DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim appears to be missing the phrase “are administered”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kley et al (US 10,603,300) in view of Hadd et al (WO2021/092341).
Scope of prior art
Claim 1: Kley teaches a method of treating diabetes mellitus in a canine animal by administering to the animal one or more SGLT2 inhibitors (abstract; col 3, lines 52-59; col 5, lines 26-29).
Claim 2: Kley teaches that various forms of diabetes can be treated including where beta cell destruction is caused by an autoimmune reaction, which corresponds to human type 1 diabetes mellitus (col 1, lines 59-67; col 2, lines 1-5).
Claims 3-8: With regards to dose and administration, Kley teaches doses encompassing the claimed dose and also teaches that a practitioner skilled in the art can determine suitable dose and prepare the dose for administration (col 27, lines 35-56). Kley also teaches prolonged administration for up to 2 years (Examples 3, 4 columns 30-31).
Claims 9, 10 and 13: Kley also teaches combination therapy with insulin which provides a benefit of a decreased dose of insulin that is required, compared with monotherapy (col 5, lines 10-14). Insulin is a therapeutic agent for type I diabetes mellitus.
Claim 11: Kley teaches oral administration (Col 4, lines 21-24).
Claim 1: Kley teaches treatment of hyperglycemia (Example 5, column 31).
Ascertaining the difference
Kley teaches administration of SGLT2 inhibitor, but does not recite the currently claimed enavogliflozin.
Secondary reference
Hadd teaches treatment of canine comprising administration of enavogliflozin wherein the animal has diabetes (page 77, claims 1, 5; page 84, line 22).
Obviousness
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the earliest effective filing date of the current application would have found it obvious to practice the method of treating diabetes in an canine by administering SGLT2 inhibitor. Such a method is taught by Kley. While Kley teaches SGLT2 inhibitor, he does not teach enavogliflozin. However, Hadd teaches administration of enavogliflozin, an inhibitor of SGLT2, to canine including those with diabetes. It would have been obvious to use an alternative SGLT2 inhibitor in the method of Kley, with an expectation that the alternative inhibitor will also be effective in treatment of diabetes in canines.
Conclusion
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-14 are pending
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-14 are rejected
/YEVGENY VALENROD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628