DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 22 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 22 is referencing claim 21 which has been canceled. For the sake of examination, the examiner has interpreted the typo to reference claim 19. If the applicant does not agree with the examiner’s interpretation appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first service information" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4,7-10,12,14-16, 19-20, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akkarakaran et al. (US 20210160850 A1, hereinafter Akkarakaran).
Regarding claims 1 and 14 Akkarakaran discloses:
acquiring first beam identification information and beam time domain information sent by a base station, wherein the beam time domain information comprises beamforming time information that is indicative of a time corresponding to beamforming by the network node for signal directing; (paragraph [0139], “At 415 and 420, base station 105-b may transmit a sidelink schedule to transmitting UE 115-f, or receiving UE 115-e, or a combination thereof. In some cases, receiving the sidelink schedule at the UEs 115 may include receiving transmission beam information for a sidelink message to be transmitted from transmitting UE 115-f to receiving UE 115-e… In some cases, the transmission beam information may include beam identifiers, and a time-frequency resource configuration for each of the one or more transmission beams.” And fig. 4)
determining a first time domain according to the beamforming time information; and forming a first beam for signal directing in the first time domain, wherein the first beam is determined by the network node according to the first beam identification information. (Paragraph [0139], “In some cases, the transmission beam information may include beam identifiers, and a time-frequency resource configuration for each of the one or more transmission beams.” And paragraph [0140], “At 425, transmitting UE 115-f may transmit the sidelink message to receiving UE 115-e using the one or more transmission beams based on the transmission beam information.” And fig. 4. It is implicit that the time-frequency resource configuration in the transmission beam information is used by the UE in its determination of a first time domain and forming of the first beam for signaling.)
Regarding claims 2 and 15 Akkarakaran discloses:
the first beam identification information further comprises beam indication information which is indicative of a first beam directed at a first terminal device; (paragraph [0138], “In some cases, beam information may include sets of beam pairs. For example, the transmitting UE 115-f may transmit, to base station 105-b, a set of beam pairs for a set of transmission beams for sidelink communications between transmitting UE 115-f and receiving UE 115-e, where each of the set of beam pairs may corresponds to a spatially separated pair of transmission beams at transmitting UE 115-f.” and paragraph [0139], “In some cases, receiving the sidelink schedule at the UEs 115 may include receiving transmission beam information for a sidelink message to be transmitted from transmitting UE 115-f to receiving UE 115-e” The beam information from the BS tells the UEf which beam (first beam directed) to use to transmit to UEe (first terminal device).)
and forming the first beam for signal directing in the first time domain comprises, forming the first beam directed at the first terminal device in the first time domain according to the first beam identification information. (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0138], “In some cases, beam information may include sets of beam pairs. For example, the transmitting UE 115-f may transmit, to base station 105-b, a set of beam pairs for a set of transmission beams for sidelink communications between transmitting UE 115-f and receiving UE 115-e, where each of the set of beam pairs may corresponds to a spatially separated pair of transmission beams at transmitting UE 115-f.” and paragraph [0139], “In some cases, receiving the sidelink schedule at the UEs 115 may include receiving transmission beam information for a sidelink message to be transmitted from transmitting UE 115-f to receiving UE 115-e… the transmission beam information may include beam identifiers, and a time-frequency resource configuration” The time resource configuration is implicitly used by the UE to determine the first time domain when UEf forms the first beam directed towards UEe.)
Regarding claim 3 Akkarakaran discloses:
wherein forming the first beam for signal directing in the first time domain comprises, acquiring beam indication information sent by the base station, wherein the beam indication information is indicative of the first beam directed at a first terminal device; and forming the first beam directed at the first terminal device in the first time domain according to the first beam identification information and the beam indication information. (paragraph [0139], “At 415 and 420, base station 105-b may transmit a sidelink schedule to transmitting UE 115-f, or receiving UE 115-e, or a combination thereof. In some cases, receiving the sidelink schedule at the UEs 115 may include receiving transmission beam information for a sidelink message to be transmitted from transmitting UE 115-f to receiving UE 115-e… In some cases, the transmission beam information may include beam identifiers, and a time-frequency resource configuration for each of the one or more transmission beams.” And fig. 4. The beam information used by UEf to form the first beam directed towards UEe (first terminal) is indicative and also carried time domain configuration for UEf to use.)
