DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galbraith et al. (Publication No. WO 2020/163596 A1) in view of Yuds et al. (Publication No. US 2020/0405934 A1).
For the purposes of examination, USPGPUB of Galbraith et al. (US 2022/0047791 A1) will be referenced in the rejection below.
Regarding claim 1, Galbraith teaches a blood purification apparatus (Abstract; Figure 3 and 5; Paragraph 0046 and 0054) including a blood purification unit that executes blood purification treatment by a blood pump (system 100/100’ intakes blood into the CO2/oxygenator module 11 by blood pump 10 and purifies blood; Paragraph 0046; Figure 3), wherein the blood purification apparatus comprising:
an intake air port arranged to be positioned and to open in a main body of the blood purification apparatus (gas inlet 40a’ is positioned and open in the housing 40’ of the apparatus; Paragraph 0077; Figure 5);
an exhaust air port arranged to be positioned and to open in the main body of the blood purification apparatus (mask 25’ is on the apparatus; Figure 5; Paragraph 0061);
a purification unit that is disposed in one of the intake air port and the exhaust air port to purify flowing air passing therethrough (PSA module 13’; Figure 5; Paragraph 0061-0062). Galbraith does not teach an intake fan disposed in the intake air port; a printed substrate to which the intake air fan and the purification unit disposed in one of the intake air port and the exhaust air port are connected so as to be able to drive together.
However, Yuds teaches an intake fan disposed in the intake air port (fan is in the intake portion of the air purification system 310 to pull in air from treatment area; Paragraph 0030); a printed substrate (system bus 250 connects electronic components to drive components together in the device; Paragraph 0026; Figure 2).
Galbraith and Yuds are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of blood/air filtration devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Galbraith to incorporate the teachings of Yuds and have the intake fan of Yuds in the intake air port of Galbraith and the printed substrate of Yuds connecting the intake air fan and purification unit of Galbraith. This allows for the fan to circulate the ambient air for filtration (Yuds; Paragraph 0030) and allow for all of the electrical components to be interconnected so that the processor can centrally control all components (Yuds; Figure 2; Paragraph 0026).
The combination of Galbraith in view of Yuds further teaches the printed substrate to which the intake air fan and the purification unit disposed in one of the intake air port and the exhaust air port are connected so as to be able to drive together (see combination above); an air purification unit that includes the purification unit, sucks external air by the intake air fan, and discharges the sucked external air from the exhaust air port after purification by the purification unit (Galbraith; module 13 and blower 24’, or air purification unit, sucks air by intake air fan of Yuds and discharges air out to mask 25’; Figure 5); and
a control unit that controls the blood purification unit, the intake air fan, and the purification unit of the air purification unit (Galbraith; processor 28 in housing 40’ runs intake air fan of Yuds, module 11, and PSA module 13’ of air purification unit; Figure 3 and 5; Paragraph 0042), wherein the control unit drives the intake air fan and the purification unit of the air purification unit in conjunction with running of the blood purification unit to flow air that is flowed therein from the intake air port to be out of the exhaust air port while purifying by way of a space in which the printed substrate is disposed, and allows the air purification unit to purify air around a patient subjected to the purification of blood by the blood purification unit (processor 28 of Galbraith with the printed substrate of Yuds allows for the simultaneous operation of the intake air fan of Yuds and the purification unit 13 to transmit air from the intake air port to the exhaust port of Galbraith with the blood treatment 11 of Galbraith; Figure 3 and 5B; Paragraph 0042 and 0083).
Regarding claim 2, Galbraith in view of Yuds teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Galbraith further teaches wherein the air purification unit is arranged in the middle of a ventilation route that sucks and discharges the external air (module 13 and blower 24’, or air purification unit, of Galbraith is in between the ventilation route that receives and discharges air through the device; Figure 5). The combination of Galbraith in view of Yuds does not teach a heating portion in an apparatus main body including the blood purification unit.
However, Yuds teaches a heating portion in an apparatus main body including the blood purification unit (air temperature device 330 that is an air heater in the main body of the dialysis machine 102; Figure 3; Paragraph 0031).
Galbraith and Yuds are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of blood/air filtration devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Galbraith in view of Yuds to incorporate the teachings of Yuds and have the air temperature device/heating portion of Yuds in the ventilation route of Galbraith in view of Yuds. This allows for the device to provide hotter air to the patient when the patient feels cold (Yuds; Paragraph 0031).
The combination of Galbraith in view of Yuds further teaches wherein the air purification unit is arranged in the middle of a ventilation route that sucks and discharges the external air so as to pass through a heating portion in an apparatus main body including the blood purification unit (see combination above).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Galbraith in view of Yuds teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The combination of Galbraith in view of Yuds does not teach wherein the air purification unit is formed as a separate apparatus from an apparatus main body including the blood purification unit.
In addition, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the air purification unit of Galbraith in view of Yuds separable from the apparatus main body including the purification unit, since that it has been held that making known elements separable is within the skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Dulberg, 129 USPQ 348 (CCPA 1961)(MPEP 2144.04 V.C.). The combination of Galbraith in view of Yuds further teaches the air purification unit is connected to the control unit with wire or wireless so as to be able to cooperate (Galbraith; processor 28 controls the oxygen that is delivered to exhaust 38’ towards the mask 25’; Figure 5; Paragraph 0083).
