Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-7 & 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species A-C & E-F, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3-5-26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species D of Claims 1, 8-9 & 13-14 in the reply filed on 3-5-26 is acknowledged.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, PCT/JP2022/010003 filed 3-8-22, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2021-089176 filed 5-27-21.
Information Disclosure Statement
These information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10-17-23 & 10-17-24. These submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, these information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 6, 25 & 33 are not visible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) 8 contains subject matter {e.g. “the control circuit indicates, in the response signal, the requirement of the data held in a buffer, by using an orthogonal sequence pattern applied to a training signal of the response signal”} which was not described in the specification {U.S Patent Application Publication of this instant application (US 2024/0251287 A1): ¶0258 discloses the claimed limitation} in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Please define how the orthogonal sequence pattern being applied to a training signal of the response signal to indicate the requirement of the data held in the buffer. Please also define which signal is “the training signal of the response signal”. Note that the disclosed NDP (response signal) comprises only fields/subfields {U.S Patent Application Publication of this instant application (US 2024/0251287 A1): Fig.23 wherein an example of configuration of an NDP, which comprises fields/subfields}.
-Claim 9 is rejected in virtue of its dependency on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 8 is vague and indefinite because it is not clear what is means by “the control circuit indicates, in the response signal, the requirement of the data held in a buffer, by using an orthogonal sequence pattern applied to a training signal of the response signal”. Please clarify which field/subfield in the response signal that the training signal is position.
-Claim 9 is rejected in virtue of its dependency on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1-2) as being anticipated by Hwang (US 2021/0352522 A1).
Regarding Claim 1. (Original)
A terminal {Hwang (US 2021/0352522 A1): UE 1g-5 in Figs.1G & 1E and UE 1p-10 in Fig.1P}, comprising:
reception circuitry {Hwang: RF processor 1e-10, Fig.1E & ¶0178 wherein “The RF processor 1e-10 may perform functions, such as band conversion, amplification, etc., of a signal to transmit or receive the signal on a radio channel”}, which, in operation, receives a control signal {Hwang: 1g-20 & 1g-33 in Fig.1G & ¶0195; 1p-20 & 1p-23 in Fig.1P & ¶0245}; and
control circuitry {Hwang: controller 1e-40, Fig.1E & ¶0182 wherein “The controller 1e-40 may control general operation of the UE. For example, the controller 1e-40 controls the baseband processor 1e-20 and the RF processor 1e-10 for signal transmission or reception”}, which, in operation, controls a transmission method of a response signal to reception of the control signal, based on a buffer status of data satisfying a predetermined requirement {Hwang: 1p-30 in Fig.1P & ¶0246 wherein “Upon reception of configuration information about the transmission condition of DL/UL BSR, the UE 1p-10 may transmit a DL/UL BSR (1p-30) when the buffer size of the RG is equal to or greater than the given threshold value (1p-25). Furthermore, in some other embodiments, when the BS delivers only the threshold value to the UE for the DL/UL BSR transmission condition, the UE may transmit the DL/UL BSR to the BS (1p-30) when a buffer size exceeds the threshold value for any RG owned by the UE itself (1p-25)”}.
Regarding Claim 13. (Original)
-Claim 13 is rejected with same reasons as set forth in claim 1, and further as following:
A base station {Hwang (US 2021/0352522 A1): BS 1p-15 in Fig.1P; 1g-10 in Fig.1G & base station-Fig.1F}, comprising:
control circuitry {Hwang: controller 1f-50 in Fig.1F & ¶0189}, which, in operation, sets, in a control signal for triggering transmission of a response signal, information on a predetermined requirement with which a terminal controls a transmission method of the response signal based on a buffer status of data satisfying the requirement {Hwang: ¶0246}; and
transmission circuitry {Hwang: RF processor 1f-10 in Fig.1F & 1p-20 in Fig.1P}, which, in operation, transmits the control signal to the terminal {Hwang: ¶0245}.
Regarding Claim 14. (Original)
-Claim 14 is rejected with same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
A communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal, a control signal; and
controlling, by the terminal, a transmission method of a response signal to reception of the control signal, based on a buffer status of data satisfying a predetermined requirement.
Claim(s) 1, 13 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1-2) as being anticipated by Ouchi (US 2020/0221516 A1).