Regarding claims 4 and 16 Akkarakaran discloses:
forming a second beam in the first time domain, wherein the second beam is determined by the network node according to a relative position relationship between the network node and the base station, and the second beam is configured to be directed at the base station. (Paragraph [0089], “Each base station 105 may provide a coverage area 110 over which the UEs 115 and the base station 105 may establish one or more communication links 125. The coverage area 110 may be an example of a geographic area over which a base station 105 and a UE 115 may support the communication of signals according to one or more radio access technologies.” And paragraph [0137], “At 410, transmitting UE 115-f may transmit to base station 105-b transmission beam information.” And paragraph [0139], “the transmission beam information may include beam identifiers, and a time-frequency resource configuration for each of the one or more transmission beams.” An uplink beam link is well known in the art, by being within a BS’ coverage area that is a relative positioning. Further the time configuration allows for this to happen in the first time domain.)
Regarding claim 7 Akkarakaran discloses:
wherein the beam time domain information further comprises beamforming slot information that is indicative of a period of beamforming; and forming the first beam for signal directing in the first time domain comprises, forming the first beam periodically in the first time domain according to the beamforming slot information. (paragraph [0097], “The time intervals for the base stations 105 or the UEs 115 may be expressed in multiples of a basic time… Time intervals of a communications resource may be organized according to radio frames each having a specified duration (e.g., 10 milliseconds (ms)).” And paragraph [0139], “In some cases, the transmission beam information may include beam identifiers, and a time-frequency resource configuration for each of the one or more transmission beams.” Beam information includes time resource configuration which includes the period of beamforming for the time slots (intervals).)
Regarding claim 8 Akkarakaran discloses:
wherein forming the first beam for signal directing in the first time domain comprises, acquiring beamforming trigger information sent by the base station, wherein the beamforming trigger information comprises a first time interval, and forming the first beam in the first time domain according to the first time interval. (paragraph [0097], “The time intervals for the base stations 105 or the UEs 115 may be expressed in multiples of a basic time… Time intervals of a communications resource may be organized according to radio frames each having a specified duration (e.g., 10 milliseconds (ms)).” And paragraph [0139], “At 415 and 420, base station 105-b may transmit a sidelink schedule to transmitting UE 115-f, or receiving UE 115-e… In some cases, the transmission beam information may include beam identifiers, and a time-frequency resource configuration for each of the one or more transmission beams.” And paragraph [0140], “transmitting UE 115-f may transmit the sidelink message to receiving UE 115-e using the one or more transmission beams based on the transmission beam information.” The beam information sent by the BS is also trigger information as it triggers the UEf to transmit and configure its link.)
Regarding claims 9 and 19 Akkarakaran discloses:
wherein before acquiring the first beam identification information and the beam time domain information sent by the base station, the method further comprises, sending first service information to the base station, to instruct the base station to generate the first beam identification information according to the first service information and an acquired target beam directing position of the network node with respect to a terminal device, wherein the first service information is indicative of a correspondence between each beam in the network node and a respective beam directing position; ( Fig. 4 and Paragraph [0137], “At 410, transmitting UE 115-f may transmit to base station 105-b transmission beam information. In some cases, the set of beam parameters may include beam identifiers for the set of transmission beams, codebook information for the set of transmission beams, beam shape information specific to a beam identifier for each antenna panel of the first UE, etc.” and paragraph [0139], “At 415 and 420, base station 105-b may transmit a sidelink schedule to transmitting UE 115-f, or receiving UE 115-e, or a combination thereof. In some cases, receiving the sidelink schedule at the UEs 115 may include receiving transmission beam information for a sidelink message to be transmitted from transmitting UE 115-f to receiving UE 115-e” The transmitting UE sends beam info (first service info) to the BS and the base station generates scheduling information relating to UEe (target terminal).)
or sending second service information to the base station, to instruct the base station to generate the first beam identification information according to the second service information and an acquired set of test values of a template beam of the network node with respect to a terminal device, wherein the second service information is indicative of a correspondence between each template beam in the network node and the respective set of test values of the template beam. (paragraph [0132], “The receiving UE 115 may measure each of the signals received from the selected transmission beam on each reception beam and report a measurement report to the base station… The base station, or transmitting UE 115, or a combination thereof may select one or more reception beams based on the measurements, or indication of a preferred beam, or a combination thereof from the receiving UE” In sidelink the receiving UE sends measurement report (second service information) of each signal received from the transmission beam (set of test value) and the BS transmits back/generates a decision on which beams for the UE to use.)
