DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 8/21/2026 has been received and entered. The rejection in view of Yang, which taught the use of a bio-glycerin has been overcome. A new reference Ojala (US 2023/0020748) has been used to address the use of a bio-propylene.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and4--9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 109232329 (submitted by applicant) in view of EP 1191007 and Ojala (US 2023/0020748).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, CN ‘329 teaches a method of synthesizing sodium allyl sulfonate by reacting allyl chloride with sodium sulfite (0007). CN ‘329 differs in not specifically teaching that the allyl halide is at least partially renewable and non-fossil. EP ‘007 teaches that allyl chloride is produced from allyl alcohol and hydrogen chloride (0001). EP ‘007 fails to specify that the allyl alcohol is a bio product. Ojala teaches that allyl alcohol can be made from bio propylene (0294). Ojala teaches that the bio-propylene is virtually free of impurities, thus making it suitable for use in various processes (0291-0294). Thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the process of Ojala for formation of allyl alcohol, given such benefit of low impurities in the bio-propylene. Given the teaching of Ojala that allyl alcohol can be formed from bio-propylene, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the formed bio-allyl alcohol in the process of EP ‘007, since one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in forming allyl chloride in the process of EP ‘007. Thus, since the formation of a bio-allyl alcohol would be obvious in view of EP ‘007 and Ojala, the use of such in forming the allyl sulfonate of CN ‘329 would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, since one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in utilizing a bio-sourced allyl alcohol in the synthesis taught by CN ‘329. Furthermore, the use of bio-propylene as the starting material for the production of allyl alcohol would be obvious to try, given the teachings of Ojala (0294), since there would only be 3 choices, bio-propylene, non-bio-propylene or a mixture of both. Such method using the bio-propylene of Ojala, lacking in sulfur impurities (see 0368), would obviously limit the amount of sulfite residues compared to a fossil based method.
Regarding claim 2, CN ‘329 teaches methallyl chloride (0007).
Regarding claim 4, CN ‘329 teaches sodium sulfite (0007).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, since 100% bio-sourced propylene can be used as the starting material (Ojala 0167), then the bio-sourced carbon content of the allyl halide and the allyl sulfonate salt can be 100%.
Regarding claim 8, In utilizing only a bio-sourced propylene as the initial starting material, the allyl halide would be segregated.
Regarding claim 9, Ojala teaches that recycling can be involved in the production process (see for example 0199).
Pertinent Prior Art
US 2019/0263737 teaches that bio-allyl alcohol and standard allyl alcohol behaves substantially the same, thus using either in synthesis processes would appear obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that the current invention obtained unexpected results. The table provided for unexpected results contains values for C14 which is an extremely rare carbon species. It would be impossible for the allyl alcohol to contain between 30% and 100% of C14. The scope of what is being taught in the Table on page 7 of applicant’s response thus cannot be seen as relevant to applicant’s claims, since such relies on impossible data. Furthermore as noted above, Ojala teaches that the use of bio-propylene reduces the amount of impurities compared to fossil-polypropylene, and thus would result in fewer impurities in the final products produced.
Regarding applicant’s arguments about Yang, a new reference Ojala (US 2023/0020748) has been used to address the use of a bio-propylene. The rejection no longer relies on the bio-glycerin of Yang.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745