4Addr”/“ipv6Addr”) for one specific UE that has not established a protocol data unit (PDU) session yet, an identity for a group of UEs (e.g., externalGroupId), a list identities for a group of UEs, or a UE indication, which identifies whether the request applies to any UE, i.e. all UEs, (e.g., anyUeInd). The attribute of the UE indication will be set to “true” if applicable for any UE, otherwise, set to “false”.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for dynamically determining /changing QoS (quality of service) of any UE(s) (User Equipment) for setting up a new PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session for edge computing type of scenarios (e.g., scheduled sports events) operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Chen)
Re. Claim 20, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 18.
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson does not expressly teach wherein the update request comprises instructions to create, update, or delete at least one of group subscription data or UE subscription data.
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses wherein the update request comprises instructions to create, update, or delete at least one of group subscription data or UE subscription data. (Fig. 5A-5B & ¶0104: ¶0109 - Step 514A) The NEF 400 transmits a data update request to the UDR 404 for storage. The data update request includes information associated with identity/indication of UE(s) and optional conditions described in Step 510A. The data update request will also include QoS data, such as the QOS Reference, the IP Flows, the DNN/S-NSSAI, the usageThreshold, and/or the qosMonInfo described in Step 510A. The data update request may be transmitted via an enhanced Nudr_DataRepository Service. … Step 516) The UDR 404 transmits to NEF 400 a UDR response indicating that the data update information is stored in the UDR 404. Step 520) The PCF 310 transmits a subscription to the UDR 404 for subscribing a notification corresponding to the data update request. The subscription may be transmitted via a Nudr_DM service. Alternatively, the PCF 310 transmits a query to the UDR 404, during UE registration, for requesting the notification corresponding to the data update request. Step 522A) The UDR 404 transmits to the PCF 310 a notification corresponding to the data update request, wherein the notification comprises the information associated with identity/indication of UE(s), QoS data, and optional conditions described in Step 510A. Step 518) - The PCF 310 transmits to the AF 312, a notification response indicating that the PCF successfully receives the notification. Step 526) The PCF 310 may transmit to the SMF 308 a subscription for subscribing the location notification (if available) that notifies when the target UE(s) 212 enters or exits the one or more geographic zones. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presences of “at least one of” & “or” in the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for dynamically determining /changing QoS (quality of service) of any UE(s) (User Equipment) for setting up a new PDU (Protocol Data Unit) session for edge computing type of scenarios (e.g., scheduled sports events) operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Chen)
Re. Claim 21, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 12.
3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson further teaches wherein the first entity comprises a network exposure function (NEF) (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, NEF) and the second entity comprises a unified data management (UDM) (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, UDM), the NEF receiving the relation from an application function (AF) (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1 & 6.2.8.2.4.x - Step 1 - The AF receives a request to retrieve input data including a GPSI. The AF requests NEF to provide the IPv4address or IPv6 prefix or both serving the PDU session for this GPSI towards the NEF using Nnef_UEid_Get_Request.).
Re. Claim 22, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 12.
3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson further teaches wherein the first entity comprises an application function (AF) (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, AF) and the second entity comprises a unified data management (UDM) (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, UDM).
Re. Claim 23, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 12.
3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson further teaches wherein the at least one UE ID comprises one or more generic public subscription identifiers (GPSIs) for one or more particular UEs to be configured with respective static IP addresses. (Summary of change: The AF in the untrusted may map the GPSI to a UE IP address or the NWDAF may do the mapping instead and provide the UE IP address to the AF. Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1 & 6.2.8.2.4.x - If the AF receives the Naf_EventExposure_Subscribe from NWDAF, via NEF, including Target for Event Reporting set to GPSI, the AF request the NEF to provide the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both.. Step 1 - The AF requests NEF to provide the IPv4address or IPv6 prefix or both serving the PDU session for this GPSI towards the NEF using Nnef_UEid_Get_Request. Step 2 - The NEF finds the SMF serving the PDU session(s) for this SUPI, DNN, S-NSSAI using Nudm_UECM_Get_Request including GPSI type of requested information set to SMF Registration Info and the S-NSSAI and DNN. …. Step 7 - The AF correlates the UE data that includes the UE IP address and the NWDAF request for the GPSI using the retrieved IPv4 address or IP v6 prefix).
