CTFR 18/562,269 CTFR 83654 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-6, 10-12, 16, 17, 19, 22, 24, 26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (WO 2013109111) in view of Lee et al. (US 20180302819) . Regarding claims 1 and 10, KIM teaches receiving a plurality of reference signals from each of at least one neighbor base station (Fig. 8, CRSs) , and wherein each of the at least one neighbor base station is in a different neighbor cell (Fig. 9, transmission points (eNBs) 910, 911, 912 sending CSI-RSs) ; measuring a signal strength associated with each of the reference signals (FIG. 7, S701, [0124] a UE may measure the received strengths (e.g. RSRPs)) ; and transmitting an indication of one or more of the reference signals to a serving base station in a serving cell (FIG. 7, S705, [0117] If the UE is synchronized to its transmission point, that is, a serving eNB) , wherein the signal strength of each of the indicated one or more of the reference signals exceeds a threshold reference signal received power (RSRP) (FIG. 7, S702, [00125] The UE may compare the received strength of the second signal with a threshold (S702)) . KIM however, does not expressly teach wherein each of the reference signals is obtained in a different beam. Lee teaches [0126] When the RRM mode indicator indicates a plurality of beams for which cell measurement and reporting is to be performed by the UE, and in some examples, the beam monitoring manager 735 may be used to monitor the plurality of beams for the at least one SS block . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Lee in order to provide energy efficient radio resource management ([0002], Lee). Regarding claims 16 and 24, KIM teaches receiving, from a user equipment (UE) in a serving cell, an indication of one or more reference signals of a plurality of reference signals from each of at least one neighbor base station (Fig. 8, transmission points (eNBs) 910, 911, 912 sending CSI-RSs, FIG. 7, S701-S705, [0124] a UE may measure the received strengths (e.g. RSRPs), S704-the UE may transmit a measurement report) , wherein a signal strength of each of the one or more reference signals exceeds a threshold reference signal received power (RSRP) (FIG. 7, S702, [00125] The UE may compare the received strength of the second signal with a threshold (S702)) ; and coordinating with each of the at least one neighbor base station to modify one or more transmission parameters in response to the indication ([00105] A serving eNB and one or more cooperative eNBs are connected to a scheduler through a backbone network in the CoMP system. The scheduler may receive channel information about the channel states between a UE and the cooperative eNBs, measured by each cooperative eNB and operate based on the channel information. For example, the scheduler may schedule information for cooperative MIMO for the serving eNB and the one or more cooperative eNBs) . However, KIM does not teach wherein the plurality of reference signals from each of the at least one neighbor base station are each associated with a different beam. Lee teaches [0126] When the RRM mode indicator indicates a plurality of beams for which cell measurement and reporting is to be performed by the UE, and in some examples, the beam monitoring manager 735 may be used to monitor the plurality of beams for the at least one SS block . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Lee in order to provide energy efficient radio resource management ([0002], Lee). Regarding claim 2, KIM does not expressly teach, however, Lee teaches wherein the reference signals are synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (Fig. 4, 430 SS Blocks) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Lee in order to provide energy efficient radio resource management ([0002], Lee). Regarding claim 3, KIM teaches the reference signals are channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) ([0124] the first and second signals may be CRSs or CSI-RSs)) . Regarding claims 4 and 11, KIM teaches the reference signals are cell-specific reference signals (CRSs) ([0124] the first and second signals may be CRSs or CSI-RSs)) . Regarding claims 5 and 12, KIM teaches receiving a reference signal configuration for the plurality of reference signals from the serving base station in the serving cell ([00134] For this operation, an eNB may transmit information about CRSs… a neighbor CRS list, or a neighbor physical cell Iden tifier (ID) list to a UE and the UE may report only RSFO information about the CRSs included in the list to the eNB) . Regarding claim 6, KIM teaches wherein the reference signal configuration includes a neighbor cell identifier for each of the at least one neighbor base station ([00134] For this operation, an eNB may transmit information about CRSs… a neighbor CRS list, or a neighbor physical cell Iden tifier (ID) list to a UE and the UE may report only RSFO information about the CRSs included in the list to the eNB) . Regarding claim 17, KIM teaches wherein the one or more reference signals are synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs), or cell-specific