DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Claims 1-5 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on July 3, 2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perera (Pub. No. US 2004/0220869) in view of Patterson et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,682,086).
4-1 Regarding claim 1, Perera teaches the claim comprising: an electrical circuit, a mechanical switch, a protection module,… a control processor,… wherein the mechanical switch is connected to the electrical circuit, the protection module is electrically connected to the mechanical switch, and the control processor is electrically connected to the protection module, by disclosing a switching means operable to disconnect or reconnect a supply of energy to energy consuming devices, with the said switching means being activated to disconnect or reconnect energy supply when a set of criteria has occurred for those devices in an attempt to achieve the preferred trading outcome of the end customer [paragraph 44]. A computer includes a processor [paragraph 78, lines 1-3] that execute the Application Modules according to the invention [paragraph 79].
Perera teaches a data acquisition module,… the data acquisition module is connected to the electrical circuit, and is configured to transmit data to the control processor, by disclosing a metering means operable to measure energy drawn from the mains supply for use at the premises of the end customer [paragraph 41] and communication means operable to receive information relating to the wholesale market pool price for units of energy on a regular basis [paragraph 42].
Perera teaches a power supply module, a communication module,… the communication module and the power supply module are electrically connected to the control processor, by disclosing that the computer includes a power supply [paragraph 78, lines 1-4]. A communication module is provided where all internal and external communications are expected to flow through [paragraph 82].
Although Perera discloses instructions for determining various load units [paragraph 95] and how to adjust load based on comparison and analysis [paragraphs 96-97; figure 3], Perera does not expressly teach a load determination module, a blockchain module, and a demand response module,… the load determination module, the blockchain module and the demand response module are electrically connected to the control processor. Patterson discloses use of one or more application specific integrated circuits (ASICs) configured to execute operations [column 30, lines 5-8, 18-21] relating to a demand response event [column 24, lines 63-65] involving load determination [column 25, lines 5-13] and performance of an action based on the determined load, such as refraining from providing, or altering an amount of, a resource to at least one load of a plurality of loads [column 25, lines 43-53]. Use of ASICs to perform such operations would increase execution speed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the load determination operations and the demand response operations of Perera using ASICs electrically connected to the control processor, as taught by Patterson. This would increase execution speed.
Patterson also discloses implementing a distributed ledger comprised of a blockchain that enables application of smart contracts to smart sensors [column 2, lines 32-33; column 6, lines 61-63]. The distributed ledger has a hierarchical or tiered utility system architecture that includes multiple nodes at different levels in the architecture [column 2, lines 40-43]. This tiered architecture enables a utility system to perform a demand response event [column 4, line 56 to column 5, line 17]. A ledger that is local to a device stores a portion of a distributed ledger regarding transactions pertaining to the device, wherein such transactions may involve a demand response event [column 25, lines 27-35, 54-59]. The operations with respect to the local ledger may be implemented using an ASIC [column 30, lines 5-8, 18-21]. Providing a module to handle operations with respect to the local ledger would enhance security for the device and enable more transparent, traceable energy transactions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an ASIC configured to execute operations with respect to a local ledger for energy demand response, as taught by Patterson. This would enhance security for the local device and enable more transparent, traceable energy transactions.
4-2. Regarding claim 2, Perera teaches the claim comprising: automatically turning off a mechanical switch in an abnormal situation; receiving, by a protection module, a protection signal from a control processor, and controlling, by the protection module, the mechanical switch to be turned off by using a control signal, by disclosing a switching means operable to disconnect or reconnect a supply of energy to energy consuming devices, with the said switching means being activated to disconnect or reconnect energy supply when a set of criteria has occurred for those devices in an attempt to achieve the preferred trading outcome of the end customer [paragraph 44]. An event that causes a high price spike [paragraph 144] may be considered an abnormal situation that would cause the supply of energy to disconnect. A computer includes a processor [paragraph 78, lines 1-3] that executes the Application Modules according to the invention [paragraph 79].
Perera teaches acquiring, by a data acquisition module, information of a distribution line, and processing and transmitting, by the data acquisition module, a signal about the distribution line to the control processor, by disclosing measuring energy drawn from the mains supply for use at the premises of the end customer [paragraph 41] and receiving information relating to the wholesale market pool price for units of energy on a regular basis [paragraph 42].
Perera teaches processing, by the control processor, data from the data acquisition module, by disclosing that the computing means is operable to accumulate information relating to traded energy consumption from the metering means and price information received by the communication means, and determine a preferred trading outcome based upon acquired factors including the latest determination of the wholesale market pool price, and it’s future forecast, the energy consumption at the premises, the characteristics of energy consuming devices installed at the premises, and criteria established by end customers reflecting their preferences [paragraph 43].
