Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In virtue of the communication filed on 07/10/2026 and the amendment filed on the same date, in which claims 1-3 are cancelled claims 4-6 are amended, wherein claims 4-6 are recited in independent form. The present Application is a Continuation of PCT/JP2022/014756 with a filing date of 03/18/2022 and claims Foreign Priority to JP2021-088027 with a filing date of 05/26/2021 (certified copy received 11/20/2023).
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, without importing limitations from the specification. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “at least one of following” would incorporate only a single option from the list of options which follow. At least one of following under the broadest reasonable interpretation would include only one of the plurality of options and any dependent claims which further modify an option not part of a broadest reasonable interpretation would also not be part of a broadest reasonable interpretation which incorporates a different option.
Response to Arguments
In the response of 07/10/2026, Applicant asserts that the present Amendment and Response, Applicant has amended independent claim 4 to recite, inter alia: the first RRC parameter indicates that a number of repetitions of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots, among the one or more slots.
Applicant respectfully submits that d1, d2, d3, either singly or in any combination thereof, fail to teach, disclose, or suggest all the features recited in amended claim 4, including, at least, the above recited features. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner maintains that the previous grounds of rejection contain teaching from which the limitations in question are rendered obvious. D1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests PUCCH repetition enhancements are presented. Regarding coverage enhancements in NR, certain the coverage requirements cannot be fully satisfied with an existing slot-based repetition scheme namely PUSCH repetition type A where multiple repetitions are scheduled on consecutive multiple slots. The actual number of repetitions are usually less than what is indicated/configured to the UE due to unavailability of UL symbols on the scheduled resources. Basically, a transmission occasion for repetition is dropped, if any of the scheduled symbols are unavailable for UL. Based on the current supported slot formats, it is quite rare that the indicated number of repetitions can actually be transmitted. Therefore, for coverage enhancements, one or more options may be specified for increasing the number of actual repetitions for PUSCH repetition type-A and/or by counting the repetitions based on actually available slots for UL. As used herein, the term “a number of” items (e.g., repetitions) refers to a predetermined or specified amount or quantity of the items and not to merely an arbitrary number that may exist (see d2 para. 0035) which may alone render obvious the limitation in question. However, d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 also suggests illustrate example methods for determining a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission according to embodiments of the disclosure (see d3 FIGS. 6-8); example methods for determining available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the disclosure (see d3 FIGS. 9-11); and example method for determining available slots of PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the disclosure (see d3 FIG. 14).
D1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggest that when a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetition Type A and is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit the PUSCH over a number of slots n, the UE transmits a first PUSCH repetition over a first slot that is available for the PUSCH transmission, a second PUSCH repetitions over a next slot available for the PUSCH transmission, and so on until a counting of available slots is n wherein the number of transmitted PUSCH repetitions is also n, or until the counting of consecutive slots is n wherein the number of transmitted PUSCH repetitions can be less or equal to n. A gNB (such as the BS 102) can configure whether the counting of repetitions is based on available slots or on consecutive physical slots. It is also possible that the gNB indicates whether the counting of repetitions is based on available slots or on consecutive physical slots in a DCI format. For example, the gNB can configure a first TDRA table with a number of repetitions that a UE can use when the counting of repetitions is based on available slots, and a second TDRA table with a number of repetitions that a UE can use when the counting of repetitions is based on consecutive physical slots. In another example one TDRA table is configured and the counting of repetitions is indicated in a DCI format (see d3 para. 0081). It is also disclosed that when a UE is configured/indicated to transmit a PUSCH with Type-A repetitions or a PUCCH with repetitions, if a symbol of a slot becomes unavailable for a transmission of a PUSCH or PUCCH repetition in the slot, the UE does not transmit the repetition. The unavailability of a symbol can be due to another transmission in the symbol or due to a reception in the symbol and the repetition that is not transmitted may or may not be counted towards a total number of repetitions for the PUSCH or PUCCH transmission. Accordingly, embodiments of the present disclosure take into consideration that there is a need to determine a slot availability and a counting of repetitions for a PUSCH or PUCCH transmission with repetitions based on an overlap of symbols for a repetition with other transmissions (see d3 para. 0083).
It is noted that the disclosure also includes that when a gNB (such as the BS 102) schedules a PUSCH transmission with repetitions, and a slot is unavailable for transmission of a PUSCH repetition due to transmission in symbols of the slot overlapping with another transmission of larger priority, the repetition is not counted in the number of repetitions. In order to transmit the PUSCH with the N.sub.rep configured/indicated repetitions, additional available slots can be used so that the PUSCH transmission with N.sub.rep repetitions spans over a number of consecutive slots larger than N.sub.rep. Similar, when a repetition of a PUSCH transmission in a slot is canceled by a DCI format providing an uplink cancelation indicator (CI), the repetition is not counted in the number of repetitions. The method 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6 describes an example procedure for a UE to determine a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for PUSCH transmission according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0091-0092).
It is noted that the update of the counting of number of repetitions depends on the number of repetitions per slot. If a UE is configured to transmit a PUSCH with repetition type A, the update of the counting of repetitions in available slots is done in increments of 1. [0096] The method 700 as illustrated in FIG. 5 describes an example procedure for a UE to determine a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for PUSCH transmission when a first and a second transmission have same priority according to the disclosure. Of note, in step 710, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured/indicated to transmit a first PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions in consecutive slots n=1, . . . , N.sub.rep. In step 720, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit a second PUSCH or a PUCCH with repetitions in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. It is noted that the second PUSCH or the PUCCH, respectively, have same priority as the first PUSCH. In step 730, the E transmits N.sub.rep−2 PUSCH repetitions in N.sub.rep−2 consecutive slots and updates the counting of number of PUSCH repetitions for each available slot R=N.sub.rep−2. In step 740, the UE transmits the second PUSCH or the PUCCH in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. In step 750, the UE terminates the first PUSCH transmission (see d3 para. 0091-0097).
The method 800 as illustrated in FIG. 8 describes an example procedure for a UE to determine a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for PUSCH transmission when a second transmission has larger priority than a first transmission according to the disclosure. In step 810, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured/indicated to transmit a first PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions in consecutive slots n=1, . . . , N.sub.rep. In step 820, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format, or is configured by higher layers, to transmit a second PUSCH or a PUCCH with repetitions in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. It is noted that the second PUSCH or the PUCCH, respectively, has larger priority than the first PUSCH. In step 830, the E transmits N.sub.rep−2 PUSCH repetitions in N.sub.rep−2 consecutive slots and updates the counting of number of PUSCH repetitions for each available slot R=N.sub.rep−2. In step 840, the UE transmits the second PUSCH or the PUCCH in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. In step 850, the UE resumes the first PUSCH transmission after the second PUSCH or PUCCH transmission (see d3 para. 0099-0100).
Regarding FIGS. 9-11 it is disclosed example methods 900, 1000, and 1100, respectively, for determining available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the present disclosure. FIG. 12 illustrates an example method 1200 for a PUCCH transmission with HARQ-ACK information corresponding to a semi-persistently scheduled (SPS) PDSCH reception according to embodiments of the present disclosure. FIG. 13 illustrates an example method 1300 for a semi-static configured PUCCH transmission with CSI information according to embodiments of the present disclosure. FIG. 14 illustrates an example method 1400 for determining available slots of PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In certain embodiments, a determination of an available slot for a PUSCH transmission can be based on an uplink CI provided by a DCI format. When a UE is configured/indicated to transmit a PUSCH with repetitions and detects a DCI format 2_4 including a CI that indicates cancelation of transmissions in time-frequency resources of a slot on a cell that include at least one symbol and at least one resource block (RB) of the PUSCH transmission in the slot on the cell, and the UL CI is applicable for the priority of the PUSCH transmission, the UE cancels the PUSCH repetition in the slot. For example, if a UE is scheduled to transmit a PUSCH with N.sub.rep Type A repetitions in consecutive slots n=1, . . . , N.sub.rep, and receives a DCI format that includes an UL CI indicating suspension of transmissions in time-frequency resources in slot m that include time-frequency resources for a repetition of the PUSCH transmission in slot m and the UL CI is applicable for the priority of the PUSCH transmission, the UE cancels the repetitions in slot m (subject to cancelation timelines being fulfilled), and resumes the repetitions after slot m without counting slot m in the number of slots allocated for repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. When the UL CI is not applicable for the priority of the PUSCH transmission, the UE does not cancel the repetitions in the slot despite the repetition including time-frequency resources that are indicated by the UL CI for cancelation of transmissions in the slot. The method 900, as illustrated in FIG. 9 describes an example for a UE to determine available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0105-0106).
Regarding the method 1000 as illustrated in FIG. 10 describes an example for a UE to determine available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0110).
For example, when a UE (such as the UE 116) is scheduled for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and the first repetition is transmitted in slot n, if the DCI format that adapts the UL-DL slot format is received in a slot prior to the slot where the 1.sup.st PUSCH repetition is scheduled (slot n) and affects any of the slots scheduled for PUSCH repetitions, the change in UL-DL slot format as indicated by the received DCI format is effective over a number of slots comprising the slot with PUSCH repetitions and the transmission of PUSCH repetitions and corresponding counting of repetitions can be based on the slots available for uplink transmission according to the UL-DL slot format by RRC configuration and adaptation by the DCI format, or can be based on the slots available for uplink transmission according to the UL-DL slot format by RRC configuration (see d3 para. 0117).
Regarding the method 1100 as illustrated in FIG. 11 describes an example for a UE to determine available slots for PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure. In step 1110, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided by higher layers an UL-DL TDD configuration over a number of slots. In step 1120, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit a PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions. In step 930, the UE monitors PDCCH for detection of a DCI format 2_0. Here an SFI-index field value in the DCI format 2_0 indicates to a UE a slot format for each slot in a number of slots N.sub.SFI starting from a slot where the UE detects the DCI format 2_0. In step 1140, the UE transmits the PUSCH with repetitions excluding slots where the number of symbols indicated as UL symbols by the SFI is less than the number of symbols of a PUSCH repetition. In step 1150, the UE updates the counting of the number of PUSCH repetitions excluding slots where the UE does not transmit PUSCH based on the determination of an available slot (see d3 para. 0120-0121).
Regarding the method 1400 as illustrated in FIG. 14 illustrates an example for a UE to determine available slots for PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0126).
