Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1B, a power battery in which the inner protective film comprises a first portion and a second portion whose side portions partially overlap to define two strip-shaped overlapping regions in the reply filed on 07/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 4, 10, 11, 15, and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species 1A, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/21/2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: ¶[0020] of the specification recites the following, inter alia:
“The first positioning hole 100 and the second positioning hole 200 are disposed in the staggered manner, that is, the first positioning hole 100 and the second positioning hole 200 are not overlapping and are disconnected at all.” (emphasis by Examiner).
The emphasized portion appears to be included as a drafting oversight, and is not considered as part of the relevant disclosure of ¶[0020] for examination purposes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,5-9,12-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Guo et al. (US-20230100444-A1; foreign priority date 10/11/2021 in CN-216450747-U).
Interpretation of Claims 1 and 2: claim 1 recites inter alia “…[a] second positioning hole and [a] first positioning hole are provided in a staggered manner” (emphasis by Examiner). Claim 2 similarly recites holes provided in a “staggered manner”. Examiner notes Applicant’s disclosure defines a “staggered manner” as a state where “the first positioning hole 100 and the second positioning hole 200 are not overlapping and are disconnected…” ([0021]).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Guo discloses a power battery (Guo, abstract), comprising:
a winding core (21, “jelly-roll”); a housing (10); wherein the winding core (21) is disposed in the housing (10) ([0058], FIGs. 1-3, 6);
a bottom (11, “bottom surface”) of the housing (10) is provided with a bottom support piece (50, “separator”) ([0060]), and the bottom support piece (50) is provided with a first positioning hole (512);
and an inner protective film (22, “insulating sheet”) sleeved outside the winding core (21) and located in the housing (10) ([0058, 0069], FIGs. 4-7),
wherein a bottom (222, “bottom covering area”) of the inner protective film (22) is connected to the bottom support piece (50) as claimed in claim 1, specifically, through hot melting as claimed in claim 13 ([0080], FIGs. 5-7).
The bottom (222) of the inner protective film (22) is provided with a second positioning hole (2222) ([0088]), reading on portions of claim 1.
In a selected embodiment of the power battery, Guo notes that both the first (512) and/or second (2222) positioning holes become filled with material when connecting the inner protective film (22) to the bottom support piece (50) through hot melting ([0087], [0091], FIG. 8). Effectively, the filled material blocks the holes (in other words, disconnects the holes which can no longer be directly overlapping through the blockage) ([0086, 0090], FIG. 8); thus, the first (512) second (2222) positioning holes are broadly and reasonably interpreted as being provided in a staggered manner anticipating claim 1 (see §Interpretation of Claims 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Guo discloses the power battery of claim 1, wherein a plurality of (“two”) first positioning holes (512) and a plurality of (“two”) second positioning holes (2222) are provided (FIG. 8, [0088]). In the cited embodiment (see [0087], [0091], FIG. 8) where the first (512) and/or second (2222) positioning holes become filled with material and disconnected when hot melting the protective film (22) and the bottom support piece (50) ([0087], [0091], FIG. 8), the plurality of first positioning holes (512) and the plurality of second positioning holes (2222) are thus all provided in a staggered manner (i.e., disconnected, non-overlapping; see §Interpretation of Claims 1 and 2), anticipating claim 2.
Furthermore, a bottom (222, “bottom covering area”) of the inner protective film (22) is connected to the bottom support piece (50) through hot melting ([0080], FIGs. 5-7), anticipating claim 14.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Guo discloses the power battery of claim 1,
wherein the inner protective film (22) comprises a first portion (2211, “first covering area”; 221 a, “first flank”, 221 b, “second flank”) and a second portion (2212, “second covering area”; 221 c, “third flank”; 221 d, “fourth flank”) ([0098-0099], FIG. 9b);
the first portion (2211, 221 a, 221 b) comprises a first body portion (2211, “first covering area”) that is attached to a first face (214, “first side surface”) of the winding core (21) and two first side portions (221 a, “first flank”, 221 b, “second flank”) that are respectively attached to parts of two side faces (215, “second side surface”) of the winding core (21) ([0098-0099], FIGs. 9b, 10);
the second portion (2212, 221 c, 221 d) comprises a second body portion (2212, “second covering area”) that is attached to a second face (214, “first side surface”) of the winding core (21) and two second side portions (221 c, “third flank”; 221 d, “fourth flank”) that are respectively attached to remaining parts of the two side faces (215, “second side surface”) of the winding core (21) ([0098-0099], FIGs. 9b, 10);
the two first side portions (221 a, 221 b) of the first portion (2211, 221 a, 221 b) are respectively connected to the two second side portions (221 c, 221 d) of the second portion (2212, 221 c, 221 d), and each first side portion of the first portion partially overlaps with a corresponding second side portion of the second portion (e.g., of 221 a to 221 c and 221 b to 221 d) to define two strip-shaped overlapping regions (“overlapping portion”, [0101-0103], FIG. 9b), thus anticipating claim 5.