Re. Claim 24, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 23.
3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson further teaches wherein the at least one corresponding static IP addresses in the request are allocated by the first entity. (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1 & 6.2.8.2.4.x - If the AF receives the Naf_EventExposure_Subscribe from NWDAF, via NEF, including Target for Event Reporting set to GPSI, the AF request the NEF to provide the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both. Step 4. -The NEF sends Nsmf_EvenExposure_Subscribe to the SMF identified in step 3, including the Target for Event Reporting set to the PDU Session id provided in step 2 and the Event ID set to IP address/prefix allocation/change. Step 5. -The SMF provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the NEF. Step 6 -The NEF provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the AF.)
Re. Claim 30, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 29.
3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson further teaches wherein the first entity comprises an application function (AF) (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, AF) and the second entity comprises a unified data management (UDM) (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1, UDM).
Claims 9 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson, in view of Chen, further in view of Han et al. (2022/0182804), Han hereinafter.
Re. Claims 9 and 25, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claims 8 and 24.
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen do not expressly teach wherein allocating the corresponding static IP addresses comprises avoiding conflicting address allocations.
However, in the analogous art, Han explicitly discloses wherein allocating the corresponding static IP addresses comprises avoiding conflicting address allocations. (Fig.1A/Fig. 6A-6B & ¶0374 - To avoid an IP address conflict that occurs on 3GPP terminal devices in the target group, the second SMF network element may request the GSMF network element to allocate the IP address to the terminal device)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system and Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system to include Han’s invention of a communication processing mechanism in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in satisfying a requirement of implementing communication between different LANs (local area networks) in a same data network by using a 5GVN (5G virtual network) in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Han)
Claims 11, 16 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson, in view of Chen, further in view of SHARIAT et al. (2022/0124160), SHARIAT hereinafter.
Re. Claim 11, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 10.
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen do not expressly teach storing a mapping table of the relation, the mapping table mapping the one or more GPSIs to the one or more static IP addresses allocated by the network entity.
However, in the analogous art, SHARIAT explicitly discloses storing a mapping table of the relation, the mapping table mapping the one or more GPSIs to the one or more static IP addresses allocated by the network entity. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0058 - The mapping of external UE IDs (e.g., GPSIs) to UE IP addresses can be configured in the AF, NEF or can be stored by the NWDAF in a UDR (via UDM services). Fig. 1-3 & ¶0059 - The mapping of external UE IDs (e.g., GPSIs) to UE IP addresses can be marked, anonymized or deleted from the AF, NEF or UDR, when the user consent for the data expires or if the user consent is revoked.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system and Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system to include SHARIAT’s invention of a system and a method for improvements in application discovery and event exposure in a wireless communication system, because it provides a network data analytics function (NWDAF) within an SBA (service-based interface), allowing network functions' access to analytics for different purposes, including intelligent automated network configuration and deployment in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0007, SHARIAT)
Re. Claim 16, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 12.
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen do not expressly teach transmitting, a notification to a session management function (SMF), that the update of subscription data based on the relation has been submitted, wherein the notification triggers a release of a previous PDU session in response to the update of subscription data.
However, in the analogous art, SHARIAT explicitly discloses transmitting, a notification to a session management function (SMF), that the update of subscription data based on the relation has been submitted, wherein the notification triggers a release of a previous PDU session in response to the update of subscription data. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0052 - In step 34, per the SMF instance identified in step 31, the AF (or NEF) subscribes to SMF event exposure (e.g. for a UE IP address/prefix allocation change or protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment and/or a PDU session release from SMF), setting the target of event reporting as a SUPI based on the list of SUPIs retrieved in step 32 and step 33. The SMF instance provides notification for the UE IP address (per SUPI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system and Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system to include SHARIAT’s invention of a system and a method for improvements in application discovery and event exposure in a wireless communication system, because it provides a network data analytics function (NWDAF) within an SBA (service-based interface), allowing network functions' access to analytics for different purposes, including intelligent automated network configuration and deployment in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0007, SHARIAT)
Re. Claim 26, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen teach claim 23.