Regarding step 1510, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided a configuration for a first TDRA table with a first set of numbers of repetitions and a second TDRA table with a second set of numbers of repetitions for PUSCH transmission. Here the first table is associated to a counting of consecutive physical slots and the second table is associated to the counting of available slots. In step 1520, the UE is indicated a TDRA table from the configured TDRA tables in a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission with repetitions. In step 1530, the UE is indicated a value m in a DCI format, wherein the value provides a row index m+1 to the indicated table that provides a number of repetitions. In step 1540, the UE transmits a PUSCH with the indicated number of repetitions by counting repetitions based on the indicated TDRA table. Alternatively, the indication at step 1520 can be in the SIB. In step 1610, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided an UL-DL TDD configuration providing slot formats over a number of slots, and is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetitions. In step 1620, the UE is configured in SIB1 a counting of slots, wherein the counting is based on available slots or consecutive physical slot. In step 1630, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit the PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions. In step 1640, the UE transmits N.sub.rep PUSCH repetitions by using the indicated counting of slots. In step 1710, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetitions and is provided a configuration for a TDRA table with a set of numbers of repetitions. In step 1720, the UE is configured in SIB1 a counting of slots, wherein the counting is based on available slots or consecutive physical slots. In step 1730, the UE is indicated a value m in a DCI format. Here the value provides a row index m+1 to the indicated table that provides a number of repetitions. In step 1740, the UE transmits a PUSCH with the indicated number of repetitions by counting repetitions based on the SIB1 configuration (see d3 para. 0137-0141).
It is noted that in certain embodiments, when a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided an UL-DL TDD configuration over a number of slots, is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetition Type A, is configured to transmit PUSCH repetitions by counting available slots and is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit the PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions, the UE can transmit in up to N.sub.rep slots that are indicate as UL slots by an UL-DL TDD configuration. In addition to the UL-DL TDD configuration, a slot can be unavailable due to other RRC configurations, wherein a slot is configured for transmission of another channel or signal. The actual number of PUSCH repetitions can be smaller than N.sub.rep as a slot determined as available based on one or more RRC configurations, can be unavailable due to one or more symbols in the slot being used for other DL or UL scheduled transmissions and the slot not including a number of consecutive UL symbols for a PUSCH transmission starting from a first symbol as indicated by the SLIV provided by the DCI format. When a UE can transmit a PUSCH repetition in non-consecutive symbols and over multiple slots, a slot can be unavailable when the number of symbols available for PUSCH transmission in a slot is less that a certain number of symbols, for example 2 symbols (see d3 para. 0148).
In step 2110, a UE (such as the UE 116) is indicated/configured to transmit a PUSCH with repetitions over a number of slots. In step 2120 the UE is provided a configuration for counting of repetitions. A count of repetitions can be updated when a slot is determined available based on a first information associated to the configured counting of repetitions. In step 2130 the UE determines a first slot of the number of slots as available based on the first information. In step 2140 the UE determines the first slot of the number of slots as available based on a second information. In step 2150 the UE transmits a PUSCH repetition in the first slot and increments the count of repetitions. It is also possible that whether to update the counting of repetitions based on an availability of a slot to transmit determined by a first information (for example after an RRC configuration that provides a direction for transmission) or based on whether the transmission happens in the slot determined as available, depends on whether the transmission is dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured and/or whether it is a first repetition of the scheduled/configured transmission with repetitions. For example, for a PUSCH transmission with a configured grant, if the first repetition of the PUSCH in the first configured grant period is scheduled in a slot that is available according to the first information but cannot be transmitted based on a second information, the number of repetitions is not updated based on the availability determined by the first information. Thus, the first PUSCH repetition is effectively postponed, not dropped, in case transmission is not possible in the slot. In another example, the counting of repetitions is updated based on the slot availability determined by the first information, regardless of whether the PUSCH repetition of the PUSCH transmission with a configured grant is transmitted in the slot. This corresponds to dropping of a repetition if transmission is not possible in the determined available slot. In yet another example, the UE can assume that the counting of repetitions is updated based on the slot availability determined by the first information and that transmission in the determined available slot is possible. The above example also can apply when the PUSCH transmission with repetitions is scheduled by DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2, or when the PUSCH transmission is scheduled by a DCI format with no repetitions, or when the PUSCH transmission with repetitions is scheduled by random access response (RAR) UL grant (see d3 para. 0160-0161).
The Examiner maintains that the above noted disclosure of d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 in combination render the limitation “the one or more slots are determined at least based on whether the first RRC parameter is provided, the first RRC parameter indicates that a number of repetitions of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots” obvious. Therefore, the rejection below is maintained. In addition, independent claims 5 and 6 are amended to recite, at least, features similar to those recited in amended independent claim 4. Therefore, amended independent claims 5 and 6 are also rejected by d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, either singly or in any combination thereof, for at least the same reasons as presented above with regard to amended independent claim 4.
For clarity of record, the Examiner notes regarding previous assertions of the Applicant regarding d1, d2 and/or d3 the following: Firstly, regarding the Assertion: that Cozza is not qualified as proper prior art.
Examiner agrees that he U.S. Provisional Patent Applications No. 63/183,351 and No. 63/192,898 provide dates for which disclosure predates Applicant's filing. However, the Examiner expressly disagrees with any assertion that the provisional application do not include any corresponding descriptions related to paragraph [0157] of Cozza. It appears that Applicant is attempting to correlate a one-for-one correspondence between the disclosure of the aforementioned provisional application to para. 0157 of d3. Such a one-for-one correspondence is not necessary and only support for the paragraph in the provisional applications is required. The Examiner maintains 63/183,351 is supported by at least Figs. 7 and 8 which set forth transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots (see all associated descriptions pointing to Figures 7 and 8, including pages. 17-18, and page 25) wherein the parameters being associated with RRC parameters in rendered obvious in light of at least 63/192,898 pages 31, 33, and 34. The Examiner maintains the subject matter as sufficiently supported by at least the noted sections and maintains d3 as valid prior art according to the prior filing date of the provisional application of d3 as set forth above. The Examiner at this point notes that the other arguments with respect to d1 and d2 are
moot as the Examiner clearly sets forth d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 as meeting the limitations in question. In order to make the record clear the Examiner also notes regarding the Assertion "The Office Action, however, does NOT provide, at least in the "Response to Arguments" section, any specific reasoning that "answers the substance" of Applicant's previously-presented arguments in the Response. Applicant has failed to appropriately characterize Examiner's response and simply makes the unfounded statement because the Applicant appears to simply disagree with the reasoning provided. As to the limitations "wherein the one or more slots are determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided," the Examiner notes that d1 in view of d2 discloses use of parameters which are known in the art to be representative or the equivalent of the required RRC parameter (implying a necessary acquiring) (see d1 para. 0269) wherein PUSCH parameters are transmitted in a plurality of slots (see d1 para. 0267-0270), d1 also discloses determination of the slots based at least on the inclusion of an RRC parameter (see d1 para. 00267-0270) wherein d1 explicitly recites an RRC parameter (see d1 para. 0269). Applicant contends that it describes a repetition number K is determined based on RRC parameter "pusch-AggregationFactor," but does not describe a determination of slot(s) based on the RRC
parameter. The Examiner disagrees. Applicant has improperly narrowed what one of ordinary skill in the art would understand from the teaching of d1, in the context of d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 (which is the grounds on which the limitation is rejected. D1 specifically, and in the paragraphs cited (d1 para. 0266-0270) recite using the parameters for determination of slots at least in: [0267] For example, when the repetition type A is configured/enabled, the wireless device may determine a starting symbol S in a starting slot and a number of consecutive symbols L from the starting symbol S based on a SLIV value. For example, the SLIV value may define SLIV=14*(L-1)+S when (L-1) is smaller than or equal to 7 (half slot based on a normal CP). The SLF value may define SLIV=14*(14-L +1)+(14-1-S) when (L-1) is larger than 7. For example, L would be greater than 0, and may be smaller than or equal to 14-S. In an uplink BWP with an extended CP, 12 OFDM symbols may be assumed for a slot. A SUV value may be determined by 12*(L-1)+S or 12*(12-L+1)+(14-1-S) respectively based on L-1 being smaller than/equal to 6 or larger than 6. For the repetition type A, the configuration parameters may comprise/indicate a Type A or Type B for a PUSCH mapping type. For example, the base station may determine a first OFDM symbol comprising an OM-RS based on a fixed location (e.g., a first symbol of a
slot) when the Type A is configured for the PUSCH mapping type. For example, the base station may determine a first OFDM symbol comprising an OM-RS based on a starting OFDM symbol of the PUSCH in response to the type B being configured for the PUSCH mapping type. [0268] For example, when the repetition type B is configured/enabled, the wireless device may determine
a starting OFDM symbol S in a starting slot, and a number of consecutive OFDM symbols L based on a row of a time domain resource allocation table. For example, the row of the time domain resource allocation table may comprise start Symbol for the starting OFDM symbol S and length for the number of consecutive OFDM symbols L. For the repetition type B, the wireless device may assume that the Type B is configured for the PUSCH mapping type. For example, when a Type A is configured for a PUSCH mapping type, a staring OFDM symbol S, a length L, and S+L may represent one or more values. For example, {S, L, S+L} may be {O, {4, ... , 14}, {4, ... , 14}} for a normal CP, and {O, {4, ... , 12}, {4, ... ,12}} for an extended CP. When a Type B is configured for the PUSCH mapping type, {S, L, S+L} may be {{O, ... , 13}, {1, ... , 14}, {1, ... , 14} for a repetition type A, {1, ... , 27} fora repetition type B} for the normal CP, and {{O, ... , 11}, {1, ... , 12}, {1, ... , 12}} for the extended CP. [0270] For a repetition type A with a repetition number K being larger than 1, a wireless device may apply a starting OFDM symbol S and a length L in a slot across K consecutive slots based on a single transmission layer. The wireless device may repeat a TB across the K consecutive slots applying same OFDM symbols in each slot. A redundancy version (RV) applied on a i-th transmission of the K consecutive slots may be determined based on a repetition type. For example, when an RV value indicated
by a DCI is 0, a second RV value for i-th transmission occasion (when a repetition type A is configured) or i-th actual repetition (when a repetition type Bis configured) may be determined as O for i mod 4=0, 2 for i mod 4=1, 3 for i mod 4=2, 4 for i mod 4=3. When the RV value is 2, the second RV value may be determined as 2 for i mod 4=0, 3 for i mod 4=1, 1 for i mod 4=2, 0 for i mod 4=3. When the RV value is 3, the second RV value may be determined as 3 for i mod 4=0, 1 for i mod 4=1, 0 for i mod 4=2, 0 for i mod 4 =2. When the RV value is 1, the second RV value may be determined as 1 for i mod 4=0, 0 for i mod 4=1, 2 for i mod 4=2, 3 for i mod 4=3.
