DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on 07/15/2026.
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 10-13 and 15-16 are currently pending.
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 10-13 and 15-16 are rejected.
Claims 1, 7, 12 and 15 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-2, 6-8 11-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yushu ZHANG et al. (US 2022/0377622 A1), hereinafter ZHANG, in view of Ki Bum KWON et al. (US 2020/0205103 A1), hereinafter KWON.
For claim 1, ZHANG teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first base station associated with a serving cell, configuration information on a non-serving cell (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 910 and paragraph teach system 200 receives instructions from a source gNB to report measurements.), wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell (Fig. 5 step 510 and paragraph 60 teach Source gNB 110 transmits RRC signaling to configure CMR and other report configurations. The RRC signaling can include configuration report request 300 (e.g., a reportConfig) of FIG. 3, for low layer inter-cell mobility management. The configuration can request L1 measurements in a report, including but not limited to: L1-RSRP, a L1-RSRQ, or a L1-SINR. The report can be configured to be periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic, and the report can be configured to be transmitted to Source gNB 110 by an Uplink Control Information (UCI) signal. Fig. 9 step 970 and paragraph 85 teach the handover is successful. System 200 stops the confirmation timer and applies a new Timing Advance Group (TAG) associated with the new cell. Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG to have wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell.);
transmitting, to the first base station associated with the serving cell, a beam measurement report of the non-serving cell, wherein the beam measurement report is generated based on the configuration information (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 920 and paragraph teach system 200 transmits reports based on the instructions. For example, system 200 may transmit reports based on triggered signals from a source gNB or system 200 may transmit reports based on events that trigger reports. The reports include measurements of various TCI states (e.g., beams) corresponding to 5G wireless cells.);
receiving, from the first base station associated with the serving cell, information on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indicating an activation of a TCI state of the non-serving cell, based on the beam measurement report (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 930 and paragraph 81 teach system 200 receives a new TCI state via MAC CE or DCI signaling.);
receiving, from a second base station associated with the non-serving cell, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 960 and paragraph 84 teach system 200 determines whether a dedicated PDCCH signal from the new cell is received.);
stopping a time alignment timer associated with the TAG of the non-serving cell based on the information on the TCI state and the PDCCH order (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 970 and paragraph 85 teach the handover is successful. System 200 stops the confirmation timer and applies a new Timing Advance Group (TAG) associated with the new cell.).
KWON further teaches receiving, from a first base station associated with a serving cell, configuration information on a non-serving cell, wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell (KWON, Fig. 14 step S1700 and paragraph teach UE receives secondary serving cell configuration information or the secondary serving cell configuration information and reorganized TAG configuration information from an eNB at step S1700. The secondary serving cell configuration information and the TAG configuration information may be received through one RRC connection reconfiguration procedure or different RRC connection reconfiguration procedures. In an embodiment, the TAG configuration information may be included in the secondary serving to cell configuration information.);
receiving, from a second base station associated with the non-serving cell, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order (KWON, Fig. 14 step S1725 and paragraph 198 teach The UE receives a PDCCH order from the eNB at step S1725.); and
performing a random access procedure on the non-serving cell based on the information on the TCI state (KWON, Fig. 14 step S1730 and paragraph 198 teach the UE sends a random access preamble to the eNB at step S1730.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG with KWON to have a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a first base station associated with a serving cell, configuration information on a non-serving cell, wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell; transmitting, to the first base station associated with the serving cell, a beam measurement report of the non-serving cell, wherein the beam measurement report is generated based on the configuration information; receiving, from the first base station associated with the serving cell, information on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indicating an activation of a TCI state of the non-serving cell, based on the beam measurement report; receiving, from a second base station associated with the non-serving cell, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order; stopping a time alignment timer associated with the TAG of the non-serving cell based on the information on the TCI state and the PDCCH order, when the TAG is a primary TAG (PTAG); and performing a random access procedure on the non-serving cell based on the information on the TCI state. Because both references teach handover from source cell to target cell based on TCI state and TAG of the target cell.