Perera teaches providing, by the control processor, data for the protection module, by disclosing that the computing means determines a preferred trading outcome for the switching means [paragraph 45].
Perera teaches a load determination module,… and a demand response module, by disclosing instructions for determining various load units [paragraph 95] and how to adjust load based on comparison and analysis [paragraphs 96-97; figure 3].
Perera teaches supplying, by a power supply module, power to the control processor, by disclosing that the computer includes a power supply [paragraph 78, lines 1-4].
Perera teaches performing, by a communication module, data transmission with an external platform, by disclosing a communication module where all internal and external communications are expected to flow through [paragraph 82].
Perera teaches determining, by the load determination module, the type of an electrical appliance used by the user, and determining, by the load determination module, demand response potential of the user through comparison and analysis; processing, by the demand response module, demand response information, providing, by the demand response module, a demand response strategy for the user, by disclosing that the preferred trading outcome for the switching means is determined by comparing a Pool Price to a contract price and an acceptable price threshold [paragraph 128; figure 3, ‘325,’ ‘326’], comparing the Pool Price to a high price threshold and a marginal cost of operating stand-by facilities [paragraphs 130-132; figure 3, ‘327,’ ‘328’], and comparing an amount of energy drawn based on metered data with a contracted quantity of energy to be supplied by a Merchant, and the Pool Price to a very high price threshold [paragraphs 133-135; figure 3, ‘329,’ ‘330’]. Based on such determinations, certain appliances based on priority (i.e. type) will be disconnected to shed load units [paragraph 97; figure 3, ‘317,’ ‘319,’ ‘320’]. This would protect a customer from high prices that occasionally occur in the pool by providing a substantial incentive to reduce energy usage when pool prices are high [paragraph 144]. The customer may choose to over-ride the operation of the system [paragraph 60].
Perera does not expressly teach a blockchain module and credibly recording, by the blockchain module, service data in the demand response from the user, and automatically performing, by the blockchain module, settlement on the demand response according to a smart contract. Patterson discloses implementing a distributed ledger comprised of a blockchain that enables application of smart contracts to smart sensors [column 2, lines 32-33; column 6, lines 61-63]. The distributed ledger has a hierarchical or tiered utility system architecture that includes multiple nodes at different levels in the architecture [column 2, lines 40-43]. This tiered architecture enables a utility system to perform a demand response event [column 4, line 56 to column 5, line 17]. A ledger that is local to a device stores a portion of a distributed ledger regarding transactions pertaining to the device, wherein such transactions may involve a demand response event [column 25, lines 27-35, 54-59]. Providing a module to handle operations with respect to the local ledger would enhance security for the device and enable more transparent, traceable energy transactions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a module configured to execute operations with respect to a local ledger for energy demand response, as taught by Patterson. This would enhance security for the local device and enable more transparent, traceable energy transactions.
5. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perera (Pub. No. US 2004/0220869), in view of Patterson et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,682,086), and further in view of Wenzel (U.S. Patent No. 8,755,943).
5-1. Regarding claim 3, Perera-Patterson teach all the limitations of claim 2. Perera-Patterson do not expressly teach wherein the determining, by the load determination module, the type of an electrical appliance used by the user, and determining, by the load determination module, demand response potential of the user through comparison and analysis comprises: decomposing a load curve of the low-voltage user based on a load determination result; and calculating the demand response potential of the low-voltage user based on regulation coefficients of various loads. Wenzel discloses a demand response (DR) layer of a smart building manager that is configured to optimize electrical demand in response to time-of-use prices, curtailment signals, or energy availability [column 12, lines 5-8]. This includes control logic for responding to the data and signals it receives, including communicating with the control algorithms in the integrated control layer 116 to “load shed,” changing control strategies, changing setpoints, or shutting down building devices or subsystems in a controlled manner [column 12, lines 15-21]. The smart building manager may be configured to select, deselect, or differently weigh varying inputs in the DR layer’s calculation or execution of control strategies based on the inputs [column 12, line 66 to column 13, line 3]. Policy definitions may be edited or adjusted by a user (e.g., via a graphical user interface) so that the control actions initiated in response to demand inputs may be tailored for the particular building equipment [column 12, lines 39-56]. The DR layer may be configured to bi-directionally communicate with the smartgrid or energy providers and purchasers to exchange price information, demand information, curtailable load calculations (e.g., the amount of load calculated by the DR layer to be able to be shed without exceeding parameters defined by the system or user), load profile forecasts, and the like [column 13, lines 45-53]. Based on the building’s peak demand during a particular time period and the total load on the power grid during certain times of the day, the DR layer may employ a demand limiting approach by limiting power usage of certain devices to flatten the building’s demand profile, thus lowering its peak demand [column 22, lines 1-21]. [Figures 4A-C] show an example where a load curve is adjusted to shift peak loads and increase cost savings. The smart building manager may provide for expanded user-driven load control (allowing a building manager to shed loads at a high level of system/device granularity) [column 14, lines 45-49]. The smart building manager may communicate to the power switching equipment within the building or campus to conduct “smart” voltage regulation, where voltage to certain types of appliances having high priority is ensured, while allowing voltage to lower priority equipment to dip or be cut off [column 14, lines 54-61]. This would allow for precise identification of flexible, adjustable loads, enabling more accurate quantification of demand response potential for an increase in cost savings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine demand response potential by analyzing parts of a load curve and adjust such a load curve by regulating the loads of certain types of devices, as taught by Wenzel. This would allow for precise identification of flexible, adjustable loads, enabling more accurate quantification of demand response potential for an increase in cost savings.
6. Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perera (Pub. No. US 2004/0220869), in view of Patterson et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,682,086), and further in view of Choi (Pub. No. US 2013/0211614).
6-1. Regarding claim 4, Perera-Patterson teach all the limitations of claim 2, wherein the processing, by the demand response module, demand response information, and providing, by the demand response module, a demand response strategy for the user comprises: receiving demand information, by disclosing that an inquiry module allows the customer to capture the details of the inquiry, the data provided in the application and the offer, and facilitates future inquiries [Perera, paragraph 85]. A contract module enables customers to accept the offer made by the Merchant [Perera, paragraph 87].
Perera-Patterson teach pushing a reminder to the low-voltage user, by disclosing that a Display/Alert Unit (D/A unit) provides a visual display of the current and projected net cost of units of energy being traded by the end customer in accordance with the Merchant agreement as determined by the computing means [Perera, paragraph 61].
Perera-Patterson teach uploading the demand response information based on a response result from the low-voltage user, by disclosing that all control parameters like price thresholds, load priority levels, time delays, etc. are contained in tables within the Monitor Module and are accessible/modifiable by the customer with appropriate security safeguards [Perera, paragraph 92, lines 11-15].
Perera-Patterson teach generating a demand response regulation strategy based on the demand response result and a parameter configured by the user, by disclosing that the preferred trading outcome for the switching means is determined by comparing a Pool Price to a contract price and an acceptable price threshold [Perera, paragraph 128; figure 3, ‘325,’ ‘326’], comparing the Pool Price to a high price threshold and a marginal cost of operating stand-by facilities [Perera, paragraphs 130-132; figure 3, ‘327,’ ‘328’], and comparing an amount of energy drawn based on metered data with a contracted quantity of energy to be supplied by a Merchant, and the Pool Price to a very high price threshold [Perera, paragraphs 133-135; figure 3, ‘329,’ ‘330’]. Based on such determinations, certain appliances based on priority (i.e. type) will be disconnected to shed load units [Perera, paragraph 97; figure 3, ‘317,’ ‘319,’ ‘320’].
Perera-Patterson teach… acquiring a confirmation result and pushing the confirmation result to the user, by disclosing that the D/A unit provides alarms based upon certain events happening [Perera, paragraph 61]. These alarms serve as a confirmation to the user that a certain resulting event has occurred. Additionally, Perera-Patterson disclose that the master node may send a demand response offer to a user associated with a smart sensor inquiring if the user will participate in the demand response event, to which the user may reply [Patterson, column 5, lines 3-10].
Perera-Patterson do not expressly teach interacting with an intelligent gateway to execute the demand response regulation strategy. Choi discloses transmitting a demand response signal from an energy utility 110 to a smart energy gateway 130 through an energy smart meter 120, wherein the demand response signal may include at least one of time-based price information, system reliability information, and demand response information [paragraph 23]. The smart energy gateway 130 may determine whether to generate an event based on the input demand response signal, and may transmit the generated event to the smart terminal 150 of the user [paragraph 25]. The user may identify the demand response-based event received through the smart terminal 150, and may control energy consumption for each of the Smart appliances 140, or may control energy consumption for all of the Smart appliances 140 by selecting a pre-defined control program [paragraph 26]. This would help facilitate communication with the appliances in the home network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a smart energy gateway to execute a demand response strategy, as taught by Choi. This would help facilitate communication with the appliances in the home network.
7. Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perera (Pub. No. US 2004/0220869), in view Patterson et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,682,086), in view of Guerra et al (“Design and Evaluation of a Heterogenous Lightweight Blockchain-Based Marketplace,” February 2, 2022), and further in view of Kanza et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,088,827).
7-1. Regarding claim 5, Perera-Patterson teach all the limitations of claim 2. Perera-Patterson do not expressly teach wherein the blockchain module is deployed with a lightweight node software package. Guerra discloses the application of a lightweight blockchain algorithm on low-performance devices for the design of a decentralized electrical marketplace, where prosumers and energy retailers can exchange directly and automatically among themselves. [page 2, paragraph 5]. This would reduce overhead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use, for the transactions of Perera-Patterson, low-performance nodes as blockchain nodes, as taught by Guerra. This would reduce overhead.
Perera-Patterson-Guerra do not expressly teach all low-voltage users in a same district form a demand response transaction sub-chain of the district. Kanza discloses partitioning of a blockchain into a hierarchy of sub-chains, reflecting a real-world sub-division [column 4, lines 58-61] based on location certificates [column 5, lines 40-50]. Such a hierarchy could be geospatial, and include partitions into neighborhoods, cities, counties, states, and countries [column 9, lines 18-22]. This would make local transactions faster and cheaper [column 10, lines 25-28]. Since Perera-Sun-Guerra disclose performing transactions between customers and utility companies using a blockchain, and a district is a specific defined geographical area created for administrative purposes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to partition the blockchain of Perera-Sun-Guerra to reflect a real-world sub-division, as taught by Kanza, such as a district. This would make local transactions faster and cheaper.
Perera-Patterson-Guerra-Kanza teach a district terminal serves as a main node of the demand response transaction sub-chain of the district, and district terminals, major industrial and commercial users and measurement automation main stations form a demand response transaction main-chain, by disclosing that the master node may include the utility supplier [Patterson, column 4, lines 62-67]. Since Perera-Sun-Guerra-Kanza disclose that the utility supplier may be a utility providing company [Patterson, column 6, lines 52-60], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a demand response transaction main-chain with the utility providers (i.e., district terminals, major industrial and commercial users and measurement automation main stations) as the main node. This would increase transparency and traceability between utility suppliers and the customers.
Response to Arguments
8. Regarding independent claim 1, Applicant alleges that Perera (Pub. No. US 2004/0220869) fails to disclose or suggest a load determination module, a blockchain module, a demand response module, and electrical connections of the modules to the control processor.
With regard to the load determination module, the demand response module, and the electrical connections of those modules to the control processor, Examiner has now rejected these limitations under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perera (Pub. No. US 2004/0220869) in view of Patterson et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,682,086). Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
With regard to the blockchain module, Applicant alleges that Patterson does not teach a “blockchain module” as a hardware module integrated within the user-side interaction device and electrically connected to a control processor because the blockchain functionality in Patterson resides at the network level, not as a dedicated hardware module inside a single low-voltage user device.
Contrary to Applicant’s arguments, Patterson discloses that a ledger local to a device stores a portion of a distributed ledger regarding transactions pertaining to the device, wherein such transactions may involve a demand response event [column 25, lines 27-35, 54-59]. The operations with respect to the local ledger may be implemented using an ASIC [column 30, lines 5-8, 18-21]. Thus, the ASIC that is configured to execute these operations may be considered the blockchain module as claimed since it is a hardware module integrated with the user-side device that allows the user-side device to interact with the blockchain
Applicant alleges that those skilled in the art would not have a reasonable expectation of success in combining Perera and Patterson because the hierarchical distributed ledger system of Patterson operates in a different technical field, at different system levels, and for a different purpose than the energy control system of Perera.
Contrary to Applicant’s arguments, both Perera and Patterson relate to real-time transactions performed over a network involving demand response events [Perera, paragraph 19; Patterson, column 2, lines 32-39; column 4, lines 52-57]. As disclosed in Patterson, the underlying technology to implement a blockchain-based distributed ledger for merchant-to-customer energy demand response events was well known and established. Therefore, it would not be technically difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art to implement such a blockchain-based distributed ledger for use in the demand response events of Perera. The use of a distributed ledger comprised of a blockchain for demand response events would increase transparency and traceability for those events. To provide a secure way of using such a blockchain, Patterson discloses providing a module to handle operations with respect to a local ledger that would enhance security for the local device and enable more transparent, traceable energy transactions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an ASIC configured to execute operations with respect to a local ledger for energy demand response, as taught by Patterson. This would enhance security for the local device and enable more transparent, traceable energy transactions.
Conclusion
/ALVIN H TAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118