[0271] For a repetition type A, a PUSCH transmission of a slot over a plurality of slots may be omitted when the slot may not have a sufficient number of uplink OFDM symbols for the PUSCH transmission. For a repetition type B, a wireless device may determine one or more slots for a number of nominal repetition number N. For a i-th nominal repetition, wherein i is 0, ... , N-1, wherein N may be configured by a base station via an RRC signaling or a time domain resource allocation of a DCI. The wireless device may determine a slot. The i-th nominal repetition may start, wherein a slot index would be Ks+floor ((S+il)/N_slot_symbol), and a starting symbol in the slot may be given by mod (S+il, N_slot_symbol). The N_slot_symbol may be 14 with a normal CP and 12 with an extended CP. The S may represent a starting OFDM symbol indicated by a time domain resource allocation field of a DCI and L may represent a length indicated by the time domain resource allocation field of the DCI. The wireless device may determine a second slot wherein the i-th nominal repetition may end wherein a second slot index of the second slot may be determined as Ks+floor ((S+(i+1 )*L -1 )/N_slot_symbol), and an ending symbol in the second slot may be determined as mod (S+(i+1 )*L-1, N_slot_symbol). The Ks may be determined as a starting slot indicated by the time domain resource allocation field of the DCI. [0272] When the wireless device is configured with the repetition type B, the wireless device may determine invalid OFDM symbol for PUSCH repetitions based on a tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon/a tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated and/or an lnvalidSymbolPattern indicated by an RRC signaling. For example, the wireless device may determine a downlink symbol based on the tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon or the tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated as an invalid OFDM symbol for the repetition type B. The base station may transmit the lnvalidSymbolPattern, a bitmap of OFDM symbols over one slot or two slots. A bit of the bitmap may indicate '1' to invalidate a corresponding OFDM symbol. The base station may further configure periodicity And Pattern. A bit of the periodicity And Pattern may correspond to a unit equal to a duration of the bitmap of the lnvalidSymbolPattern. The wireless device may determine invalid OFDM symbol(s) based on the lnvalidSymbolPattern and the periodicityAndPattern. For example, when a PUSCH is scheduled/activated by a non-fallback DCI format such as a DCI format 0_ 1/0_2 and lnvalidSymbolPatternlndicator-ForDCIFormat0_ 1/0_2 is configured, an invalid symbol pattern indicator field may indicate 1, the wireless device may apply an invalid symbol pattern (e.g., lnvalidSymbolPattern).
Otherwise, the wireless device may not apply the invalid symbol pattern. When the
lnvalidSymbolPatternlndicator-ForDCIFormat0_ 1/0_2 is not configured; the wireless device may not apply the invalid symbol pattern. The wireless device may determine remaining OFDM symbols. The remaining OFDM symbols may not comprise invalid OFDM symbol(s), the wireless device may consider the remaining OFDM symbols as valid OFDM symbols. When there is a sufficient number of valid OFDM symbols in a slot to transmit a PUSCH based on a scheduling DCI, the wireless device may determine an actual repetition of a slot wherein the slot may have consecutive sufficient valid consecutive OFDM symbols. The wireless device may skip the actual repetition based on a slot formation indication. The wireless device may apply a redundancy version based on the actual repetition. Wherein the repetitions are adequately connected to the slots such that the broad limitation of 'determination' is met. D1 further discloses same symbol allocation is applied across slots for PUSCH transmission (see d1 para. 0270), and the PUSCH may be limited to a single transmission layer based on the RRC parameter (see d1 para. 0269-0270). It is also suggested RRC parameter use (which implies acquiring of such) (see d2 para. 0005-0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121 ); a PUSCH transmitted in one or more slots (see d2 para. 0035, 0040, 0068); determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC
parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0005- 0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121), wherein the same symbol allocation is applied across the one or more slots for the transmission of the PUSCH (see d2 para. 0066), and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer if the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0066); including wherein d2 also disclose that the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots (see d2 para. 0033, 0040-0041, 0107, 0110, 0174).
Regarding d2, the Examiner maintains the cited sections of d2 indeed recite parameters which act as the first parameter as recited in claim 4 in the very sections noted by the Examiner in at least the disclosure of parameters, such as "pusch-AggregationFactor" and "pusch-RepTypeA-RepFormat." The Reasoning provided in the response addressed the Applicant arguments however the Applicant simply disagreed. D2 suggests RRC parameter use (which implies acquiring of such) (see d2 para. 0005-0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121); PUSCH transmitted in one or more slots (see d2 para. 0035, 0040, 0068); determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0005- 0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121), wherein the same symbol allocation is applied across the one or more slots for
the transmission of the PUSCH (see d2 para. 0066), and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer if the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0066); including wherein d2 also disclose that the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots (see d2 para. 0033, 0040-0041, 0107, 0110, 0174); which the Examiner maintains as meeting the limitation in question. Therefore, the Examiner address all the arguments but dosages with the Applicant regarding what the reference teaches.
However, under any circumstance, Examiner has shown d3 to be valid prior art and according to the recited sections of d3 in combination with d1 in view of d2, teach the limitation as is supported by the provisional application. Applicant did not dispute the teaching of d3 but only support in the provisional application. Examiner has shown the subject matter to be supported and therefore maintains the rejection according to the grounds of rejection set forth in the final rejection of d1 in view of d2 in view of d3.Therefore, at the very least, d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 set forth acquiring an RRC parameter related to transmission of the PUSCH and available slots.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC § 103 Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 4-6 have been considered but are moot because the Applicant has amended to the claims to include limitations which alter the scope of the claims from those previously examined. The Examiner addresses the new limitations, and the arguments pertaining thereto by relying on a new ground of rejection, wherein the newly added references(s) are applied to address the teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In the arguments of 02/17/2026, Applicant asserts the limitations "wherein the one or more slots are determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided," are not taught by d1 in view of d2. The Examiner notes that d1 in view of d2 discloses use of parameters that are fairly construed as RRC parameter (implying a necessary acquiring) (see d1 para. 0269) wherein PUSCH are transmitted in a plurality of slots (see d1 para. 0267-0270), d1 also discloses determination of the slots based at least on the inclusion of an RRC parameter (see d1 para. 00267-0270); wherein a same symbol allocation is applied across slots for PUSCH transmission (see d1 para. 0270), and the PUSCH may be limited to a single transmission layer based on the RRC parameter (see d1 para. 0269-0270). It is also suggested RRC parameter use (which implies acquiring of such) (see d2 para. 0005-0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121); a PUSCH transmitted in one or more slots (see d2 para. 0035, 0040, 0068); determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0005- 0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121), wherein the same symbol allocation is applied across the one or more slots for the transmission of the PUSCH (see d2 para. 0066), and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer if the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0066); including wherein d2 also disclose that the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots (see d2 para. 0033, 0040-0041, 0107, 0110, 0174). Therefore, at the very least, d1 in view of d2 set forth acquiring an RRC parameter related to transmission of the PUSCH and available slots. In order to further demonstrate the limitation is known in the prior art Examiner turns to d3 (US-20220353885) which is combined with the teaching of d1 in view of d2 to add teaching applied to the RRC parameters taught in d1 in view of d2 but more explicitly discloses RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots (see d3 para. 0157).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least to improve reception reliability (see d3 paras. 0077-0078). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (PUSCH techniques) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of higher PUSCH performance, and improved performance in the network (see d3 para. 0077-0078) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of 32 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication US-20220361202 to Yi et al (hereinafter d1) in view of United States Patent Application Publication US-20240089026 to Bhamri et al (hereinafter d2) in view of United States Patent Application Publication US-20220353885 to Cozzo et al (hereinafter d3).
Regarding claim 4, as to the limitations “A use equipment (UE) comprising: higher layer processing circuitry” d1 discloses techniques in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d1 para. 0053), in connection within system (see d1 Fig. 15) comprising at least a UE and BS which comprise elements which are fairly characterized as higher layer processing circuitry (see d1 Fig. 15) which control the devices of the system to execute a method (see d1 Figs. 37);
as to the limitation “acquire a first RRC parameter; and transmission circuitry configured to transmit a PUSCH in one or more slots, wherein the one or more slots are determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided, the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots, the same symbol allocation is applied across the one or more slots for the transmission of the PUSCH, and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer in a case that the first RRC parameter is provided” d1 discloses RRC parameter use (implying a necessary acquiring) of RRC parameters (see d1 para. 0269) wherein PUSCH are transmitted in a plurality of slots (see d1 para. 0267-0270), d1 also discloses determination of the slots based at least on the inclusion of an RRC parameter (see d1 para. 00267-0270); wherein a same symbol allocation is applied across slots for PUSCH transmission (see d1 para. 0270), and the PUSCH may be limited to a single transmission layer based on the RRC parameter (see d1 para. 0269-0270).