Regarding claim 4, Galbraith in view of Yuds teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The combination of Galbraith in view of Yuds further teaches wherein out of an intake air port and an exhaust air port of the external air in the blood purification unit, at least the intake air port is disposed near a head of the patient (Galbraith, vent 40a’ is nearby the head of the patient; Figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Galbraith in view of Yuds teaches the apparatus of claim 4. The combination of Galbraith in view of Yuds further teaches wherein a member that changes an air flowing direction is disposed in one of or both the intake air port and the exhaust air port (Galbraith; outlet port 61 is disposed in the mask 25’ where the valves 61b-6c can change the air flow direction, either towards mask 25’ or to the CO2/oxygenator 11; Figure 7; Paragraph 0084).
Regarding claim 6, Galbraith in view of Yuds teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The combination of Galbraith in view of Yuds teaches wherein an intake air port is arranged in a front surface of an apparatus main body including the blood purification unit (Galbraith; vent 40’ is arranged in a front surface of the housing 40’; Figure 5).
The combination of Galbraith in view of Yuds does not teach wherein an exhaust air port is arranged in a back surface of an apparatus main body including the blood purification unit.
However, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the exhaust air port is arranged in a back surface of an apparatus main body including the blood purification unit, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art since the device would not perform differently than the prior art device, whether located on the sides, front, or back of the housing, with the common function at either locations of releasing the air to the user after air purification, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (MPEP 2144.04 VI.C.).
Regarding claim 7, Galbraith in view of Yuds teaches the apparatus of claim 4. The combination of Galbraith in view of Yuds further teaches wherein an extending ventilation route extending a ventilation route, which is between the intake air port and the exhaust air port in an apparatus main body including the blood purification unit, to outside is disposed in one of or both the intake air port and the exhaust air port (Galbraith; breathing tubing between blower 24’ and mask 25’ which extends the ventilation route and between mask 25’ and vent 40’; Figure 5; Paragraph 0062-0063).
Regarding claim 8, Galbraith in view of Yuds teaches the apparatus of claim 7. The combination of Galbraith in view of Yuds further teaches wherein a pathway member forming the extending ventilation route is created from a deformable material to be able to arbitrarily adjust an extending position of one of or both the intake air port and the exhaust air port (Galbraith; breathing tube is a pathway member that is made of deformable material and can adjust the position of the exhaust air port/mask 25’; Figure 5).
Regarding claim 9, Galbraith in view of Yuds teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Galbraith teaches wherein the control unit is provided with a function to set a running schedule of the blood purification unit and drives the air purification unit in conjunction with the running schedule (operation time sensor 30 collects data regarding duration/schedule of system 100/100’ operation and central processor 28 adjusts/drives system including blower 38’/13’ based on operational time; Figure 5; Paragraph 0069).
Regarding claim 10, Galbraith in view of Yuds teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Galbraith further teaches further comprising: at least one or more of a light sensor that detects light, a human detection sensor that perceives a human, and a sound sensor that detects sound, wherein driving of the air purification unit is controlled based on a signal of the sensor (sensor 22 can be “a sensor that measures or senses CO.sub.2 or O.sub.2 in the gas flow via fluorescence or quenching, which uses a bifurcated optical fiber that has a light source sending and photo receiving unit on one end and is coated with a Ruthenium compound on the other end” – or a sensor that detects light changes from changing CO2 or O2 levels; Paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 12, Galbraith in view of Yuds teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The combination of Galbraith in view of Yuds further teaches a blood purification management system to which a plurality of the blood purification apparatuses according to claim 1 that manages a running schedule (Galbraith; Paragraph 0069; see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein a control signal to drive the air purification unit is transmitted to one or more separate blood purification apparatuses disposed around the blood purification apparatus in which the blood purification unit runs (processor 28 which runs air purification unit and blood purification apparatus of Galbraith in view of Yuds based on operational time that there would be a control signal produced by processor 28 to adjust the purification of air and blood based on the operational time; Galbraith; Paragraph 0069).
Galbraith and Yuds are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of blood/air filtration devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Galbraith in view of Yuds to incorporate the teachings of Yuds and have the intake fan of Yuds in the intake air port of Galbraith and the printed substrate of Yuds connecting the intake air fan and purification unit of Galbraith, the processor of Galbraith providing the control signal to the air purification unit and the blood purification unit of Galbraith in view of Yuds. This allows for the fan to circulate the ambient air for filtration (Yuds; Paragraph 0030) and allow for all of the electrical components to be interconnected so that the processor can centrally control all components (Yuds; Figure 2; Paragraph 0026), wherein the control unit is able to automatically control the operational time of the air purification unit and blood purification apparatus based on sensor data received (Galbraith; Paragraph 0069).
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galbraith et al. (Publication No. WO 2020/163596 A1) in view of Yuds et al. (Publication No. US 2020/0405934 A1), as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Hyde et al. (Publication No. US 2017/0196761 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Galbraith in view of Yuds teaches the apparatus of claim 10. Galbraith in view of Yuds does not teach a sound sensor, wherein suction capability of the air purification unit is controlled based on a magnitude of a sound signal detected by the sound sensor.
However, Hyde teaches a sound sensor (audio sensor; Paragraph 0308), wherein suction capability of the device is controlled based on a magnitude of a sound signal detected by the sound sensor (negative pressure level applied in the device is controlled based on the sound level collected by the audio sensor; Paragraph 0308).
Galbraith in view of Yuds and Hyde are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of pressure-based medical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Galbraith in view of Yuds to incorporate the teachings of Hyde and have the audio sensor of Hyde be in the apparatus of Galbraith in view of Yads. This allows for the device to detect events of noise from the user and automatically modify or initiate the operation of the apparatus (Hyde; Paragraph 0308).
The combination of Galbraith in view of Yuds and Hyde further teaches wherein suction capability of the air purification unit is controlled based on a magnitude of a sound signal detected by the sound sensor (see the combination above).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE-PH MINH PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781