DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated April 20, 2026.
Notice of Change of Examiner
Please note that the Examiner prosecuting this application has been changed to Examiner Elena Vishnyakova of Art Unit 1691. Please address all future correspondences to Examiner Vishnyakova.
Status of claims
Claims 68 - 80 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s amendments filed April 20, 2026. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s cancelation of claims 62 – 67 and 81 - 82.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 68 - 80, drawn to a product, a triglyceride of C5-C12 fatty acids, in the reply filed on April 20, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims, drawn to non-elected inventions are cancelled by Applicant in the reply filed on April 20, 2026.
Claims 68 - 80 are under examination in the present office action.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/064134, filed May 27, 2021, and claims the benefits of priority to PCT/EP2021/063582, filed May 21, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/15/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 68 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 68 is unclear because it depends directly or indirectly from canceled claim 62. It is therefore, unclear what is encompassed by the composition claim 68. Therefore, the abovementioned claim 68 will not be further treated on the merits. It is suggested to amend or cancel claim 68 in order to obviate this rejection.
Claims 69 – 71 and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 69 – 71 and 76 are drawn to a compound triglyceride of C5-C12-fatty acids or a mixture of compounds triglycerides of C5-C12-fatty acids, corresponding to formula: CH2 [O - C(O)R1] - CH [O - C(O)R2]- CH2 [O - C(O)R3], wherein, R1, R2 and R3 is C4-C11-alkyl radical and is the same or different. Claims further recite: “wherein triglyceride of C5-C12-fatty acids exhibit properties (1) through (5), an acid value (AV), a hydroxyl value (OHV), a triglyceride content, content of fatty acid esters of monochloropropanediols, and glycidol esters of fatty acids, respectively. Since claims recite chemical compounds rather than industrial products, it is unclear how the discrete compound of formula: CH2 [O - C(O)R1] - CH [O - C(O)R2]- CH2 [O - C(O)R3], can have an acid value, a hydroxyl value, fatty acid esters of monochloropropanediols, and glycidol esters of fatty acids, when the compound itself does not contain an acid, a hydroxyl, a fatty acid ester of monochhoropropanediol, or a glycidol ester of fatty acids. Furthermore, sub-parts (1) through (5) recite measurements according to "Ph. Eur. 2.5.1 of European Pharmacopoeia 10.0", "Ph. Eur. 2.5.3 of European Pharmacopoeia 10.0", 'Ph. Eur. 2.2.28 of European Pharmacopoeia 10.0", "DGF C-VI 18 (10) (Einheitsmethode der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Fettwissenschaft [Standard method of German Society Fettwissenschaft e.V. [Standard method of German Society for Fat Science])". Referring to references in the claims is not proper since the references may change over time. The specification does not provide further clarification regarding these documents, their contents, and any added value/significance to the instantly claimed compound of formula CH2 [O - C(O)R1] - CH [O - C(O)R2]- CH2 [O - C(O)R3].
Claim 80 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim recites: “An additive for use…”. It is unclear if the claims are intended to encompass a composition comprising at least one triglyceride of C5-C12-fatty acids, which has an intended use as an additive component of composition or if the claims are intended to encompass a method of preparation of formulation comprising at least one triglyceride of C5-C12-fatty acids as an additive. The claims as written can be interpreted as either product or method of use of the product.
In the instant office action, in the interest of compact prosecution, for the purposes of applying art, the claim have been construed as a product, “An additive, wherein the additive comprises at least one triglyceride of C5-C12-fatty acids”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 69 – 80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Boulos et al (WO 2013/126990 A1, cited in IDS, filed 06/15/2026, hereinafter Boulos).
Instant claims are drawn to a compound triglyceride of C5-C12-fatty acids, corresponding to formula: CH2 [O - C(O)R1] - CH [O - C(O)R2]- CH2 [O - C(O)R3], wherein, R1, R2 and R3 are same (e.g. triheptanoin and tricaprylin) or different, and independently represent a linear or branched, saturated or unsaturated aliphatic C4-C11-alkyl radical. Instant claims are further drawn to a mixture of triglycerides, wherein the mixture comprises at least two different triglycerides of C5-C12-fatty acids.
Furthermore, instant claims are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising at least one triglyceride of C5-C12-fatty acids and a physiologically acceptable excipient, or a food-based product or a cosmetic composition, wherein the food-based product or a cosmetic composition comprises at least one triglyceride of C5-C12-fatty acids. The triglycerides of C5-C12-fatty acids can be further used as an additive (e.g. a carrier, excipient, a solubilizer, a release agent etc.).
Boulos teaches triglycerides of a medium-chain fatty acids of formula:
, where R is CH3(CH2)n, and n = 4-10 (page 11, [0038]). According to the method of preparation of triglycerides of a medium-chain fatty acids, glycerol was mixed with an excess of medium-chain fatty acids, wherein each of the medium-chain fatty acids contains a chain of 6 to 12 carbons (page 3, [006]). This indicates that glycerol can be mixed with the same or different fatty acids to obtain desired triglyceride. One of the examples of said triglycerides of a medium-chain fatty acids taught by Boulos is tricaprylate (tricaprylin).
Further, Boulos teaches that medium-chain triglyceride(s) (MCTs) are usually commercially available as a mixture of glycerol esters of C8 and C10 fatty acids, with small amounts of glycerol esters of C6 (hexanoic acid or caproic acid) and C12 (dodecanoic acid or lauric acid), and are used in the food and pharmaceutical industries (page 1, [002]).
Boulos teaches pharmaceutical formulations comprising the triglyceride of medium-chain length fatty acids as an excipient or as an active ingredient (page 8, [0025] and [0028]). Boulos also teaches that triglyceride of medium-chain length fatty acids find usefulness in the cosmetics and toiletries industries (page 11, [0037]).
Thus, Boulos teaches triglycerides of medium-chain fatty acids, where said triglycerides have the same structure (e.g. tricaprylin) and is useful for the same purposes (as ingredients in pharmaceutical, cosmetic and food industry) as instantly claimed.
Therefore, teachings of Boulos anticipate instantly claimed compound and compositions.
Double Patenting
Claims 69 – 73 and 77 - 80 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 52 - 58 of copending Application No. 18/562,270 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are directed to a triglyceride of C5-C12-fatty acids, corresponding to formula: CH2 [O - C(O)R1] - CH [O - C(O)R2]- CH2 [O - C(O)R3], wherein, R1, R2 and R3 are same (e.g. tricaprylin) or different, and independently represent a linear or branched, saturated or unsaturated aliphatic C4-C11-alkyl radical. Instant claims are further drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising at least one triglyceride of C5-C12-fatty acids and a physiologically acceptable excipient, or a food-based product or a cosmetic composition, wherein the food-based product or a cosmetic composition comprises at least one triglyceride of C5-C12-fatty acids. The triglycerides of C5-C12-fatty acids can be further used as an additive (e.g. a carrier, excipient, a solubilizer, a release agent etc.).
Claims of copending application are directed to a product tricaprylin and pharmaceutical composition where tricaprylin can be an active ingredient or an additive, cosmetic composition or food-based product comprising tricaprylin.
Thus, instant and reference claims are drawn to the same product without adding anything more, and therefore would anticipate instantly claimed product.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 68 – 80 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
/E.V.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/SAVITHA M RAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691