DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12, 14-16, 18-20, and 22-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The amendment and analysis does overcome the previous rejection; however, the new primary and secondary references discloses the newly amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 12, 14-16, 19-20, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bayesteh (US 20210302561 A1)
Regarding claims 1 and 14 Bayesteh discloses:
acquiring first beam identification information and beam time domain information sent by a base station, wherein the beam time domain information comprises beamforming time information that is indicative of a time corresponding to beamforming by the network node for signal directing; (Paragraph [0122], “the components of the RIS are configured by the network to reflect the incident beams over one or more pre-determined directions instructed by the network.” And paragraph [0127], “The configuration of beam steering performed by the RIS including the time slots when the PRS is transmitted toward the RIS, also referred to herein as RIS time slots, as well as the configuration of reflected beam indices is signaled…” The RIS (network node) receives beam identification and time information from the base station (the network).)
determining a first time domain according to the beamforming time information; (paragraph [0123], “The direction of reflection for the RIS 302 is configured, and known to the receiving node, for each of one or more time periods that the incident beam B.sub.M is being transmitted towards the RIS 302.”)
and forming a first beam for signal directing in the first time domain, wherein the first beam is determined by the network node according to the first beam identification information, and is formed over an access link between the network node and a User Equipment, UE. (Paragraph [0123], “As can be seen in the FIG. 8, from the ED perspective, the reflected beams (B.sub.M1, . . . , B.sub.MN) appear to be coming from are a second (imaginary) TP indicated at 306…different configurations (i.e. different angles of reflection) may be applied by the RIS during each time slot resulting in a different reflected beam in each time period, again the configurations being known to the receiving node.” Different beam configuration are applied to the ED (UE) by the RIS (network node) using the known configuration sent by the base station in which the beam is formed over an access link between the ED and RIS see figure 8.)
Regarding claims 2 and 15 Bayesteh discloses:
wherein the first beam identification information further comprises beam indication information which is indicative of a first beam directed at a first terminal device; (paragraph [0123], “The direction of reflection for the RIS 302 is configured, and known to the receiving node, for each of one or more time periods that the incident beam B.sub.M is being transmitted towards the RIS 302.” The beams directed in figure 8 is configured and directed at the receiving node/ED/UE.)
and forming the first beam for signal directing in the first time domain comprises, forming the first beam directed at the first terminal device in the first time domain according to the first beam identification information. (paragraph [0123], “The direction of reflection for the RIS 302 is configured, and known to the receiving node, for each of one or more time periods that the incident beam B.sub.M is being transmitted towards the RIS 302…different configurations (i.e. different angles of reflection) may be applied by the RIS during each time slot resulting in a different reflected beam in each time period, again the configurations being known to the receiving node.”)
Regarding claim 3 Bayesteh discloses:
wherein forming the first beam for signal directing in the first time domain comprises, acquiring beam indication information sent by the base station, wherein the beam indication information is indicative of the first beam directed at a first terminal device; (Paragraph [0122], “the components of the RIS are configured by the network to reflect the incident beams over one or more pre-determined directions instructed by the network.” And paragraph [0123], “(paragraph [0123], “The direction of reflection for the RIS 302 is configured, and known to the receiving node, for each of one or more time periods “ And paragraph [0127], “The configuration of beam steering performed by the RIS including the time slots when the PRS is transmitted toward the RIS, also referred to herein as RIS time slots, as well as the configuration of reflected beam indices”)
and forming the first beam directed at the first terminal device in the first time domain according to the first beam identification information and the beam indication information. (paragraph [0123], “The direction of reflection for the RIS 302 is configured, and known to the receiving node, for each of one or more time periods that the incident beam B.sub.M is being transmitted towards the RIS 302…different configurations (i.e. different angles of reflection) may be applied by the RIS during each time slot resulting in a different reflected beam in each time period, again the configurations being known to the receiving node.”)
Regarding claims 4 and 16 Bayesteh discloses:
forming a second beam in the first time domain, wherein the second beam is determined by the network node according to a relative position relationship between the network node and the base station, and the second beam is configured to be directed at the base station. (Paragraph [0122], “One or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces are used to reflect an incident beam (a PRS from a primary TP) over multiple directions during respective time periods… One or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces are used to reflect an incident beam (a PRS from a primary TP) over multiple directions during respective time periods.” Figure 8 discloses the formation of multiple beams for the RIS and for the ED/UE however, the focus of this claim is the beam between the RIS and BS/TP in which is disclosed to be configured for the respective time domain.)
