DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, lines 2 and 3 of claim 1 recite “a plurality of module segments, including at least first, second, and third ones of the module segments (1a, 1b, 1c),” and lines 3 and 4 of claim 1 recite “each of the first, second, and third module segments (1a – 1l),” therefore, the meaning of the recitation of “(1a - 1l)” is unclear because lines 2 and 3 specify “(1a, 1b, 1c)” correspond to the recited “at least first, second, and third ones of the module segments.” It is noted that claim 1 recites “(1a – 1l)” in conjunction with the first, second, and third module segments in other limitations recited in the claim. Claims 2-9 are rejected due to their respective dependence on claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 2 recites the limitation “at least fourth and fifth module segments (1a – 1l),” however, the manner in which “(1a – 1l)” limits the claim is unclear.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, line 2 of claim 3 recites “(1a – 1l),” however, the manner in which “(1a – 1l)” limits the claim is unclear.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, line 3 of claim 3 recites “angle ranges,” however, it is unclear as to whether the limitation is referring to the previously recited “tilt angle ranges,” or whether the limitation refers to angle ranges in addition to the previously recited “tilt angle ranges.”
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, line 2 of claim 4 recites “(1a – 1l),” however, the manner in which “(1a – 1l)” limits the claim is unclear.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, line 2 of claim 6 recites “(1c, 1d, 1i, 1h),” however, the manner in which “(1c, 1d, 1i, 1h)” limits the claim is unclear. Claim 7 is rejected due to its dependence on claim 6.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, line 2 of claim 7 recites “(1c, 1d, 1i, 1h),” however, the manner in which “(1c, 1d, 1i, 1h)” limits the claim is unclear. Additionally, line 3 of claim 7 recites “(1a, 1b),” however, the manner in which “(1a, 1b)” limits the claim is unclear.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, line 2 of claim 9 recites “(1c, 1d, 1i, 1h),” however, the manner in which “(1c, 1d, 1i, 1h)” limits the claim is unclear.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, lines 10 through 17 of claim 1 recite “each of the solar cells (2) is assigned a tilt angle, which corresponds to an angle between the solar cell normal vector of the solar cell (2) and the solar cell module normal vector (4); each of the first, second, and third module segments is assigned a tilt angle range, limits of which are defined by minimum and maximum tilt angles of the solar cells (2) of the respective first, second, or third module segment (1a – 1l); the tilt angle ranges of at least two of the first, second and third module segments (1a – 1l) are non-overlapping;” and lines 25 through 27 of claim 1 recite “each of the plurality of module segments (1a, 1b, 1c) has an angle span defined as a difference between a minimum and maximum tilt angle of the respective module segment, that is less than 15°,” therefore, it is unclear as to whether the “angle span” recited in line 25 of claim 1 is referring to the previously recited “tilt angle range,” or whether the “angle span” recited in line 25 is referring to “a difference between a minimum and maximum tilt angle of the respective module segment” which is different from the previously recited “limits of which are defined by minimum and maximum tilt angles of the solar cells (2) of the respective first, second, or third module segment (1a – 1l).” Claims 2-9 are rejected due to their respective dependence on claim 1.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, line 26 of claim 1 refers to “a minimum and maximum tilt angle,” however, the limitation “tilt angle” is not clear and renders the claim indefinite. While claim 1 previously specifies each of the solar cells of the first, second, and third module segments is assigned a tilt angle, which corresponds to an angle between the solar cell normal vector of the solar cell and the solar cell module normal vector; claim 1 does not specify a tilt angle of each of the plurality of module segments. Claims 2-9 are rejected due to their respective dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walsh et al. (US 2012/0133322 A1) in view of Tayagaki et al. (“Comparative Study of Power Generation in Curved Photovoltaic Modules of Series- and Parallel-Connected Solar Cells”).
Regarding claim 1, Walsh discloses a solar cell module comprising: a plurality of module segments including at least first, second, and third one of the module segments ([0028] discloses four sections), each of the first, second, and third module segments having a plurality of photovoltaic solar cells interconnected in series ([0028]); the solar cells of the first, second, and third module segments are arranged on a curved carrier element ([0035]; Fig. 1); the first, second, and third module segments are interconnected in parallel (Fig. 7); each of the first, second, and third module segments has a same number of the solar cells ([0028]).
Walsh does not explicitly disclose each of the solar cells is assigned a solar cell normal vector, the solar cell module is assigned a solar cell module normal vector which corresponds to a vectorial mean value of the solar cell normal vectors; each of the solar cells is assigned a tilt angle, which corresponds to an angle between the solar cell normal vector of the solar cell and the solar cell module normal vector; the tilt angle ranges of at least two of the first, second, and third module segments are non-overlapping.
