Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, Foreign Patent Document, CN112249776 in view of Fernando, US20170096017A1.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 11, Xu discloses a [method for dynamically storing a strip-like continuous film in a] film store for a strip-like continuous film (Fig. 1), comprising: a storage region with an upper carriage (9, Fig. 1) and a lower carriage (8, Fig. 1), and deflection rollers (5, Fig. 1) fastened to the upper carriage and the lower carriage in such a way that the deflection rollers guide [the method comprising: guiding] the continuous film along a transport path extending in a meandering manner between the upper carriage and the lower carriage (path of 11 is meandering between upper carriage and lower carriage, Fig. 1), [and adjusting a size of the associated one of the storage regions by operation by] wherein the upper carriage and the lower carriage are coupled to one another in a mutually weight-compensating manner so as to be movable in opposite directions in order to adjust a size of the associated storage region (Paragraph [0011], lines 7-9), wherein the storage region comprises a servo motor that is torque-controlled or force-controlled (3, Fig. 1; Paragraph [0017]) for movement of the associated upper carriage and the lower carriage in opposite directions [wherein the upper carriage and the lower carriage are moved toward one another or away from one another by a servo motor that is torque-controlled or force-controlled servo motor] and/or for tensioning the continuous film between the deflection rollers (Paragraph [0017]).
Xu does not disclose storage regions, the storage regions comprise an output-side storage region and an input-side storage region serially connected upstream thereof by means of at least one conveyor unit, wherein the conveyor unit is designed for conveying the continuous film with simultaneous decoupling of a strip tension prevailing in the output-side storage region from a strip tension prevailing in the input-side storage region [wherein the conveyor unit conveys the continuous film with simultaneous decoupling a strip tension prevailing in the output-side storage region from a strip tension prevailing in the input-side storage region].
Fernando teaches a film store, having storage regions (305, 320, Fig. 3A-C) wherein the storage regions (305, 320, Fig. 3A-C) comprises an output-side storage region (320, Fig. 3A-C) and an input-side storage region (305, Fig. 3A-C) serially connected upstream thereof by means of at least one conveyor unit (310, Fig. 3A-C), wherein the conveyor unit is designed for conveying the continuous film with simultaneous decoupling of a strip tension prevailing in the output-side storage region from a strip tension prevailing in the input-side storage region (Paragraph [0030]; recitation as to a products intended use carries little patentable weight, thus if the prior art structure meets the claim it is capable of performing the function. In this case the conveyor unit of Fernando (310, Fig. 3A-C) meets the structure of applicant’s claimed conveyor unit, and therefore would be capable of performing the function of decoupling of strip tension just as applicant’s conveyor unit is) [wherein the conveyor unit conveys the continuous film with simultaneous decoupling a strip tension prevailing in the output-side storage region from a strip tension prevailing in the input-side storage region] (Paragraph [0030], 310 necessarily decouples 305 from 320 by friction of web on rollers 310).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film store of Xu to have two storage regions to ensure “the buffered web length is maintained and the desired web tension is maintained" (Paragraph [0034], lines 4-7; Fernando).
Regarding claim 2, Xu modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein the servo motor (3, Fig. 1) is designed as a direct drive for a toothed belt which is fixedly connected to the upper carriage and the lower carriage (Paragraph [0018], lines 2-4), wherein the direct drive is in a form of a rotation servomotor for driving the toothed belt (Paragraph [0018], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 5, modified Xu teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and a film store. However, Xu does not teach wherein the conveyor unit guides the continuous film in the region of the conveyor unit during transport in such a way that substantially no strip tension is transmitted between the output-side storage region and the input-side storage region.
Fernando teaches a film store, wherein the conveyor unit (310, Fig. 3A-C) guides the continuous film (120, Fig. 3A-C) in the region of the conveyor unit during transport (310 guides 120 during transport, Fig. 3B) between the output-side storage region and the input-side storage region (320, 305, Fig. 3A-C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film store of Xu to have two storage regions to ensure “the buffered web length is maintained and the desired web tension is maintained" (Paragraph [0034], lines 4-7; Fernando).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transport the film in such a way that substantially no strip tension is transmitted, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, one would have been motivated to make this modification so that “the buffered web length is maintained and the desired web tension is maintained" (Paragraph [0034], lines 4-7; Fernando) between each region to reduce wear and breakage of the film.