Furthermore, a bottom (222, “bottom covering area”) of the inner protective film (22) is connected to the bottom support piece (50) through hot melting ([0080], FIGs. 5-7), anticipating claim 17.
Interpretation of Claim 6: claim 6, concerning the connection of the inner protective film to a lower plastic structure, reads inter alia “a notch is provided at [1] a connected part between [2] each of the two first side portions…or each of the two second side portions…and a lower plastic structure, to cause [3] a connected position between [4] the inner protective film and the lower plastic structure to be a single-layer structure (emphasis by Examiner).
For clarity, Examiner notes that limitations [1]/[2] and [3]/[4] both generally address the connection between the inner protective film and a lower plastic structure, but are not necessarily addressed to the same connection on the battery. Particularly, a broadest reasonable interpretation of emphasized portions [1] and [2] (a connected part, limited to being on the first/second side portions) does not require this connection to be the same connection as that addressed by limitations [3] and [4] (a connected position, limited to being anywhere on the inner protective film, including on the first/second body portions in addition to the first/second side portions).
Additionally, under a broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 6, any structure of battery which comprises a notch and is capable of providing the connected portion as a single layer structure is recognized to read on “a notch provided at [1], [2], to cause [3], [4] to be a single layer structure” in claim 6.
Regarding claims 6, 7, and 18, Guo discloses the power battery of claim 5, comprising a notch (223, “flow channel”) formed by a junction between the two first side portions (221 a, 221 b) and the two second side portions (221 c, 221 d) ([0127], FIG. 10), and a lower plastic structure (42) connected to the inner protective film (22) at hot melting at connected parts (2213, “second hot melting connection position”) ([0132], see Annotated Guo FIG. 13 below), including on sides of the power battery which comprise the first side portions (221a, 221b) and the notch (223).
Annotated Guo FIG. 13
Thus, Guo discloses the battery wherein a notch (223) is provided at a connected part (2213) between (at least) each of the two first side portions (221a, 221b) of the first portion (2211, 221 a, 221 b) and a lower plastic structure (42) ([0132], [0127]), which reads on the scope of portions of claim 6.
Additionally, an expanded area of the first portion (2211, 221 a, 221 b) is larger than an expanded area of the second portion (2212, 221 c, 221 d) ([0101-0103], FIG. 9b); the notch (223), formed by the junction between the two first side portions (221a, 221b) of the first portion and the two second side portions (221 c, 221 d) of the second portion ([0127], Annotated Guo FIG. 13), is therefore provided in at least the first portion, fully anticipating claim 7.
Furthermore, a connected position (see circled portion, Annotated Guo FIG. 6) between the inner protective film (22, specifically, the first body portion 2211) is formed as a single-layer structure, i.e., without being overlapped (Annotated Guo FIG. 6, [0132]); thus, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, Guo discloses a battery wherein “a notch is provided at a connected part…to cause a connected position between the inner protective film and the lower plastic structure to be a single-layer structure” and anticipating the remaining limitations of claim 6 (see §Interpretation of Claim 6).
A bottom (222, “bottom covering area”) of the inner protective film (22) is also connected to the bottom support piece (50) through hot melting ([0080], FIGs. 5-7), anticipating claim 18.
Regarding claims 8, 9, and 12, Guo discloses the power battery of claims 1, 2, and 5,
further comprising a top cover assembly (40), wherein a lower plastic structure (42, “lower plastic member”) is disposed on the top cover assembly (40) ([0131-0132], FIGs. 11-13), an upper end of the inner protective film (22) is in a shape of an opening ([0069], FIG. 6), and an opening edge of the upper end of the inner protective film (22) is connected to the lower plastic structure (42) through hot melting ([0132])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US-20230100444-A1) as applied to claim 1 in view of Jang et al. (US-20210305655-A1).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Guo discloses the power battery of claim 1, further comprising adhesive tapes (30, “glue tape”), which are provided on an outer side face (221a-d, “flanks”) of the inner protective film (22) ([0124-0125], FIGs. 8, 10), reading on portions of claim 19, but fails to further disclose an adhesive tape (30) specifically connected to a lower end face (52, “second surface”, [0066]) of the bottom support piece (50) as claimed in claim 19.
