DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1 – 2, 4 – 5, 7, 9 – 12 and 15 in the reply filed on December 8, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 5, 7, 9 – 12, 15, 18 – 20, 22 – 25, 38, 41 – 42, 45 – 47 are pending; claims 18 – 20, 22 – 25, 38, 41 – 42, 45 – 47 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected subject matter; claims 1 – 2, 4 – 5, 7, 9 – 12 and 15 have been considered on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 9, 2024 and April 22, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and7 are drawn to a biocompatible gel, however are rendered indefinite for reciting “the plurality of cells encapsulated” as the phrase lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 5, 7, 9 – 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farina et al. (WO 2019/079384, cited by US 2021/0187260) in view of Golway et al. (US 10392595)
Regarding claim 1, Farina teaches devices made from gel matrix (0044) comprising microchannels and nanochannels (0004 – 0005, claims) wherein the microchannels have a diameter of 100 – 300 microns (0005) and nanochannels have a diameter of 2.5 – 1000 nm (0004); and cells (0005 – 0006, claims) adjacent thereto in micro-reservoirs having a diameter of 50 micron (0005, figures 1, 2, 0049), indicating the cells are within 50 microns of at least on microchannel or nanochannel.
Farina does not teach the microchannels and nanochannels are not patterned. However, Golway teaches a gel matrix comprising a microvasculature of microchannels (abstract, col.15 line 12 - 38) wherein the microvessels (microchannels) spontaneously grow as a neovasculature (col.5 line 42 – 60) (are not patterned microchannels); and a plurality of cells (abstract, col.5 line 60 – 65); wherein the microchannels have an average diameter of 200 μm (col.15) (within the claimed range of 5 – 500 microns or μm). Golway teaches advantages of the neovasculature (non-patterned channels) include adaptability in response to physiological environment and making it more stable in biological applications (col.5 line 1 – 21); while the goal of Farina is to stimulate neovascularization in vivo (0095). In this regard, at the time the claims were filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form the microchannels and nanochannels in Farina as a neovasculature (or without a pattern) for the known advantages of adaptability and stability in physiological environments.
Regarding claim 2, Farina teaches the gel matrix may be composed of agarose, collagen, alginate, cellulose, polyethylene, polycaprolactone or gelatin (0044); while Golway teaches collagen (col.9 line 64 – col.10 line 9).
Regarding claim 4, Farina teaches the gel may be cylindrical, spherical (0038).
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Farina teaches 75 – 100% of cells are viable and functional at 24 hours and 48 hours (figure 10, 0052, 0093, 0095, 0098).
Regarding claims 9 – 12 and 15, Farina teaches the cells are insulin producing cells, human embryonic stem cells (hESCs) and pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs) differentiated to obtain insulin producing cells (stem cell derived cells), pancreatic islet cells, insulin producing cell aggregates (stem cell derived enriched beta-clusters) (0005, claim 11).
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699