DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 are pending where claim 1 has been amended.
Status of Previous Rejections
The previous 35 USC § 103 rejections of the claims have been withdrawn in view of amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2020050929 A to Abe et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes)
Regarding claims 1-4, Abe discloses a ferritic stainless steel comprising the following composition (Abe, abstract, para [0024-0055]), which overlaps the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed wt%
Abe wt%
Overlaps?
C
0.003-0.030
0.001-0.100
Yes
Si
0.01-1.00
0.01-5.00
Yes
Mn
0.05-0.30
0.01-2.00
Yes
P
0-0.050
0-0.050
Yes
S
0-0.020
0-0.010
Yes
Cr
24.0-30.0
9.0-30.0
Yes
Ni
1.50-3.00
0.01-3.00
Yes
Mo
1.00-3.00
0.01-3.00
Yes
Al
0.001-0.020
0.010-5.000
Yes
Nb
0.20-0.80
0.001-1.000
Yes
N
0-0.030
0.001-0.050
Yes
Cu
Opt 0.01-1.00
0.01-3.00
Yes
Co
Opt 0.01-1.00
0.001-0.500
Yes
W
Opt 0.01-2.00
0.001-1.00
Yes
Ti
Opt 0.01-0.10
0.01-1.00
Yes
V
Opt 0.01-0.20
0.001-1.00
Yes
Zr
Opt 0.01-0.10
0.0001-0.0300
Yes
Mg
Opt 0.0005-0.0050
0.0001-0.0050
Yes
Ca
Opt 0.0005-0.0050
0.0001-0.0050
Yes
B
Opt 0.0005-0.0050
0.0001-0.0100
Yes
REM
Opt 0.01-0.100
0.001-0.100
Yes
Sn
Opt 0.01-0.100
0.001-3.00
Yes
Sb
Opt 0.01-0.100
0.001-0.100
Yes
Fe
Balance
Balance
Yes
Ni-2(Si+Mn)
≥0.00
-13.99-2.96
Yes
Cr + 1.5Mo + Si + 1.5Nb – 2.5Ni
≤25.0
1.5265-40.975
Yes
*calculated from composition ranges of Abe
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Abe including the instantly claimed because Abe discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Regarding claims 5-8, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the ferritic stainless steel of Abe could be used “for an exhaust heat recovery device or an exhaust gas recirculation device in which at least one joint is assembled by brazing,” insofar as the instant limitation does not appear to imply any structural limitation that the steel of Abe does not possess.
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2002/0144756 A1 to Hirata et al.
Regarding claims 1-4, Hirata discloses a ferritic stainless steel comprising the following composition (Hirata, abstract, para [0065]), which overlaps the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed wt%
Hirata wt%
Overlaps/Lies within?
C
0.003-0.030
0-0.1
Yes
Si
0.01-1.00
0-1.5
Yes
Mn
0.05-0.30
0-1.5
Yes
P
0-0.050
0-0.08
Yes
S
0-0.020
0-0.02
Yes
Cr
24.0-30.0
5-50
Yes
Ni
1.50-3.00
0-2.0
Yes
Mo
1.00-3.00
0-2.5
Yes
Al
0.001-0.020
0-0.2
Yes
Nb
0.20-0.80
0-0.5
Yes
N
0-0.030
0-0.1
Yes
Cu
Opt 0.01-1.00
0-2.5
Yes
W
Opt 0.01-2.00
0-2.0
Yes
Ti
Opt 0.01-0.10
0-0.5
Yes
V
Opt 0.01-0.20
0-0.3
Yes
Zr
Opt 0.01-0.10
0-0.3
Yes
Mg
Opt 0.0005-0.0050
0-0.02
Yes
Ca
Opt 0.0005-0.0050
0-0.02
Yes
B
Opt 0.0005-0.0050
0-0.05
Yes
REM
Opt 0.01-0.100
0-0.1
Yes
Fe
Balance
Balance
Yes
Ni-2(Si+Mn)
≥0.00
-6-2*
Yes
Cr + 1.5Mo + Si + 1.5Nb – 2.5Ni
≤25.0
0-56*
Yes
*calculated from composition ranges of Hirata
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Hirata including the instantly claimed because Hirata discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Regarding claims 5-8, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the ferritic stainless steel of Hirata could be used “for an exhaust heat recovery device or an exhaust gas recirculation device in which at least one joint is assembled by brazing,” insofar as the instant limitation does not appear to imply any structural limitation that the steel of Hirata does not possess.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0098994 A1 to Schuisky et al.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Schuisky discloses a ferritic stainless steel comprising the following composition (Schuisky, abstract, para [0019-0035]), which overlaps the instantly claimed composition as follows:
Element
Claimed wt%
Schuisky wt%
Overlaps?
C
0.003-0.030
0-0.1
Yes
Si
0.50-1.00
0.1-1
Yes
Mn
0.05-0.30
0-0.6
Yes
P
0-0.050
0-0.008
Yes
S
0-0.020
0-0.008
Yes
Cr
24.0-30.0
20-25
Yes
Ni
1.50-3.00
0-2
Yes
Mo
1.00-3.00
0.5-2
Yes
Al
0.001-0.020
0-0.05
Yes
Nb
0.20-0.80
0.3-1.5
Yes
N
0-0.030
0-0.03
Yes
Ti
Opt 0.01-0.10
0-0.5
Yes
Zr
Opt 0.01-0.10
0-0.5
Yes
REM
Opt 0.01-0.100
0-0.3
Yes
Fe
Balance
Balance
Yes
Ni-2(Si+Mn)
≥0.00
-3.2-1.8*
Yes
Cr + 1.5Mo + Si + 1.5Nb – 2.5Ni
≤25.0
16.3-31.25*
Yes
*calculated from composition ranges of Schuisky
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Schuisky including the instantly claimed because Schuisky discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
Regarding claims 5 and 7, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the ferritic stainless steel of Schuisky could be used “for an exhaust heat recovery device or an exhaust gas recirculation device in which at least one joint is assembled by brazing,” insofar as the instant limitation does not appear to imply any structural limitation that the steel of Schuisky does not possess.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN D WALCK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738