For claim 2, ZHANG and KWON further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the information on the TCI state is received via L1/L2 signaling (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 930 and paragraph 81 teach system 200 receives a new TCI state via MAC CE or DCI signaling. See also Fig. 1 step 130, Fig. 8 step 820 and paragraphs 70-77.).
For claim 6, ZHANG and KWON further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the information on the TCI state includes: indication to initiate the random access procedure on the non-serving cell; and indication to stop the time alignment timer associated with the non-serving cell (ZHANG, Fig. 9 steps 930-970 and paragraphs 78-86. KWON, Figs. 10, 13 and paragraphs 154-165. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG and KWON to have wherein the information on the TCI state includes: indication to initiate the random access procedure on the non-serving cell; and indication to stop the time alignment timer associated with the non-serving cell. Because both references teach handover from source cell to target cell based on TCI state and TAG of the target cell.).
For claim 7, ZHANG teaches a method performed by a base station associated with a serving cell in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information on a non- serving cell, (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 910 and paragraph teach system 200 receives instructions from a source gNB to report measurements.), wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell (Fig. 5 step 510 and paragraph 60 teach Source gNB 110 transmits RRC signaling to configure CMR and other report configurations. The RRC signaling can include configuration report request 300 (e.g., a reportConfig) of FIG. 3, for low layer inter-cell mobility management. The configuration can request L1 measurements in a report, including but not limited to: L1-RSRP, a L1-RSRQ, or a L1-SINR. The report can be configured to be periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic, and the report can be configured to be transmitted to Source gNB 110 by an Uplink Control Information (UCI) signal. Fig. 9 step 970 and paragraph 85 teach the handover is successful. System 200 stops the confirmation timer and applies a new Timing Advance Group (TAG) associated with the new cell. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG to have wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell.);
receiving, from the UE, a beam measurement report of the non-serving cell, wherein the beam measurement report is based on the configuration information (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 920 and paragraph teach system 200 transmits reports based on the instructions. For example, system 200 may transmit reports based on triggered signals from a source gNB or system 200 may transmit reports based on events that trigger reports. The reports include measurements of various TCI states (e.g., beams) corresponding to 5G wireless cells.);
transmitting, to the UE, information on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indicating an activation of a TCI state of the non-serving cell, based on the beam measurement report (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 930 and paragraph 81 teach system 200 receives a new TCI state via MAC CE or DCI signaling.);
wherein the information on the TCI state indicates the UE to stop a time alignment timer associated with the TAG of the non-serving cell when the TAG is a primary TAG (PTAG) (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 970 and paragraph 85 teach the handover is successful. System 200 stops the confirmation timer and applies a new Timing Advance Group (TAG) associated with the new cell.).
KWON further teaches transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information on a non- serving cell, wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell (KWON, Fig. 14 step S1700 and paragraph teach UE receives secondary serving cell configuration information or the secondary serving cell configuration information and reorganized TAG configuration information from an eNB at step S1700. The secondary serving cell configuration information and the TAG configuration information may be received through one RRC connection reconfiguration procedure or different RRC connection reconfiguration procedures. In an embodiment, the TAG configuration information may be included in the secondary serving to cell configuration information.);
transmitting, to the UE, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order (KWON, Fig. 14 step S1725 and paragraph 198 teach The UE receives a PDCCH order from the eNB at step S1725.); and
performing a random access procedure on the non-serving cell based on the based on the configuration information (KWON, Fig. 14 step S1730 and paragraph 198 teach the UE sends a random access preamble to the eNB at step S1730.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG with KWON to have method performed by a base station associated with a serving cell in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information on a non- serving cell, wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell; receiving, from the UE, a beam measurement report of the non-serving cell, wherein the beam measurement report is based on the configuration information; and transmitting, to the UE, information on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indicating an activation of a TCI state of the non-serving cell, based on the beam measurement report, wherein the information on the TCI state indicates the UE to stop a time alignment timer associated with the TAG of the non-serving cell when the TAG is a primary TAG (PTAG). Because both references teach handover from source cell to target cell based on TCI state and TAG of the target cell.