Regarding claim 6, modified Xu teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1 and a film store. However, Xu does not teach wherein the output-side storage region is smaller than the input-side storage region.
Fernando teaches a film store, wherein the output-side storage region (320, Fig. 3C) is smaller than the input-side storage region (305, Fig. 3C is larger than 205).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the storage regions be different sizes as taught by Fernando, “such that the buffered web length is maintained and the desired web tension is maintained" (Paragraph [0034], lines 4-7; Fernando).
Regarding claim 7, modified Xu teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 6 and a film store. However, Xu does not teach wherein the input-side storage region comprises an input-side conveyor unit for the continuous film, and the electronic control device is configured to adjust a conveying speed of the input-side conveyor unit to an output-side conveying speed of the at least one storage region.
Fernando teaches a film store, wherein the input-side storage region (305, Fig. 3A) comprises an input-side conveyor unit (330, 335, Fig. 3A) for the continuous film (120, Fig. 3A), and the electronic control device is configured to adjust a conveying speed of the input-side conveyor unit to an output-side conveying speed of the at least one storage region (Paragraph [0024], lines 2-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the control mechanism of Fernando to modified Xu, “such that the buffered web length is maintained and the desired web tension is maintained" (Paragraph [0034], lines 4-7; Fernando).
Regarding claim 20, Xu modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and a film store having a storage region. Xu does not disclose wherein the input-side storage region comprises an input-side conveyor unit for the continuous film, and the film store comprises an electronic control device configured to adjust a conveying speed of the input-side conveyor unit to an output- side conveying speed of the at least one storage region.
Fernando teaches a film store, wherein the input-side storage region (305, Fig. 3A) comprises an input-side conveyor unit (330, 335, Fig. 3A) for the continuous film (120, Fig. 3A), and the electronic control device is configured to adjust a conveying speed of the input-side conveyor unit to an output-side conveying speed of the at least one storage region (Paragraph [0024], lines 2-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film store of Xu to control the storage regions as taught by Fernando to ensure “the buffered web length is maintained and the desired web tension is maintained" (Paragraph [0034], lines 4-7; Fernando).
Claim(s) 3-4, 8-10, and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU, Foreign Patent Document, CN112249776A and Fernando, US20170096017A1 as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of Rajala, US20030052148A1.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Xu modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claims 1 and 11, and a film store having a servo motor [method for dynamically storing a strip-like continuous film in a film store] wherein the upper carriage and the lower carriage move in opposite directions (Paragraph [0018], lines 1-4). However, XU does not disclose an electronic control device configured to: calculate frictional resistances and/or moments of inertia of the upper carriage and the lower carriage occurring during the movement of the upper carriage and the lower carriage in opposite directions; calculate, based thereon, a portion of a target torque of the servo motor or of a target force of the servo motor associated with the size adjustment of the associated one of the storage regions; and control the servo motor based thereon.
Rajala teaches a film store and method of storing a strip-like continuous film in a film store having an electronic control device [controlling the servo motor comprises](70, Fig. 2) configured to: calculate [automatically] frictional resistances and/or moments of inertia of the carriage occurring during the movement of the carriage (steps 1-3, Fig. 6); calculate, based thereon [automatically], a portion of a target torque of the servo motor or of a target force of the servo motor associated with the size adjustment of the associated on of the storage regions (steps 4-5, Fig. 6); and control [controlling] the servo motor based thereon [on the automatic calculations] (step 5, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film store and method of storing a strip-like continuous film in a film store of modified Xu, to have a control device that automatically controls the size of the storage region “so as to nullify the effects of mass and inertia on the ability of the festoon to respond to speed and tension changes in the web traversing the given section of the processing line, or to respond to differences in web speed at the in-feed and take-away nips, or to respond to large scale changes in web speed at the in-fed or take-away nips” (Paragraph [0017], lines 9-15; Rajala et al.).