Regarding claim 7 Bayesteh discloses:
wherein the beam time domain information further comprises beamforming slot information that is indicative of a period of beamforming; and forming the first beam for signal directing in the first time domain comprises, forming the first beam periodically in the first time domain according to the beamforming slot information. (Paragraph [0123], “The direction of reflection for the RIS 302 is configured, and known to the receiving node, for each of one or more time periods that the incident beam B.sub.M is being transmitted towards the RIS 302… only one beam is actually produced at given time period that the incident beam is being transmitted towards the RIS 302, depending on the configuration of the RIS for that period. If the PRS is transmitted towards the RIS over multiple time periods, different configurations (i.e. different angles of reflection) may be applied by the RIS during each time slot resulting in a different reflected beam in each time period” The RIS (network node) receives timing information of periodic beamforming by the base station.)
Regarding claim 8 Bayesteh discloses:
wherein forming the first beam for signal directing in the first time domain comprises, acquiring beamforming trigger information sent by the base station, wherein the beamforming trigger information comprises a first time interval, and forming the first beam in the first time domain according to the first time interval. (Paragraph [0122], “One or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces are used to reflect an incident beam (a PRS from a primary TP) over multiple directions during respective time periods.” And paragraph [0123], “The direction of reflection for the RIS 302 is configured, and known to the receiving node, for each of one or more time periods that the incident beam B.sub.M is being transmitted towards the RIS 302. The virtual beams are indexed by B.sub.M1, . . . , B.sub.MN, assuming there are N possible beams in total, and are labelled as such in FIG. 8. As can be seen in the FIG. 8, from the ED perspective, the reflected beams (B.sub.M1, . . . , B.sub.MN) appear to be coming from are a second (imaginary) TP indicated at 306. While there are N possibilities for the reflected beam, only one beam is actually produced at given time period…” As disclosed in the specs the trigger information could just be the time of when the beam should get formed which would be one of the information sent from the network/BS to the RIS.)
Regarding claims 9 and 19 Bayesteh discloses:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein before acquiring the first beam identification information and the beam time domain information sent by the base station, the method further comprises, sending first service information to the base station, to instruct the base station to generate the first beam identification information according to the first service information and an acquired target beam directing position of the network node with respect to a terminal device, wherein the first service information is indicative of a correspondence between each beam in the network node and a respective beam directing position; (Paragraph [0077], “The ED 110 is configured to perform measurements on the received signals including the signals transmitted through the beams received directly from base stations, and reflected beams received via an RIS. Example methods are described in detail below. The ED may receive signaling from the network instructing the ED on how to perform these measurements; this may, for example indicate which resources to measure and/or timing of the measurements, and/or what parameters to measure. The ED then calculates its location based on these measurements and/or signal the measurements to the network for the network to make the calculation.”)
or sending second service information to the base station, to instruct the base station to generate the first beam identification information according to the second service information and an acquired set of test values of a template beam of the network node with respect to a terminal device, wherein the second service information is indicative of a correspondence between each template beam in the network node and the respective set of test values of the template beam. (Paragraph [0077], “The ED 110 is configured to perform measurements on the received signals including the signals transmitted through the beams received directly from base stations, and reflected beams received via an RIS. Example methods are described in detail below. The ED may receive signaling from the network instructing the ED on how to perform these measurements; this may, for example indicate which resources to measure and/or timing of the measurements, and/or what parameters to measure. The ED then calculates its location based on these measurements and/or signal the measurements to the network for the network to make the calculation.” The measurements of resources and parameters are test values sent to the network through the RIS (beams of network node with respects to ED/terminal device) where the BS generates beam identification information.)
