DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of a certified copy of JP 2021-091834 filed May 31, 2021 as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Receipt is also acknowledged of WO 2022/255172, the WIPO publication of PCT/JP 2022/021301 filed May 24, 2022.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Claims filed November 20, 2023.
Claims Filing Date
November 20, 2023
Pending
1-4
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lines 5-8 “a magnetic flux density B-magnetostriction waveform λ, referred to as a butterfly curve” renders the claim indifferent. It is unclear if the magnetic flux density B-magnetostriction waveform lambda is simply referred to as a butterfly curve, such that it is an alternate name, or if a butterfly curve further limits the shape or feature(s) of the magnetic flux density B-magnetostriction waveform lambda. If a butterfly curve further limits, then it is unclear what curve features are required to define a “butterfly curve”. While applicant’s specification in Fig. 1 provides an example of a butterfly curve (applicant’s specification [0019], [0034]), the requirements it possesses that make it a butterfly curve are not defined nor recited in the claim. For the purpose of examination claim 1 is interpreted as “butterfly curve” being a name that does not further limit the magnetic flux density B-magnetostriction waveform λ.
Claim 1 lines 5-8 “a magnetic flux density B-magnetostriction waveform λ, referred to as a butterfly curve, when excited to 1.5 T or more, such that an amount of steel sheet elongation (Δλ) with a magnetic flux density B ranging from 1.0 T to 1.5 T” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what is being excited to 1.5 T or more. It could be in reference to the magnetic flux density B-magnetostriction waveform λ. It could be the amount of the steel sheet elongation (Δλ) with a magnetic flux density B ranging from 1.0 T to 1.5 T. It could be both of these claimed features. For the purpose of examination claim 1 is interpreted as requiring at least one of a magnetic flux density B-magnetostriction waveform λ and an amount of steel sheet elongation (Δλ) with a magnetic flux density B being “when excited to 1.5 T or more”.
Claim 1 lines 9-10 “length of the closure domain in the rolling direction, referred to as a closure domain width” renders the claim indefinite. Typically, length and width refer to different dimensions in an object, with the length being the longer of the two dimensions. It is unclear how the same dimension can both be the longer side “length” and the shorter side “width”. Further, it is unclear how opposite terms refer to the same feature. For the purpose of examination claim 1 will be interpreted as the dimension of the closure domain in the rolling direction being the width and being 20 um or more and 240 um or less.
Claims 2-4 are rejected as depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai (WO 2020/158732 with citations from US 2022/0127692) in view of Sakai (US 6,368,424).
Regarding claim 1, Arai discloses a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet ([0015], [0017]-[0019]) comprising:
a thermal strain region extending linearly in a direction across a rolling direction (irradiating a surface of a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet with a laser beam or an electron beam forms a thermal strain region) ([0019], [0031], [0053]); and
a closure (magnetic) domain within the thermal strain region ([0005], [0034]), wherein
the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet has a magnetic flux density B-magnetostriction waveform λ, referred to as a butterfly curve (Figs. 1-3), when excited to 1.5 T or more, such that an amount of steel sheet elongation (Δλ) with a magnetic flux density B ranging from 1.0 T to 1.5 T is 0.010 x 10-6 or more and 0.240 x 10-6 or less (0.01 x 10-6 or more and 0.20 x 10-6 or less) ([0020], [0034], Table 1 Samples D-F).
With respect to a length of the closure domain in the rolling direction, referred to as a closure domain width, being 20 µm or more and 240 µm or less, Arai discloses dL, irradiation minor axis, diameter in the rolling direction of 0.001 to 0.4 mm, 1 to 400 um ([0044]-[0047], Table 1 Samples D-F).
