DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/25/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract contains more than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 11, recites “mobile toric intraocular lens”. The examiner requests the term “mobile” be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: orientation means for arrangement of the toric intraocular lens in claims 6- 8;
device for carrying out optical coherence tomography, in claim 11;
device for carrying out device for carrying out reflection illuminations 11.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation ascertaining at least one axis of an astigmatism to be corrected of a cornea of a human eye, and the claim also recites, in particular the axis of the incidence plane of the strongest light refraction and/or the axis of the incidence plane of the weakest light refraction which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For the sake of prosecution, the examiner interprets the limitation to mean ascertaining any axis of an astigmatism to be corrected of a cornea of a human eye.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the incidence plane of the strongest light refraction" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner interprets the limitation to mean an incidence plane is present.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the incidence plane of the weakest light refraction" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner interprets the limitation to mean an incidence plane is present.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the instantaneous and correct position" in lines 3 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the sake of prosecution, the limitation is understood to mean the target axis is the axis running through the center point.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the position and dimension of the cuts or incisions” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the sake of compact prosecution, the limitation “the position and dimension of the cuts or incisions” is understood by the examiner to mean markings on the intraocular lens.
Regarding claims 6-8, the limitation “orientation means” in claims 6-8 is a relative limitation which renders the claim indefinite. The limitation "orientation means” is not defined by the claim and the specification does not provide any details as to what is the “orientation means”. Page 11, line 14 “The orientation means could therefore have at least one line and/or angle graduation” and Fig. 3 element 20 shows the orientation means. However, the specification does not explain what device is the orientation means and Fig.3 shows a line. For the sake of compact prosecution, the limitation “orientation means” is understood by the examiner to mean is a control unit for arrangement of the intraocular lens.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “device for carrying out reflection illuminations.” in claim 11 is a relative limitation which renders the claim indefinite. The limitation " device for carrying out reflection illuminations” is not defined by the claim and the specification does not provide any details as to what is the “device”. For the sake of compact prosecution, the limitation “device for carrying out reflection illuminations” is understood by the examiner to mean a reflector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Madjlessi (DE Patent Number 102013105738 A1).
Madjlessi, teaches as in claim 1, a method for monitoring and/or evaluating the correct positioning of a toric intraocular lens (7) during an operation (¶0001 “refractive surgery”) on the human eye (¶0002 “Cataracts of the human eye are nowadays regularly treated by the insertion of intraocular lenses”), by which the toric intraocular lens (7) is to be fitted into the human eye (Fig. 4) and brought into its intended final location1 (¶0031 “specific axis is provided as alignment information and the control device 5 determines and generates from this information both the resulting axis and the marking contours 6 corresponding to the resulting axis with regard to their position”), comprising the following steps: ascertaining at least one axis (12a) of an astigmatism to be corrected of a cornea (¶0034 “alignment information comprises a reference axis 12 a, b through the center point 13 of the lens 3 and an axis position angle 14 of an astigmatism of the eye 4. The axial position angle 14 astigmatism of the eye 4 is calculated from the position of the two main sections of the eye 4 with maximum and minimum corneal radius”) of a human eye (4), representing the target axis (15) for the privileged axis (12b, ¶0035 “reference axis 12 a, b is therefore specified, which either corresponds to a geometrically or intramuscularly known axis or is marked on the eye 4 itself for example by the mechanical color marking mechanism”) of the toric intraocular lens (7) relative to the ascertained axis (14) of the astigmatism in an electronic display device (19a) of an apparatus (19 “visualization device”), so that the toric intraocular lens (7) can be arranged in the correct position and brought into its intended final location with the aid of the representation ( ¶0028 “ the control device 5 is configured to control the laser emitter 1 for generating marking contours 6 on the capsule 2 based on alignment information, wherein the marking contours 6 enable an angular adjustment of a toric intraocular lens 7 inserted into the eye 4” ¶0044 “the corresponding alignment information thus previously determined can then be transmitted to the control device 5. It is therefore preferred that the control device 5 is configured to receive the alignment information in electronic form”).
Madjlessi, teaches as in claim 2, ascertaining at least one axis (12a) of an astigmatism to be corrected of a cornea of a human eye (4).
Madjlessi, teaches as in claim 5, no preoperatively prepared reference image or registering image, in which the target axis (15) is displayed relative to an axis (7) of the astigmatism, is used (no preoperatively image or registered image discussed with the target axis displayed to the axis of astigmatism).
Madjlessi, teaches as in claim 6, control unit (5) for arrangement of the toric intraocular lens (7).
Madjlessi, teaches as in claim 7, that the privileged axis (12b) of the toric intraocular lens (7) is displayed by means of the display device (19a) by at least a control unit (5) that rearranges the toric intraocular lens (7), the position of the privileged axis (12b) of the toric intraocular lens (7) being established by the recognition of markings (6; 0031 “specific axis is provided as alignment information and the control device 5 determines and generates from this information both the resulting axis and the marking contours 6 corresponding to the resulting axis with regard to their position”) on the toric intraocular lens (7).
Madjlessi, teaches as in claim 8, characterized in that the privileged axis (12) of the toric intraocular lens (7) is displayed by means of the display device (19a) by at least control unit (5), the position of the privileged axis (12b) of the toric intraocular lens (7) being established by the recognition of markings (6) on the toric intraocular lens (7).
Madjlessi, teaches as in claim 9, markings (6) on the intraocular lens (7).
Madjlessi, teaches as in claim 10, an electronic display device (19a) for displaying the target axis (15) for a privileged axis (12b) of a toric intraocular lens (7), wherein the apparatus (21) further comprises a control unit (18a), and wherein the control unit (18a) is manually controllable2 in order to visualize the location of the target axis (15) on the display device (See Fig. 4).
Madjlessi, teaches as in claim 11, characterized by its being configured as an operation microscope (19), the operation microscope comprising a camera (17).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to simultaneously teach all the limitations of claim 3 which includes the display of the target axis is updated according to predeterminable time intervals during a predeterminable period of time, so that the instantaneous and correct location of the target axis is constantly displayed, in particular during an operation on the human eye.
Regarding claim 4 has dependency upon allowable claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zaldivar (US Patent Publication Number 2013/0018276 A1) teaches a method for evaluating the correct positioning of a toric intraocular lens.
Buckland (US Patent Publication Number 2018/0035884 A1) teaches a method for evaluating the correct positioning of a toric intraocular lens.
Snook (US Patent Number 5,512,965 A) teaches a method for evaluating the correct positioning of a toric intraocular lens.
Sayegh (US Patent Publication Number 2016/0302915 A1) teaches a method for evaluating the correct positioning of a toric intraocular lens.
JOURNEY F. SUMLAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
12 December 2025
/RICKY L MACK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 Aligning the contours to the resulting axis is interpreted by the examiner to mean the IOL is brought into its intended final location
2 Figure 1 shows a manual control lever