For claim 8, ZHANG and KWON further teach the method of claim 7, wherein the information on the TCI state is transmitted via L1/L2 signaling (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 930 and paragraph 81 teach system 200 receives a new TCI state via MAC CE or DCI signaling. See also Fig. 1 step 130, Fig. 8 step 820 and paragraphs 70-77.).
For claim 11, ZHANG and KWON further teach the method of claim 7, wherein the information on the TCI state includes: indication to initiate a random access procedure on the non-serving cell; and indication to stop the time alignment timer associated with the non-serving cell (ZHANG, Fig. 9 steps 930-970 and paragraphs 78-86. KWON, Figs. 10, 13 and paragraphs 154-165. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG and KWON to have wherein the information on the TCI state includes: indication to initiate the random access procedure on the non-serving cell; and indication to stop the time alignment timer associated with the non-serving cell. Because both references teach handover from source cell to target cell based on TCI state and TAG of the target cell.).
For claim 12, ZHANG teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (ZHANG, Fig. 4A), the UE comprising:
at least one transceiver (ZHANG, Fig. 2 item 220);
at least one processor (ZHANG, Fig. 2 item 210) communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and
at least one memory (ZHANG, Fig. 2 item 235), communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the UE to:
receive, from a first base station associated with a serving cell, configuration information on a non-serving cell (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 910 and paragraph teach system 200 receives instructions from a source gNB to report measurements.), wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell (Fig. 5 step 510 and paragraph 60 teach Source gNB 110 transmits RRC signaling to configure CMR and other report configurations. The RRC signaling can include configuration report request 300 (e.g., a reportConfig) of FIG. 3, for low layer inter-cell mobility management. The configuration can request L1 measurements in a report, including but not limited to: L1-RSRP, a L1-RSRQ, or a L1-SINR. The report can be configured to be periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic, and the report can be configured to be transmitted to Source gNB 110 by an Uplink Control Information (UCI) signal. Fig. 9 step 970 and paragraph 85 teach the handover is successful. System 200 stops the confirmation timer and applies a new Timing Advance Group (TAG) associated with the new cell. Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG to have wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell.);
transmit, to the first base station associated with the serving cell, a beam measurement report of the non-serving cell, wherein the beam measurement report is generated based on the configuration information (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 920 and paragraph teach system 200 transmits reports based on the instructions. For example, system 200 may transmit reports based on triggered signals from a source gNB or system 200 may transmit reports based on events that trigger reports. The reports include measurements of various TCI states (e.g., beams) corresponding to 5G wireless cells.);
receive, from the first base station associated with the serving cell, information on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indicating an activation of a TCI state of the non-serving cell, based on the beam measurement report (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 930 and paragraph 81 teach system 200 receives a new TCI state via MAC CE or DCI signaling.);
receive, from a second base station associated with the non-serving cell, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 960 and paragraph 84 teach system 200 determines whether a dedicated PDCCH signal from the new cell is received.);
stopping a time alignment timer associated with the TAG of the non-serving cell based on the information on the TCI state and the PDCCH order (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 970 and paragraph 85 teach the handover is successful. System 200 stops the confirmation timer and applies a new Timing Advance Group (TAG) associated with the new cell.).
KWON further teaches receiving, from a first base station associated with a serving cell, configuration information on a non-serving cell, wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell (KWON, Fig. 14 step S1700 and paragraph teach UE receives secondary serving cell configuration information or the secondary serving cell configuration information and reorganized TAG configuration information from an eNB at step S1700. The secondary serving cell configuration information and the TAG configuration information may be received through one RRC connection reconfiguration procedure or different RRC connection reconfiguration procedures. In an embodiment, the TAG configuration information may be included in the secondary serving to cell configuration information.);
receiving, from a second base station associated with the non-serving cell, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order (KWON, Fig. 14 step S1725 and paragraph 198 teach The UE receives a PDCCH order from the eNB at step S1725.); and
performing a random access procedure on the non-serving cell based on the information on the TCI state (KWON, Fig. 14 step S1730 and paragraph 198 teach the UE sends a random access preamble to the eNB at step S1730.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG with KWON to have a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a first base station associated with a serving cell, configuration information on a non-serving cell, wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell; transmitting, to the first base station associated with the serving cell, a beam measurement report of the non-serving cell, wherein the beam measurement report is generated based on the configuration information; receiving, from the first base station associated with the serving cell, information on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indicating an activation of a TCI state of the non-serving cell, based on the beam measurement report; receiving, from a second base station associated with the non-serving cell, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order; stopping a time alignment timer associated with the TAG of the non-serving cell based on the information on the TCI state and the PDCCH order, when the TAG is a primary TAG (PTAG); and performing a random access procedure on the non-serving cell based on the information on the TCI state. Because both references teach handover from source cell to target cell based on TCI state and TAG of the target cell.