D1 may not explicitly disclose the limitation “the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots” above however d1 does disclose counting based on slots which is particularly relevant (see d1 para. 0289) (although, given a broadest reasonable interpretation the limitations may be met by the cited section), in the event that it is determined that d1 does not explicitly disclose any limitation or is in some way disqualified as prior art, attention is directed to d2 which discloses limitation which also meet many of the limitations above as being met by d1 including a first RRC parameter use (which implies acquiring of such) (see d2 para. 0005-0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121); a PUSCH transmitted in one or more slots (see d2 para. 0035, 0040, 0068); determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0005-0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121), wherein the same symbol allocation is applied across the one or more slots for the transmission of the PUSCH (see d2 para. 0066), and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer if the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0066); including wherein d2 also disclose that the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots (see d2 para. 0033, 0040-0041, 0107, 0110, 0174).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least to improve PUSCH performance (see d2 paras. 0034-0037). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (PUSCH techniques) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of higher PUSCH performance, and improved performance in the network (see d2 para. 0034-0037) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
As the limitations "wherein the one or more slots are determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided," are not taught by d1 in view of d2. The Examiner notes that d1 in view of d2 discloses use of parameters that are fairly construed as RRC parameter (implying a necessary acquiring) (see d1 para. 0269) wherein PUSCH are transmitted in a plurality of slots (see d1 para. 0267-0270), d1 also discloses determination of the slots based at least on the inclusion of an RRC parameter (see d1 para. 00267-0270); wherein a same symbol allocation is applied across slots for PUSCH transmission (see d1 para. 0270), and the PUSCH may be limited to a single transmission layer based on the RRC parameter (see d1 para. 0269-0270). It is also suggested RRC parameter use (which implies acquiring of such) (see d2 para. 0005-0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121); a PUSCH transmitted in one or more slots (see d2 para. 0035, 0040, 0068); determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0005- 0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121), wherein the same symbol allocation is applied across the one or more slots for the transmission of the PUSCH (see d2 para. 0066), and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer if the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0066); including wherein d2 also disclose that the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots (see d2 para. 0033, 0040-0041, 0107, 0110, 0174). Therefore, at the very least, d1 in view of d2 set forth acquiring an RRC parameter related to transmission of the PUSCH and available slots. In order to further demonstrate the limitation is known in the prior art Examiner turns to d3 (US-20220353885) which is combined with the teaching of d1 in view of d2 to add teaching applied to the RRC parameters taught in d1 in view of d2 but more explicitly discloses RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots (see d3 para. 0157).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least to improve reception reliability (see d3 paras. 0077-0078). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (PUSCH techniques) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of higher PUSCH performance, and improved performance in the network (see d3 para. 0077-0078) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
As to the limitation “the one or more slots are determined at least based on whether the first RRC parameter is provided, the first RRC parameter indicates that a number of repetitions of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots” D1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests PUCCH repetition enhancements are presented. Regarding coverage enhancements in NR, certain the coverage requirements cannot be fully satisfied with an existing slot-based repetition scheme namely PUSCH repetition type A where multiple repetitions are scheduled on consecutive multiple slots. The actual number of repetitions are usually less than what is indicated/configured to the UE due to unavailability of UL symbols on the scheduled resources. Basically, a transmission occasion for repetition is dropped, if any of the scheduled symbols are unavailable for UL. Based on the current supported slot formats, it is quite rare that the indicated number of repetitions can actually be transmitted. Therefore, for coverage enhancements, one or more options may be specified for increasing the number of actual repetitions for PUSCH repetition type-A and/or by counting the repetitions based on actually available slots for UL. As used herein, the term “a number of” items (e.g., repetitions) refers to a predetermined or specified amount or quantity of the items and not to merely an arbitrary number that may exist (see d2 para. 0035) which may alone render obvious the limitation in question. However, d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 also suggests illustrate example methods for determining a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission according to embodiments of the disclosure (see d3 FIGS. 6-8); example methods for determining available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the disclosure (see d3 FIGS. 9-11); and example method for determining available slots of PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the disclosure (see d3 FIG. 14).
D1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggest that when a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetition Type A and is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit the PUSCH over a number of slots n, the UE transmits a first PUSCH repetition over a first slot that is available for the PUSCH transmission, a second PUSCH repetitions over a next slot available for the PUSCH transmission, and so on until a counting of available slots is n wherein the number of transmitted PUSCH repetitions is also n, or until the counting of consecutive slots is n wherein the number of transmitted PUSCH repetitions can be less or equal to n. A gNB (such as the BS 102) can configure whether the counting of repetitions is based on available slots or on consecutive physical slots. It is also possible that the gNB indicates whether the counting of repetitions is based on available slots or on consecutive physical slots in a DCI format. For example, the gNB can configure a first TDRA table with a number of repetitions that a UE can use when the counting of repetitions is based on available slots, and a second TDRA table with a number of repetitions that a UE can use when the counting of repetitions is based on consecutive physical slots. In another example one TDRA table is configured and the counting of repetitions is indicated in a DCI format (see d3 para. 0081). It is also disclosed that when a UE is configured/indicated to transmit a PUSCH with Type-A repetitions or a PUCCH with repetitions, if a symbol of a slot becomes unavailable for a transmission of a PUSCH or PUCCH repetition in the slot, the UE does not transmit the repetition. The unavailability of a symbol can be due to another transmission in the symbol or due to a reception in the symbol and the repetition that is not transmitted may or may not be counted towards a total number of repetitions for the PUSCH or PUCCH transmission. Accordingly, embodiments of the present disclosure take into consideration that there is a need to determine a slot availability and a counting of repetitions for a PUSCH or PUCCH transmission with repetitions based on an overlap of symbols for a repetition with other transmissions (see d3 para. 0083).
It is noted that the disclosure also includes that when a gNB (such as the BS 102) schedules a PUSCH transmission with repetitions, and a slot is unavailable for transmission of a PUSCH repetition due to transmission in symbols of the slot overlapping with another transmission of larger priority, the repetition is not counted in the number of repetitions. In order to transmit the PUSCH with the N.sub.rep configured/indicated repetitions, additional available slots can be used so that the PUSCH transmission with N.sub.rep repetitions spans over a number of consecutive slots larger than N.sub.rep. Similar, when a repetition of a PUSCH transmission in a slot is canceled by a DCI format providing an uplink cancelation indicator (CI), the repetition is not counted in the number of repetitions. The method 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6 describes an example procedure for a UE to determine a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for PUSCH transmission according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0091-0092).
It is noted that the update of the counting of number of repetitions depends on the number of repetitions per slot. If a UE is configured to transmit a PUSCH with repetition type A, the update of the counting of repetitions in available slots is done in increments of 1. [0096] The method 700 as illustrated in FIG. 5 describes an example procedure for a UE to determine a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for PUSCH transmission when a first and a second transmission have same priority according to the disclosure. Of note, in step 710, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured/indicated to transmit a first PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions in consecutive slots n=1, . . . , N.sub.rep. In step 720, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit a second PUSCH or a PUCCH with repetitions in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. It is noted that the second PUSCH or the PUCCH, respectively, have same priority as the first PUSCH. In step 730, the E transmits N.sub.rep−2 PUSCH repetitions in N.sub.rep−2 consecutive slots and updates the counting of number of PUSCH repetitions for each available slot R=N.sub.rep−2. In step 740, the UE transmits the second PUSCH or the PUCCH in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. In step 750, the UE terminates the first PUSCH transmission (see d3 para. 0091-0097)..
The method 800 as illustrated in FIG. 8 describes an example procedure for a UE to determine a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for PUSCH transmission when a second transmission has larger priority than a first transmission according to the disclosure. In step 810, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured/indicated to transmit a first PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions in consecutive slots n=1, . . . , N.sub.rep. In step 820, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format, or is configured by higher layers, to transmit a second PUSCH or a PUCCH with repetitions in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. It is noted that the second PUSCH or the PUCCH, respectively, has larger priority than the first PUSCH. In step 830, the E transmits N.sub.rep−2 PUSCH repetitions in N.sub.rep−2 consecutive slots and updates the counting of number of PUSCH repetitions for each available slot R=N.sub.rep−2. In step 840, the UE transmits the second PUSCH or the PUCCH in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. In step 850, the UE resumes the first PUSCH transmission after the second PUSCH or PUCCH transmission (see d3 para. 0099-0100).
Regarding FIGS. 9-11 it is disclosed example methods 900, 1000, and 1100, respectively, for determining available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the present disclosure. FIG. 12 illustrates an example method 1200 for a PUCCH transmission with HARQ-ACK information corresponding to a semi-persistently scheduled (SPS) PDSCH reception according to embodiments of the present disclosure. FIG. 13 illustrates an example method 1300 for a semi-static configured PUCCH transmission with CSI information according to embodiments of the present disclosure. FIG. 14 illustrates an example method 1400 for determining available slots of PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In certain embodiments, a determination of an available slot for a PUSCH transmission can be based on an uplink CI provided by a DCI format. When a UE is configured/indicated to transmit a PUSCH with repetitions and detects a DCI format 2_4 including a CI that indicates cancelation of transmissions in time-frequency resources of a slot on a cell that include at least one symbol and at least one resource block (RB) of the PUSCH transmission in the slot on the cell, and the UL CI is applicable for the priority of the PUSCH transmission, the UE cancels the PUSCH repetition in the slot. For example, if a UE is scheduled to transmit a PUSCH with N.sub.rep Type A repetitions in consecutive slots n=1, . . . , N.sub.rep, and receives a DCI format that includes an UL CI indicating suspension of transmissions in time-frequency resources in slot m that include time-frequency resources for a repetition of the PUSCH transmission in slot m and the UL CI is applicable for the priority of the PUSCH transmission, the UE cancels the repetitions in slot m (subject to cancelation timelines being fulfilled), and resumes the repetitions after slot m without counting slot m in the number of slots allocated for repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. When the UL CI is not applicable for the priority of the PUSCH transmission, the UE does not cancel the repetitions in the slot despite the repetition including time-frequency resources that are indicated by the UL CI for cancelation of transmissions in the slot. The method 900, as illustrated in FIG. 9 describes an example for a UE to determine available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0105-0106).
Regarding the method 1000 as illustrated in FIG. 10 describes an example for a UE to determine available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0110).
For example, when a UE (such as the UE 116) is scheduled for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and the first repetition is transmitted in slot n, if the DCI format that adapts the UL-DL slot format is received in a slot prior to the slot where the 1.sup.st PUSCH repetition is scheduled (slot n) and affects any of the slots scheduled for PUSCH repetitions, the change in UL-DL slot format as indicated by the received DCI format is effective over a number of slots comprising the slot with PUSCH repetitions and the transmission of PUSCH repetitions and corresponding counting of repetitions can be based on the slots available for uplink transmission according to the UL-DL slot format by RRC configuration and adaptation by the DCI format, or can be based on the slots available for uplink transmission according to the UL-DL slot format by RRC configuration (see d3 para. 0117).
