Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1, lines 5-6: “a cooling unit being housed in the case and configured to cool air flowing through the case;”
Claim 1, lines 7-8: “a heating unit being housed in the case and configured to heat air flowing through the case;”
Claim 1, lines 9-10: “an aspirator configured to introduce air flowing in the case to guide air in the vehicle cabin to a temperature detection unit”
With regards to the cooling unit, the corresponding structure described in [0012] of the specification is that of an evaporator (“the air conditioning unit 2 further includes an evaporator (cooling unit) 20, an air mixing damper 30, and a heater core (heating unit) 40 which are housed in the case body 10”).
With regards to the heating unit, the corresponding structure described in [0012] of the specification is that of a heater core (“the air conditioning unit 2 further includes an evaporator (cooling unit) 20, an air mixing damper 30, and a heater core (heating unit) 40 which are housed in the case body 10”).
With regards to the temperature detection unit, the corresponding structure described in the specification is that of a temperature sensor (“an aspirator that guides air in the vehicle cabin to a temperature detection unit by introducing air in the case” [0007]; “The aspirator 50 is used to guide the air in the vehicle cabin to the room temperature sensor” [0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (US20040016537A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura teaches
A vehicular air conditioning device for controlling a temperature of air introduced (air-conditioner unit 10, fig. 6), and supplying the air into a vehicle cabin (via defroster opening 21, face opening 23), the vehicular air conditioning device comprising:
a case forming an outer shell and causing air to flow through the case (casing 11);
a cooling unit being housed in the case and configured to cool air flowing through the case (evaporator 12);
a heating unit being housed in the case and configured to heat air flowing through the case (heater core 13); and
an aspirator (aspirator 31) configured to introduce air flowing in the case to guide air in the vehicle cabin to a temperature detection unit (“When the air introduced into the aspirator 31 flows through the venturi portion 31d, pressure drop occurs because the flow speed of the air increases in the venturi portion 31d. Therefore, the air in the passenger compartment is drawn into the aspirator 31, and thereby the air in the passenger compartment is surely supplied to the temperature sensor 33”) [0051],
the case integrally including a case upstream portion in which the cooling unit and the heating unit are housed (portion of casing 11 upstream of air-mixing space 20) and a case downstream portion through which air having flowed through the case upstream portion flows (portion of casing 11 downstream of air-mixing space 20),
the case upstream portion including a first flow path portion and a second flow path portion, the first flow path portion causing air to flow in a first direction (rear wall 32 below aspirator 31 on fig. 6; first direction shown on annotated fig. 6 below), the second flow path portion being connected to a downstream side of the first flow path portion and causing air to flow in a second direction intersecting the first direction (rear wall 32 above aspirator 31 on fig. 6; second direction intersecting first direction shown on annotated fig. 6 below),
the aspirator including an introduction portion (inlet pipe 31b) including an inlet formed at an upstream end of the introduction portion and being configured to introduce air inside the case from the inlet (air-introducing port 32a), the aspirator being disposed at a central portion of the case in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction (central portion of air-conditioner casing 11 as shown in vertical direction on fig. 6, between first and second flow path portions; third direction intersecting first and second directions shown on annotated fig. 6 below), and
in the introduction portion, the upstream end being connected to the second flow path portion from the first direction (rear wall 32 above aspirator 31 on fig. 6 is connected to upstream side of inlet pipe 31b; as shown on annotated fig. 6 below, first direction oriented from left to right; inlet pipe 31b connected with rear wall 32 from left to right, thus upstream end being connected to the second flow path portion from the first direction)
Annotated fig. 6 of Nakamura
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura teaches the vehicular air conditioning device according to claim 1,
wherein the inlet is disposed outside a main flow of air flowing through the second flow path portion (air-introducing port 32a disposed outside flow of air continuing through air-conditioner casing 11 toward defroster opening 21 and face opening 23 through the second flow path portion)
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura teaches the vehicular air conditioning device according to claim 1,
wherein the second flow path portion is provided on a downstream side of the heating unit (rear wall 32 downstream of heater core 13, as shown on fig. 6)
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oinuma (JP2018079715A), referring to the English translation dated 01/21/2025.
