Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Invention I drawn to claims 1-15, 18, and 21-22 in the reply filed on 07/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-17, 19-20, and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/07/2026
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 07/07/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims have unity of invention and that there is no serious burden in the search and examination. This is not found persuasive because while the groups do have a shared technical feature of fluorinated metal or semimetal oxide particles, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Di Noto et al (US-20140162137-A1), hereinafter Di Noto. Di Noto teaches solid state electrolytes based on fluorine-doped oxides, preferably metal oxides (Di Noto [0001]), including the preparation of fluorinated metal oxide particles such as fluorine-doped TiO2 and fluorine-doped Fe2O3 (Di Noto [0094]-[0097]). As such, Inventions I and II lack unity of invention.
In regards to there being no serious search burden, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim limitations of claim 1 and the claim limitations of claim 16 are distinct from each other such that the limitations of claim 16 are not required by the limitations of claim 1 and vice versa. As such, the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The examiner also notes that in the original requirement for restriction/election filed on 05/07/2026, the examiner grouped claim 18 with Invention I. However, upon further review, the examiner notes that the preamble of claim 18 of “the process for producing fluorinated metal or semimetal oxide particles” is the same as the preamble of claim 16 of “a process for producing fluorinated metal or semimetal oxide particles” and should have been included in Invention II with claim 16, despite being dependent on claim 7. As a result, claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new, corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 10, 13-14, and 21-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 includes the limitation “the dispersion” in step (ii). While it is clear this is in reference to the product of the pre-dispersed fluorinated metal or semimetal oxide particles in an organic solvent of step (i), the examiner suggests further clarification such as the addition of “forming a dispersion” to step (i) or similar;
Claim 7 includes the limitation “NH4HF2” and “NH4F” that should be corrected to “NH4HF2” and “NH4F”;
Claim 10 includes two instances of the limitation “H2O” in line 4 that should be corrected to “H2O”;
Claim 13 includes the limitation “a solid-state electrolyte according to claim 12’ that should be corrected to “the solid-state electrolyte according to claim 12” ass claim 12 already limits “a solid-state electrolyte”;
Claim 14 includes the limitations “[BF4]-“ and “[PF6]-“ that should be corrected to “[BF4]-“ and “[PF6]-“;
Claim 14 includes the limitation “and from bis-trifluoromethyl-sulfonylimide [TFSI]-, tetrafluoroborate [BF4]-, hexafluorophosphate [PF6]- anions” that should be corrected to “and from bis-trifluoromethyl-sulfonylimide [TFSI]-, tetrafluoroborate [BF4]-, and hexafluorophosphate [PF6]- anions” or similar;
Claim 21 includes the limitation “the step of reacting the dispersion” in line 2 that should be corrected to “step (ii)” for consistency with the claim language of claim 1;
Claim 22 includes the limitation “the step of drying the solid” in line 2 that should be corrected to “step (v)” for consistency with the claim language of claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15, 18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 includes the limitation “pre-dispersing fluorinated metal or semimetal oxide particles in an organic solvent” in line 3. It is unclear based on the claim language whether the semimetal oxide particles are also fluorinated or just semimetal oxide particles. Based on the instant specification, for example pg. 12, the semimetal oxide particles are fluorinated semimetal oxide particles. For the sake of examination, this interpretation will be used. Likewise, it is unclear based on the claim language whether the “fluorinated metal” of line 3 is fluorinated metal oxide particles or just fluorinated metal particles. Based on the instant specification, pgs. 12-13, the fluorinated metal is a fluorinated metal oxide. For the sake of examination, this interpretation will be used. Any claim language changes should be reflected in the claims dependent on claim 1, including claims 5 and 18. Claims 2-15, 18, and 21-22 are also rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the liquid phase" in line 7, “the solid phase” in lines 7-8, and “the excess unreacted organometallic