DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed July 2, 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Obviousness (New Rejections)
1) Claims 1, 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenway et al. (US 20180344685).
Greenway et al. disclose a composition comprising a combination of menthol (a TRPM8 agonist) and naringenin. The menthol can also be derived from natural sources, such as a mint plant or sunflower essential oil (paragraph 0042). Menthol may comprise between about 1 μM to about 50 μM (paragraph 0008). Naringenin may be used in an amount ranging from between about 0.1 μM to about 50 μM (paragraph 0009). Other TRPM8 agonists include p-menthane carboxamides and 1,8-cineole (eucalyptus).
The menthol may be derived from natural sources, which primarily comprise (-)-menthol. In regards to the composition being a coolness-modifying composition, the composition comprises a flavanone and therefore would have the function of being a coolness-modifier.
Greenway et al disclose the amount of menthol ranges from 1 μM to about 50 μM and naringenin ranges from 0.1 μM to about 50 μM. These amounts encompass ratios of 30 to 1, when menthol is 3 μM and naringenin is 0.1 μM, the ratio is 30:1 and, 200:1 when menthol is 20 μM and naringenin is 0.1 μM,. Therefore, the ranges of Greenway et al. overlap the ratio of the instant claims. It is well-settled, however, that even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05. Accordingly, since an overlap plainly exists here, it would have been obvious to have selected values within the overlap, consistent with the reasoning of MPEP 2144.05.
Eucalyptus comprises isopulegol. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the instant application to have added an additional TRPM8 agonist, such as eucalyptus, to the composition of Greenway et al. because they are suitable TRPM8 components for incorporation into the compositions.
2) Claims 1, 5, 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenway et al. (US 20180344685) in view of Patron et al. (US 20170096418).
Greenway et al. are discussed above and disclose other TRPM8 agonists include p-menthane carboxamides and 1,8-cineole (eucalyptus).
Greenway et al. differ from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose the compounds recited in instant claim 6.
Patron et al. disclose TRPM8 have cooling effects. These include N-ethyl-p-menthyl-carboxamide.
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the instant application to have added an additional TRPM8 agonist, such as N-ethyl-p-menthyl-carboxamide, as the menthane carboxamide of Greenway et al. because they are suitable TRPM8 components for incorporation into the compositions and to obtain their cooling effect.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 5-6 and 20 are rejected.
Claims 7-18 are withdrawn.
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEZAH ROBERTS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612