Regarding the method 1100 as illustrated in FIG. 11 describes an example for a UE to determine available slots for PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure. In step 1110, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided by higher layers an UL-DL TDD configuration over a number of slots. In step 1120, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit a PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions. In step 930, the UE monitors PDCCH for detection of a DCI format 2_0. Here an SFI-index field value in the DCI format 2_0 indicates to a UE a slot format for each slot in a number of slots N.sub.SFI starting from a slot where the UE detects the DCI format 2_0. In step 1140, the UE transmits the PUSCH with repetitions excluding slots where the number of symbols indicated as UL symbols by the SFI is less than the number of symbols of a PUSCH repetition. In step 1150, the UE updates the counting of the number of PUSCH repetitions excluding slots where the UE does not transmit PUSCH based on the determination of an available slot (see d3 para. 0120-0121).
Regarding the method 1400 as illustrated in FIG. 14 illustrates an example for a UE to determine available slots for PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0126).
Regarding step 1510, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided a configuration for a first TDRA table with a first set of numbers of repetitions and a second TDRA table with a second set of numbers of repetitions for PUSCH transmission. Here the first table is associated to a counting of consecutive physical slots and the second table is associated to the counting of available slots. In step 1520, the UE is indicated a TDRA table from the configured TDRA tables in a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission with repetitions. In step 1530, the UE is indicated a value m in a DCI format, wherein the value provides a row index m+1 to the indicated table that provides a number of repetitions. In step 1540, the UE transmits a PUSCH with the indicated number of repetitions by counting repetitions based on the indicated TDRA table. Alternatively, the indication at step 1520 can be in the SIB. In step 1610, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided an UL-DL TDD configuration providing slot formats over a number of slots, and is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetitions. In step 1620, the UE is configured in SIB1 a counting of slots, wherein the counting is based on available slots or consecutive physical slot. In step 1630, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit the PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions. In step 1640, the UE transmits N.sub.rep PUSCH repetitions by using the indicated counting of slots. In step 1710, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetitions and is provided a configuration for a TDRA table with a set of numbers of repetitions. In step 1720, the UE is configured in SIB1 a counting of slots, wherein the counting is based on available slots or consecutive physical slots. In step 1730, the UE is indicated a value m in a DCI format. Here the value provides a row index m+1 to the indicated table that provides a number of repetitions. In step 1740, the UE transmits a PUSCH with the indicated number of repetitions by counting repetitions based on the SIB1 configuration (see d3 para. 0137-0141).
It is noted that in certain embodiments, when a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided an UL-DL TDD configuration over a number of slots, is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetition Type A, is configured to transmit PUSCH repetitions by counting available slots and is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit the PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions, the UE can transmit in up to N.sub.rep slots that are indicate as UL slots by an UL-DL TDD configuration. In addition to the UL-DL TDD configuration, a slot can be unavailable due to other RRC configurations, wherein a slot is configured for transmission of another channel or signal. The actual number of PUSCH repetitions can be smaller than N.sub.rep as a slot determined as available based on one or more RRC configurations, can be unavailable due to one or more symbols in the slot being used for other DL or UL scheduled transmissions and the slot not including a number of consecutive UL symbols for a PUSCH transmission starting from a first symbol as indicated by the SLIV provided by the DCI format. When a UE can transmit a PUSCH repetition in non-consecutive symbols and over multiple slots, a slot can be unavailable when the number of symbols available for PUSCH transmission in a slot is less that a certain number of symbols, for example 2 symbols (see d3 para. 0148).
In step 2110, a UE (such as the UE 116) is indicated/configured to transmit a PUSCH with repetitions over a number of slots. In step 2120 the UE is provided a configuration for counting of repetitions. A count of repetitions can be updated when a slot is determined available based on a first information associated to the configured counting of repetitions. In step 2130 the UE determines a first slot of the number of slots as available based on the first information. In step 2140 the UE determines the first slot of the number of slots as available based on a second information. In step 2150 the UE transmits a PUSCH repetition in the first slot and increments the count of repetitions. It is also possible that whether to update the counting of repetitions based on an availability of a slot to transmit determined by a first information (for example after an RRC configuration that provides a direction for transmission) or based on whether the transmission happens in the slot determined as available, depends on whether the transmission is dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured and/or whether it is a first repetition of the scheduled/configured transmission with repetitions. For example, for a PUSCH transmission with a configured grant, if the first repetition of the PUSCH in the first configured grant period is scheduled in a slot that is available according to the first information but cannot be transmitted based on a second information, the number of repetitions is not updated based on the availability determined by the first information. Thus, the first PUSCH repetition is effectively postponed, not dropped, in case transmission is not possible in the slot. In another example, the counting of repetitions is updated based on the slot availability determined by the first information, regardless of whether the PUSCH repetition of the PUSCH transmission with a configured grant is transmitted in the slot. This corresponds to dropping of a repetition if transmission is not possible in the determined available slot. In yet another example, the UE can assume that the counting of repetitions is updated based on the slot availability determined by the first information and that transmission in the determined available slot is possible. The above example also can apply when the PUSCH transmission with repetitions is scheduled by DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2, or when the PUSCH transmission is scheduled by a DCI format with no repetitions, or when the PUSCH transmission with repetitions is scheduled by random access response (RAR) UL grant (see d3 para. 0160-0161).
Regarding claim 5, as to the limitations “A base station comprising: higher layer processing circuitry configured” d1 discloses techniques in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d1 para. 0053), in connection within system (see d1 Fig. 15) comprising at least a UE and BS which comprise elements which are fairly characterized as higher layer processing circuitry (see d1 Fig. 15) which control the devices of the system to execute a method (see d1 Figs. 37);
as to the limitation “send a first RRC parameter; and reception circuitry configured to receive a PUSCH in one or more slots, wherein the one or more slots are determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided, the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots, the same symbol allocation is applied across the one or more slots for the transmission of the PUSCH, and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer in a case that the first RRC parameter is provided” d1 discloses RRC parameter use (implying a necessary acquiring) of RRC parameters (see d1 para. 0269) wherein PUSCH are transmitted in a plurality of slots (see d1 para. 0267-0270), d1 also discloses determination of the slots based at least on the inclusion of an RRC parameter (see d1 para. 00267-0270); wherein a same symbol allocation is applied across slots for PUSCH transmission (see d1 para. 0270), and the PUSCH may be limited to a single transmission layer based on the RRC parameter (see d1 para. 0269-0270).
D1 may not explicitly disclose the limitation “the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots” above however d1 does disclose counting based on slots which is particularly relevant (see d1 para. 0289) (although, given a broadest reasonable interpretation the limitations may be met by the cited section), in the event that it is determined that d1 does not explicitly disclose any limitation or is in some way disqualified as prior art, attention is directed to d2 which discloses limitation which also meet many of the limitations above as being met by d1 including a first RRC parameter use (which implies acquiring of such) (see d2 para. 0005-0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121); a PUSCH transmitted in one or more slots (see d2 para. 0035, 0040, 0068); determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0005-0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121), wherein the same symbol allocation is applied across the one or more slots for the transmission of the PUSCH (see d2 para. 0066), and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer if the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0066); including wherein d2 also disclose that the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots (see d2 para. 0033, 0040-0041, 0107, 0110, 0174).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least to improve PUSCH performance (see d2 paras. 0034-0037). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (PUSCH techniques) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of higher PUSCH performance, and improved performance in the network (see d2 para. 0034-0037) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
As the limitations "wherein the one or more slots are determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided," are not taught by d1 in view of d2. The Examiner notes that d1 in view of d2 discloses use of parameters that are fairly construed as RRC parameter (implying a necessary acquiring) (see d1 para. 0269) wherein PUSCH are transmitted in a plurality of slots (see d1 para. 0267-0270), d1 also discloses determination of the slots based at least on the inclusion of an RRC parameter (see d1 para. 00267-0270); wherein a same symbol allocation is applied across slots for PUSCH transmission (see d1 para. 0270), and the PUSCH may be limited to a single transmission layer based on the RRC parameter (see d1 para. 0269-0270). It is also suggested RRC parameter use (which implies acquiring of such) (see d2 para. 0005-0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121); a PUSCH transmitted in one or more slots (see d2 para. 0035, 0040, 0068); determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0005- 0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121), wherein the same symbol allocation is applied across the one or more slots for the transmission of the PUSCH (see d2 para. 0066), and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer if the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0066); including wherein d2 also disclose that the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots (see d2 para. 0033, 0040-0041, 0107, 0110, 0174). Therefore, at the very least, d1 in view of d2 set forth acquiring an RRC parameter related to transmission of the PUSCH and available slots. In order to further demonstrate the limitation is known in the prior art Examiner turns to d3 (US-20220353885) which is combined with the teaching of d1 in view of d2 to add teaching applied to the RRC parameters taught in d1 in view of d2 but more explicitly discloses RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots (see d3 para. 0157).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least to improve reception reliability (see d3 paras. 0077-0078). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (PUSCH techniques) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of higher PUSCH performance, and improved performance in the network (see d3 para. 0077-0078) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
As to the limitation “the one or more slots are determined at least based on whether the first RRC parameter is provided, the first RRC parameter indicates that a number of repetitions of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots” D1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests PUCCH repetition enhancements are presented. Regarding coverage enhancements in NR, certain the coverage requirements cannot be fully satisfied with an existing slot-based repetition scheme namely PUSCH repetition type A where multiple repetitions are scheduled on consecutive multiple slots. The actual number of repetitions are usually less than what is indicated/configured to the UE due to unavailability of UL symbols on the scheduled resources. Basically, a transmission occasion for repetition is dropped, if any of the scheduled symbols are unavailable for UL. Based on the current supported slot formats, it is quite rare that the indicated number of repetitions can actually be transmitted. Therefore, for coverage enhancements, one or more options may be specified for increasing the number of actual repetitions for PUSCH repetition type-A and/or by counting the repetitions based on actually available slots for UL. As used herein, the term “a number of” items (e.g., repetitions) refers to a predetermined or specified amount or quantity of the items and not to merely an arbitrary number that may exist (see d2 para. 0035) which may alone render obvious the limitation in question. However, d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 also suggests illustrate example methods for determining a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission according to embodiments of the disclosure (see d3 FIGS. 6-8); example methods for determining available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the disclosure (see d3 FIGS. 9-11); and example method for determining available slots of PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the disclosure (see d3 FIG. 14).
