Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/078119 (02/26/2022)
and claims foreign priority to CHINA 202110676210.2 (06/18/2021).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of species with traverse in the reply filed on 4/3/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that amended claim 2 requires the compound IrLaLbLc which define a particular ligand coordination environment and architecture that constitutes a special technical feature. This is not found persuasive because the claims are to a scope of compounds which substantially vary in structure such that one of skill in the art would not consider them an art-recognized class and furthermore is not a contribution over the art as detailed in the following prior art rejection.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant elected the following species:
corresponding to La and Lc of
where R6 is Me, R2 is iPr; Lb of
where Ra is CH(Et)2; determined to read on claims 2-5, 9-10, 13-14, 18-19.
As detailed in the following rejections, the generic claim encompassing the elected species was not found patentable. Therefore, the provisional election of species is given effect, the examination is restricted to the elected species only, and claims not reading on the elected species are held withdrawn. MPEP 803.02; Ex parte Ohsaka, 2 USPQ2d 1460, 1461 (Bd. Pat. App. lnt. 1987). Accordingly, claims 6-8, 11-12, 15 are hereby withdrawn.
Should applicant, in response to this rejection of the Markush-type claim, overcome the rejection through amendment, the amended Markush-type claim will be reexamined to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. See MPEP 803.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 9-10, 13-14, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boudreault et al. (US 20150315222) in view of Kwong et al. (US20030072964) and Boudreault et al. (US20180212162, “Boudreault’162”).
Boudreault teaches OLED devices (Abstract, [0015]-[0036]) comprising a compound of formula 44 (claim 23, p. 113):
Boudreault teaches the following compound was known as a successful OLED compound (p. 55, citing to US20030072964 (Kwong)):
.
Boudreault’s compound 44 differs from the elected species by an additional pyridyl ring attached to the benzofuran moiety as circled below:
Kwong teaches OLED devices comprising a compound of the formula III shown below (Abstract, claims 1, 14):
, A1-A2 is
which encompasses the elected species (m=3, n=2; R3-R4 together forms a 5-membered heterocycle). Kwong also teaches the compound V (single comp of claim 65, claim 129 oled of comp V):
.
Boudreault’162 teaches OLED devices comprising iridium complexes of the formula II:
being a Ir(L)2LB complex (claims 8-10, 15-17) with “L” examples LA642 and LA489 shown below (claims 1-8, p. 12-13):
and LB is:
(claim 17) which differs from the elected species by an additional nitrogen in the isoquinolinyl ring. Boudreault’162 also teaches the following iridium examples of OLED compounds:
p. 96:
p. 104:
.
One of ordinary skill in the art following the teaching of Boudreault would have considered modifying the claimed compound 44 in view of the known related successful compounds taught by Kwong which was specifically cited to. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered modifying the ring groups including removing compound 44’s pyridyl in light of the success with Kwongs compound V which was a bicyclic ring at the corresponding position. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in the modification because the instant elected species is within the scope of Kwong’s claimed formula III and because Boudreault’162 teaches the related ligand structures, LA642 and LA489 along with the cited compound from page 104, as successful examples of compounds useful in OLED devices. The level of skill in the art is very high as evidenced by the cited art and shown therein where one of ordinary skill in the art routinely alters the structure of the iridium ligands to tune the OLED properties.
With each of the claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-5, 9-10, 13-14, 18-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12477942 in view of Boudreault et al. (US 20150315222) in view of Kwong et al. (US20030072964) and Boudreault et al. (US20180212162, “Boudreault’162”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claim 20’s “CPD 15” is the same compound as Boudreault’s compound 44 which renders the instant claims obvious for the same reasons as in the 35 USC 103 rejection above.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626