DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 November 2023 was filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 11, the limitation, “picking up both the first array of micro devices from the substrate with the first array of first transfer heads and the second array of micro devices from the base substrate with the second array of second transfer heads” (emphasis added) renders claim indefinite because it is unclear which substrate the limitation intended to. See, claim recites “a donor substrate” and “a base substrate”. Further, “picking up both…and the second array of micro devices from the base substrate” is confusing. Lines 4-5 deemed to read as, the first and the second transfer heads are supported by the base substrate. Therefore, it is unclear how picking up...second array of micro devices from the base substrate. As best understood, it appears that the limitation actually intends that “picking up both the first array of micro devices and the second array of micro devices from the donor substrate with the first array of first transfer heads and the second array of second transfer heads respectively.”, or the like.
Claims 12-21 depend on claim 11. Therefore, claims 11-21 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 20210351231).
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (base substrate)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (second transfer head)][AltContent: textbox (first transfer head)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Figs. 31 and 32, Zhang.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches, a conformable transfer device comprising:
a base substrate (substrate 211, see annotated Fig. 31); and
a first array of first transfer heads (second transfer heads 225, Fig. 31, the second transfer heads 225 connected with the second temporary substrate 211, para. [0104]) supported by the base substrate, and a second array of second transfer heads (first transfer heads 212, first transfer heads 212 formed on the second temporary substrate 211, para. [0095]) supported by the base substrate;
wherein each first transfer head includes a first terminal contact surface extended a first orthogonal distance from the base substrate (the second LED chips 220 to be transferred are adhered to the second temporary substrate 211 via the second transfer heads 225, para. [0105]), and each second transfer head includes a second terminal contact surface extended a second orthogonal distance from the base substrate (first LED chips 210 are adhered to the first transfer heads 212, and the first transfer heads 212 correspond to the first LED chips 210 in position and number, para. [0096]), wherein the first orthogonal distance is greater than the second orthogonal distance (H3>H2>H1, see Figs. 25, 30 and 31, para. [0113]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Zhang further teaches, the conformable transfer device of claim 1, wherein: each first transfer head includes a first contact mesa (see Figs. 30 to 32), and the first terminal contact surface is on the first contact mesa; and each second transfer head includes a second contact mesa, and the second terminal contact surface is on the second contact mesa (see annotated Fig. 32 below).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Zhang further teaches, the conformable transfer device of claim 2, wherein the first contact mesa and the second contact mesa are formed of a same material (first transfer heads 212 are formed by photosensitive resin solidified after exposure and development, para. [0096], a remaining part of the second photosensitive resin layer 223 serves as second transfer heads 225 para. [0103]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 3. Zhang further teaches, the conformable transfer device of claim 3, wherein the same material comprises a polymer (photosensitive resin, para. [0096]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches, a micro-transfer printing method (see Figs. 21 and 27 to 33) comprising:
aligning a conformable transfer device over a donor substrate (step S21, Fig. 21);
wherein the conformable transfer device includes:
a first array of first transfer heads supported by a base substrate (second transfer heads 225, Fig. 31, the second transfer heads 225 connected with the second temporary substrate 211, para. [0104]), and a second array of second transfer heads supported by the base substrate (first transfer heads 212, first transfer heads 212 formed on the second temporary substrate 211, para. [0095]);
wherein each first transfer head includes a first terminal contact surface extended a first orthogonal distance from the base substrate (para. [0105]), and each second transfer head includes a second terminal contact surface extended a second orthogonal distance from the base substrate (para. 0096]), wherein the first orthogonal distance is greater than the second orthogonal distance (H3>H2>H1, see Figs. 25, 30 and 31, para. [0113]);
contacting a first array of micro devices on the donor substrate with the first array of first transfer heads while contacting a second array of micro devices on the donor substrate with the second array of second transfer heads (Fig. 31); and
picking up both the first array of micro devices from the substrate with the first array of first transfer heads and the second array of micro devices from the base substrate with the second array of second transfer heads (step S36, Figs. 31 and 33, bosses of different heights can be disposed to place LED chips, so that the first LED chips 110, the second LED chips 120, and the third LED chips 130 can be picked up with transfer heads of different heights respectively, and then can be transferred to the display backplane 100 at one time, para. [0062, 0115]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 11. Zhang further teaches, the micro-transfer printing method of claim 11, wherein contacting the first array of micro devices on the donor substrate with the first array of first transfer heads while contacting the second array of micro devices on the donor substrate with the second array of second transfer heads comprises compressing a first height of the first array of first transfer heads more than a second height of the second array of second transfer heads (H3>H2>H1, see Figs. 25, 30 and 31, para. [0113]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 12. Zhang further teaches, the micro-transfer printing method of claim 12, further comprising placing the first array of micro devices on a receiving substrate prior to placing the second array of micro devices on the receiving substrate (three types of LED chips described in the present application are three colors (i.e., RGB) of LED chips according to actual applications, and their transfer sequence is not limited, para. [0117]).