For claim 15, ZHANG teaches a base station associated with a serving cell in a wireless communication system (ZHANG, Fig. 4A), the base station comprising:
at least one transceiver (ZHANG, Fig. 2 item 220);
at least one processor (ZHANG, Fig. 2 item 210) communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and
at least one memory (ZHANG, Fig. 2 item 235), communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at Least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the base station to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information on a non- serving cell, (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 910 and paragraph teach system 200 receives instructions from a source gNB to report measurements.), wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell (Fig. 5 step 510 and paragraph 60 teach Source gNB 110 transmits RRC signaling to configure CMR and other report configurations. The RRC signaling can include configuration report request 300 (e.g., a reportConfig) of FIG. 3, for low layer inter-cell mobility management. The configuration can request L1 measurements in a report, including but not limited to: L1-RSRP, a L1-RSRQ, or a L1-SINR. The report can be configured to be periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic, and the report can be configured to be transmitted to Source gNB 110 by an Uplink Control Information (UCI) signal. Fig. 9 step 970 and paragraph 85 teach the handover is successful. System 200 stops the confirmation timer and applies a new Timing Advance Group (TAG) associated with the new cell. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG to have wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell.);
receive, from the UE, a beam measurement report of the non-serving cell, wherein the beam measurement report is based on the configuration information (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 920 and paragraph teach system 200 transmits reports based on the instructions. For example, system 200 may transmit reports based on triggered signals from a source gNB or system 200 may transmit reports based on events that trigger reports. The reports include measurements of various TCI states (e.g., beams) corresponding to 5G wireless cells.);
transmit, to the UE, information on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indicating an activation of a TCI state of the non-serving cell, based on the beam measurement report (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 930 and paragraph 81 teach system 200 receives a new TCI state via MAC CE or DCI signaling.);
wherein the information on the TCI state indicates the UE to stop a time alignment timer associated with the TAG of the non-serving cell when the TAG is a primary TAG (PTAG) (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 970 and paragraph 85 teach the handover is successful. System 200 stops the confirmation timer and applies a new Timing Advance Group (TAG) associated with the new cell.).
KWON further teaches transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information on a non- serving cell, wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell (KWON, Fig. 14 step S1700 and paragraph teach UE receives secondary serving cell configuration information or the secondary serving cell configuration information and reorganized TAG configuration information from an eNB at step S1700. The secondary serving cell configuration information and the TAG configuration information may be received through one RRC connection reconfiguration procedure or different RRC connection reconfiguration procedures. In an embodiment, the TAG configuration information may be included in the secondary serving to cell configuration information.);
transmitting, to the UE, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order (KWON, Fig. 14 step S1725 and paragraph 198 teach The UE receives a PDCCH order from the eNB at step S1725.); and
performing a random access procedure on the non-serving cell based on the based on the configuration information (KWON, Fig. 14 step S1730 and paragraph 198 teach the UE sends a random access preamble to the eNB at step S1730.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG with KWON to have method performed by a base station associated with a serving cell in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information on a non- serving cell, wherein the configuration information includes information on a timing advanced group (TAG) of the non-serving cell; receiving, from the UE, a beam measurement report of the non-serving cell, wherein the beam measurement report is based on the configuration information; and transmitting, to the UE, information on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indicating an activation of a TCI state of the non-serving cell, based on the beam measurement report, wherein the information on the TCI state indicates the UE to stop a time alignment timer associated with the TAG of the non-serving cell when the TAG is a primary TAG (PTAG). Because both references teach handover from source cell to target cell based on TCI state and TAG of the target cell.