Regarding claim 1, Oinuma teaches
A vehicular air conditioning device for controlling a temperature of air introduced (vehicular air conditioner 10), and supplying the air into a vehicle cabin (via vent blowing port 28, defroster blowing port 30, heat blowing port 32), the vehicular air conditioning device comprising:
a case forming an outer shell and causing air to flow through the case (air conditioning case 14);
a cooling unit being housed in the case and configured to cool air flowing through the case (evaporator 18);
a heating unit being housed in the case and configured to heat air flowing through the case (heater core 20); and
an aspirator (aspirator 24) configured to introduce air flowing in the case to guide air in the vehicle cabin to a temperature detection unit (described in [0037]),
the case integrally including a case upstream portion in which the cooling unit and the heating unit are housed (portion of air conditioning case 14 comprising evaporator 18 heater core 20, and second switching damper 48) and a case downstream portion through which air having flowed through the case upstream portion flows (portion of air conditioning case 14 comprising first switching damper 46),
the case upstream portion including a first flow path portion and a second flow path portion, the first flow path portion causing air to flow in a first direction (wall portion 14a on fig. 1A), the second flow path portion being connected to a downstream side of the first flow path portion and causing air to flow in a second direction intersecting the first direction (wall portion above heat duct 34 on fig. 1A, connecting to vent blowing port 28),
the aspirator including an introduction portion (heat duct 34) including an inlet formed at an upstream end of the introduction portion (inlet of cylindrical connecting pipe 36) and being configured to introduce air inside the case from the inlet (as shown by flow arrows on fig. 1A), the aspirator being disposed at a central portion of the case in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction (central portion of 14 as shown in vertical direction on fig. 1A, between first and second flow path portions; third direction intersecting first and second directions shown on annotated fig. 1A below), and
in the introduction portion, the upstream end being connected to the second flow path portion from the first direction (wall of air conditioning case 14 above heat duct 34 on fig. 1A is connected to upstream side of cylindrical connecting pipe 36; as shown on annotated fig. 1A below, heat duct 34 connected with wall of air conditioning case 14 above heat duct 34 at an overlapping section around shaft portion 50; overlapping portion is connected parallel to the first direction)
Annotated fig. 1A of Oinuma
Regarding claim 2, Oinuma teaches the vehicular air conditioning device according to claim 1,
wherein the inlet is disposed outside a main flow of air flowing through the second flow path portion (cylindrical connecting pipe 36 disposed outside flow of air continuing through air conditioning case 14 toward vent blowing port 28 and defroster blowing port 30 through the second flow path portion)
Regarding claim 3, Oinuma teaches the vehicular air conditioning device according to claim 1,
wherein the second flow path portion is provided on a downstream side of the heating unit (downstream of heater core 20, as shown on fig. 1A)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US20040016537A1) in view of Hori (US20070293135A1).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura teaches the vehicular air conditioning device according to claim 1, further comprising
an air mixing damper (air-mixing door 16) including
a first damper portion configured to move between a closing position where a heating flow path guiding air to the heating unit is closed and an opening position where the heating flow path is not closed (portion of air-mixing door 16 distal shaft 16a, blocking flow across heater core 13 in a closed state as shown on fig. 8, and in an open position on fig. 6), and
a second damper portion (portion of air-mixing door 16 proximate shaft 16a) arranged between the cooling unit and the inlet (between evaporator 12 and air-introducing port 32a in a flow direction) in a state where the first damper portion is located at the closing position (fig. 8)
Nakamura does not teach
wherein a notch is formed at the second damper portion
Hori teaches
wherein a notch is formed at the second damper portion (as shown on fig. 3, first air mixing door 31 comprises a notch at each corner of the door proximate first rotation shaft 31a)
Nakamura teaches air-mixing door 16 and shaft 16a, however does not further teach the structure of the arrangement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the structure of first air mixing door 31 and first rotation shaft 31a of Hori, to Nakamura, in order to provide a damper structure that effectively transmits the rotation of the rotation shaft to the air mixing door, via the structure of Hori including the notched air mixing door 31 and rotation shaft 31a comprising flange 313a and cylindrical portion 317a.
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura teaches the vehicular air conditioning device according to claim 2, further comprising
an air mixing damper (air-mixing door 16) including
a first damper portion configured to move between a closing position where a heating flow path guiding air to the heating unit is closed and an opening position where the heating flow path is not closed (portion of air-mixing door 16 distal shaft 16a, blocking flow across heater core 13 in a closed state as shown on fig. 8, and in an open position on fig. 6), and
a second damper portion (portion of air-mixing door 16 proximate shaft 16a) arranged between the cooling unit and the inlet (between evaporator 12 and air-introducing port 32a in a flow direction) in a state where the first damper portion is located at the closing position (fig. 8)
Nakamura does not teach
wherein a notch is formed at the second damper portion
Hori teaches
wherein a notch is formed at the second damper portion (as shown on fig. 3, first air mixing door 31 comprises a notch at each corner of the door proximate first rotation shaft 31a)
Nakamura teaches air-mixing door 16 and shaft 16a, however does not further teach the structure of the arrangement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the structure of first air mixing door 31 and first rotation shaft 31a of Hori, to Nakamura, in order to provide a damper structure that effectively transmits the rotation of the rotation shaft to the air mixing door, via the structure of Hori including the notched air mixing door 31 and rotation shaft 31a comprising flange 313a and cylindrical portion 317a.