Regarding claims 10 and 20 Bayesteh discloses:
wherein the first beam identification information comprises first implicit information that is indicative of a target beam directing position of the network node with respect to a terminal device; (Paragraph [0122], “To enable this, RIS are implemented in known locations, for example, on a façade of a building whose location is known to both ED and TP, and the components of the RIS are configured by the network to reflect the incident beams over one or more pre-determined directions instructed by the network.” And paragraph [0123], “different configurations (i.e. different angles of reflection) may be applied by the RIS during each time slot resulting in a different reflected beam in each time period, again the configurations being known to the receiving node.” The information for beamforming of the network node (ris) with respect to the terminal device (ed) is configured by the network.)
and forming the first beam for signal directing in the first time domain comprises, forming a first beam in the first time domain according to the first implicit information and the first service information, the first beam being configured to be directed at the terminal device corresponding to the target beam directing position; (Paragraph [0122], “To enable this, RIS are implemented in known locations, for example, on a façade of a building whose location is known to both ED and TP, and the components of the RIS are configured by the network to reflect the incident beams over one or more pre-determined directions instructed by the network.” And paragraph [0123], “different configurations (i.e. different angles of reflection) may be applied by the RIS during each time slot resulting in a different reflected beam in each time period, again the configurations being known to the receiving node.” The information for beamforming of the network node (ris) with respect to the terminal device (ed) is configured by the network.)
and wherein the first service information is indicative of a correspondence between each beam in the network node and a respective beam directing position. (Paragraph [0123], “If the PRS is transmitted towards the RIS over multiple time periods, different configurations (i.e. different angles of reflection) may be applied by the RIS during each time slot resulting in a different reflected beam in each time period, again the configurations being known to the receiving node.”)
Regarding claims 12 and 22 Bayesteh discloses:
wherein the first beam identification information comprises second implicit information that is indicative of a set of test values of a template beam of the network node with respect to a terminal device; and forming the first beam for signal directing in the first time domain comprises, forming a first beam corresponding to a first beam test parameter in the first time domain according to the set of test values of the template beam of the network node with respect to the terminal device and the second service information. (Paragraph [0077], “The ED 110 is configured to perform measurements on the received signals including the signals transmitted through the beams received directly from base stations, and reflected beams received via an RIS. Example methods are described in detail below. The ED may receive signaling from the network instructing the ED on how to perform these measurements; this may, for example indicate which resources to measure and/or timing of the measurements, and/or what parameters to measure. The ED then calculates its location based on these measurements and/or signal the measurements to the network for the network to make the calculation.” And Paragraph [0123], “If the PRS is transmitted towards the RIS over multiple time periods, different configurations (i.e. different angles of reflection) may be applied by the RIS during each time slot resulting in a different reflected beam in each time period, again the configurations being known to the receiving node.” The measurements of resources and parameters are test values sent to the network through the RIS (beams of network node with respects to ED/terminal device) where the BS generates beam identification information.)
Regarding claim 24 Bayesteh discloses:
A base station, comprising a second memory, a second processor, and a computer program stored in the second memory and executable by the second processor which, when executed by the second processor causes the second processor to carry out the method as claimed in claim 14. (Paragraph [0078], “the base station 170 includes at least one processing unit 250, at least one transmitter 252, at least one receiver 254, one or more antennas 256, at least one memory 258, and one or more input/output devices or interfaces 266.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayesteh in view of Baligh et al. (US 20230327714 A1)
Regarding claim 18 Bayesteh does not disclose:
acquiring a beam operating mode supported by the network node, wherein the beam operating mode is sent by the network node; and sending first indication information to the network node according to the beam operating mode, to instruct the network node to determine a first beam operating mode from at least one beam operating mode supported by the network node according to the first indication information, and to employ the first beam operating mode.
Baligh discloses:
acquiring a beam operating mode supported by the network node, wherein the beam operating mode is sent by the network node; (Paragraph [0246], “The detailed CSI can be determined by channel measurement that will be described in examples below as referenced in FIGS. 6A to 6C. Knowledge of the control mechanism of the RIS panel may be provided, for example, by the RIS as RIS capability information.” Network/bs getting RIS capability for differing modes.)