reference signals (CRSs) ([0124] the first and second signals may be CRSs or CSI-RSs) . Regarding claims 18 and 25, KIM teaches transmitting, to the UE, a reference signal configuration for a plurality of reference signals from each of the at least one neighbor base station, wherein the indication is received in response to the reference signal configuration ([00134] For this operation, an eNB may transmit information about CRSs… a neighbor CRS list, or a neighbor physical cell Iden tifier (ID) list to a UE and the UE may report only RSFO information about the CRSs included in the list to the eNB) . Regarding claims 19 and 26, KIM teaches wherein the reference signal configuration includes a neighbor cell identifier for each of the at least one neighbor base station ([00134] For this operation, an eNB may transmit information about CRSs… a neighbor CRS list, or a neighbor physical cell Iden tifier (ID) list to a UE and the UE may report only RSFO information about the CRSs included in the list to the eNB) . Regarding claims 22 and 29, KIM teaches, wherein the one or more transmission parameters include a transmission power, a beam direction, a precoding indicator , or a slot format configuration ([0091p a new CSI feedback scheme may be used by improving conventional CSI including an RI, a PMI, and a CQI. For example, precoding information fed back by a receiver may be indicated by a combination of two PMIs… A final PMI may be determined by a function of Wl and W2) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7, 8, 13, 14, 20, 21, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (WO 2013109111) modified by Lee et al. (US 20180302819), and further in view of MICHALOPOULOS et al. (US 20220173857) . Regarding claims 7, 13, 20, 27, neither KIM nor Lee expressly teaches wherein the indicating comprises: transmitting a measurement report to the serving base station, wherein the measurement report includes beam information associated with each of the indicated one or more of the reference signals. MICHALOPOULOS discloses [0073] FIG. 3, at 302, the UE may report beam measurements to LMF , and LMF may identify the reference beams for the PRS transmission. Upon receiving the measurement report by the UE via the LPP protocol, the LMF is able to identify the cell-ID and beam-ID values from serving and neighboring cells that are detectable by the UE . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with MICHALOPOULOS since the configuration for the positioning assistance measurements may include at least one of: positioning-report-specific threshold for determining if a beam quality (SSB/CSIRS/CSI_RS_L3) is suitable to be reported in assistance report ([0017], MICHALOPOULOS). Regarding claims 8, 14, 21, and 28, neither KIM nor Lee expressly teaches wherein the measurement report includes a neighbor cell identifier for each of the at least one neighbor base station. MICHALOPOULOS discloses [0073] FIG. 3, at 302, the UE may report beam measurements to LMF , and LMF may identify the reference beams for the PRS transmission. Upon receiving the measurement report by the UE via the LPP protocol, the LMF is able to identify the cell-ID and beam-ID values from serving and neighboring cells that are detectable by the UE . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with MICHALOPOULOS since the configuration for the positioning assistance measurements may include at least one of: positioning-report-specific threshold for determining if a beam quality (SSB/CSIRS/CSI_RS_L3) is suitable to be reported in assistance report ([0017], MICHALOPOULOS) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9, 15, 23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (WO 2013109111) modified by Lee et al. (US 20180302819), and further in view of Miao (US 12207120) . Regarding claims 9, 15, 23, and 30, neither KIM nor Lee expressly teaches receiving, from the serving base station, a grant modifying a time-frequency resource for the serving cell in response to the indicated one or more of the reference signals. Miao teaches Fig. 15, step 1520, based on a measurement report, the method determines whether to update the rules for determining scheduling repetition and near-far indication . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Miao in order to support coverage enhancement and/or near-far functionality (col. 1 line 20, Miao). Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EUNSOOK CHOI whose telephone number is (571)270-1822. The examiner can normally be reached on 8am-4:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 5712723940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EUNSOOK CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/562,269 Page 2 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/562,269 Page 4 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/562,269 Page 5 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/562,269 Page 6 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/562,269 Page 7 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/562,269 Page 8 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/562,269 Page 9 Art Unit: 2467