DETAILED ACTION
Claims 5-8 are presented for examination. Claims 1-4 are canceled in the preliminary amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remark, applicant argued (1) Nhan does not teach “determines a starting position of bit selection of the series transmitted in the first slot of the multiple slots according to the redundancy version of a circular buffer, and determines a starting position of bit selection of the series transmitted in the next slot and thereafter of the first slot based on the last bit extracted in the previous slot” because Nhan discloses techniques for determining a new starting position in the circular buffer for different redundant versions instead of slots.
Examiner traverse the argument:
As to point (1) Nhan disclosed in paragraph 0085 regarding setting/defining and/or indicating new starting positions of multiple redundancy versions (RVs) in the circular buffer that is used for rate matching to store the different RVs of the data to be transmitted. The new starting positions may be based on the ending position of previous RV in the circular buffer. While paragraph 0085 does not specifically show that the starting position is of a first slot and a start position of the next slot is based on the last bit extracted in a previous slot, paragraph 0099-0100 regarding figures 3 and 4 clarified such slot and RV correspondence. Paragraph 0099 disclose “TBS for TBoMS determined based on the resource of 3 slots and transmitted on the 3 slots with RV0, RV2 and RV3, respectively”, which clearly showed that a one slot per RV correspondence. Paragraph 0100 also disclose the same correspondence. Therefore, according to Nhan’s teaching in paragraph 0085, the “setting/defining and/or indicating new starting positions of multiple redundancy versions (RVs) in the circular buffer that is used for rate matching to store the different RVs of the data to be transmitted. The new starting positions may be based on the ending position of previous RV in the circular buffer” and the one slot per RV correspondence, Nhan meet the claim limitation of determining a start position of bit selection of the series transmitted in a first slot of the multiple slots according to a redundancy version of a circular buffer and determines a start position of bit selection of the series transmitted in a next slot and thereafter of the first slot based on a last bit extracted in a previous slot because the selected starting position of the RV would always be within the corresponding slot of the RV (e.g. first RV of the first slot; second RV of the second slot…etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nhan et al (Nhan), US 2022/0321269.
As per claim 5, Nhan teaches the invention including a terminal (pp. 0083) comprising:
A transmitter that transmits a transport block via a physical uplink shared channel across multiple slots (pp. 0084-0085); and
A processor that performs rate matching for each of series of the transport block transmitted in each of the multiple slots (pp. 0084-0085, 0088), wherein
The processor determines a start position of bit selection of the series transmitted in a first slot of the multiple slots according to a redundancy version of a circular buffer, and determines a start position of bit selection of the series transmitted in a next slot and thereafter of the first slot based on a last bit extracted in a previous slot (pp. abstract, 0085, 0087, 0094-0095, 0099-0100, 0106-0108).
As per claim 6, Nhan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 5. Nhan further teaches wherein a number of slots for the multiple slots is received from a network by higher layer signaling (pp. 0115, 0117, 0124: RRC layer).
As per claim 7, Nhan teaches the invention including a radio communication method of a terminal, comprising:
A transmission step of transmitting a transport block via a physical uplink shared channel across multiple slots (pp. 0084-0085); and
A control step of performing rate matching for each of series of the transport block transmitted in each of the multiple slots (pp. 0084-0085, 0088), wherein
In the control step, a start position of bit selection of the series transmitted in a first slot of the multiple slots is determined according to a redundancy version of a circular buffer, and a start position of bit selection of the series transmitted in a next slot and thereafter of the first slot is determined based on a last bit extracted in a previous slot (pp. abstract, 0085, 0087, 0094-0095, 0099-0100, 0106-0108).
As per claim 8, Nhan teaches the invention including a system comprising” a terminal, and a base station, wherein,
The terminal includes (pp. 0083):
A transmitter that transmits a transport block via a physical uplink shared channel across multiple slots (pp. 0084-0085); and
A processor that performs rate matching for each of series of the transport block transmitted in each of the multiple slots (pp. 0084-0085, 0088), wherein
The processor determines a start position of bit selection of the series transmitted in a first slot of the multiple slots according to a redundancy version of a circular buffer, and determines a start position of bit selection of the series transmitted in a next slot and thereafter of the first slot based on a last bit extracted in a previous slot (pp. abstract, 0085, 0087, 0094-0095, 0099-0100, 0106-0108), and
The base station includes (pp. 0086):
A receiver that receives the transport block via the physical uplink shared channel across multiple slots from the terminal (pp. 0084-0086).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dai et al, US 2023/0328723.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
March 11, 2026