Regarding claims 10 and 20 Akkarakaran discloses:
wherein the first beam identification information comprises first implicit information that is indicative of a target beam directing position of the network node with respect to a terminal device; (Paragraph [0137], “In some cases, transmitting the set of beam parameters may include transmitting geometric location of one or more antenna panels associated with the set of transmission beams. In some cases, transmitting the set of beam parameters may include transmitting a relative location of one or more antenna panels associated with the set of transmission beams with respect to transmitting UE 115-f.” and paragraph [0139], “base station 105-b may transmit a sidelink schedule to transmitting UE 115-f…receiving transmission beam information for a sidelink message to be transmitted from transmitting UE 115-f to receiving UE 115-e” and fig. 4 The beam identification information includes beam identifiers that are used by the base station to specify the beams to be used between the two UE. Further it does not explicitly indicate a target beam directing position (implicit information).)
and forming the first beam for signal directing in the first time domain comprises, forming a first beam in the first time domain according to the first implicit information and the first service information, the first beam being configured to be directed at the terminal device corresponding to the target beam directing position; (Paragraph [0137], “At 410, transmitting UE 115-f may transmit to base station 105-b transmission beam information… In some cases, transmitting the set of beam parameters may include transmitting geometric location of one or more antenna panels associated with the set of transmission beams. In some cases, transmitting the set of beam parameters may include transmitting a relative location of one or more antenna panels associated with the set of transmission beams with respect to transmitting UE 115-f.” and paragraph [0139], “base station 105-b may transmit a sidelink schedule to transmitting UE 115-f…receiving transmission beam information for a sidelink message to be transmitted from transmitting UE 115-f to receiving UE 115-e… In some cases, the transmission beam information may include beam identifiers, and a time-frequency resource configuration for each of the one or more transmission beams” and fig. 4. As disclosed above the forming of the beam with respects to the terminal device utilizes the implicit information (beam identifiers) and the time configuration within the beam information.)
and wherein the first service information is indicative of a correspondence between each beam in the network node and a respective beam directing position. (Paragraph [0137], “At 410, transmitting UE 115-f may transmit to base station 105-b transmission beam information (the first service information)… In some cases, transmitting the set of beam parameters may include transmitting geometric location of one or more antenna panels associated with the set of transmission beams. In some cases, transmitting the set of beam parameters may include transmitting a relative location of one or more antenna panels associated with the set of transmission beams with respect to transmitting UE 115-f.” )
Regarding claims 12 and 22 Akkarakaran discloses:
wherein the first beam identification information comprises second implicit information that is indicative of a set of test values of a template beam of the network node with respect to a terminal device; and forming the first beam for signal directing in the first time domain comprises, forming a first beam corresponding to a first beam test parameter in the first time domain according to the set of test values of the template beam of the network node with respect to the terminal device and the second service information. (paragraph [0132], “The receiving UE 115 may measure each of the signals received from the selected transmission beam on each reception beam and report a measurement report to the base station… The base station, or transmitting UE 115, or a combination thereof may select one or more reception beams based on the measurements, or indication of a preferred beam, or a combination thereof from the receiving UE” and paragraph [0139], “In some cases, the transmission beam information is received via DCI, RRC signaling, or a MAC-CE. In some cases, the transmission beam information may include beam identifiers, and a time-frequency resource configuration for each of the one or more transmission beams.” In sidelink the receiving UE sends measurement report (second service information) of each signal received from the transmission beam (set of test value) and the BS transmits back/generates a decision on which beams for the UE to use.)