and sending first indication information to the network node according to the beam operating mode, to instruct the network node to determine a first beam operating mode from at least one beam operating mode supported by the network node according to the first indication information, and to employ the first beam operating mode. (Paragraph [0247], “The BS provides the RIS configuration information that may include one or more of beam shape, beam direction and/or beam width of the impinging and/or reflecting beams at the RIS and the RIS can then determine a phase shift for each configurable element to achieve a desired RIS pattern… The BS in such a case, does not need to know exactly how to implement the RIS pattern on the RIS panel. This mode allows a unified signaling between the BS and the RIS for different RIS panels. Also, this mode allows for self-calibration of the RIS without involving the BS.” And paragraph [0249], “the RIS pattern is controlled using a hybrid mode… the BS instructs the RIS to select N (an integer) different RIS patterns for N different instances of CSI-RS reflection… The BS then selects one of the RIS patterns and informs the RIS to use the selected pattern from the N measurement patterns, or a combination of several of the RIS patterns. In some embodiments, the RIS can perform initial beam forming or beam detection as an initial part of RIS-UE beamforming setup.”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the RIS capabilities of Bayesteh with the different RIS beamforming modes of Baligh. One would have been motivated to do this to increase the flexibility of the RIS in case it does not “have access to all the configuration information” (Baligh [0245]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayesteh in view of Elshafie et al. (US 20240305335 A1)
Regarding claim 23 Bayesteh does not disclose:
A network device, comprising a first memory, a first processor, and a computer program stored in the first memory and executable by first the processor which, when executed by the first processor causes the first processor to carry out the method as claimed in claim 1
Elshafie discloses:
A network device, comprising a first memory, a first processor, and a computer program stored in the first memory and executable by first the processor which, when executed by the first processor causes the first processor to carry out the method as claimed in claim 1 (Fig. 8 and Fig. 10, paragraph [0074], “RIS panel 802” and Paragraph [0091], “The processor 1004, as utilized in a RIS controller 1000, may be configured (e.g., in coordination with the memory 1005)”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the RIS components Bayesteh with the different RIS components of Elshafie. One would have been motivated to do this to allow the RIS to receive higher level instructions or store more patterns.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayesteh in view of Duan et al. (US 20240107485 A1)
Regarding claim 6 Bayesteh does not disclose:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the beamforming time information comprises a plurality of beamforming symbols, and the beamforming symbols comprise at least one of, N1 consecutive orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, wherein N1 is an integer between 1 and 14; one OFDM symbol and N2 consecutive OFDM symbols, wherein N2 is 2, 4 or 7; two consecutive OFDM symbols and another two consecutive OFDM symbols; one OFDM symbol and another OFDM symbol which is separated from the one OFDM symbol by four OFDM symbols; or two first beam symbols each distributed over a respective one of two consecutive slots, wherein a position of one of the two first beam symbols on a respective slot of the two consecutive slots corresponds to a position of the other one of the two first beam symbols on a respective slot of the two consecutive slots, and the first beam symbols comprise one OFDM symbol and another OFDM symbol which is separated from the one OFDM symbol by four OFDM symbols.
Duan discloses:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the beamforming time information comprises a plurality of beamforming symbols, and the beamforming symbols comprise at least one of, N1 consecutive orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, wherein N1 is an integer between 1 and 14; (Paragraph [0093], “A collection of resource elements (REs) that are used for transmission of PRS is referred to as a “PRS resource.” The collection of resource elements can span multiple PRBs in the frequency domain and ‘N’ (such as 1 or more) consecutive symbol(s) within a slot in the time domain. In a given OFDM symbol in the time domain, a PRS resource occupies consecutive PRBs in the frequency domain.”)
one OFDM symbol and N2 consecutive OFDM symbols, wherein N2 is 2, 4 or 7; two consecutive OFDM symbols and another two consecutive OFDM symbols; one OFDM symbol and another OFDM symbol which is separated from the one OFDM symbol by four OFDM symbols; or two first beam symbols each distributed over a respective one of two consecutive slots, wherein a position of one of the two first beam symbols on a respective slot of the two consecutive slots corresponds to a position of the other one of the two first beam symbols on a respective slot of the two consecutive slots, and the first beam symbols comprise one OFDM symbol and another OFDM symbol which is separated from the one OFDM symbol by four OFDM symbols.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the beamforming of Bayesteh with the consecutive OFDM of Duan. One would have been motivated to do this to have precise control over the duration of the beam.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAM P. CAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479