D1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggest that when a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetition Type A and is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit the PUSCH over a number of slots n, the UE transmits a first PUSCH repetition over a first slot that is available for the PUSCH transmission, a second PUSCH repetitions over a next slot available for the PUSCH transmission, and so on until a counting of available slots is n wherein the number of transmitted PUSCH repetitions is also n, or until the counting of consecutive slots is n wherein the number of transmitted PUSCH repetitions can be less or equal to n. A gNB (such as the BS 102) can configure whether the counting of repetitions is based on available slots or on consecutive physical slots. It is also possible that the gNB indicates whether the counting of repetitions is based on available slots or on consecutive physical slots in a DCI format. For example, the gNB can configure a first TDRA table with a number of repetitions that a UE can use when the counting of repetitions is based on available slots, and a second TDRA table with a number of repetitions that a UE can use when the counting of repetitions is based on consecutive physical slots. In another example one TDRA table is configured and the counting of repetitions is indicated in a DCI format (see d3 para. 0081). It is also disclosed that when a UE is configured/indicated to transmit a PUSCH with Type-A repetitions or a PUCCH with repetitions, if a symbol of a slot becomes unavailable for a transmission of a PUSCH or PUCCH repetition in the slot, the UE does not transmit the repetition. The unavailability of a symbol can be due to another transmission in the symbol or due to a reception in the symbol and the repetition that is not transmitted may or may not be counted towards a total number of repetitions for the PUSCH or PUCCH transmission. Accordingly, embodiments of the present disclosure take into consideration that there is a need to determine a slot availability and a counting of repetitions for a PUSCH or PUCCH transmission with repetitions based on an overlap of symbols for a repetition with other transmissions (see d3 para. 0083).
It is noted that the disclosure also includes that when a gNB (such as the BS 102) schedules a PUSCH transmission with repetitions, and a slot is unavailable for transmission of a PUSCH repetition due to transmission in symbols of the slot overlapping with another transmission of larger priority, the repetition is not counted in the number of repetitions. In order to transmit the PUSCH with the N.sub.rep configured/indicated repetitions, additional available slots can be used so that the PUSCH transmission with N.sub.rep repetitions spans over a number of consecutive slots larger than N.sub.rep. Similar, when a repetition of a PUSCH transmission in a slot is canceled by a DCI format providing an uplink cancelation indicator (CI), the repetition is not counted in the number of repetitions. The method 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6 describes an example procedure for a UE to determine a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for PUSCH transmission according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0091-0092).
It is noted that the update of the counting of number of repetitions depends on the number of repetitions per slot. If a UE is configured to transmit a PUSCH with repetition type A, the update of the counting of repetitions in available slots is done in increments of 1. [0096] The method 700 as illustrated in FIG. 5 describes an example procedure for a UE to determine a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for PUSCH transmission when a first and a second transmission have same priority according to the disclosure. Of note, in step 710, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured/indicated to transmit a first PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions in consecutive slots n=1, . . . , N.sub.rep. In step 720, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit a second PUSCH or a PUCCH with repetitions in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. It is noted that the second PUSCH or the PUCCH, respectively, have same priority as the first PUSCH. In step 730, the E transmits N.sub.rep−2 PUSCH repetitions in N.sub.rep−2 consecutive slots and updates the counting of number of PUSCH repetitions for each available slot R=N.sub.rep−2. In step 740, the UE transmits the second PUSCH or the PUCCH in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. In step 750, the UE terminates the first PUSCH transmission (see d3 para. 0091-0097)..
The method 800 as illustrated in FIG. 8 describes an example procedure for a UE to determine a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for PUSCH transmission when a second transmission has larger priority than a first transmission according to the disclosure. In step 810, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured/indicated to transmit a first PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions in consecutive slots n=1, . . . , N.sub.rep. In step 820, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format, or is configured by higher layers, to transmit a second PUSCH or a PUCCH with repetitions in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. It is noted that the second PUSCH or the PUCCH, respectively, has larger priority than the first PUSCH. In step 830, the E transmits N.sub.rep−2 PUSCH repetitions in N.sub.rep−2 consecutive slots and updates the counting of number of PUSCH repetitions for each available slot R=N.sub.rep−2. In step 840, the UE transmits the second PUSCH or the PUCCH in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. In step 850, the UE resumes the first PUSCH transmission after the second PUSCH or PUCCH transmission (see d3 para. 0099-0100).
Regarding FIGS. 9-11 it is disclosed example methods 900, 1000, and 1100, respectively, for determining available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the present disclosure. FIG. 12 illustrates an example method 1200 for a PUCCH transmission with HARQ-ACK information corresponding to a semi-persistently scheduled (SPS) PDSCH reception according to embodiments of the present disclosure. FIG. 13 illustrates an example method 1300 for a semi-static configured PUCCH transmission with CSI information according to embodiments of the present disclosure. FIG. 14 illustrates an example method 1400 for determining available slots of PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In certain embodiments, a determination of an available slot for a PUSCH transmission can be based on an uplink CI provided by a DCI format. When a UE is configured/indicated to transmit a PUSCH with repetitions and detects a DCI format 2_4 including a CI that indicates cancelation of transmissions in time-frequency resources of a slot on a cell that include at least one symbol and at least one resource block (RB) of the PUSCH transmission in the slot on the cell, and the UL CI is applicable for the priority of the PUSCH transmission, the UE cancels the PUSCH repetition in the slot. For example, if a UE is scheduled to transmit a PUSCH with N.sub.rep Type A repetitions in consecutive slots n=1, . . . , N.sub.rep, and receives a DCI format that includes an UL CI indicating suspension of transmissions in time-frequency resources in slot m that include time-frequency resources for a repetition of the PUSCH transmission in slot m and the UL CI is applicable for the priority of the PUSCH transmission, the UE cancels the repetitions in slot m (subject to cancelation timelines being fulfilled), and resumes the repetitions after slot m without counting slot m in the number of slots allocated for repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. When the UL CI is not applicable for the priority of the PUSCH transmission, the UE does not cancel the repetitions in the slot despite the repetition including time-frequency resources that are indicated by the UL CI for cancelation of transmissions in the slot. The method 900, as illustrated in FIG. 9 describes an example for a UE to determine available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0105-0106).
Regarding the method 1000 as illustrated in FIG. 10 describes an example for a UE to determine available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0110).
For example, when a UE (such as the UE 116) is scheduled for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and the first repetition is transmitted in slot n, if the DCI format that adapts the UL-DL slot format is received in a slot prior to the slot where the 1.sup.st PUSCH repetition is scheduled (slot n) and affects any of the slots scheduled for PUSCH repetitions, the change in UL-DL slot format as indicated by the received DCI format is effective over a number of slots comprising the slot with PUSCH repetitions and the transmission of PUSCH repetitions and corresponding counting of repetitions can be based on the slots available for uplink transmission according to the UL-DL slot format by RRC configuration and adaptation by the DCI format, or can be based on the slots available for uplink transmission according to the UL-DL slot format by RRC configuration (see d3 para. 0117).
Regarding the method 1100 as illustrated in FIG. 11 describes an example for a UE to determine available slots for PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure. In step 1110, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided by higher layers an UL-DL TDD configuration over a number of slots. In step 1120, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit a PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions. In step 930, the UE monitors PDCCH for detection of a DCI format 2_0. Here an SFI-index field value in the DCI format 2_0 indicates to a UE a slot format for each slot in a number of slots N.sub.SFI starting from a slot where the UE detects the DCI format 2_0. In step 1140, the UE transmits the PUSCH with repetitions excluding slots where the number of symbols indicated as UL symbols by the SFI is less than the number of symbols of a PUSCH repetition. In step 1150, the UE updates the counting of the number of PUSCH repetitions excluding slots where the UE does not transmit PUSCH based on the determination of an available slot (see d3 para. 0120-0121).
Regarding the method 1400 as illustrated in FIG. 14 illustrates an example for a UE to determine available slots for PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0126).
Regarding step 1510, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided a configuration for a first TDRA table with a first set of numbers of repetitions and a second TDRA table with a second set of numbers of repetitions for PUSCH transmission. Here the first table is associated to a counting of consecutive physical slots and the second table is associated to the counting of available slots. In step 1520, the UE is indicated a TDRA table from the configured TDRA tables in a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission with repetitions. In step 1530, the UE is indicated a value m in a DCI format, wherein the value provides a row index m+1 to the indicated table that provides a number of repetitions. In step 1540, the UE transmits a PUSCH with the indicated number of repetitions by counting repetitions based on the indicated TDRA table. Alternatively, the indication at step 1520 can be in the SIB. In step 1610, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided an UL-DL TDD configuration providing slot formats over a number of slots, and is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetitions. In step 1620, the UE is configured in SIB1 a counting of slots, wherein the counting is based on available slots or consecutive physical slot. In step 1630, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit the PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions. In step 1640, the UE transmits N.sub.rep PUSCH repetitions by using the indicated counting of slots. In step 1710, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetitions and is provided a configuration for a TDRA table with a set of numbers of repetitions. In step 1720, the UE is configured in SIB1 a counting of slots, wherein the counting is based on available slots or consecutive physical slots. In step 1730, the UE is indicated a value m in a DCI format. Here the value provides a row index m+1 to the indicated table that provides a number of repetitions. In step 1740, the UE transmits a PUSCH with the indicated number of repetitions by counting repetitions based on the SIB1 configuration (see d3 para. 0137-0141).
It is noted that in certain embodiments, when a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided an UL-DL TDD configuration over a number of slots, is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetition Type A, is configured to transmit PUSCH repetitions by counting available slots and is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit the PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions, the UE can transmit in up to N.sub.rep slots that are indicate as UL slots by an UL-DL TDD configuration. In addition to the UL-DL TDD configuration, a slot can be unavailable due to other RRC configurations, wherein a slot is configured for transmission of another channel or signal. The actual number of PUSCH repetitions can be smaller than N.sub.rep as a slot determined as available based on one or more RRC configurations, can be unavailable due to one or more symbols in the slot being used for other DL or UL scheduled transmissions and the slot not including a number of consecutive UL symbols for a PUSCH transmission starting from a first symbol as indicated by the SLIV provided by the DCI format. When a UE can transmit a PUSCH repetition in non-consecutive symbols and over multiple slots, a slot can be unavailable when the number of symbols available for PUSCH transmission in a slot is less that a certain number of symbols, for example 2 symbols (see d3 para. 0148).