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cai (CN 215418184).
Regarding claim 1, Cai teaches, a conformable transfer device comprising:
a base substrate (substrate 1, see annotated Fig. 6-2 below); and
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (first transfer head)][AltContent: textbox (second transfer head)][AltContent: ]
Annotated Figs. 6-1 and 6-2 Cai.
a first array of first transfer heads (a second protrusion 221, end face of the lower end of the second protrusion 221 is the second surface that is attached to the second chip to be transferred, para. [0060]) supported by the base substrate, and a second array of second transfer heads (first protrusions 212 , end face of the lower end of the first protrusion 212 is the first surface that is in contact with the first chip to be transferred, para. [0062]) supported by the base substrate;
wherein each first transfer head includes a first terminal contact surface extended a first orthogonal distance from the base substrate (see Figs. 6-1 and 6-2]), and each second transfer head includes a second terminal contact surface extended a second orthogonal distance from the base substrate (Figs. 6-1 and 6-2), wherein the first orthogonal distance is greater than the second orthogonal distance (see Fig. 6-2, picks up the corresponding first chip to be transferred 31, second chip to be transferred 32 and third chip to be transferred, the first distance between the lower end of the first pin of the first chip to be transferred 31 and the back surface of the substrate 1 is less than the second distance between the lower end of the second pin of the second chip to be transferred 32 and the back surface of the substrate 1, para. [0063]).
Regarding claim 2, Cai teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Cai further teaches, the conformable transfer device of claim 1, wherein: each first transfer head includes a first contact mesa (see annotated Fig. 6-2 below), and the first terminal contact surface is on the first contact mesa; and each second transfer head includes a second contact mesa, and the second terminal contact surface is on the second contact mesa (Fig. 6-2).
[AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (second contact mesa)][AltContent: textbox (first contact mesa)]
Annotated Fig. 6-2 Cai.
Regarding claim 3, Cai teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Cai further teaches, the conformable transfer device of claim 2, wherein the first contact mesa and the second contact mesa are formed of a same material (the pickup unit can include but not limited to PDMS (polydimethylsiloxane), para. [0076]).
Regarding claim 4, Cai teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 3. Cai further teaches, the conformable transfer device of claim 3, wherein the same material comprises a polymer (PDMS (polydimethylsiloxane), para. [0076]).
Regarding claim 5, Cai teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 4. Cai further teaches, the conformable transfer device of claim 4, wherein the polymer is polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) (the pickup unit can include but not limited to PDMS (polydimethylsiloxane), para. [0076]).
Regarding claim 6, Cai teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Cai further teaches, the conformable transfer device of claim 2, wherein: each first transfer head includes a first base mesa (see annotated 6-2 below), and the first contact mesa extends from a first extension surface of the first base mesa (see Fig. 6-2); and each second transfer head includes a second base mesa, and the second contact mesa extends from a second extension surface of the second base mesa.
[AltContent: textbox (first base mesa)][AltContent: textbox (second base mesa)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 6-2 Cai.
Regarding claim 8, Cai teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 6. Cai further teaches, the conformable transfer device of claim 6, wherein the first base mesa has a first thickness in an orthogonal direction from the base substrate, and the second base mesa has a second thickness in the orthogonal direction (see Fig. 6-2).
Regarding claim 9, Cai teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 6. Cai further teaches, the conformable transfer device of claim 6, wherein the first base mesa extends directly from the base substrate, and the second base mesa extends directly from the base substrate (see Fig. 6-2).
Regarding claim 11, Cai teaches, a micro-transfer printing method (see Figs. 6-1 and 6-2) comprising:
aligning a conformable transfer device over a donor substrate (temporary substrate, see Fig. 3);
wherein the conformable transfer device includes:
a first array of first transfer heads supported by a base substrate (a second protrusion 221, end face of the lower end of the second protrusion 221 is the second surface that is attached to the second chip to be transferred, para. [0060]), and a second array of second transfer heads supported by the base substrate (first protrusions 212 , end face of the lower end of the first protrusion 212 is the first surface that is in contact with the first chip to be transferred, para. [0062]);
wherein each first transfer head includes a first terminal contact surface extended a first orthogonal distance from the base substrate (see Fig. 6-1), and each second transfer head includes a second terminal contact surface extended a second orthogonal distance from the base substrate (Fig. 6-1), wherein the first orthogonal distance is greater than the second orthogonal distance (picks up the corresponding first chip to be transferred 31, second chip to be transferred 32 and third chip to be transferred, the first distance between the lower end of the first pin of the first chip to be transferred 31 and the back surface of the substrate 1 is less than the second distance between the lower end of the second pin of the second chip to be transferred 32 and the back surface of the substrate 1, para. [0063]);
contacting a first array of micro devices on the donor substrate with the first array of first transfer heads while contacting a second array of micro devices on the donor substrate with the second array of second transfer heads (Fig. 6-2, para. [0063]); and
picking up both the first array of micro devices from the substrate with the first array of first transfer heads and the second array of micro devices from the base substrate with the second array of second transfer heads (Fig. 6-2, para. [0063]).