Nonetheless, Guo emphasizes an importance of maintaining the connection between the inner protective film (22) and the bottom support piece (50) to prevent damage to the winding core (21) ([0080]). Jang (US20210305655A1), an analogous power battery (Jang, abstract), teaches the use of tapes (802, “first fixing member”) connected to a lower end face (“bottom surface”) of a bottom support piece (700, “spacer”) to suitably fix, i.e., adhere the bottom support piece (700) to an adjacent winding core (120, “electrode assembly”) ([0060], FIG. 4).
Therefore, in seeking to further strengthen the connection between Guo’s inner protective film and the bottom support piece, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to connect at least one of Guo’s adhesive tapes on an outer side face of the inner protective film to a to a lower end face of the bottom support piece as claimed in claim 19 according to Jang’s teaching, with a reasonable expectation of success as Guo demonstrates a suitability of attaching adhesive tape on the outer side face of the inner protective film (see Guo [0124-0125]) and recognizes an importance of maintaining a connection between the inner protective film and bottom support piece (Guo [0080]).
Furthermore, Guo provides adhesive tapes (30) on two opposite side walls of the inner protective film (i.e., on 221a/221c and 221b/221d) to allow the inner protective film (22) to more effectively cover the winding core (21) ([0124-0125], FIGs. 8-10), and Jang similarly depicts the usage of two adhesive tapes (802) disposed at ends of the bottom support piece (Jang [0060-0061], FIGs. 4, 6). Therefore, in seeking to improve the coverage of the inner protective film around the winding core using the adhesive tapes and suitably improve the connection between Guo’s inner protective film and bottom support piece, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide two adhesive tapes disposed at two ends of the bottom support piece bonded to two respective opposite side walls of the inner protective film as claimed in claim 20 according to Guo and Jang’s disclosure, with a reasonable expectation of success as both Guo and Jang depict and envision embodiments with at least two adhesive tapes disposed at ends of the bottom support piece and side walls of the inner protective film.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN-208637495-U; cited in 02/07/2024 IDS; see attached machine translation) in view of Zhou et al. (WO-2023000184-A1; US-20230223669-A1 cited as U.S. equivalent).
Regarding claim 1, Huang (CN-208637495-U) is directed to a power battery comprising a battery cell (1), i.e., a core (1) disposed in a housing (3, “casing”) with an inner protective film (23, “second insulating film”) sleeved outside the core (1) (machine translation of Huang [0031], FIG. 1).
Huang fails to further specify the core (1) as being a winding core as claimed; however, Zhou (WO-2023000184-A1) teaches that both a winding structure and laminated structure may be suitably used for an electrode assembly (i.e., a core) (Zhou [0060], see US-20230223669-A1), Zhou’s winding core being taught as suitable for use in an analogous power battery (20, “cell”) also comprising a housing (22, “shell”) and an inner protective film (70) sleeved around a core (2111, “electrode assembly”) ([0100-0101], FIG. 4).
A skilled artisan would necessarily select some arrangement of electrodes within the core to successfully produce Huang’s power battery, where Zhou teaches a winding core and a laminated core as identified, predictable solutions within the ambit of one of ordinary skill the art. It would thus be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to explore selecting a winding core as Zhou’s core with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143 I. E).
Huang modified in view of Zhou thus discloses a power battery, comprising:
a winding core (1, “cell”);
a housing (3, “battery casing”), wherein the winding core (1) is disposed in the housing (3) (Huang [0031]; FIG. 1), a bottom of the housing (3) is provided with a bottom support piece (21, “first insulating film 21 is disposed near the battery casing 3”, [0031], FIG. 1), and the bottom support piece (21) is provided with a first positioning hole (210) ([0031], FIG. 4); and
an inner protective film (23, “second insulating film”) sleeved outside the winding core (1) and located in the housing (3) ([0031], [0033], FIGs. 1, 4),
wherein a bottom of the inner protective film (23) is connected to the bottom support piece (21), the bottom of the inner protective film is provided with a second positioning hole (230) ([0031], [0033], FIGs. 1, 4), and the second positioning hole (230) and the first positioning hole (210) are provided in a staggered manner ([0031]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yuan et al. (CN110282173A, see attached machine translation) discloses a power battery comprising an inner protective film (1, “protective film”) where side portions of a first and second portion partially overlap ([0052-0054], visible in FIGs. 5-6), and a notch (12) is provided at a connected part between side portions and a lower plastic structure of a top cover (3) to cause a connected position to be a single-layer structure ([0054], FIGs. 3-6).
/E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 8/25/2026