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura teaches the vehicular air conditioning device according to claim 3, further comprising
an air mixing damper (air-mixing door 16) including
a first damper portion configured to move between a closing position where a heating flow path guiding air to the heating unit is closed and an opening position where the heating flow path is not closed (portion of air-mixing door 16 distal shaft 16a, blocking flow across heater core 13 in a closed state as shown on fig. 8, and in an open position on fig. 6), and
a second damper portion (portion of air-mixing door 16 proximate shaft 16a) arranged between the cooling unit and the inlet (between evaporator 12 and air-introducing port 32a in a flow direction) in a state where the first damper portion is located at the closing position (fig. 8)
Nakamura does not teach
wherein a notch is formed at the second damper portion
Hori teaches
wherein a notch is formed at the second damper portion (as shown on fig. 3, first air mixing door 31 comprises a notch at each corner of the door proximate first rotation shaft 31a)
Nakamura teaches air-mixing door 16 and shaft 16a, however does not further teach the structure of the arrangement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the structure of first air mixing door 31 and first rotation shaft 31a of Hori, to Nakamura, in order to provide a damper structure that effectively transmits the rotation of the rotation shaft to the air mixing door, via the structure of Hori including the notched air mixing door 31 and rotation shaft 31a comprising flange 313a and cylindrical portion 317a.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oinuma (JP2018079715A), referring to the English translation dated 01/21/2025, in view of Hori (US20070293135A1).
Regarding claim 4, Oinuma teaches the vehicular air conditioning device according to claim 1, further comprising
an air mixing damper (second air mixing damper 42) including
a first damper portion configured to move between a closing position where a heating flow path guiding air to the heating unit is closed and an opening position where the heating flow path is not closed (portion of second air mixing damper 42 distal the rotation shaft, blocking flow across heater core 13 in a closed state as shown on fig. 1A, and in an opened state described in [0039]), and
a second damper portion (portion of second air mixing damper 42 proximate rotation shaft) arranged between the cooling unit and the inlet (between evaporator 18 and connecting pipe 36 in a flow direction) in a state where the first damper portion is located at the closing position (fig. 1A)
Oinuma does not teach
wherein a notch is formed at the second damper portion
Hori teaches
wherein a notch is formed at the second damper portion (as shown on fig. 3, first air mixing door 31 comprises a notch at each corner of the door proximate first rotation shaft 31a)
Oinuma teaches second air mixing damper 42 comprising a rotation shaft, however does not further teach the structure of the arrangement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the structure of first air mixing door 31 and first rotation shaft 31a of Hori, to Nakamura, in order to provide a damper structure that effectively transmits the rotation of the rotation shaft to the air mixing door, via the structure of Hori including the notched air mixing door 31 and rotation shaft 31a comprising flange 313a and cylindrical portion 317a.
Regarding claim 5, Oinuma teaches the vehicular air conditioning device according to claim 2, further comprising
an air mixing damper (second air mixing damper 42) including
a first damper portion configured to move between a closing position where a heating flow path guiding air to the heating unit is closed and an opening position where the heating flow path is not closed (portion of second air mixing damper 42 distal the rotation shaft, blocking flow across heater core 13 in a closed state as shown on fig. 1A, and in an opened state described in [0039]), and
a second damper portion (portion of second air mixing damper 42 proximate rotation shaft) arranged between the cooling unit and the inlet (between evaporator 18 and connecting pipe 36 in a flow direction) in a state where the first damper portion is located at the closing position (fig. 1A)
Oinuma does not teach
wherein a notch is formed at the second damper portion
Hori teaches
wherein a notch is formed at the second damper portion (as shown on fig. 3, first air mixing door 31 comprises a notch at each corner of the door proximate first rotation shaft 31a)
Oinuma teaches second air mixing damper 42 comprising a rotation shaft, however does not further teach the structure of the arrangement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the structure of first air mixing door 31 and first rotation shaft 31a of Hori, to Nakamura, in order to provide a damper structure that effectively transmits the rotation of the rotation shaft to the air mixing door, via the structure of Hori including the notched air mixing door 31 and rotation shaft 31a comprising flange 313a and cylindrical portion 317a.
Regarding claim 6, Oinuma teaches the vehicular air conditioning device according to claim 3, further comprising
an air mixing damper (second air mixing damper 42) including
a first damper portion configured to move between a closing position where a heating flow path guiding air to the heating unit is closed and an opening position where the heating flow path is not closed (portion of second air mixing damper 42 distal the rotation shaft, blocking flow across heater core 13 in a closed state as shown on fig. 1A, and in an opened state described in [0039]), and
a second damper portion (portion of second air mixing damper 42 proximate rotation shaft) arranged between the cooling unit and the inlet (between evaporator 18 and connecting pipe 36 in a flow direction) in a state where the first damper portion is located at the closing position (fig. 1A)
Oinuma does not teach
wherein a notch is formed at the second damper portion
Hori teaches
wherein a notch is formed at the second damper portion (as shown on fig. 3, first air mixing door 31 comprises a notch at each corner of the door proximate first rotation shaft 31a)
Oinuma teaches second air mixing damper 42 comprising a rotation shaft, however does not further teach the structure of the arrangement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the structure of first air mixing door 31 and first rotation shaft 31a of Hori, to Nakamura, in order to provide a damper structure that effectively transmits the rotation of the rotation shaft to the air mixing door, via the structure of Hori including the notched air mixing door 31 and rotation shaft 31a comprising flange 313a and cylindrical portion 317a.
Conclusion
The prior art of record not relied upon includes:
Oinuma718 (JP2018079718A), Kato (JP2014148185A), and Chikagawa (US20120057993A1), which teach similar vehicular air conditioning devices comprising aspirators as claimed
/BRETT P. MALLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762