DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims in the reply filed on July is acknowledged.
Claims withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July .
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on November 19, 2023, March 19, 2025, October 17, 2025, and February 20, 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 17 is provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of copending Application No. 18/562,316 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Regarding claim 17 of the instant invention, claim 19 of copending Application no. 18/563,316 recites the limitations of claim 18, including a positive electrode active material for lithium-ion rechargeable batteries, wherein the positive electrode active material comprises Li, M', and oxygen, wherein M' comprises: Ni in a content x between 60.0 mol% and 95.0 mol%, relative to M'; Co in a content y, wherein 0≤y≤40.0 mol%, relative to M'; Mn in a content z, wherein 0≤z≤70.0 mol%, relative to M'; D in a content a, wherein 0≤a≤2.0 mol%, relative to M', wherein D comprises an element other than Li, O, Ni, Co, Mn, F, and W; F in a content b, wherein b>0, relative to M'; W in a content c, wherein c>0, relative to M'; S in a content d, wherein 0≤d≤4.0, relative to M'; B in a content e, wherein 0≤e≤4.0 mol%, relative to M'; wherein x, y, z, a, c, d, and e are measured by Inductively Coupled Plasma - Optical Emission Spectrometry (ICP-OES); wherein b is measured by Ion Chromatography (IC); and wherein x+y+z+a+b+c+d+e is 100.0 mol%. Claim 18 of copending Application no. 18/563,316 also recites that the positive electrode active material includes ratios of FB/FA and WB/WA greater than 1, wherein the variables are defined the same way as claimed in the instant invention. Claim 19 adds that the content of S is greater than 0, and that the ratio of SB/SA is greater than 1, wherein the variables are defined the same way as claimed in the instant invention. Thus, a positive electrode active material meeting the limitations of claim 19 of copending Application no. 18/563,316 meets the limitations of claim 17 of the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-24 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tochio, et al. (US 2022/0069300 A1), in view of Eom, et al. (US 2022/0190326 A1).
Regarding claims 17-18, Tochio teaches a positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery including a lithium transition metal oxide including Ni, Nb, and an external additive including at least one element selected from the group consisting of W, B, and Al adhered onto surfaces of the lithium transition metal oxide (¶ [0014], Ln. 1-9). Tochio teaches that the content of nickel relative to the metal elements excluding Li is 90-100 mol%, overlapping the claimed range of 60.0-95.0 mol% (¶ [0024], Ln. 1-4). The external additives may be added using compounds including tungsten oxides, boron oxides, aluminum oxides, or other compounds including sulfuric acid compounds (¶ [0043], Ln. 1-18). Tochio teaches that the content of W, B, and Al may be 0.01-0.3 mol%, overlapping the claimed ranges of greater than 0 for W and 0-4.0 mol% for B (¶ [0044], Ln. 1-8). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)). In Example 5, Tochio teaches a lithium composite oxide including 90.75 mol% Ni, 1 mol% Co, 4 mol% Mn, 4 mol% Al, and 0.25 mol% Nb, with 0.1 mol% W, 0.1 mol% B, and 0.05 mol% Al included in the external additive (Table 1). The W, B, and Al are added by mixing the transition metal oxide with WO3, H3BO3, and Al2(SO4)3 prior to heating (¶ [0082], Ln. 1-6). Thus, Tochio teaches a positive electrode active material including Ni, Co, Mn, Al, Nb, W, S, and B as claimed, wherein Nb represents claimed element D. As Tochio teaches that the tungsten, boron, and aluminum collect at the surface of a lithium transition metal oxide and are introduced after the composite oxide particles are initially formed using WO3, H3BO3, and Al2(SO4)3, wherein aluminum is introduced using a sulfate, the concentration of tungsten, boron, and sulfur will be higher at the surface of the particles. Therefore, when defining the content of tungsten, boron, and sulfur (WA, BA, and SA) by the molar ratio provided by a formula of the positive electrode active material, and defining the content of tungsten, boron, and sulfur (WB, BB, and SB) by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy analysis, the ratios of WB/WA, BB/BA, and SB/SA will be greater than 1, as there is a higher concentration of tungsten, boron, and sulfur at the surface of the particle. Tochio does not expressly teach a lithium composite oxide particle including fluorine.