Regarding claim 4, Xu modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 3 and a film store. However, Xu does not disclose wherein the electronic control device is further configured to specify the target torque or the target force of the servo motor, taking into account the portion associated with the size adjustment and a portion associated with a strip tension of the continuous film.
Rajala et al. teaches a film store wherein the electronic control device (70, Fig. 2) is further configured to specify the target torque or the target force of the servo motor (step 5. Fig. 6), taking into account the portion associated with the size adjustment (step 1, Dancer Position, P, Fig. 6) and a portion associated with a strip tension of the continuous film (Step 1, Web Tension, Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film store of modified Xu to have a control device operate as taught by Rajala et al. “so as to nullify the effects of mass and inertia on the ability of the festoon to respond to speed and tension changes in the web traversing the given section of the processing line, or to respond to differences in web speed at the in-feed and take-away nips, or to respond to large scale changes in web speed at the in-fed or take-away nips” (Paragraph [0017], lines 9-15; Rajala et al.).
Regarding claim 8, modified Xu teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 7 and a film store. However, modified Xu does not disclose wherein the electronic control device is configured in such a way that the input-side conveying speed follows the associated output-side conveying speed with reduced acceleration or deceleration or a reduced jerk with respect thereto.
Rajala et al. teaches wherein the electronic control device (70, Fig. 2) is configured in such a way that the input-side conveying speed follows the associated output-side conveying speed with reduced acceleration or deceleration or a reduced jerk with respect thereto (Paragraph [0017], lines 12-15; Paragraphs [0191] and [0192]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film store of modified Xu to have a control device operate as taught by Rajala et al. “so as to nullify the effects of mass and inertia on the ability of the festoon to respond to speed and tension changes in the web traversing the given section of the processing line, or to respond to differences in web speed at the in-feed and take-away nips, or to respond to large scale changes in web speed at the in-fed or take-away nips” (Paragraph [0017], lines 9-15; Rajala et al.).
Regarding claims 9, 13, and 17, modified Xu teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claims 7, 12, and 11 respectively, and a film store. Xu does not disclose further comprising an output-side conveyor unit arranged downstream of the output-side storage region and the input-side storage region, wherein the electronic control device is designed to adjust the conveying speeds of the input-side conveyor units in a cascading manner starting from the conveying speed of the output-side conveyor unit counter to a strip running direction.
Fernando teaches further comprising an output-side conveyor unit (330, Fig. 3A-C on left side of 140) arranged downstream of the output-side storage region (320, Fig. 3A-C) and the input-side storage region (305, Fig. 3A-C), wherein the electronic control device is designed to adjust the conveying speeds of the input-side conveyor units (330, 335, Fig. 3A-C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the control mechanism of Fernando to modified Xu, “such that the buffered web length is maintained and the desired web tension is maintained" (Paragraph [0034], lines 4-7; Fernando).
Rajala et al. teaches wherein the electronic control device (70, Fig. 2) is designed to adjust the conveying speeds of the input-side conveyor units in a cascading manner starting from the conveying speed of the output-side conveyor unit counter to a strip running direction (Paragraph [0017], lines 12-15; Paragraphs [0191] and [0192]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film store of Xu to have a control device operate as taught by Rajala et al. “so as to nullify the effects of mass and inertia on the ability of the festoon to respond to speed and tension changes in the web traversing the given section of the processing line, or to respond to differences in web speed at the in-feed and take-away nips, or to respond to large scale changes in web speed at the in-fed or take-away nips” (Paragraph [0017], lines 9-15; Rajala et al.).
Regarding claim 10, Xu modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described in claim 1 above, and a film store. Xu does not disclose a device for providing a continuous film, comprising a device for automatically alternately feeding film from supply rolls connected in parallel.
Rajala et al. teaches a device for providing a continuous film (10, Fig. 2), comprising a device for automatically alternately feeding film from supply rolls connected in parallel (12A, 12B, Fig. 29) and the film store (124, 125, 127, Fig. 29; Paragraph [0412]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film store of modified Xu to have a device for providing a continuous film as taught by Rajala et al. in order to ensure film is continuously supplied to the film store, avoiding machine downtime.