Regarding Claim 1. (Original)
A terminal {Ouchi (US 2020/0221516 A1): STA 102-Figs.2 & 6}, comprising:
reception circuitry {Ouchi: communication unit 206-Fig.2 & ¶0034 wherein “The communication unit 206 controls an antenna 209 to transmit/receive a radio signal for wireless communication” and ¶0035 wherein “Note that each of the STA 102 and the STA 103 can include the arrangement similar to that shown in FIG. 2 described above”}, which, in operation, receives a control signal {Ouchi: STA 102-Fig.6 receives NDP report TF 601-Fig.6 from AP 101-Fig.6 & ¶0052}; and
control circuitry {Ouchi: control unit 202-Fig.2 and ¶0031-¶0032 wherein “the control unit 202 controls the function unit 203 to execute predetermined processing” & ¶0035}, which, in operation, controls a transmission method of a response signal to reception of the control signal, based on a buffer status of data satisfying a predetermined requirement {Ouchi: ¶0052 wherein “Upon receiving the NDP report TF 601, the STA 102 determines whether the STA 102 itself is a destination of this TF. If the STA 102 itself is a destination of this TF, the STA 102 transmits an NDP report frame 602 to the AP 101. Note that if the STA 102 itself is a destination of this TF, the STA 102 extracts the value set in the Feedback Type subfield 534, and if the value indicates that the TF is a Resource Request, the STA 102 checks its transmission buffer amount. Then, the STA 102 sets, in NDP_REPORT and RU_TONE_SET of a TxVECTOR/RxVECTOR parameter in the physical layer (PHY layer) of the NDP report frame 602, information indicating whether its transmission buffer amount is equal to or larger than a threshold”}.
Regarding Claim 13. (Original)
-Claim 13 is rejected with same reasons as set forth in claim 1, and further as following:
A base station, comprising:
control circuitry {Ouchi: control unit 202-Fig.2}, which, in operation, sets, in a control signal for triggering transmission of a response signal, information on a predetermined requirement with which a terminal controls a transmission method of the response signal based on a buffer status of data satisfying the requirement {Ouchi: ¶0052 wherein “the STA 102 extracts the value set in the Feedback Type subfield 534, and if the value indicates that the TF is a Resource Request, the STA 102 checks its transmission buffer amount. Then, the STA 102 sets, in NDP_REPORT and RU_TONE_SET of a TxVECTOR/RxVECTOR parameter in the physical layer (PHY layer) of the NDP report frame 602, information indicating whether its transmission buffer amount is equal to or larger than a threshold”; in other words, since the STA 102 used the Resource Request in the TF to check its transmission buffer amount with respect to a threshold, thus AP does transmit TF including the Resource Request having the requirement of transmission buffer threshold, emphasis added}; and
transmission circuitry {Ouchi: communication unit 206-Fig.2}, which, in operation, transmits the control signal to the terminal.
Regarding Claim 14. (Original)
-Claim 14 is rejected with same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
A communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal, a control signal; and
controlling, by the terminal, a transmission method of a response signal to reception of the control signal, based on a buffer status of data satisfying a predetermined requirement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a & b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st & 2nd paragraphs, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US2021/0044389 A1) discloses a method for supporting an HARQ process performed by a first wireless terminal in a WLAN system according to an embodiment includes: receiving an HARQ PPDU including HARQ data from a second wireless terminal; and transmitting an HARQ feedback frame in response to the HARQ PPDU to the second wireless terminal, wherein the HARQ feedback frame comprises a first field related to a PHY preamble and a second field related to ACK information or NACK information based on whether the HARQ data is successfully received {Figs.1-29}.
Lim (US 2025/0141643 A1) discloses a method and device for transmitting/receiving a NDP feedback report response in a wireless LAN system. The method for transmitting a NDP feedback report response, according to one embodiment of the present disclosure, may comprise the steps of: receiving, from an AP, a NFRP trigger frame for requesting for a NDP feedback report response; and transmitting, to the AP, as a response to the NFRP trigger frame, a PPDU for carrying the NDP feedback report response. The PPDU is transmitted on a frequency resource corresponding to a tone set index assigned to a STA, and, on the basis that one or more subchannels within the bandwidth of the PPDU are punctured, the tone set index assigned to the STA may be determined such that the frequency resource is not included in the one or more punctured subchannels {Figs.1-17}.
Cariou (US 2019/0349232 A1) discloses apparatuses, computer readable media, and methods for control field for null data packet feedback report trigger. A station is disclosed, the station comprising processing circuitry configured to: decode a media access control (MAC) protocol data unit (MPDU) comprising an A-control field of type null data packet (NDP) feedback report poll comprising a feedback type field and an indication of a resource unit (RU). The processing circuitry further configured to determine whether the station is scheduled to respond to the A-control field of type NDP feedback report poll, and if the station is scheduled to respond to the A-control field of type NDP feedback report poll, configure the station to transmit a response to a feedback type indicated by the value of the feedback type field on the RU. Apparatuses, computer readable media, and methods for short block acknowledgment with NDP are disclosed {Figs.1-20}.
Huang (US 12107687 B2, same assignee) discloses a communication apparatus comprising: circuitry, which, in operation, generates a transmission signal that includes a signal field and a data field, the signal field indicating one or more user-specific allocations in the data field, wherein an aggregate medium access control protocol data unit (A-MPDU) transmitted in each of the one or more user-specific allocations is segmented into one or more code blocks; a transmitter, which, in operation, transmits the generated transmission signal; and a receiver, which, in operation, receives a null data packet (NDP) or a medium access control (MAC) frame carrying hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information for the one or more code blocks {Claims 1-16}.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHUONGCHAU BA NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464