DETAILED ACTION
This application includes independent claims 11 and 14 and dependent claims 12, 13, and 15-17.
The Preliminary Amendment has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nemarov et al. (RU 2636727 C1).
Regarding independent claim 11, Nemarov discloses a process of ore beneficiation with application of ultrasound to a flotation or waste froth, comprising: positioning an air-emission ultrasonic transducer (8) above the flotation or waste froth by adjusting an inclination angle of the air-emission ultrasonic transducer in relation to a surface of the flotation or waste froth so that the inclination angle is less than 90 degrees (see at least Fig. 1, note that inclination angle disclosed by Nemarov is capable of being varied, also note that the structure of one of the tanks can be varied so that it is “any other shape” also varying the angle of inclination); and emitting ultrasonic waves from the air-emission ultrasonic transducer towards the flotation or waste froth (see English translation).
Regarding independent claim 14, Nemarov discloses an ore beneficiation system with application of ultrasound to a flotation or waste froth, comprising: an air-emission ultrasonic transducer (8) positioned above the flotation or waste froth, the air-emission ultrasonic transducer being adapted to emit ultrasonic waves toward the flotation or waste froth; and wherein an angle of inclination of the air-emission ultrasonic transducer relative to a surface of the flotation or waste froth is less than 90 degrees (see Fig. 1).
Regarding dependent claims 12, 13, and 15-17, Nemarov discloses stirring a mixture formed by an ore slurry and the flotation or waste froth using at least one stirring medium (2, 6, 13). Positioning the air-emission ultrasonic transducer is carried out over at least one of a flotation effluent froth flow chute, or a feeding area of a thickening tank (see Fig. 1). A distance and the angle of inclination of the air-emission ultrasonic transducer with respect to the surface of the flotation or waste froth is variable and adjustable (note that distance and inclination angle disclosed by Nemarov is capable of being varied, also note that the structure of one of the tanks can be varied so that it is “any other shape” also varying the distance and angle of inclination).
Claim(s) 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hassanzadeh et al. (An Improvement on Selective Separation by Applying Ultrasound to Rougher and Re-Cleaner Stages of Copper Flotation).
Regarding independent claim 11, Hassanzadeh et al. discloses a process of ore beneficiation with application of ultrasound to a flotation or waste froth, comprising: positioning an air-emission ultrasonic transducer (“Homogenizer”) above the flotation or waste froth by adjusting an inclination angle of the air-emission ultrasonic transducer in relation to a surface of the flotation or waste froth so that the inclination angle is less than 90 degrees (see at least Fig. 2c, note that inclination angle and distance above flotation is capable of being varied); and emitting ultrasonic waves from the air-emission ultrasonic transducer towards the flotation or waste froth (see Fig. 2c).
Regarding independent claim 14, discloses an ore beneficiation system with application of ultrasound to a flotation or waste froth, comprising: an air-emission ultrasonic transducer (“Homogenizer”) positioned above the flotation or waste froth, the air-emission ultrasonic transducer being adapted to emit ultrasonic waves toward the flotation or waste froth; and wherein an angle of inclination of the air-emission ultrasonic transducer relative to a surface of the flotation or waste froth is less than 90 degrees (see Fig. 2c).
Regarding dependent claims 12, 13, and 15-17, Hassanzadeh discloses stirring a mixture formed by an ore slurry and the flotation or waste froth using at least one stirring medium (“Impeller”). Positioning the air-emission ultrasonic transducer is carried out over at least one of a flotation effluent froth flow chute, or a feeding area of a thickening tank (see Fig. 2b). A distance and the angle of inclination of the air-emission ultrasonic transducer with respect to the surface of the flotation or waste froth is variable and adjustable (see at least Fig. 2c, note that inclination angle and distance above flotation is capable of being varied).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang (US 2023/0129507 and WO 2020257847) disclose an ultrasonic transducer above a flotation tank in which the distance between the transducer and the tank is variable.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653