In step 2110, a UE (such as the UE 116) is indicated/configured to transmit a PUSCH with repetitions over a number of slots. In step 2120 the UE is provided a configuration for counting of repetitions. A count of repetitions can be updated when a slot is determined available based on a first information associated to the configured counting of repetitions. In step 2130 the UE determines a first slot of the number of slots as available based on the first information. In step 2140 the UE determines the first slot of the number of slots as available based on a second information. In step 2150 the UE transmits a PUSCH repetition in the first slot and increments the count of repetitions. It is also possible that whether to update the counting of repetitions based on an availability of a slot to transmit determined by a first information (for example after an RRC configuration that provides a direction for transmission) or based on whether the transmission happens in the slot determined as available, depends on whether the transmission is dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured and/or whether it is a first repetition of the scheduled/configured transmission with repetitions. For example, for a PUSCH transmission with a configured grant, if the first repetition of the PUSCH in the first configured grant period is scheduled in a slot that is available according to the first information but cannot be transmitted based on a second information, the number of repetitions is not updated based on the availability determined by the first information. Thus, the first PUSCH repetition is effectively postponed, not dropped, in case transmission is not possible in the slot. In another example, the counting of repetitions is updated based on the slot availability determined by the first information, regardless of whether the PUSCH repetition of the PUSCH transmission with a configured grant is transmitted in the slot. This corresponds to dropping of a repetition if transmission is not possible in the determined available slot. In yet another example, the UE can assume that the counting of repetitions is updated based on the slot availability determined by the first information and that transmission in the determined available slot is possible. The above example also can apply when the PUSCH transmission with repetitions is scheduled by DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2, or when the PUSCH transmission is scheduled by a DCI format with no repetitions, or when the PUSCH transmission with repetitions is scheduled by random access response (RAR) UL grant (see d3 para. 0160-0161).
Regarding claim 6, as to the limitations “A method for a use equipment (UE)” d1 discloses techniques in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d1 para. 0053), in connection within system (see d1 Fig. 15) comprising at least a UE and BS which comprise elements which are fairly characterized as higher layer processing circuitry (see d1 Fig. 15) which control the devices of the system to execute a method (see d1 Figs. 37);
as to the limitation “acquiring a first RRC parameter; and transmitting a PUSCH in one or more slots, wherein the one or more slots are determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided, the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots, the same symbol allocation is applied across the one or more slots for the transmission of the PUSCH, and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer in a case that the first RRC parameter is provided” d1 discloses RRC parameter use (implying a necessary acquiring) of RRC parameters (see d1 para. 0269) wherein PUSCH are transmitted in a plurality of slots (see d1 para. 0267-0270), d1 also discloses determination of the slots based at least on the inclusion of an RRC parameter (see d1 para. 00267-0270); wherein a same symbol allocation is applied across slots for PUSCH transmission (see d1 para. 0270), and the PUSCH may be limited to a single transmission layer based on the RRC parameter (see d1 para. 0269-0270).
D1 may not explicitly disclose the limitation “the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots” above however d1 does disclose counting based on slots which is particularly relevant (see d1 para. 0289) (although, given a broadest reasonable interpretation the limitations may be met by the cited section), in the event that it is determined that d1 does not explicitly disclose any limitation or is in some way disqualified as prior art, attention is directed to d2 which discloses limitation which also meet many of the limitations above as being met by d1 including a first RRC parameter use (which implies acquiring of such) (see d2 para. 0005-0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121); a PUSCH transmitted in one or more slots (see d2 para. 0035, 0040, 0068); determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0005-0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121), wherein the same symbol allocation is applied across the one or more slots for the transmission of the PUSCH (see d2 para. 0066), and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer if the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0066); including wherein d2 also disclose that the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots (see d2 para. 0033, 0040-0041, 0107, 0110, 0174).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least to improve PUSCH performance (see d2 paras. 0034-0037). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D2 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (PUSCH techniques) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of higher PUSCH performance, and improved performance in the network (see d2 para. 0034-0037) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d2 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 is considered as a whole and not individually.
As the limitations "wherein the one or more slots are determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided," are not taught by d1 in view of d2. The Examiner notes that d1 in view of d2 discloses use of parameters that are fairly construed as RRC parameter (implying a necessary acquiring) (see d1 para. 0269) wherein PUSCH are transmitted in a plurality of slots (see d1 para. 0267-0270), d1 also discloses determination of the slots based at least on the inclusion of an RRC parameter (see d1 para. 00267-0270); wherein a same symbol allocation is applied across slots for PUSCH transmission (see d1 para. 0270), and the PUSCH may be limited to a single transmission layer based on the RRC parameter (see d1 para. 0269-0270). It is also suggested RRC parameter use (which implies acquiring of such) (see d2 para. 0005-0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121); a PUSCH transmitted in one or more slots (see d2 para. 0035, 0040, 0068); determined at least based on whether or not the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0005- 0006, 0071, 0073, 0109, 0121), wherein the same symbol allocation is applied across the one or more slots for the transmission of the PUSCH (see d2 para. 0066), and the PUSCH is limited to a single transmission layer if the first RRC parameter is provided (see d2 para. 0066); including wherein d2 also disclose that the first RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots (see d2 para. 0033, 0040-0041, 0107, 0110, 0174). Therefore, at the very least, d1 in view of d2 set forth acquiring an RRC parameter related to transmission of the PUSCH and available slots. In order to further demonstrate the limitation is known in the prior art Examiner turns to d3 (US-20220353885) which is combined with the teaching of d1 in view of d2 to add teaching applied to the RRC parameters taught in d1 in view of d2 but more explicitly discloses RRC parameter indicates that transmission of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots (see d3 para. 0157).
One of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date would be motivated to combine the teaching of d1 and d2 with d3 to arrive at the Applicant’s invention, according to the ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art, which would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including at least to improve reception reliability (see d3 paras. 0077-0078). The combination would also yield reasonable expectation of success as the techniques are applied in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) and employ similar techniques. D3 is related to d1 in a similar field of endeavor (PUSCH techniques) and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to apply the known techniques of d2 to the implementation of d1 to yield the predictable result of higher PUSCH performance, and improved performance in the network (see d3 para. 0077-0078) with no undue experimentation and without altering the function thereof, wherein both techniques were known and used as of the effective filing date. It is also noted that many of the noted sections of d3 can equally be applied to the other limitations of the claims rejected under this section when d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 is considered as a whole and not individually.
As to the limitation “the one or more slots are determined at least based on whether the first RRC parameter is provided, the first RRC parameter indicates that a number of repetitions of the PUSCH is counted based on available slots” D1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests PUCCH repetition enhancements are presented. Regarding coverage enhancements in NR, certain the coverage requirements cannot be fully satisfied with an existing slot-based repetition scheme namely PUSCH repetition type A where multiple repetitions are scheduled on consecutive multiple slots. The actual number of repetitions are usually less than what is indicated/configured to the UE due to unavailability of UL symbols on the scheduled resources. Basically, a transmission occasion for repetition is dropped, if any of the scheduled symbols are unavailable for UL. Based on the current supported slot formats, it is quite rare that the indicated number of repetitions can actually be transmitted. Therefore, for coverage enhancements, one or more options may be specified for increasing the number of actual repetitions for PUSCH repetition type-A and/or by counting the repetitions based on actually available slots for UL. As used herein, the term “a number of” items (e.g., repetitions) refers to a predetermined or specified amount or quantity of the items and not to merely an arbitrary number that may exist (see d2 para. 0035) which may alone render obvious the limitation in question. However, d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 also suggests illustrate example methods for determining a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission according to embodiments of the disclosure (see d3 FIGS. 6-8); example methods for determining available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the disclosure (see d3 FIGS. 9-11); and example method for determining available slots of PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the disclosure (see d3 FIG. 14).
D1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggest that when a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetition Type A and is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit the PUSCH over a number of slots n, the UE transmits a first PUSCH repetition over a first slot that is available for the PUSCH transmission, a second PUSCH repetitions over a next slot available for the PUSCH transmission, and so on until a counting of available slots is n wherein the number of transmitted PUSCH repetitions is also n, or until the counting of consecutive slots is n wherein the number of transmitted PUSCH repetitions can be less or equal to n. A gNB (such as the BS 102) can configure whether the counting of repetitions is based on available slots or on consecutive physical slots. It is also possible that the gNB indicates whether the counting of repetitions is based on available slots or on consecutive physical slots in a DCI format. For example, the gNB can configure a first TDRA table with a number of repetitions that a UE can use when the counting of repetitions is based on available slots, and a second TDRA table with a number of repetitions that a UE can use when the counting of repetitions is based on consecutive physical slots. In another example one TDRA table is configured and the counting of repetitions is indicated in a DCI format (see d3 para. 0081). It is also disclosed that when a UE is configured/indicated to transmit a PUSCH with Type-A repetitions or a PUCCH with repetitions, if a symbol of a slot becomes unavailable for a transmission of a PUSCH or PUCCH repetition in the slot, the UE does not transmit the repetition. The unavailability of a symbol can be due to another transmission in the symbol or due to a reception in the symbol and the repetition that is not transmitted may or may not be counted towards a total number of repetitions for the PUSCH or PUCCH transmission. Accordingly, embodiments of the present disclosure take into consideration that there is a need to determine a slot availability and a counting of repetitions for a PUSCH or PUCCH transmission with repetitions based on an overlap of symbols for a repetition with other transmissions (see d3 para. 0083).
It is noted that the disclosure also includes that when a gNB (such as the BS 102) schedules a PUSCH transmission with repetitions, and a slot is unavailable for transmission of a PUSCH repetition due to transmission in symbols of the slot overlapping with another transmission of larger priority, the repetition is not counted in the number of repetitions. In order to transmit the PUSCH with the N.sub.rep configured/indicated repetitions, additional available slots can be used so that the PUSCH transmission with N.sub.rep repetitions spans over a number of consecutive slots larger than N.sub.rep. Similar, when a repetition of a PUSCH transmission in a slot is canceled by a DCI format providing an uplink cancelation indicator (CI), the repetition is not counted in the number of repetitions. The method 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6 describes an example procedure for a UE to determine a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for PUSCH transmission according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0091-0092).
