DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s reply filed on 7/10/26 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 6, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 18, 21-25, 28, 30, and 62-66 are pending. Claims 63-66 are new. Claims 10, 23, 25, 28 and 30 have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 6, 7, 18, and 24 have been amended.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12, 13, 15, 18, 21, 22, 24 and 62-66 are under consideration to the extent that composition comprises the elected species of a) squalene and b) presence of palmitic acid.
Objections Withdrawn
The objections of claims 3, 6, 7, 13, 18, 20 and 24 are withdrawn in view of the amended claims.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of Claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form is withdrawn in view of the canceled claims.
The rejection of Claims 1, 3-6, 13, 20-22 and 62 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo et al. (US 2005/0163742; cited previously) is withdrawn in view of the amended claims.
The rejection of Claims 7, 12 and 24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo et al. (US 2005/0163742; cited previously) as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 13, 20-22 and 62 above, and further in view of Bouwstra et al. (US 2011/0165203) is withdrawn in view of the amended claims.
The rejection of Claims 15 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo et al. (US 2005/0163742; cited previously) as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 13, 20-22 and 62 above, and further in view of Seppic (Simulgel EG <https://www.ulprospector.com/en/na/ PersonalCare/Detail/1432/46887/SIMULGEL-EG> 2015) is withdrawn in view of the amended claims.
Rejections Maintained and New Grounds of Rejections
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/10/26. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 recites that the composition of claim 1 further comprises about 7% by weight to about 12% by weight glycerin, however, claim 1 has been amended to recite from about 8% by weight to about 12% by weight glycerin. Therefore, claim 6 does not further limit claim 1.
Claim 7 recites that the composition of claim 1 further comprises one or more conditioning agents, including at least one of 1,3 butanediol, isohexadecane, or squalene, however, claim 1 has been amended to recite the inclusion of 22% by weight to about 28% by weight 1,3-butanediol. Therefore, claim 7 does not further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 63 and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo et al. (US 2005/0163742; cited previously).
Okubo et al. teach a water-in-oil emulsified composition containing a sphingosine, a C6-30 fatty acid, and an oil component (e.g. abstract). Example 8 is an emulsion comprising 1.0 wt% sphingosine, 1.5 wt% palmitic acid, and water (e.g. Table 2). Example 3 is an emulsion comprising 0.25 wt% palmitic acid and 62.55 wt% water. Okubo et al. more broadly teach water in amounts of 1-80 wt%, palmitic acid in amounts of 0.001 to 10 wt%, and sphingosine in amounts of 0.001 to 10 wt%, which overlap the claimed ranges (e.g. paragraphs 0035, 0040 and 0066). Okubo et al. further teach the inclusion of a humectant comprising 1,3-butylene glycol, propylene glycol, and/or glycerin (i.e. one or more diols having 3-6 carbon atoms) (e.g. paragraph 0067), but do not teach a general concentration thereof. Okubo exemplify 20 wt% humectants in Examples 1, 2, 4 and 5, which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding the limitation, “wherein the formulation increases the amount of ceramide present on the skin of the subjects by at least 5% greater than a baseline amount of the ceramide present on the skin of the subject”, Okubo is silent. However, as Okubo teaches applying compositions to the skin of a user comprising the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts, then the outcome of increasing the amount of ceramide present on the skin of the subjects by at least 5% greater than a baseline amount of the ceramide present on the skin of the subject would necessarily occur.
Regarding Claim 63, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to vary the concentrations of the water, palmitic acid, and sphingosine of Okubo et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to vary the concentrations through routine experimentation to arrive at the claimed concentrations in order to optimize the resulting product. It is obvious to optimize within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation. In addition, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding Claim 64, Okubo et al. further the inclusion of a humectant comprising 1,3-butylene glycol, propylene glycol, and/or glycerin (e.g. paragraph 0067), but do not teach a general concentration thereof. Okubo exemplify 20 wt% humectants in Examples 1, 2, 4 and 5, which is adjacent to the lower combined range of claim 64 of 22 wt%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to vary the concentrations of the individual humectants through routine experimentation to arrive at the claimed concentrations in order to optimize the resulting product. It is obvious to optimize within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation. In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. In the instant case, 20% humectant and 22% are expected to have the same skin moisturizing qualities.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 12, 13, 15, 18, 21, 22, 24, 62 and 66 are allowed.
Claim 65 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Arguments relevant to the current grounds of rejection will be addressed below.
Applicant argues that Okubo does not teach or suggest a formulation that "increases the amount of ceramide present on the skin of the subjects by at least 5% greater than a baseline amount of the ceramide present on the skin of the subject," as recited in claim 63.
This is not found persuasive. As Okubo teaches applying compositions to the skin of a user comprising the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts, then the outcome of increasing the amount of ceramide present on the skin of the subjects by at least 5% greater than a baseline amount of the ceramide present on the skin of the subject would necessarily occur. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE P BABSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619