DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 9 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Instant claims 7 and 10-14 recite the limitation “wherein at least one or more elements among Ni,Cr, and Co replaces the Fe in 10.0 atom% or less in range.” This limitation allows for Fe content outside of the range of claim 1, from which claims 7 and 10-14 depend) and thus fails to include all of the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Instant claim 9 depends on instant claim 7 and is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-11, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 and 2) as being anticipated by US 2004/0140016 A1 to Sakamoto et al.
Regarding claims 1 and 7-9, Sakamoto discloses numerous Fe-based amorphous alloy thin strips (i.e. ribbons) lying within the instantly claimed composition, such as Sakamoto alloy 25 which comprises the following composition (Sakamoto, abstract, example 34, Para [0280-0281], Table 40, No 25) which lies within the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed at%
Sakamoto No 25 at%
Lies within?
B
8.0-18.0
14.0
Yes
Si
2.0-9.0
2.7
Yes
C
0.10-5.00
1.0
Yes
Al
0.005-1.50
0.15
Yes
P
0-1.00
≤impurity
Yes
Mn
0-0.30
≤impurity
Yes
Fe
78.00-86.00
80.4
Yes
Ni+Cr+Co
0-10.0
≤impurity
Yes
Sakamoto anticipates instant claims 1 and 7-9 because Sakamoto discloses a specific example of an Fe-based amorphous alloy thin strip (i.e. ribbon) lying wholly within the instantly claimed ranges.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 10, 11, 15 and 16, Sakamoto alloy 25 lies wholly within the instantly claimed ranges (Sakamoto, abstract, example 34, Para [0280-0281], Table 40, No 25).
Claim(s) 1 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 and 2) as being anticipated by CN 101206943 to Zhang et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claims 1 and 7-9, Zhang discloses numerous Fe-based amorphous alloy thin strips (i.e. ribbons) lying within the instantly claimed composition, such as Zhang Fe80B10C5Si4.5Al0.5 which comprises the following composition (Zhang, abstract, para [0005], Table 2, Fe80B10C5Si4.5Al0.5) which lies within the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed at%
Zhang at%
Lies within?
B
8.0-18.0
10
Yes
Si
2.0-9.0
4.5
Yes
C
0.10-5.00
5
Yes
Al
0.005-1.50
0.5
Yes
P
0-1.00
≤impurity
Yes
Mn
0-0.30
≤impurity
Yes
Fe
78.00-86.00
80
Yes
Ni+Cr+Co
0-10.0
≤impurity
Yes
Zhang anticipates instant claims 1 and 7-9 because Zhang discloses a specific example of an Fe-based amorphous alloy thin strip (i.e. ribbon) lying wholly within the instantly claimed ranges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2004/0140016 A1 to Sakamoto et al.
Regarding claims 1 and 7-9, Sakamoto discloses an Fe-based amorphous alloy thin strip (i.e. ribbon) overlapping the instantly claimed composition, such as Sakamoto alloy 25 which comprises the following composition (Sakamoto, abstract, claims 37-42) which overlaps the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed at%
Sakamoto at%
Lies within?
B
8.0-18.0
5-16
Yes
Si
2.0-9.0
0.02-<4
Yes
C
0.10-5.00
0.02-8
Yes
Al
0.005-1.50
0.01-0.2
Yes
P
0-1.00
0.2-12
Yes
Mn
0-0.30
≤impurity
Yes
Fe
78.00-86.00
78-86
Yes
Ni+Cr+Co
0-10.0
≤impurity
Yes
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Sakamoto including the instantly claimed because Sakamoto discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Regarding claims 2-6 and 10-19, the alloy of Sakamoto overlaps the instantly claimed ranges (Sakamoto, abstract, claims 37-42).
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-11, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 101206943 to Zhang et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claims 1 and 7-9, Zhang discloses numerous Fe-based amorphous alloy thin strips (i.e. ribbons) lying within the instantly claimed composition, such as Zhang Fe80B10C5Si4.5Al0.5 which comprises the following composition (Zhang, abstract, para [0008]) which lies within the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed at%
Zhang at%
Lies within?
B
8.0-18.0
7-13
Yes
Si
2.0-9.0
4-7
Yes
C
0.10-5.00
3-6
Yes
Al
0.005-1.50
1-4
Yes
P
0-1.00
≤impurity
Yes
Mn
0-0.30
≤impurity
Yes
Fe
78.00-86.00
77-83
Yes
Ni+Cr+Co
0-10.0
≤impurity
Yes
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Zhang including the instantly claimed because Sakamoto discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 10, 11, 15 and 16, the alloy of Sakamoto overlaps the instantly claimed ranges (Sakamoto, abstract, claims 37-42).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP-2018167298-A and JP-2017078186-A both disclose Fe-based amorphous alloy thin strips relevant to the instant claims.
/BRIAN D WALCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738