3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson further teaches wherein at least one corresponding static IP addresses in the request are allocated by a network entity in response to requests by the first entity (Figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1 & 6.2.8.2.4.x - If the AF <first entity> receives the Naf_EventExposure_Subscribe from NWDAF, via NEF, including Target for Event Reporting set to GPSI, the AF < first entity> request the NEF <second entity> to provide the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both.. Step 1 - The AF <first entity> requests NEF <second entity> to provide the IPv4address or IPv6 prefix or both serving the PDU session for this GPSI towards the NEF using Nnef_UEid_Get_Request. Step 2 - The NEF finds the SMF serving the PDU session(s) for this SUPI, DNN, S-NSSAI using Nudm_UECM_Get_Request including GPSI type of requested information set to SMF Registration Info and the S-NSSAI and DNN. Step 3 - The UDM <second entity> provides the SMF id and the PDU Session id using Nudm_UECM_Get_Response to the NEF. Step 4 - The NEF sends Nsmf_EvenExposure_Subscribe to the SMF identified in step 3, including the Target for Event Reporting set to the PDU Session id provided in step 2 and the Event ID set to IP address/prefix allocation/change. Step 5 - The SMF provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the NEF. Step 6 - The NEF <second entity> provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the AF <first entity>.),
Yet, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson and Chen do not expressly teach wherein the relation is stored in a mapping table at the first entity, the mapping table mapping the GPSIs to the at least one corresponding static IP addresses allocated by the network entity.
However, in the analogous art, SHARIAT explicitly discloses wherein the relation is stored in a mapping table at the first entity, the mapping table mapping the GPSIs to the at least one corresponding static IP addresses allocated by the network entity. (Fig. 1-3 & ¶0058 - The mapping of external UE IDs (e.g., GPSIs) to UE IP addresses can be configured in the AF, NEF or can be stored by the NWDAF in a UDR (via UDM services). Fig. 1-3 & ¶0059 - The mapping of external UE IDs (e.g., GPSIs) to UE IP addresses can be marked, anonymized or deleted from the AF, NEF or UDR, when the user consent for the data expires or if the user consent is revoked.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson’s invention of a system and a method of AF (Application Function) correlates NWDAF (Network Data Analytics Function) request for a GPSI (Generic Public Subscription Identifier) and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address in a wireless communication system and Chen’s invention of a system and a method operating for external parameters for an Application Function (AF) session in 5G/NR (New Radio) communication system to include SHARIAT’s invention of a system and a method for improvements in application discovery and event exposure in a wireless communication system, because it provides a network data analytics function (NWDAF) within an SBA (service-based interface), allowing network functions' access to analytics for different purposes, including intelligent automated network configuration and deployment in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0007, SHARIAT)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/18/2026 with respect to claims 1, 12, 27 and 29 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments at pages 8-10 as submitted on 08/18/2026 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts, “Ericsson fails to teach ''providing, to a second entity, an update request comprising information identifying at least one user equipment (UE) identifier (ID) and at least one corresponding static internet protocol (IP) address, wherein the update request requests creation of or an update to a relation between the at least one UE ID and the at least one corresponding static IP address for a protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with a data network name (DNN) of a single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI)," as recited in claim I and similar features recited in claim 27.
In response to Applicant's previously-submitted remarks, the Final Office Action relies on Ericsson's disclosure of ''Mapping UE IP address and GPSI'' and states that Ericsson allows the AF or NWDAF ''to map the SUPI to a UE IP address that is used in the data collection from the UE Application." Final Office Action, p. 33. The Final Office Action then identifies Ericsson's AF-to-NEF request as a request ''to provide the IPv4address or IPv6 prefix or both serving the PDU session for this GPSI," and concludes that the later ''correlation and mapping are done to update a UE ID-to-IP address relation." Id. at pp. 34-35.