Sakai discloses the rolling direction width of a closure domain is proportional to the rolling direction diameter dl of the beam with the closure domain width being less than the beam diameter (6:18-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the magnetic closure domain of Arai to have a width that is proportional to and less than the rolling direction diameter dl of the beam (Sakai 6:18-37) of 1 to 400 um (0.001 to 0.4 mm) (Arai [0044]-[0047], Table 1 Samples D-F).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 2, Arai in view of Sakai discloses the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet according to claim 1, wherein the amount of steel sheet elongation (Δλ) is 0.010 x 10-6 or more and 0.200 x 10-6 or less (0.01 x 10-6 or more and 0.20 x 10-6 or less) (Arai [0020], [0034], Table 1 Samples D-F) and the closure domain width is 50 µm or more and 240 µm or less (dL, irradiation minor axis, diameter in the rolling direction 0.001 to 0.4 mm, 1 to 400 um, with magnetic closure domain width being proportional to and less than the beam diameter) (Arai [0044]-[0047], Table 1 Samples D-F; Sakai 6:18-37). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 3, Arai discloses a formation interval of the closure domains is 3 mm or more and 10 mm or less (4 mm) ([0031], [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Arai discloses a formation interval of the closure domains is 3 mm or more and 10 mm or less (4 mm) ([0031], [0055]).
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mogi ‘645 (JP H11-279645 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Mogi ‘645 discloses a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet ([0001]) comprising:
a thermal strain region extending linearly in a direction across a rolling direction ([0009]-[0012]); and
a closure (magnetic) domain within the thermal strain region ([0007], [0012]), wherein
a length of the closure (magnetic) domain in the rolling direction, referred to as a closure (magnetic) domain width, is 20 µm or more and 240 µm or less (30 µm or more and 150 µm or less) ([0007], [0012], [0015]-[0016]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
The grain-oriented electrical steel sheet having a magnetic flux density B-magnetostriction waveform λ, referred to as a butterfly curve, when excited to 1.5 T or more, such that an amount of steel sheet elongation (Δλ) with a magnetic flux density B ranging from 1.0 T to 1.5 T is 0.010 x 10-6 or more and 0.240 x 10-6 or less has been considered and determined to recite a property of the claimed grain-oriented electrical steel sheet. The prior art discloses a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet with the claimed thermal strain region and closure domain (Mogi ‘645 [0007]-[0016]), such that the claimed properties naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, including the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet having a magnetic flux density B-magnetostriction waveform λ, referred to as a butterfly curve, when excited to 1.5 T or more, such that an amount of steel sheet elongation (Δλ) with a magnetic flux density B ranging from 1.0 T to 1.5 T is 0.010 x 10-6 or more and 0.240 x 10-6 or less.
Regarding claim 2, Mogi ‘645 discloses the closure (magnetic) domain width is 50 µm or more and 240 µm or less (30 µm or more and 150 µm or less) ([0007], [0012], [0015]-[0016]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
The amount of steel sheet elongation (Δλ) being 0.010 x 10-6 or more and 0.200 x 10-6 or less has been considered and determined to recite a property of the claimed grain-oriented electrical steel sheet. The prior art discloses a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet with the claimed thermal strain region and closure domain (Mogi [0007]-[0016]), such that the claimed properties naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, including the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet having a magnetic flux density B-magnetostriction waveform λ, referred to as a butterfly curve, when excited to 1.5 T or more, such that an amount of steel sheet elongation (Δλ) with a magnetic flux density B ranging from 1.0 T to 1.5 T is 0.010 x 10-6 or more and 0.240 x 10-6 or less.
Regarding claim 3, Mogi ‘645 discloses a formation interval of the closure domains is 3 mm or more and 10 mm or less (6,500 um, 6.5 mm) ([0010], [0018], [0024]).
Regarding claim 4, Mogi ‘645 discloses a formation interval of the closure domains is 3 mm or more and 10 mm or less (6,500 um, 6.5 mm) ([0010], [0018], [0024]).
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mogi ‘645 (JP H11-279645 machine translation) in view of Mogi ‘805 (JP 2001-181805 machine translation).
In the event it is determined that the claimed Δλ is not rendered obvious by the disclosure of Mogi ‘645, then the below rejection in view of Mogi ‘805 is applied.
Regarding claim 1, Mogi ‘645 discloses a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet ([0001]) comprising:
a thermal strain region extending linearly in a direction across a rolling direction ([0009]-[0012]); and
a closure (magnetic) domain within the thermal strain region ([0007], [0012]), wherein
a length of the closure (magnetic) domain in the rolling direction, referred to as a closure (magnetic) domain width, is 20 µm or more and 240 µm or less (30 µm or more and 150 µm or less) ([0007], [0012], [0015]-[0016]).
