DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The claims of 19 November 2023 are entered.
Claims 1-25 are pending and are being examined on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “N-linked glycan” followed by “(N-linked glycan)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 23 recite within the preamble the language “for preventing or treating diabetes, obesity, dyslipidemia, or metabolic syndrome by administering in combination with a GLP-1 (glucagon-like peptide-1) receptor agonist”. Per MPEP 2111.02, preamble statements reciting intended use when the body of the claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention are not considered a limitation and are not of significance to claim construction. In this case, the body of the claim sets forth all limitations regarding the GDF-15 variant and the preamble is only reciting an intended use rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. The preamble statement is therefore not considered to be a limitation for the purposes of prior art. This also applies to the dependent claims narrowing the GLP-1 as part of the intended use, i.e. claims 19-22.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). See [96].
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating diabetes, obesity, dyslipidemia, or metabolic syndrome, does not reasonably provide enablement for preventing diabetes, obesity, dyslipidemia, or metabolic syndrome. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
“[T]o be enabling, the specification of a patent must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without ‘undue experimentation.’” Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk 108 F.3d 1361, 1365, 42 USPQ2d 1001, 1004 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Wright 999 F.2d 1557, 1561, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993); See also Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharm. Co., 927 F.2d 1200, 1212, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1026 (Fed. Cir. 1991); In re Fisher 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). Further, in In re Wands 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988) the court stated:
Factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation have been summarized by the board in Ex parte Forman [230 USPQ 546, 547 (BdPatAppInt 1986)]. They include (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount of direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredict-ability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims.
A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557,1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Nature of the Invention
The claims are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition either comprising a GDF15 variant, long-acting GDF15 fusion protein, or a long-acting GDF15 fusion protein dimer, or alternatively a complex comprising a GDF15 variant and an IgG Fc of formula IgG Fc – (L)m – N-terminal extension domain – core domain. The claims include an intended use for treating or preventing diabetes, obesity, dyslipidemia, or metabolic syndrome by administering with a GLP-1R agonist.
Breadth of the Claims
The claims are broad concerning the composition, but narrower with respect to the intended use.
State of the Prior Art
The American Diabetes Association suggests dietary and lifestyle changes to prevent Type 2 diabetes, but does not indicate that such efforts are absolutely successful in those diagnosed with prediabetes (see e.g. https://diabetes.org/about-diabetes/diabetes-prevention/dpp). The claim as written would also encompass Type 1 diabetes, which has no known prevention since it is an autoimmune-based disease.
Johns Hopkins Medicine suggests a holistic approach to obesity prevention, but does not indicate any pharmacological interventions as being preventative measures (see e.g. https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/conditions-and-diseases/obesity/preventing-obesity). Obesity treatments on the other hand are well known in the art, such as semaglutide, tirezepatide, and liraglutide.
Dyslipidemia can be treated via statins and other similar drugs, but there are preventative therapies with known success, albeit similar lifestyle changes as for diabetes and obesity are generally suggested (see e.g. Carreras E and Polk D US Cardiology Rev 11:10-5).
Metabolic syndrome likewise utilizes holistic and lifestyle changes for preventative approaches, but has no clear preventative therapeutic (see e.g. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/metabolic-syndrome/prevention-and-treatment-of-metabolic-syndrome).
Relative Skill of those in the Art
The relative skill of those in the art is high.
Predictability or Unpredictability of the Art
There is a general lack of predictability in the pharmaceutical art. In re Fisher, 427, F. 2d 833, 166, USPQ 18 (CCPA 1970).
There similarly is no reliable prediction as to whether a patient will or will not develop diabetes, obesity, dyslipidemia, or metabolic syndrome.
Amount of Direction or Guidance Given
The specification offers no real guidance on prevention in terms of a specific definition that might limit the scope and offer the skilled artisan an indication of what is encompassed by the terminology.
Presence/Absence of Working Examples
No working examples are present where the GDF15 variants are demonstrated to prevent diabetes, obesity, dyslipidemia, or metabolic syndrome.
Quantity of Experimentation Necessary
The claims require prevention of disparate diseases. The prior art makes clear that lifestyle changes and holistic approaches can assist in preventing certain conditions, but in no case do they guarantee prevention of diabetes, obesity, dyslipidemia, or metabolic syndrome. For at least diabetes, it would not be possible to prevent the genus since type 1 diabetes at a minimum is an autoimmune disease that has no clear pathway to prevent occurrence. For the remaining diseases, the onus is left on the part of the skilled artisan to demonstrate that the genus of Formula (I) serves to prevent occurrence of diabetes, obesity, dyslipidemia, or metabolic syndrome. Mere preparation of Formula (I) might constitute ordinary levels of experimentation, but adding in the necessity that the skilled artisan demonstrate prevention of a wide range of conditions constitutes an undue level of experimentation.
