DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6, 9-13, and 15-23 are pending and subject to this Office Action. This is the First Action on the merits of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, 11-13, 15-20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garcia Garcia, et al (US20200359676A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gracia Garcia teaches a sheet type aerosol generating article comprising:
at least two aerosol generating sheets each comprising aerosol generating material; and
an inductively heatable susceptor;
wherein the inductively heatable susceptor is positioned between the aerosol generating sheets and each of the aerosol generating sheets has an exposed surface. [0005] The susceptor taught by Gracia Garcia is considered to read on the support of the instant claim.
Gracia Garcia teaches that the article, to include both the aerosol generating material and the susceptor (support) can be perforated. ([0017], [0052], [0107])
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Gracia Garcia teaches that the aerosol generating sheets may be adhered to the inductively heatable susceptor by an adhesive.[0013] The aerosol generating material is disclosed to be adhered to the susceptor/ support on both the top, first surface, and the bottom, second surface, of the susceptor sheet. (Fig 1)
Regarding claim 9, Garcia Garcia teaches the perforations extend through the aerosol generating material to facilitate airflow through the aerosol generating article during use. [0017] The use of a perforation that allows air to flow into and subsequently through the article is considered to read on the opening through the aerosol generating material of the consumable.
Regarding claim 11, as discussed in claim 1, Garcia teaches that the perforation in the aerosol generating article can extend through the aerosol generating sheet and the susceptor/support. ([0017], [0052], [0107])
Regarding claim 12, Garcia Garcia teaches that the perforation extend fully through the aerosol generating material [0017] and as such is considered to read on the limitation that the perforations extend at least partially through an aerosol-generating material.
Regarding claim 13, Garcia Garcia teaches that the support/susceptor can comprise a metal foil. [0079]
Regarding claim 15, Garcia Garcia provides an example of the metal foil being aluminium foil. [0079]
Regarding claim 16, Garcia Garcia teaches that the aerosol generating material is attached to a susceptor/support that is used to heat the aerosol generating article. [0003]
Regarding claim 17, Garcia Garcia teaches that the susceptor may comprise a plurality of strips of susceptor material. [0019] The prior art teaches that the inductively heatable susceptor can comprises a plurality of strips positioned in an adhesive layer between the first and second aerosol generating sheets. ([0081], Fig 4)
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Garcia Garcia teaches that the perforation of the substrate and the susceptor/ support would occur after the aerosol generating material is attached to the susceptor support material. [0107] The perforations in the aerosol generating article would form discrete portions of aerosol generating material that is located between the openings that are the perforations.(Fig.3) As such, when the aerosol generating substrate is completed the susceptor /support material would be solid and impermeable beneath the discrete portions of the aerosol generating material.
Regarding claim 20, as discussed in claim 1, Garcia Garcia teaches the perforations extend through the aerosol generating material and the susceptor material. [0017] The use of perforations that extend through the aerosol generating material and the susceptor to facilitate airflow through the aerosol generating article during use [0017] is considered to read on the open end extending through the susceptor/ impermeable material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 -6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Garcia, et al (US20200359676A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Mironov, et al (US20170318862A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Garcia Garcia discloses an embodiment where the aerosol generating material has openings that separate portions of the aerosol generating material on the susceptor material. (Fig 3, [0061] [0079] )
However, Garcia does not explicitly teach the aerosol generating material would be a discrete portions of material on the susceptor/ support.
Mironov, directed to the design of aerosol generating article with a support, teaches an aerosol generating article that is comprised of a base layer (support) and an aerosol generating material that can be attached to the surface of the base layer.([0005], [0016]) Mironov teaches that the aerosol forming substrate can comprise a plurality of aerosol-forming substrates arranged separately on the base layer. [0023]
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Garcia Garcia by having a substrate with discrete portions of aerosol generating material on the susceptor material as taught by Mironov because both Garcia Garcia and Mironov are directed to heated aerosol generating articles, Mironov teaches this allows the aerosol generating article to comprise two or more different aerosol forming substrates [0023], and this involves the use of known technique to improve similar products in the same way.
Regarding claim 6, a modified Garcia Garcia teaches that the discrete portions of the aerosol generating material would have one aerosol generating material is on one side of the susceptor/support material and a second aerosol generating material is on the opposite side of the susceptor/support material. This would allow the perforations to extend through both the first and the second aerosol generating material as well as the susceptor/ support material.
Claims 10, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Garcia, et al (US20200359676A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kabirat (WO2021105473A1).
Regarding claim 10, Garcia Garcia teaches that the perforation/ opening that extends through the article and fails to teach that the perforation would only extend through the aerosol generating material
Kabirat, directed to the design of an article for use in a non-combustible aerosol provision system, teaches an aerosol generating article that is comprised of a support element with a cavity that holds an aerosol generating material. (p12 ln 1-3, Fig 7) The prior art teaches that the aerosol generating material may include one or more perforations that do not extend through the support material and only through the aerosol generating material.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Garcia Garcia by having the perforations that extend only through the aerosol generating material as taught by Kabirat because both Garcia Garcia and Kabirat are directed to aerosol generating articles for heating, Kabirat teaches contact between the support material and the aerosol generating material can improve heating efficiency (p12 ln 26-28), and this involves the use of known technique to improve similar products in the same way.
Regarding claim 21, Garcia Garcia teaches that the perforation/ opening that extends through the article and fails to teach that the perforation would only extend through the aerosol generating material
Kabirat, directed to the design of an article for use in a non-combustible aerosol provision system, teaches an aerosol generating article that is comprised of a support element with a cavity that holds an aerosol generating material. (p12 ln 1-3, Fig 7) The prior art teaches that the aerosol generating material may include one or more perforations that do not extend through the support material and only through the aerosol generating material.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Garcia Garcia by having the perforations that extend only through the aerosol generating material as taught by Kabirat because both Garcia Garcia and Kabirat are directed to aerosol generating articles for heating, Kabirat teaches contact between the support material and the aerosol generating material can improve heating efficiency (p12 ln 26-28), and this involves the use of known technique to improve similar products in the same way.
Regarding claim 23, Garcia Garcia teaches that the perforations are used to control and optimize the air permeability of the aerosol generating article. [0017]
Garcia Garcia is silent with respect to the positions of one or more perforations being determined by the position of the aerosol generating material.
Kabirat teaches the perforations maybe of any appropriate size and number, advantageously disposed substantially centrally on the portion(s) of amorphous solid material, or may comprise a plurality of perforations disposed in an array across the portion(s) of amorphous solid material. (p12 ln 17-20) Kabirat teaches that the location of the perforation can be taken into account so that the perforations are located in a desired position, such as the center of the aerosol generating material.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Garcia Garcia by having the perforations located in a specific location based on the aerosol generating material as taught by Kabirat because both Garcia Garcia and Kabirat are directed to aerosol generating articles for heating, Kabirat teaches this allows the aerosol generating material to remain in contact with the substrate improving heating (p12 ln 10-15 and ln 25-29), and this involves the use of known technique to improve similar products in the same way.
Conclusion
/V.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755