Eom teaches a positive electrode active material for secondary battery including a lithium composite transition metal oxide including 70 mol% or more nickel and having a coating portion formed on the surfaces of the lithium composite transition metal oxide particles including fluorine (¶ [0010], Ln. 1-8). Eom teaches that the fluorine is added by coating with a fluorine-based polymer such as PVDF in addition to a metal coating source (¶ [0054], Ln. 1-10). PVDF is specifically used because of its high reactivity with the lithium composite transition metal oxide (¶ [0052], Ln. 1-9) and the fluorine-based polymer is included in an amount of 0.03-5 parts by weight based on the weight of the lithium composite transition metal oxide (¶ [0053], Ln. 1-6). The metal coating source may include oxides or hydroxides of aluminum, titanium, zirconium, magnesium, tungsten, and strontium (¶ [0054], Ln. 1-4). Eom teaches that mixing the lithium composite transition metal oxide with the fluorine-based polymer and metal coating source prior to heat treatment results in significantly less residual lithium by-product, improves surface defects, achieves excellent stability, and reduces initial resistance (¶ [0065], Ln. 1-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the positive electrode active material of Tochio to include a fluorine-based polymer along with the external additives prior to heating based on the teachings of Eom. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to apply the teachings of Eom to the positive electrode active material of Tochio as both teach lithium transition metal oxide positive electrode materials with similar compositions, including a high nickel content and including metal additive coatings including tungsten oxide. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include the fluorine-based polymer in addition to the metal additives prior to heating in order to reduce residual lithium by-product, improve surface defects, increase stability, and reduce initial resistance. In including a fluorine-based polymer in the positive electrode active material of Tochio as taught by Eom, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the fluorine will be present in a higher concentration at the surface of the positive electrode active material particles. Thus, when defining the content of fluorine (FA) by the molar ratio provided by a formula of the positive electrode active material and defining the content of fluorine (FB) by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy analysis, the ratio of FB/FA will be greater than 1, as there is a higher concentration of fluorine at the surface of the particle. Additionally, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the amounts of Ni, Co, Mn, Al, Nb, W, S, B, and F included in the positive electrode active material of the combined references such that the subscripts for each element add up to 100.0 mol%. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to balance the charges of the elements included, and be motivated to include the elements including Ni, Co, Mn, Al, Nb, W, S, B, and F in a balanced stoichiometric ratio.
Regarding claims 19-22, Tochio in view of Eom teaches all of the limitations of claim 17 above. As Tochio teaches that the tungsten, boron, and aluminum collect at the surface of a lithium transition metal oxide and are introduced after the composite oxide particles are initially formed using WO3, H3BO3, and Al2(SO4)3, and Tochio in view of Eom similarly teaches the fluorine-based polymer is introduced in the same manner, the concentration of fluorine, tungsten, sulfur, and boron will be higher at the surface of the particles. Therefore, the ratios of FB/FA, WB/WA, SB/SA, and BB/BA will be greater than 2.0, as there is a higher concentration of fluorine, tungsten, sulfur, and boron at the surface of the particle.
Regarding claims 23-24, Tochio in view of Eom teaches all of the limitations of claim 17 above, including a positive electrode active material including Ni, Co, Mn, Al, Nb, W, S, B, and F. In this case, Nb represents claimed element D. Tochio teaches that Nb is included in the lithium transition metal oxide in a content of 0-3 mol%, and more preferably 0.2-1.5 mol%, within the claimed range of 0.01-2.0 mol% (¶ [0025], Ln. 1-8).
Regarding claim 31, Tochio in view of Eom teaches a positive electrode active material meeting all of the limitations of claim 17 above, and Tochio further teaches that the positive electrode active material is used in a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (¶ [0018], Ln. 1-4).
Regarding claim 32, Tochio in view of Eom teaches a battery meeting the limitations of claim 31 above. Although Tochio does not expressly teach that the battery is used in a portable computer, tablet, mobile phone, electrically powered vehicle, or energy storage system, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the purpose of the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery is to be used for portable energy storage. Further, Eom teaches that the lithium secondary battery is suitable for portable devices such as mobile phones, notebook computers, digital cameras, electric cars, or a power storage system (¶ [0091], Ln. 1-8, ¶ [0093], Ln. 1-5). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use the battery of Tochio in view of Eom in a portable device, electric car, or power storage system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsuyoshi, et al. (JP 2020149963) teaches a lithium nickel-tungsten-containing oxide used as a positive electrode active material (¶ [0014], Ln. 1-4). The oxide is represented by the general formula LiaNibWcMdDeOfFg, wherein M is selected from Co, Mn, Al, Mo, and Zr, and D is an element other than Li, Ni, W, M, O, and F (¶ [0020], Ln. 5-10). Tsuyoshi teaches that F improves the properties of LNW oxides (¶ [0028], Ln. 3). The theoretical composition of Example 1 taught by Tsuyoshi is LiNi0.95Co0.04W0.01Na0.01P0.01O2F0.01 (¶ [0131], Ln. 7-9).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785