DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 13 are pending.
Claims 1 – 13 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 5 specifies that a hafnium-containing thin film formed by using the hafnium compound of claim 1. In view of the description in paragraphs [19], [34] and [47] of the description of the instant application, it is recognized that the ligand portion of the raw material hafnium does not remain in the formed hafnium thin film. Thus, it is recognized that the formed hafnium thin film becomes a thin film similar to the case where hafnium having another ligand is used. Thus, it is recognized that there is no feature due to the production using the compound of claim 1. As such, the above-mentioned specific intent of claim 5 cannot be grasped. For this reason claim 5 lack clarity.
Claims 7, 8 and 9 recites the limitation "the hafnium-containing precursor composition " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 10 – 13 are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. by (US 2022/0205099; Effectively filing date of Dec. 29, 2020).
Rejected claim 1 covers, inter alia, a compound of Formula I,
,wherein R1 is an amino group, a silyl group, an alkoxy group, or a C2- C5 alkyl group, and R2 and R3 are each independently an amino group, a silyl group, an alkoxy group, or a C1-C5 alkyl group.
Rejected claim 2 covers, inter alia, compounds:
Rejected claim 3, is a hafnium-containing precursor comprised of the compound of claim 1.
Rejected claim 5, is hafnium-containing thin film formed by using the hafnium compound of claim 1.
Rejected claim 6, is a method of forming the hafnium-containing thin film by using the hafnium compound of claim 1.
Rejected claim 7, covers inter alia, the method of claim 6, wherein the thin film is formed by depositing the hafnium compound or the hafnium-containing precursor composition on a substrate.
Rejected clam 12, covers the method of claim 7 wherein the substrate has a temperature in a range of 100°C to 800°C during the deposition.
However, Kim relates to Group IV-containing film-forming compositions comprising Group IV-containing precursors, methods of synthesizing them and methods of using them to deposit the Group IV-containing films, in particular, to the Group IV-containing precursors containing cyclopentadiene (Cp) based ligands suitable for vapor phase depositions (e.g., ALD, CVD) of the Group IV-containing films. (pp. 1, [0001] & [0008] – [0015]). The precursor of Kim being Hf(Me(Me)Cp)(NMe2); the precursor being Hf(Me(Et)Cp)(NMe2)3; the precursor being Hf(Me(nPr)Cp)(NMe2)3; the precursor being Hf(Me(nBu)Cp)(NMe2)3. (pp. 1, [0022] – [0025]). The vapor deposition process being atomic layer deposition (ALD) or chemical vapor deposition (CVD), both of which can be plasma enhanced. (pp., [0033] – [0038])). The deposition temperature ranging from approximately 100°C and approximately 600°C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2021032708: KR 10-2020-0072407 PUB 6 22, 2020).
Rejected claim 1 covers, inter alia, a compound of Formula I,
,wherein R1 is an amino group, a silyl group, an alkoxy group, or a C2- C5 alkyl group, and R2 and R3 are each independently an amino group, a silyl group, an alkoxy group, or a C1-C5 alkyl group.
Rejected claim 3, is a hafnium-containing precursor comprised of the compound of claim 1.
Rejected claim 5, is hafnium-containing thin film formed by using the hafnium compound of claim 1.
Rejected claim 6, is a method of forming the hafnium-containing thin film by using the hafnium compound of claim 1.
Rejected clam 4 further limits the precursor composition. Dependent claims 7 – 13 further limit the thin film and process for depositing.
However, Hong discloses a hafnium compound represented by the chemical formula 4
, wherein R1 – R5 are each independently H, or a C1 – C6 alkyl group. Further Hong discloses a precursor composition for forming a metal film, comprising the hafnium compound; a metal film manufactured by using the precursor composition; and a method for forming the metal film manufactured by using the composition (pp.2, [0011], [0014] &claims 1, 6 and 15). Also, Hong discloses [(Me)(Et)Cp]Hf(NMe2)3 as a specific compound of chemical formula 4 (pp. 4, [0047]), and the compound corresponds to the compound of chemical formula 1 of claims 1, 3, 5 and 6. When R1 is C2 alkyl group and R2 and R3 are a C1 Alkyl Group, Hong discloses the first compound of claim 2.
The difference between Hong and the instantly claimed invention is that in chemical formula 1, a methyl group and substituent R1 are bonded to positions 1 and 3 of a cyclopentadienyl group; and a hafnium compound of formula 1 is a steroisomers.
However, regarding that in chemical formula 1, a methyl group and substituent R1 are bonded to positions 1 and 3 of a cyclopentadienyl group, this difference can be derived by a person skilled in the art from substituents R1 and R3 in chemical formula 4 and compound [(Me)(Et)Cp]Hf(NMe2)3, as disclosed in Kim. (claim 1 & [0047]).
With regard to a hafnium compound of formula 1 is a steroisomers, this can be derived by a person skilled in the art from chemical formula 4 of Hong.
The difference between Hong. and the claimed invention is that they do not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. §2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ...claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).).
However, based on the above, Hong. teaches the elements of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. (see M.P.E.P. § 2143).
With respect to claim 4, Hong indicates that a solvent is included in an amount of 0.1 to 99 wt% on the basis of the total weight of the precursor composition for forming a metal film (pp. 5, [0053], [0056] & claim 4).
Regarding claim 7, Hong discloses a step of depositing metal film on a substrate by using the precursor composition for forming a metal film and indicates that the metal film can be deposited through any one method of atomic layer deposition and chemical vapor deposition. (pp. 6, [0061]; pp. 7, [0074 & claims 6 & 9).
With regards to claims 8 and 9, each method could be derived by a person skilled in the art from the feature disclosed in D1 wherein as a second metal precursor, a metal precursor comprising one or more metals selected from among silicon (Si), titanium (Ti), germanium (Ge), strontium (Sr), niobium (Nb), barium (Ba), tantalum (Ta), and lanthanide atoms, can be further supplied in accordance with circumstances (pp. 7, [0068], [0069])..
With respect to claim 10, Hong discloses chemical formula 7 (M1-aM”a)Ob, wherein a is 0≤a<1, b is 0<b≤2, M can be Hf, and M” can be silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), niobium (Nb), or tantalum (Ta), and ZrxHfyOz thin films. (pp. 7, [0077], [0078], [0082], [0085]).
With respect to claim 11, Hong indicates that a titanium nitride (TiN) substrate, a tungsten (W) substrate, and the like can be used as a substrate for forming a metal film. (pp. 6, [0060]).
Regarding claim 12, Hong discloses that the deposition temperature is 250 to 400°C. (pp. 6, [0058]).
Regarding claim 13, Hong discloses using , as a reactive gas, at least one selected from among water vapor (H.sub.2O), oxygen (O.sub.2), ozone (O.sub.3), hydrogen peroxide (H.sub.2O.sub.2), hydrogen (H.sub.2), ammonia (NH.sub.3), nitrogen monoxide (NO), nitrous oxide (N.sub.2O), nitrogen dioxide (NO.sub.2), hydrazine (N.sub.2H.sub.4), and silane (SiH.sub.4), and the plasma of the reactive gas may be any one selected from among RF plasma, DC plasma, and remote plasma. (pp. 2, [0019] & pp. 7, [0073]).
Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. US 5,434324 (Lee et al.) and US 2009/0081385 (KR10-2015-0139628 (Heys et al.))
Conclusion
/YATE' K CUTLIFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692