Applicant respectfully disagrees and submits that, while Ericsson describes a request
transmitted by an AF to obtain an IP address or prefix, that request is not the update request now recited in Applicant's amended claims. For example, Ericsson discloses that ''[t]he AF receives a request to retrieve input data as described in clause 6.2.8.2.3 including a GPSI'' and that ''[t]he AF requests NEF to provide the IPv4address or IPv6 prefix or both serving the PDU session for this GPSI towards the AF using Nnef_UEid_Get_Request." Ericsson further states that ''[t]he NEF provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the AF," and that ''[t]he AF correlates the UE data that includes the UE IP address and the NWDAF request for the GPSI using the retrieved IPv4 address or IP v6 prefix."
Thus, the request described in Ericsson is expressly a request for the NEF to provide an IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix to the AF. The request is not an update request comprising information identifying both the claimed UE ID and the claimed corresponding static IP address. Rather, even assuming the GPSI in Ericsson corresponds to the claimed UE ID, the request merely uses that GPSI to obtain an IP address or prefix from the network. Ericsson does not disclose that the request includes a corresponding static IP address, much less that the request includes a corresponding static IP address as part of an update request for creating or updating the claimed relation.
Nor does the request in Ericsson request creation of or an update to a relation between the UE ID and the corresponding static IP address. Instead, the AF asks the NEF to provide an IP address or prefix, and the AF later correlates the returned address or prefix with the GPSI. This later correlation step does not change the nature of the AF-to-NEF request. A request to provide an IP address or prefix is not an update request that requests creation of or an update to a relation between a UE ID and a corresponding static IP address.
Further, the reliance in the Final Office Action and Advisory Action on Ericsson's title and
stated mapping purpose does not cure these deficiencies. Even if Ericsson generally concerns ''Mapping UE IP address and GPSI," the disclosed message relied upon in the rejection remains the Nnef_UEid_Get_Request, in which the AF requests the NEF ''to provide the IPv4address or IPv6 prefix or both serving the PDU session for this GPSI." Final Office Action, pp. 33-34; Advisory Action, pp. 3-4. Thus, the AF sends a request for the NEF to return an IP address or prefix associated with a GPSI. Ericsson does not disclose that the AF sends an update request comprising information identifying both a UE ID and a corresponding static IP address, and Ericsson does not disclose that the request itself requests creation of or an update to the relation between those two pieces of information. At most, Ericsson discloses that the AF later uses the returned IP address or prefix to perform correlation/mapping for data collection, which is different from the update request now recited in claim 1. See at least at pages 8-9 of remarks as submitted on 08/18/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, as mentioned in the last office action, mailed on 05/21/2026, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson discloses that the title of the change request of CR 258 rev 1 to 23.288, is “Mapping UE IP address and GPSI”, this is because of the fact in allowing the AF <first entity> or NWDAF to map the SUPI to a UE IP address that is used in the data collection from the UE Application. The AF in the untrusted domain may map the GPSI to a UE IP address or the NWDAF may do the mapping instead and provide the UE IP address to the AF. See title and reason for change of the change request <CR 258 rev 1 to 23.288> as disclosed by 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson. In pursue of the change request, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson further discloses that AF correlates NWDAF request for a GPSI and Data collected from the UE Application for a UE IP address; if the AF <first entity> receives the Naf_EventExposure_Subscribe from NWDAF, via NEF, including Target for Event Reporting set to GPSI, the AF < first entity> request the NEF <second entity> to provide the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both as described in Fig. 6.2.8.2.4.z-1 (see snapshot next, which is quite similar to Fig. 4 of the instant application !).
