DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on November 17, 2023; March 13, 2025; and May 19, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on November 17, 2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 21-28, and 30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on January 07, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-20, and 29) in the reply filed on January 07, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no serious burden on the Examiner if a restriction is not required and that the restriction requirement is improper. This is not found persuasive because the Applicant simply compares and bases solely on independent claim 1 of Group I (a receiving device), and claim 21 of Group II (a transmitting device). The Applicant, however, ignores and/or fails to consider the full scope of the dependent claims. It is noted that the restriction analysis is based on the claimed inventions, and not just independent claims. When dependent claims add limitations creating a distinct invention, it is deemed to be proper to make a restriction requirement.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (hereinafter “Zhu”, US 2022/0271806).
Regarding claims 1, and 29, Zhu discloses a receiving device for wireless communication (i.e., a receive end apparatus 102 (e.g., a network device) as described in paragraph 0058), and a method of wireless communication performed by a receiving device, comprising:
a memory (i.e., memory 403 as shown in Fig. 2A); and
one or more processors (i.e., processor 401 and processor 408 as shown in Fig. 2A), coupled to the memory (i.e., coupled to the memory 403 as shown in Fig. 2A), configured to:
transmit, to a transmitting device (i.e., a transmit end apparatus 101 (e.g., a terminal device) as described in paragraph 0058), a line of sight (LOS) multiple input multiple output (MIMO) channel sounding configuration (i.e., a line of sight MIMO as described in paragraphs 0009-0012 and 0152-0157) that indicates one or more channel sounding parameters for a partial sounding procedure associated with an LOS MIMO channel (i.e., transmitting, to the terminal device 101, a first indication information in S404 of Fig. 4, and as described in paragraph 0132. Also, transmitting to the terminal device 101 by the network device 102 a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) as described in paragraph 0053); and
receive, from the transmitting device, at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) based at least in part on the one or more channel sounding parameters (i.e., receiving, from the terminal device 101, a sounding reference signal (SRS) based on the received CSI-RS as described in paragraph 0053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Yan et al. (hereinafter “Yan”, US 2019/0068260).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Yan discloses sounding references signal transmit antenna selection. Yan also discloses wherein the one or more channel sound parameters indicate at least one of:
a subset of antennas of the transmitting device to be used for the partial sounding procedure, or
a sounding bandwidth (i.e., an SRS bandwidth configuration as described in paragraph 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable proper transmission and reception of data signals.
Regarding claim 3, Zhu, and Yan disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Yan also discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine the sounding bandwidth based at least in part on at least one of:
an estimated LOS MIMO percentage corresponding to a communication channel, or
a number of reception antennas of the receiving device (i.e., a number of antenna ports for transmission as described in paragraph 0024).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Zhou et al. (hereinafter “Zhou”, US 2022/0357420).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Zhou discloses accuracy and latency improvements for REL-17 NR positioning. Zhou also discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select the partial sounding procedure based at least in part on at least one of:
an estimated LOS MIMO percentage corresponding to a communication channel,
a transmission antenna array configuration,
a reception antenna array configuration,
an alignment between a transmission array and a reception array,
a misalignment compensation,
a communication scenario type, or
an LOS MIMO sounding capability of the transmitting device (i.e., indication of a capability of the UE to associate a UL SRS resource with a Tx TEG of the UE as described in paragraphs 0005-0007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to improve latency reporting in connection with positioning reporting.
Claim(s) 5, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Go et al. (hereinafter “Go”, US 12,531,609).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Go discloses method and device for transmitting and receiving sounding reference signal in wireless communication system. Go also discloses wherein the LOS MIMO channel sounding configuration indicates an antenna configuration that indicates a number of sounding antennas (i.e., transmitting terminal capability information related to antenna switching as described in Abstract), wherein the antenna configuration identifies the sounding antennas (i.e., a set of SRS resources which are transmitted in one panel (e.g., beam management, antenna switching) as described in col. 14, lines 29-52, and Abstract), and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine the antenna configuration based at least in part on at least one of:
an LOS MIMO sounding capability of the transmitting device (i.e., transmitting terminal capability information as described in Abstract),
an estimated LOS MIMO percentage corresponding to a communication channel, or
an antenna array geometry of the transmitting device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to improve channel estimation performance.