compound” in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the sake of examination, these limitations are being interpreted as “a liquid phase”, “a solid phase”, and “an excess unreacted organometallic compound” for their first recitations in the claim. Claims 2-15, 18, and 21-22 are also rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 1 includes the limitation “an organic solvent” in line 3 and a second “an organic solvent” in line 7. It is unclear if the organic solvent of line 7 is the same or different as the organic solvent of line 3. The organic solvents should be clarified as, for example, “a first organic solvent” and “a second organic solvent” or similar distinguishing language if they are different organic solvents. Any changes in claim language should be reflected in dependent claim 2. Claims 2-15, 18, and 21-22 are also rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation “an aprotic solvent”, and the claim also recites “n-hexane, heptane, octane, iso-octanes, benzene, toluene, ethylbenzene, diethyl ether, dimethyl ether, ethyl methyl ether, tetrahydrofuran, and mixtures therefor” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “the organometallic compound referred to in step (ii) is based on lithium, sodium, or magnesium”, and the claim also recites “said organometallic compound is selected from n-butyllithium, methyllithium, ethyllithium, sec-butyllithium, isopropyllithium, propyllithium, tert-butyllithium, phenyllithium, n-butylsodium, methylsodium, sec0butylsodium, isopropylsodium, ethylsodium, propysodium, tert-butylsodium, phenylsodium. Or Grignard reactants, selected from ethylmagensium chloride, methylmagneisum chloride, allylmagnesium chloride, or mixtures thereof” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation and also recites the broad limitation “Grignard reactants” and the claim also recites “ethylmagensium chloride, methylmagneisum chloride, allylmagnesium chloride, or mixtures thereof” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 18 includes the limitation “the process for producing fluorinated metal or semimetal oxide particles according to claim 7.” It is unclear how claim 18 can limit the process for producing fluorinated metal or semimetal oxide particles when claim 18 is dependent on claim 1, which is inclusive of the process for preparing a solid-state electrolyte.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Di Noto et al. (US-20140162137-A1), hereinafter Di Noto.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 limits a solid-state electrolyte obtainable by the process according to claim 1. The language “obtainable by the process according to claim 1” does not necessitate that the solid-state electrolyte is actually formed from the steps of the process of claim 1. Rather, it necessitates that it is possible for the electrolyte to be formed from the process steps of claim 1. As such, Di Noto does teach a solid-state electrolyte that can be obtainable by the process according to claim 1 ([0001] solid-state electrolyte based on fluorine-doped metal oxides, [0015] preferably fluorine-doped titanium dioxide or iron oxide; [0094]-[0097] examples 1-4), even though the actual process recited in Di Noto differs from the claimed process of claim 1 (Di Noto teaches the use of fused lithium in [0076]-[0078] rather than the use of an organometallic compound as is claimed in instant claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, Di Noto teaches all of the limitations of claim 12. Di Noto also teaches an inorganic-organic hybrid electrolyte obtainable by reacting a solid-state electrolyte according to claim 12 with an ionic liquid ([0017] the electrolyte is optionally made to react with ionic liquids to form a hybrid organic/inorganic element). The examiner also notes that the language “obtainable by” only necessitates an inorganic-organic hybrid electrolyte can be/is capable of being obtained by reacting a solid-state electrolyte according to claim 12 with an ionic liquid, not that it has to be.
Regarding claim 14, Di Noto teaches all of the limitations of claim 13. Di Noto also teaches in that said ionic liquid is selected from those obtainable from imidazolium, ammonium, pyridinium, piperidinium, pyrrolidinium, sulfonium and cholinium cations, and from bis-trifluoromethyl-sufonylimide [TFSI]-, tetrafluoroborate [BF4]-, hexafluorophosphate [PF6]- anions ([0086]-[0089]).
Regarding claim 15, Di Noto teaches all of the limitations of claims 12 or 13. Di Noto also teaches a battery containing a solid-state electrolyte according to claim 12 or an inorganic-organic hybrid electrolyte according to claim 13 ([0104] a lithium battery with the electrolyte LiFT-EMImTFSI; claims 45-46).
Conclusion
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722