Regarding claim 23 Akkarakaran discloses:
A network device, comprising a first memory, a first processor, and a computer program stored in the first memory (paragraph [0007], “An apparatus for wireless communications at a first UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor”)
Regarding claim 24 Akkarakaran discloses:
A base station, comprising a second memory, a second processor, and a computer program stored in the second memory (paragraph [0044], “An apparatus for wireless communications at a base station is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor”)
Regarding claim 25 Akkarakaran discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer-executable instruction which, when executed by a processor (paragraph [0009], “ A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications at a first UE is described. The code may include instructions executable by a processor “)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran in view of Lee et al. (US 20220407652 A1, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 6 Akkarakaran does not disclose:
N1 consecutive orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, wherein N1 is an integer between 1 and 14; one OFDM symbol and N2 consecutive OFDM symbols, wherein N2 is 2, 4 or 7; two consecutive OFDM symbols and another two consecutive OFDM symbols; one OFDM symbol and another OFDM symbol which is separated from the one OFDM symbol by four OFDM symbols; or two first beam symbols each distributed over a respective one of two consecutive slots, wherein a position of one of the two first beam symbols on a respective slot of the two consecutive slots corresponds to a position of the other one of the two first beam symbols on a respective slot of the two consecutive slots, and the first beam symbols comprise one OFDM symbol and another OFDM symbol which is separated from the one OFDM symbol by four OFDM symbols.
Lee discloses:N1 consecutive orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, wherein N1 is an integer between 1 and 14; (Figs. 14-16 discloses variations of the N1 N2 OFDM symbols including 11 PSSCH symbols (N1), further one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to conceive these different modifications for OFDM.)
one OFDM symbol and N2 consecutive OFDM symbols, wherein N2 is 2, 4 or 7; two consecutive OFDM symbols and another two consecutive OFDM symbols; one OFDM symbol and another OFDM symbol which is separated from the one OFDM symbol by four OFDM symbols; or two first beam symbols each distributed over a respective one of two consecutive slots, wherein a position of one of the two first beam symbols on a respective slot of the two consecutive slots corresponds to a position of the other one of the two first beam symbols on a respective slot of the two consecutive slots, and the first beam symbols comprise one OFDM symbol and another OFDM symbol which is separated from the one OFDM symbol by four OFDM symbols.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reconfigure the OFDMs within Akkarakaran’s teaching with Lee’s OFDM patterns. One would have been motivated to do this to increase beamforming flexibility and reduce overhead.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran in view of RAGHAVAN et al. (US 20210058128 A1, hereinafter Raghavan).
Regarding claim 18 Akkarakaran does not fully disclose:
acquiring a beam operating mode supported by the network node, wherein the beam operating mode is sent by the network node; and sending first indication information to the network node according to the beam operating mode, to instruct the network node to determine a first beam operating mode from at least one beam operating mode supported by the network node according to the first indication information, and to employ the first beam operating mode.
Raghavan discloses:
acquiring a beam operating mode supported by the network node, wherein the beam operating mode is sent by the network node; and sending first indication information to the network node according to the beam operating mode, to instruct the network node to determine a first beam operating mode from at least one beam operating mode supported by the network node according to the first indication information, and to employ the first beam operating mode. (Paragraph [0100], “The base station 502 may configure the UE 504 for one of the analog beamforming mode or the hybrid beamforming mode when the UE 504 is capable of operating in the hybrid beamforming mode. Therefore, the UE 504 may indicate, to the base station 502, whether the UE 504 is capable of operating in the hybrid beamforming mode. For example, the UE 504 may transmit UE capability information 630 to the base station 502” and paragraph [0101], “The base station 502 may receive the UE status information 628 and the UE capability information 630 from the UE 504… the base station 502 may determine 632 a set of transmission ranks associated with at least one of the set of clusters based on the UE status information 628 and the UE capability information” After receiving information about the UE and the BS is able to generate and determine beam related information for the UE to use within its own capacity.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the transmission beam information of Akkarakaran with UE capability information of Raghavan. One would have been motivated to do this to “reduce the signaling overhead commensurate with signaling more TCI states to the UE” (Raghavan, paragraph [0106]).
Conclusion
/NAM P. CAO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479