Mogi ‘805 discloses a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet ([0001]) having a magnetic flux density B-magnetostriction waveform λ, referred to as a butterfly curve, when excited to 1.5 T or more, such that an amount of steel sheet elongation (Δλ) with a magnetic flux density B ranging from 1.0 T to 1.5 T is 0.010 x 10-6 or more and 0.240 x 10-6 or less (0 to 0.5 x 10-6) ([0007], [0011], [0015]-[0019], Fig. 2 Sample 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet of Mogi ‘645 to control an amount of steel sheet elongation to be 0 to 0.5 x 10-6 so that both the magnetic strain and the rate of magnetic strain (time variation) will also be reduced, which allows for suppression of harmonic vibration components in addition to low-frequency vibration components with characteristics exceeding those of conventional low-noise materials (Mogi ‘805 [0018]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 2, Mogi ‘645 in view of Mogi ‘805 discloses the amount of steel sheet elongation (Δλ) is 0.010 x 10-6 or more and 0.200 x 10-6 or less (0 to 0.5 x 10-6) (Mogi ‘805 [0007], [0011], [0015]-[0019], Fig. 2 Sample 1) and the closure (magnetic) domain width is 50 µm or more and 240 µm or less (30 µm or more and 150 µm or less) (Mogi ‘645 [0007], [0012], [0015]-[0016]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 3, Mogi ‘645 in view of Mogi ‘805 discloses a formation interval of the closure domains is 3 mm or more and 10 mm or less (6,500 um, 6.5 mm) (Mogi ‘645 [0010], [0018], [0024]) (5 mm) (Mogi ‘805 [0022], [0025]).
Regarding claim 4, Mogi ‘645 in view of Mogi ‘805 discloses a formation interval of the closure domains is 3 mm or more and 10 mm or less (6,500 um, 6.5 mm) (Mogi ‘645 [0010], [0018], [0024]) (5 mm) (Mogi ‘805 [0022], [0025]).
Related Art
Omura (US 2021/0020349)
Omura discloses a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet ([0001]) with a maximum magnetic flux density at 1.7 T and 50 Hz of at least 2 x 10 ^ -7 (0.2 x10 ^ -6) ([0021], [0101]). Omura discloses a 3 to 15 mm interval between closure domains ([0053], [0068], [0093]).
Takajo (US 2015/0187474)
Takajo discloses a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet ([0001]) with a stress distribution in the steel sheet extending 42 to 300 um in the rolling direction at periodic intervals of 2 to 10 mm ([0032], [0040]-[0041], Table 3) manufactured by an electron beam ([0033]). Takajo discloses excellent iron loss properties from 1.5 to 1.9 T ([0039]) in the range of 0.69 to 0.70 W/kg ([0079], Table 4).
Fujikura (US 2002/0000261)
Fujikura discloses a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet ([0002]) with a lamba 17 value at 1.7 T of -0.5 x 10-6 to 0.6 x 10-6 ([0014]) and an irradiation pitch of 5 mm in the rolling direction ([0066]).
Takagi (JP 2016-166419 machine translation)
Takagi discloses a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet ([0001]) with linear strains positioned at 15 mm or less and 4 mm or more in the rolling direction having recirculating magnetic domains having a thickness in the rolling direction of 65 um or more and 250 um or less ([0034]-[0036]).
Mogi ‘594 (JP 2002-069594 machine translation)
Mogi ‘594 discloses an electromagnetic steel sheet ([0001]) having a magnetic strain λB of 0.3 x 10-6 or less when B is 1.0 to 1.5 T ([0007], [0014]) manufactured by adjusting the strength of the magnetic domain using a laser ([0016]), where localized strain forms recirculating (closure) magnetic domains ([0017]-[0018]).
Ichihara (WO 2020/255552 with citations from US 2022/0298599)
Ichihara discloses a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet ([0001], [0014]) irradiated with an electron beam to form a thermal strain region ([0016]) with a magnetic closure domain ([0017]) with an interval of 7.0 to 15 mm ([0072]).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735