Regarding claim 12, Cai teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 11. Cai further teaches, the micro-transfer printing method of claim 11, wherein contacting the first array of micro devices on the donor substrate with the first array of first transfer heads while contacting the second array of micro devices on the donor substrate with the second array of second transfer heads comprises compressing a first height of the first array of first transfer heads more than a second height of the second array of second transfer heads (picks up the corresponding first chip to be transferred 31, second chip to be transferred 32 and third chip to be transferred, the first distance between the lower end of the first pin of the first chip to be transferred 31 and the back surface of the substrate 1 is less than the second distance between the lower end of the second pin of the second chip to be transferred 32 and the back surface of the substrate 1, para. [0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai.
Regarding claim 7, Cai teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Cai further teaches, in Fig. 5-1, in which,
7. The conformable transfer device of claim 6, wherein the first base mesa and the second base mesa have a same thickness (see Fig. 5-1, the end surfaces of the lower ends of the third protrusion 231 and the second protrusion 221 are in the same plane, para. [0060]).
10. The conformable transfer device of claim 6, further comprising a bulk layer (pickup unit layer 2, Fig. 6-1) on the base substrate (substrate 1), wherein the first base mesa and the second base mesa are integrally formed with the bulk layer and extend from the bulk layer ( the
PDMS material can be a UV-curable silicone material, para. [0076]).
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Fig. 5-1 of Cai, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the transfer device of Cai in Fig. 6-1 and to form the first base mesa 221 and the second base mesa 212 having same thickness as Cai disclosed in Fig. 5-1 so that it enables applying same pressure to the transfer chips as Cai disclosed in para. [0042].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action. Claims 15-21 are allowable by virtue of its dependency.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claim 14 would be allowable for disclosing a micro-transfer printing method, wherein placing the first array of micro devices on the receiving substrate comprises placing the first array of micro devices over a first array of landing pads, and placing the second array of micro devices on the receiving substrate comprises placing the second array of micro devices over a second array of landing pads; wherein an adhesive film spans over the first array of landing pads and the second array of landing pads; and wherein the second array of micro devices does not contact the adhesive film while placing the first array of micro devices on the receiving substrate.
Though, prior art of record Zhang teaches, a temporary substrate with an adhesive film, and placing the first array of micro devices on the receiving substrate comprises placing the first array of micro devices over a first array of landing pads 242 in Fig. 33, and placing the second array of micro devices on the receiving substrate comprises placing the second array of micro devices over a second array of landing pads 241, Zhang fails to teach, the adhesive film spans over the first array of landing pads and the second array of landing pads; and wherein the second array of micro devices does not contact the adhesive film while placing the first array of micro devices on the receiving substrate.
Prior art of record Cai teaches, a temporary substrate with adhesive bonding, Cai does not teach, the adhesive film spans over the first array of landing pads and the second array of landing pads; and wherein the second array of micro devices does not contact the adhesive film while placing the first array of micro devices on the receiving substrate.
Therefore, claim 14 would be allowable. Claims 15-21 would be allowable by virtue of its dependency.
Conclusion
Prior art Katz (US 20210384051) teaches, a conformable transfer device comprising: a base substrate; and a first array of first transfer heads supported by the base substrate, and a second array of second transfer heads supported by the base substrate; wherein each first transfer head includes a first terminal contact surface extended a first orthogonal distance from the base substrate, and each second transfer head includes a second terminal contact surface extended a second orthogonal distance from the base substrate, wherein the first orthogonal distance is greater than the second orthogonal distance.
Prior art Hsiang (US 20190206714) teaches, a conformable transfer device comprising: a base substrate; and a first array of first transfer heads supported by the base substrate, and a second array of second transfer heads supported by the base substrate; wherein the first orthogonal distance is greater than the second orthogonal distance.
Prior art Ahn (US 20190189487) teaches, a conformable transfer device comprising: a base substrate; and a first array of first transfer heads supported by the base substrate, and a second array of second transfer heads supported by the base substrate; and the first orthogonal distance is greater than the second orthogonal distance.
Prior art Gomez (Gomez D. et. al., Process Capability and Elastomer Stamp Lifetime in Micro Transfer Printing, 2016 IEEE 66th Electronic Components and Technology Conference 2016) teaches a conformable transfer device comprising: a base substrate; and a first array of first transfer heads supported by the base substrate, and a second array of second transfer heads supported by the base substrate.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729