Regarding claim 14, modified Xu teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 13 and a film store. However, modified Xu does not disclose wherein a maximum strip tension in the continuous film is limited by the torque control or force control of the servo motor via a specification of format-specific minimum and/or maximum values.
Rajala et al. teaches a film store wherein a maximum strip tension in the continuous film is limited by the torque control or force control of the servo motor (step 5, Fig.6) via a specification of format-specific minimum and/or maximum values (F_c, Desired Web Force, Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film store of modified Xu to have a control device operate as taught by Rajala et al. “so as to nullify the effects of mass and inertia on the ability of the festoon to respond to speed and tension changes in the web traversing the given section of the processing line, or to respond to differences in web speed at the in-feed and take-away nips, or to respond to large scale changes in web speed at the in-fed or take-away nips” (Paragraph [0017], lines 9-15; Rajala et al.).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, modified Xu teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 14 and 13, respectively, and a method of storing a film in a film store. However, modified Xu does not disclose wherein the output-side conveying speed of the film store follows a speed profile of the continuous film which is specified downstream thereof, and storage dynamics caused thereby in an output-side storage region of the at least one storage region is reduced by a control cascade in at least one upstream-arranged storage region of the at least one storage region of the film store in such a way that more continuous film can be stored while maintaining a maximum permissible strip tension than in the output-side storage region.
Fernando teaches a method for storing a film in a film store wherein the output-side conveying speed of the film store follows a speed profile of the continuous film which is specified downstream thereof (Printing has stopped, Paragraph [0024], lines 1-2), and storage dynamics caused thereby in an output-side storage region (320, Fig. 3C) of the at least one storage region is reduced by a control cascade in at least one upstream-arranged storage region (305, Fig. 3C) of the at least one storage region of the film store in such a way that more continuous film can be stored while maintaining a maximum permissible strip tension than in the output-side storage region (more film is stored in input 305 than output 320, Fig. 3C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the control mechanism of Fernando to modified Xu, “such that the buffered web length is maintained and the desired web tension is maintained" (Paragraph [0034], lines 4-7; Fernando) and "to prevent portions of the web 120 external to system 140 from moving" (Paragraph [0024], lines 3-5; Fernando).
Regarding claim 18, Xu modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 11 and a method of storing a film in a film store. However, Xu does not disclose wherein a maximum strip tension in the continuous film is limited by the torque control or force control of the servo motor via a specification of format-specific minimum and/or maximum values.
Rajala et al. teaches a film store (124, 125, 127, Fig. 29) wherein a maximum strip tension in the continuous film is limited by the torque control or force control of the servo motor (step 5, Fig.6) via a specification of format-specific minimum and/or maximum values (F_c, Desired Web Force, Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the film store of modified Xu to have a control device operate as taught by Rajala et al. “so as to nullify the effects of mass and inertia on the ability of the festoon to respond to speed and tension changes in the web traversing the given section of the processing line, or to respond to differences in web speed at the in-feed and take-away nips, or to respond to large scale changes in web speed at the in-fed or take-away nips” (Paragraph [0017], lines 9-15; Rajala et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 102 rejection of claim(s) 1 and 11 set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 10/01/2025, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With respect to applicant’s arguments on pages 12-15 of Remarks, submitted 12/22/2025 , that Fernando does not disclose the “conveyor unit” as claimed, it is noted that conveyor unit 310 of Fernando in Figures 3A-C, does indeed convey the web, although the rollers of Fernando are “passive” in that they are not motorized, they convey/transport the web and are thus considered to be a conveyor unit, actively transporting the web and decoupling (transport adaptation between) the storage areas located upstream and downstream (Figs. 3A-C). Additionally, recitation as to a products intended use carries little patentable weight, thus if the prior art structure meets the claim it is capable of performing the function. In this case the conveyor unit of Fernando (310, Fig. 3A-C) meets the structure of applicant’s claimed conveyor unit, and therefore would be capable of performing the function of decoupling of strip tension just as applicant’s conveyor unit is. Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654