9. Claims 5, 10, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yushu ZHANG et al. (US 2022/0377622 A1), hereinafter ZHANG, in view of Ki Bum KWON et al. (US 2020/0205103 A1), hereinafter KWON and Icaro Leonardo DA SILVA et al. (US 2024/0023045 A1), hereinafter DA SILVA.
For claim 5, ZHANG and KWON teach all the limitations of parent claim 1. ZHANG and KWON do not explicitly teach wherein a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell.
However, DA SILVA explicitly teaches wherein a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell (DA SILVA, Fig. 10 and paragraph 77 teach the intercell aspect of Rel-17 refers to the case when these two TRPs are associated to different SSB(PCI)s.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG and KWON with a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell taught in DA SILVA. Because all the references teach handover based on TCI state and TAG, DA SILVA explicitly teaches a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell.
For claim 10, ZHANG and KWON teach all the limitations of parent claim 7. ZHANG and KWON do not explicitly teach wherein a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell.
However, DA SILVA explicitly teaches wherein a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell (DA SILVA, Fig. 10 and paragraph 77 teach the intercell aspect of Rel-17 refers to the case when these two TRPs are associated to different SSB(PCI)s.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG and KWON with a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell taught in DA SILVA. Because all the references teach handover based on TCI state and TAG, DA SILVA explicitly teaches a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell.
For claim 13, ZHANG and KWON further teach the UE of The UE of wherein the information on the TCI state is received via L1/L2 signaling (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 930 and paragraph 81 teach system 200 receives a new TCI state via MAC CE or DCI signaling. See also Fig. 1 step 130, Fig. 8 step 820 and paragraphs 70-77.), wherein the information on the TCI state includes: indication to initiate the random access procedure on the non-serving cell; and indication to stop the time alignment timer associated with the non-serving cell (ZHANG, Fig. 9 steps 930-970 and paragraphs 78-86. KWON, Figs. 10, 13 and paragraphs 154-165. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG and KWON to have wherein the information on the TCI state includes: indication to initiate the random access procedure on the non-serving cell; and indication to stop the time alignment timer associated with the non-serving cell. Because both references teach handover from source cell to target cell based on TCI state and TAG of the target cell.). ZHANG and KWON do not explicitly teach wherein a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell.
However, DA SILVA explicitly teaches wherein a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell (DA SILVA, Fig. 10 and paragraph 77 teach the intercell aspect of Rel-17 refers to the case when these two TRPs are associated to different SSB(PCI)s.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG and KWON with a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell taught in DA SILVA. Because all the references teach handover based on TCI state and TAG, DA SILVA explicitly teaches a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell.
For claim 16, ZHANG and KWON further teach the base station of claim 15, wherein the information on the TCI state is transmitted via L1/L2 signaling (ZHANG, Fig. 9 step 930 and paragraph 81 teach system 200 receives a new TCI state via MAC CE or DCI signaling. See also Fig. 1 step 130, Fig. 8 step 820 and paragraphs 70-77.), wherein the information on the TCI state includes: indication to initiate the random access procedure on the non-serving cell; and indication to stop the time alignment timer associated with the non-serving cell (ZHANG, Fig. 9 steps 930-970 and paragraphs 78-86. KWON, Figs. 10, 13 and paragraphs 154-165. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG and KWON to have wherein the information on the TCI state includes: indication to initiate the random access procedure on the non-serving cell; and indication to stop the time alignment timer associated with the non-serving cell. Because both references teach handover from source cell to target cell based on TCI state and TAG of the target cell.). ZHANG and KWON do not explicitly teach wherein a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell.
However, DA SILVA explicitly teaches wherein a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell (DA SILVA, Fig. 10 and paragraph 77 teach the intercell aspect of Rel-17 refers to the case when these two TRPs are associated to different SSB(PCI)s.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZHANG and KWON with a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell taught in DA SILVA. Because all the references teach handover based on TCI state and TAG, DA SILVA explicitly teaches a physical cell identity (PCI) of the non-serving cell is different from a PCI of the serving cell.
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412