Tayagaki discloses a solar cell module and further discloses a tilt angle for each solar cell in the module (Fig. 2(a) and (b); lines 4 and 5 of the first paragraph of the right column on page 709). Additionally, Tayagaki discloses the selection of solar cell interconnections should be discussed by considering the design of the curved surface and irradiation conditions (Section V. Conclusion – page 713). Further, Tayagaki discloses optimization of the solar cell size, tilted angles between solar cells, and curvature radius of the module based on the energy yield analysis using more realistic conditions (first full paragraph of left column on page 713).
As the manufacturing cost (solar cell size) and the operating efficiency (energy yield) are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said tilt angle between solar cells, the precise tilt angle between solar cells, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed solar cell module normal vector corresponding to a vectorial mean value of the solar cell normal vectors cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the vectorial mean value to the solar cell normal vectors (tilt angles) in the apparatus of Walsh to obtain the desired balance between the manufacturing cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding the limitation “each of the solar cells of each of said first, second, and third module segment is arranged directly adjacent to at least one other one of the solar cells of the same module segment,” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form each of the solar cells of each of said first, second, and third module segments of modified Walsh such that it is arranged directly adjacent to at least one other one of the solar cell of the same module segment because such a modification amounts to the rearrangement of parts and it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
With regard to the limitation “each of the first, second, and third module segments is assigned a tilt angle range, limits of which are defined by minimum and maximum tilt angles of the solar cells of the respective first, second, or third module segment,” the limitation is directed to the manner in which the apparatus is made, and it is noted that said limitations are not given patentable weight in the product claims. Even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself and does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
While modified Walsh does not explicitly each of the plurality of module segments has an angle span defined as a difference between a minimum and maximum tilt angle of the respective module segment that is less than 15°, as the manufacturing cost (solar cell size) and the operating efficiency (energy yield) are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said tilt angle between solar cells, the precise tilt angle between solar cells, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed angle span cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the angle span in the apparatus of modified Walsh to obtain the desired balance between the manufacturing cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 2, modified Walsh discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Walsh does disclose the solar panel 14 is split into a plurality of modules 22, such as four in this example (Walsh - [0035] L6-7), modified Walsh does not explicitly disclose the solar cell module has at least fourth and fifth module segments.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include, in the plurality of modules 22 of Walsh ([0035] L6-7), at least fourth and fifth module segments, because mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper
Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 3, modified Walsh discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Walsh does not explicitly disclose the solar cell module has at least the first, second, and third module segment having non-overlapping angle ranges, Tayagaki discloses a solar cell module and further discloses a tilt angle for each solar cell in the module (Fig. 2(a) and (b); lines 4 and 5 of the first paragraph of the right column on page 709). Additionally, Tayagaki discloses the selection of solar cell interconnections should be discussed by considering the design of the curved surface and irradiation conditions (Section V. Conclusion – page 713). Further, Tayagaki discloses optimization of the solar cell size, tilted angles between solar cells, and curvature radius of the module based on the energy yield analysis using more realistic conditions (first full paragraph of left column on page 713).
As the manufacturing cost (solar cell size) and the operating efficiency (energy yield) are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said tilt angle between solar cells, the precise tilt angle between solar cells, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed non-overlapping angle ranges of the at least first, second, and third module segments cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the angle ranges of the at least first, second, and third module segments in the apparatus of modified Walsh to obtain the desired balance between the manufacturing cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 4, modified Walsh discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Walsh further discloses all of the module segments of the solar cell module have a same number of the solar cells (Walsh - [0028]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Walsh discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Walsh further discloses all of the module segments include solar cells, and the solar cells of each said module segment are interconnected in series (Walsh - [0028]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Walsh discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Walsh further discloses the solar cell module has at least one of the module segments which adjoins an adjacent one of the module segments on two sides (Walsh – [0035] L6-7; it is noted that the limitations “adjoins” and “adjacent” do not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components).
Regarding claim 7, modified Walsh discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Walsh does disclose the solar panel 14 is split into a plurality of modules 22, such as four in this example (Walsh - [0035] L6-7), modified Walsh does not explicitly disclose the solar cell module has a group of at least two of the module segments which surround at least one center one of the module segments.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the module segments of modified Walsh such that two of the module segments surround a center one of the module segments because it has
been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Regarding claim 8, modified Walsh discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Walsh further discloses the solar cells of the solar cell module comprise solar cells that are contactable on a rear side (Walsh – the solar cells disclosed in paragraph [0027] are necessarily contactable on a rear side; it is noted that the limitation “contactable” requires the capability for an adjacent component to make contact with a rear side of the solar cell).