In view of the Wands factors as discussed above, it is the Examiner’s opinion that the claims are not fully enabled and one of skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation to practice the invention as claimed herein, without a reasonable assurance of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (WO 2021/107603 A2, published 3 June 2021, filed 25 November 2020, priority to 26 November 2019, hereafter referred to as ‘603).
The applied reference has a common Applicant and Inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As noted above, the intended use of the claimed composition as found in the preamble is not considered to be of significance to claim construction.
The ‘603 application discloses a GDF variant comprising a N-terminal extension domain followed by a core domain, with the N-terminal extension domain represented by any of SEQ ID NO: 3-5 and the core domain being represented by SEQ ID NO: 20 or a variant at positions 15, 50, 58, 97, and combinations thereof (see e.g. claim 1). ‘603 also discloses a composition with this GDF variant (see e.g. claim 22). This anticipates claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, the ‘603 application discloses the same mutations to the core domain (see e.g. claim 2).
With respect to claim 3, the ‘603 application discloses the same core domain sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 6-19 (see e.g. claim 3).
With respect to claim 4, the ‘603 application discloses the same combination of SEQ ID NO: 3 with SEQ ID NOs: 8, 9, or 20 (see e.g. claim 4).
With respect to claim 5, the ‘603 application discloses the same combination of SEQ ID NO: 4 with SEQ ID NOs: 8, 9, or 20 (see e.g. claim 5).
With respect to claim 6, the ‘603 application discloses the same combination of SEQ ID NO: 5 with SEQ ID NOs: 6-19 (see e.g. claim 6).
With respect to claim 7, the ‘603 application discloses SEQ ID NOs: 21-39 (see e.g. claim 7).
With respect to claim 8, the ‘603 application discloses fusion to a human IgG Fc or a variant (see e.g. claim 8).
With respect to claim 9, the ‘603 application discloses a dimer of the long-active GDF fusion protein (see e.g. claim 18).
With respect to claim 10, the ‘603 application discloses the same IgG Fc (see e.g. claim 9).
With respect to claim 11, the ‘603 application claims the same arrangement (see e.g. claim 10).
With respect to claim 12, the ‘603 application discloses a linker (see e.g. claim 11).
With respect to claim 13, the ‘603 application discloses the same linker (see e.g. claim 12).
With respect to claim 14, the ‘603 application discloses the same linkers (see e.g. claim 13).
With respect to claim 15, the ‘603 application discloses the same first polypeptides (see e.g. claim 14).
With respect to claim 16, the ‘603 application discloses the same second polypeptides (see e.g. claim 15).
With respect to claim 17, the ‘603 application discloses an N-linked glycan (see e.g. claim 16).
With respect to claim 18, the ‘603 application discloses the same GDF15 variant, first polypeptide, and second polypeptide (see e.g. claim 17).
With respect to claims 19-22, as noted above the restrictions on the GLP-1 are not considered to be of significance to claim construction as they are narrowing of the intended use, and as such ‘603 anticipates the claims.
With respect to claim 23, as set forth above ‘603 already discloses a fusion of an IgG Fc of SEQ ID NOs: 42, 44, or 46, a linker of SEQ ID NOs: 48, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, or 97, and a GDF15 variant of an N-terminal extension and core domain.
With respect to claim 24, as set forth above ‘603 discloses the N-terminal extension – core domain of SEQ ID NOs: 21-39.
With respect to claim 25, ‘603 discloses at least SEQ ID NOs: 49, 65, and 69-91 (see e.g. Table 1). SEQ ID NOs: 50-64, 67, 68, and 98-109 are also found in the sequence disclosure of ‘603.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-25 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/513,613 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
The ‘613 applicant similarly recites an intended use in the preamble of “for preventing or treating non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) or non-alcoholic steatohepatitis”. This is treated as an intended use since the body of the claim sets forth all limitations for the pharmaceutical composition, comprising a GDF15 variant, a long-acting GDF15 fusion protein, or a long-acting GDF15 fusion protein dimer as an active ingredient.
Since the intended use of ‘613 and the instant application are not considered claim limitations, the underlying pharmaceutical composition is otherwise identical between claims 1-21 of ‘613 and claims 1-18 and 23-25 of the instant application. With respect to claims 19-22, as noted above they are not considered to be claim limitations since they are merely narrowing the intended use found in the preamble of claim 1. As a result, claims 19-22 are determined to be drawn to the same pharmaceutical composition as in claim 1, which is identical to the underlying pharmaceutical composition found in ‘613.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ZACHARY J MIKNIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658