It is noted that the update of the counting of number of repetitions depends on the number of repetitions per slot. If a UE is configured to transmit a PUSCH with repetition type A, the update of the counting of repetitions in available slots is done in increments of 1. [0096] The method 700 as illustrated in FIG. 5 describes an example procedure for a UE to determine a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for PUSCH transmission when a first and a second transmission have same priority according to the disclosure. Of note, in step 710, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured/indicated to transmit a first PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions in consecutive slots n=1, . . . , N.sub.rep. In step 720, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit a second PUSCH or a PUCCH with repetitions in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. It is noted that the second PUSCH or the PUCCH, respectively, have same priority as the first PUSCH. In step 730, the E transmits N.sub.rep−2 PUSCH repetitions in N.sub.rep−2 consecutive slots and updates the counting of number of PUSCH repetitions for each available slot R=N.sub.rep−2. In step 740, the UE transmits the second PUSCH or the PUCCH in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. In step 750, the UE terminates the first PUSCH transmission (see d3 para. 0091-0097)..
The method 800 as illustrated in FIG. 8 describes an example procedure for a UE to determine a counting of a number of repetitions based on the availability of a slot for PUSCH transmission when a second transmission has larger priority than a first transmission according to the disclosure. In step 810, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured/indicated to transmit a first PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions in consecutive slots n=1, . . . , N.sub.rep. In step 820, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format, or is configured by higher layers, to transmit a second PUSCH or a PUCCH with repetitions in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. It is noted that the second PUSCH or the PUCCH, respectively, has larger priority than the first PUSCH. In step 830, the E transmits N.sub.rep−2 PUSCH repetitions in N.sub.rep−2 consecutive slots and updates the counting of number of PUSCH repetitions for each available slot R=N.sub.rep−2. In step 840, the UE transmits the second PUSCH or the PUCCH in slots n=N.sub.rep−1, N.sub.rep. In step 850, the UE resumes the first PUSCH transmission after the second PUSCH or PUCCH transmission (see d3 para. 0099-0100).
Regarding FIGS. 9-11 it is disclosed example methods 900, 1000, and 1100, respectively, for determining available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the present disclosure. FIG. 12 illustrates an example method 1200 for a PUCCH transmission with HARQ-ACK information corresponding to a semi-persistently scheduled (SPS) PDSCH reception according to embodiments of the present disclosure. FIG. 13 illustrates an example method 1300 for a semi-static configured PUCCH transmission with CSI information according to embodiments of the present disclosure. FIG. 14 illustrates an example method 1400 for determining available slots of PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In certain embodiments, a determination of an available slot for a PUSCH transmission can be based on an uplink CI provided by a DCI format. When a UE is configured/indicated to transmit a PUSCH with repetitions and detects a DCI format 2_4 including a CI that indicates cancelation of transmissions in time-frequency resources of a slot on a cell that include at least one symbol and at least one resource block (RB) of the PUSCH transmission in the slot on the cell, and the UL CI is applicable for the priority of the PUSCH transmission, the UE cancels the PUSCH repetition in the slot. For example, if a UE is scheduled to transmit a PUSCH with N.sub.rep Type A repetitions in consecutive slots n=1, . . . , N.sub.rep, and receives a DCI format that includes an UL CI indicating suspension of transmissions in time-frequency resources in slot m that include time-frequency resources for a repetition of the PUSCH transmission in slot m and the UL CI is applicable for the priority of the PUSCH transmission, the UE cancels the repetitions in slot m (subject to cancelation timelines being fulfilled), and resumes the repetitions after slot m without counting slot m in the number of slots allocated for repetitions of the PUSCH transmission. When the UL CI is not applicable for the priority of the PUSCH transmission, the UE does not cancel the repetitions in the slot despite the repetition including time-frequency resources that are indicated by the UL CI for cancelation of transmissions in the slot. The method 900, as illustrated in FIG. 9 describes an example for a UE to determine available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0105-0106).
Regarding the method 1000 as illustrated in FIG. 10 describes an example for a UE to determine available slots for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0110).
For example, when a UE (such as the UE 116) is scheduled for a PUSCH transmission with repetitions and the first repetition is transmitted in slot n, if the DCI format that adapts the UL-DL slot format is received in a slot prior to the slot where the 1.sup.st PUSCH repetition is scheduled (slot n) and affects any of the slots scheduled for PUSCH repetitions, the change in UL-DL slot format as indicated by the received DCI format is effective over a number of slots comprising the slot with PUSCH repetitions and the transmission of PUSCH repetitions and corresponding counting of repetitions can be based on the slots available for uplink transmission according to the UL-DL slot format by RRC configuration and adaptation by the DCI format, or can be based on the slots available for uplink transmission according to the UL-DL slot format by RRC configuration (see d3 para. 0117).
Regarding the method 1100 as illustrated in FIG. 11 describes an example for a UE to determine available slots for PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure. In step 1110, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided by higher layers an UL-DL TDD configuration over a number of slots. In step 1120, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit a PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions. In step 930, the UE monitors PDCCH for detection of a DCI format 2_0. Here an SFI-index field value in the DCI format 2_0 indicates to a UE a slot format for each slot in a number of slots N.sub.SFI starting from a slot where the UE detects the DCI format 2_0. In step 1140, the UE transmits the PUSCH with repetitions excluding slots where the number of symbols indicated as UL symbols by the SFI is less than the number of symbols of a PUSCH repetition. In step 1150, the UE updates the counting of the number of PUSCH repetitions excluding slots where the UE does not transmit PUSCH based on the determination of an available slot (see d3 para. 0120-0121).
Regarding the method 1400 as illustrated in FIG. 14 illustrates an example for a UE to determine available slots for PUSCH transmission with repetitions and a counting of the number of repetitions according to the disclosure (see d3 para. 0126).
Regarding step 1510, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided a configuration for a first TDRA table with a first set of numbers of repetitions and a second TDRA table with a second set of numbers of repetitions for PUSCH transmission. Here the first table is associated to a counting of consecutive physical slots and the second table is associated to the counting of available slots. In step 1520, the UE is indicated a TDRA table from the configured TDRA tables in a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission with repetitions. In step 1530, the UE is indicated a value m in a DCI format, wherein the value provides a row index m+1 to the indicated table that provides a number of repetitions. In step 1540, the UE transmits a PUSCH with the indicated number of repetitions by counting repetitions based on the indicated TDRA table. Alternatively, the indication at step 1520 can be in the SIB. In step 1610, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided an UL-DL TDD configuration providing slot formats over a number of slots, and is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetitions. In step 1620, the UE is configured in SIB1 a counting of slots, wherein the counting is based on available slots or consecutive physical slot. In step 1630, the UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit the PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions. In step 1640, the UE transmits N.sub.rep PUSCH repetitions by using the indicated counting of slots. In step 1710, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetitions and is provided a configuration for a TDRA table with a set of numbers of repetitions. In step 1720, the UE is configured in SIB1 a counting of slots, wherein the counting is based on available slots or consecutive physical slots. In step 1730, the UE is indicated a value m in a DCI format. Here the value provides a row index m+1 to the indicated table that provides a number of repetitions. In step 1740, the UE transmits a PUSCH with the indicated number of repetitions by counting repetitions based on the SIB1 configuration (see d3 para. 0137-0141).
It is noted that in certain embodiments, when a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided an UL-DL TDD configuration over a number of slots, is configured for PUSCH transmission with repetition Type A, is configured to transmit PUSCH repetitions by counting available slots and is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit the PUSCH with N.sub.rep repetitions, the UE can transmit in up to N.sub.rep slots that are indicate as UL slots by an UL-DL TDD configuration. In addition to the UL-DL TDD configuration, a slot can be unavailable due to other RRC configurations, wherein a slot is configured for transmission of another channel or signal. The actual number of PUSCH repetitions can be smaller than N.sub.rep as a slot determined as available based on one or more RRC configurations, can be unavailable due to one or more symbols in the slot being used for other DL or UL scheduled transmissions and the slot not including a number of consecutive UL symbols for a PUSCH transmission starting from a first symbol as indicated by the SLIV provided by the DCI format. When a UE can transmit a PUSCH repetition in non-consecutive symbols and over multiple slots, a slot can be unavailable when the number of symbols available for PUSCH transmission in a slot is less that a certain number of symbols, for example 2 symbols (see d3 para. 0148).
In step 2110, a UE (such as the UE 116) is indicated/configured to transmit a PUSCH with repetitions over a number of slots. In step 2120 the UE is provided a configuration for counting of repetitions. A count of repetitions can be updated when a slot is determined available based on a first information associated to the configured counting of repetitions. In step 2130 the UE determines a first slot of the number of slots as available based on the first information. In step 2140 the UE determines the first slot of the number of slots as available based on a second information. In step 2150 the UE transmits a PUSCH repetition in the first slot and increments the count of repetitions. It is also possible that whether to update the counting of repetitions based on an availability of a slot to transmit determined by a first information (for example after an RRC configuration that provides a direction for transmission) or based on whether the transmission happens in the slot determined as available, depends on whether the transmission is dynamically scheduled or semi-statically configured and/or whether it is a first repetition of the scheduled/configured transmission with repetitions. For example, for a PUSCH transmission with a configured grant, if the first repetition of the PUSCH in the first configured grant period is scheduled in a slot that is available according to the first information but cannot be transmitted based on a second information, the number of repetitions is not updated based on the availability determined by the first information. Thus, the first PUSCH repetition is effectively postponed, not dropped, in case transmission is not possible in the slot. In another example, the counting of repetitions is updated based on the slot availability determined by the first information, regardless of whether the PUSCH repetition of the PUSCH transmission with a configured grant is transmitted in the slot. This corresponds to dropping of a repetition if transmission is not possible in the determined available slot. In yet another example, the UE can assume that the counting of repetitions is updated based on the slot availability determined by the first information and that transmission in the determined available slot is possible. The above example also can apply when the PUSCH transmission with repetitions is scheduled by DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2, or when the PUSCH transmission is scheduled by a DCI format with no repetitions, or when the PUSCH transmission with repetitions is scheduled by random access response (RAR) UL grant (see d3 para. 0160-0161).
Contact Information
/NATHAN S TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643