Regarding claim 9, modified Walsh discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Walsh does disclose the solar panel 14 is split into a plurality of modules 22, such as four in this example (Walsh - [0035] L6-7), modified Walsh does not explicitly disclose the solar cell module has at least one of the module segments which surround at least one corner of an adjacent one of the module segments.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the module segments of modified Walsh such that at least one of the module segments surrounds at least one corner of an adjacent one of the module segments, because such an arrangement amounts to a simple matter of design choice, and it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that there is no teaching or suggestion in Walsh regarding the internal configuration of the cells within a module with respect to their tilt angle variations. In response to Applicant’s argument, it is noted that even if each of the modules of Walsh are connected to a separate electrical converter 36, this feature does not preclude a parallel connection between the modules. It is further noted that with regard to Applicant’s argument that Walsh fails to disclose a configuration with module segments comprising the features of claim 1, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The claims are rejected as being unpatentable over Walsh in view of Tayagaki.
Applicant argues that while Tayagaki provides a general principle for grouping
cells, it does not give anything specific in this regard. In response to Applicant’s argument, Tayagaki discloses a solar cell module and further discloses a tilt angle for each solar cell in the module (Fig. 2(a) and (b); lines 4 and 5 of the first paragraph of the right column on page 709). Additionally, Tayagaki discloses the selection of solar cell interconnections should be discussed by considering the design of the curved surface and irradiation conditions (Section V. Conclusion – page 713). Further, Tayagaki discloses optimization of the solar cell size, tilted angles between solar cells, and curvature radius of the module based on the energy yield analysis using more realistic conditions (first full paragraph of left column on page 713). It is further noted that Tayagaki discloses series-connected solar cells in the last paragraph of page 711, and discloses a curved PV module with a series interconnection in the last paragraph of page 712.
Tayagaki discloses a comparative study of power generation in curved photovoltaic modules of series and parallel connected solar cells (abstract). Tayagaki discusses the use of tilted flat solar cells in the first paragraph of the right column of page 711. One skilled in the art would recognize the relationship between the current of a tilted flat solar cell and the tilt angle based on the disclosure of Tayagaki in the second and third paragraphs of the right column of page 711. Additionally, one skilled in the art would recognize the design impact of current matching based on the disclosure of Tayagaki in the last paragraph of the left column on page 712 through the first paragraph of the right column of page 712. In particular, Tayagaki discloses in lines 2 through 7 of the right column on page 712 that “The results indicate the benefits of parallel interconnections. This can have a design impact on 3-D curved module [17], where current mismatch between solar cells occurs in all curved directions. Therefore, the interconnection of solar cells with approximately the same current should be circulated rather than lined.”
Additionally, Tayagaki discloses in the second paragraph of Section C in the right column of page 712 that “the curved PV module with a series interconnection is more sensitive to current mismatching between the solar cells. The incident angle distribution differs for solar irradiance components.”
Tayagaki further discloses in Section V. on page 713 that “even though the series interconnection is more sensitive to current mismatching, the current mismatching is reduced by a change in the irradiation conditions from direct to diffuse irradiation with a larger incident light angle distribution. Therefore, the selection of solar cell interconnections should be discussed by considering the design of the curved surface and irradiation conditions.”
It is clear from the cited teachings of Tayagaki above that the tilt angle, and its relationship to current mismatch, is among several design considerations when forming a solar module on a curved surface. As set forth in the office action, the precise tilt angle between solar cells, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed solar cell module normal vector corresponding to a vectorial mean value of the solar cell normal vectors cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the vectorial mean value to the solar cell normal vectors (tilt angles).
Applicant has not provided evidence of unexpected results (commensurate in scope with the limitations claimed) achieved from forming the solar cell module such that each of the plurality of module segments (1a, 1b, 1c) has an angle span defined as a difference between a minimum and maximum tilt angle of the respective module segment, that is less than 15°. It is noted that the as-filed specification describes in paragraph [0038]: The higher a desired yield of the curved module is specified, the smaller the maximum angle range has to be selected. It is therefore advantageous that each module segment has an angle span, i.e., the difference of the minimum and maximum tilt angle of the module segment, which is preferably less than or equal to 60°, more preferably less than or equal to 30°, in particular less than or equal to 15°. To achieve particularly high yields, it is advantageous for each module segment to have an angle span less than 12°, preferably less than 8°, particularly less than 4°, in particular less than 2°.
Absent a showing of unexpected results, the claimed angle span cannot be considered critical. It has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Unexpected results must be established by factual evidence; mere argument or conclusory statements in the specification do not suffice. In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1977) (quoting In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984)).
Mere conclusions in the as-filed specification and Applicant’s Remarks, without evidence in support of the assertions, are insufficient in showing the criticality of the claimed range. MPEP 716.02(d) II. states “To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside of the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).” It is also well settled that where patentability is predicated upon a change in a condition of a prior art composition, such as a change in size, concentration or the like, the burden is on the applicant to establish with objective evidence that the change is critical, i.e., it leads to a new, unexpected result. In re Woodruff 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/TAMIR AYAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726