For example, 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson, describes in the step 1, the AF <first entity> requests NEF <second entity> to provide the IPv4address or IPv6 prefix or both serving the PDU session for this GPSI towards the NEF using Nnef_UEid_Get_Request; then, in Step 2, the NEF finds the SMF serving the PDU session(s) for this SUPI, DNN, S-NSSAI using Nudm_UECM_Get_Request including GPSI type of requested information set to SMF Registration Info and the S-NSSAI and DNN; then, in Step 3, the UDM provides the SMF id and the PDU Session id using Nudm_UECM_Get_Response to the NEF; then in Step 4, the NEF sends Nsmf_EvenExposure_Subscribe to the SMF identified in step 3, including the Target for Event Reporting set to the PDU Session id provided in step 2 and the Event ID set to IP address/prefix allocation/change; then, in Step 5, the SMF provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the NEF; then, in Step 6, the NEF <second entity> provides the allocated IPv4 address or IPv6 prefix or both to the AF <first entity>, and finally, in Step 7, the AF <first entity> correlates the UE data that includes the UE IP address and the NWDAF request for the GPSI using the retrieved IPv4 address or IP v6 prefix.
In summary, The UE Application establishes a user plane connection to the AF < first entity >. Data collection procedure from the UE Application is performed via the user plane connection. In fact, the UE Application provides the Application Id configured in the UE Application to the AF. The AF, then, stores it along with the retrieved IP address of the UE (in the PDU session used) in order to request data collection from the UE Application. The UE IP address is used by the AF to identify the user plane connection. In fact, the UE IP address is used to identify the user plane connection established between the UE application and the AF for data collection, while the AF receives the Naf_EventExposure_Subscribe to request for the specific UE data collection by using external UE ID (i.e. GPSI) (for AF in untrusted domain). The AF is required to correlate the UE IP address to GPSI <considered as an external UE ID for AF in untrusted domain > as described in the procedure in the figure 6.2.8.2.4.z-1 along with the related paragraphs mentioned supra, for example, the AF <first entity> requests NEF <second entity> to provide the IPv4address or IPv6 prefix or both serving the PDU session for the GPSI (<GPSI: Generic Public Subscription Identifier, known to a person of ordinary skill in the art, See 3GPP TS. 23.501 [2] > as retrieved part of input data for the AF) towards the NEF using Nnef_UEid_Get_Request, see step 1 in the figure (snapshot next), based on the request from AF by receiving the message “Nnef_UEid_Get_Request”, the NEF sends a Nudm_UECM_Get_Request, which is the exact same message as recited by the instant application at least in Fig. 4 along with ¶0027, ¶0068-¶0070, to UDM, finally receives the response from the NEF <second entity> as shown in step 6 in the figure (snapshot next), correlates the UE IP address and the NWDAF request for the GPSI using the retrieved IPv4 address or IP v6 prefix, in other words, mapping is done between the UE IP address and the NWDAF request for the GPSI using the retrieved IPv4 address or IP v6 prefix, and as mentioned earlier in the last office action, mailed on 05/21/2026, a person of ordinary skill would readily understand that the correlation and mapping are done to update a UE ID-to-IP address relation as disclosed in the steps (1 thru 7, see at least the snapshot below, which is very similar to Fig. 4 of the instant application), quite contrary to applicant’s assertion at least at pages 8-10 of remarks as submitted on 08/18/2026.
Regarding arguments at pages 9-10 for independent claims 1, Chen disclosed the claimed features as outlined in the claims and the applicant is silent on the disclosures made by Chen as pointed out in §103 rejection. Applicant, is, however, arguing that Chen’s reference does not disclose anything pertaining to '''providing, to a second entity, an update request comprising information identifying at least one user equipment (UE) identifier (ID) and at least one corresponding static internet protocol (IP) address, wherein the update request requests creation of or an update to a relation between the at least one UE ID and the at least one corresponding static IP address for a protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with a data network name (DNN) of a single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI)," as recited in claim 1 and similar features recited in claim 27, which is, in fact, taught by 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson as pointed out in §103 rejection and also at pages 35-36 of the office action mailed on 05/21/2026. Applicant is respectfully reminded that the independent claim 1 is unpatentable over 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson, in view of Chen. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Similar arguments are applicable for the independent claims 12, 27 and 29.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claims 1 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson, in view of Chen.
For similar reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claims 12 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP_ S2-2103816_ Ericsson, in view of Chen.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 12, 27 and 29, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467