Regarding claim 10, Zhu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Go discloses method and device for transmitting and receiving sounding reference signal in wireless communication system. Go also discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the transmitting device, antenna information, wherein the LOS MIMO channel sounding configuration is based at least in part on the antenna information (i.e., the sounding reference signal based on the configuration information, and the antenna ports is configured for sounding reference signal resources as described in Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to improve channel estimation performance.
Regarding claim 11, Zhu, and Go disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Go also discloses wherein the antenna information indicates at least one of:
a mapping between one or more antenna ports and one or more corresponding locations within an antenna array of the transmitting device,
LOS MIMO capability information (i.e., the sounding reference signal based on the configuration information, and the antenna ports is configured for sounding reference signal resources as described in Abstract),
LOS MIMO sounding capability information,
alignment capability information,
an antenna array geometry,
a number of antennas,
a number of antenna panels,
an antenna element distance matrix,
polarization information, or
user equipment-assisted information (UAI).
Regarding claim 12, Zhu, and Go disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Go also disclose wherein the mapping comprises a bitmap (i.e., mapping antenna port to one panel as described in col. 13, lines 46-60).
Regarding claim 13, Zhu, and Go disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Go also discloses wherein the UAI indicates at least one of:
a phase response associated with an antenna port (i.e., the base station obtains a channel for an entire Rx antenna port in which a shifted phase due to a time of a channel coefficient is compensated through overlapping port as described in col. 32, lines 5-26),
a phase difference between a first antenna port and a second antenna port,
phase coherence between the first antenna port and the second antenna port, or
antenna blockage information.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Liu et al. (hereinafter “Liu”, US 2016/0315683).
Regarding claim 14, Zhu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Liu discloses method for acquiring channel information, apparatus, and system. Liu also discloses wherein the LOS MIMO channel sounding configuration comprises a mapping between at least one sounding antenna index and at least one corner antenna (i.e., a preset antennas including antennas at each of four corners as described in paragraphs, 0014-0016, and 0205-0206).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to acquire the channel state information more effectively.
Regarding claim 15, Zhu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Liu discloses method for acquiring channel information, apparatus, and system. Liu also discloses wherein the LOS MIMO channel sounding configuration indicates one or more SRS indices associated with the partial sounding procedure, and wherein a wireless communication standard indicates a mapping between the one or more SRS indices and one or more antennas corresponding to an antenna configuration of the transmitting device (i.e., the channel state information of the antenna array according to the pilot signals and the antenna configuration information includes acquiring a channel matrix corresponding to the first preset antennas as described in paragraphs 0046-0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to acquire the channel state information more effectively.
Regarding claim 16, Zhu discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Liu discloses method for acquiring channel information, apparatus, and system. Liu also discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to estimate the LOS MIMO channel based at least in part on applying an interpolation to the at least one SRS (i.e., performing an interpolation operation to obtain channel state information of the second preset antennas as described in paragraphs 0188-0192).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to acquire the channel state information more effectively.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Liu, and further in view of Matsumura et al. (hereinafter “Matsumura”, US 2020/0322119).
Regarding claim 17, Zhu, and Liu disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but do not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Matsumura discloses user terminal and radio communication method. Matsumura also discloses wherein the interpolation comprises a linear interpolation over a plurality of channel estimates associated with the at least one SRS (i.e., using linear interpolation to improve accuracy of channel estimation as described in paragraphs 0149-0152).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to improve the accuracy of channel estimation.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Liu, and further in view of Oh et al. (hereinafter “Oh”, US 2017/0214518).
Regarding claim 18, Zhu, and Liu disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but do not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Oh discloses method and apparatus for estimating and correcting phase error in wireless communication system. Oh also discloses wherein the one or more processors, to apply the interpolation, are configured to perform a phase ramp procedure to determine a phase interpolation (i.e., using linear interpolation to correct the phase as described in paragraph 0072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enhance reception performance of the receiver.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Wayne H Cai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644