DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 10-11, 15, 18, 23, 36-38, 42-43, 62-65, 89, 110 and 128 are pending and under examination
Claim(s) 154 and 161 are withdrawn from consideration.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1, 2, 6, 10-11, 15, 18, 23, 36-38, 42-43, 62-65, 89, 110 and 128 in the reply filed on 08/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups can be examined together without undue prosecutorial burden. This is not found persuasive because search burden is not an issue herein, since the instant case is a 371 national stage entry of a PCT case, and search burden is only applicable in restriction practice for applications which enter under, for example, 35 U.S.C. 111. See also, MPEP §801, which explicitly states that, “applications entering the National Stage under 35 U.S.C. 371 as a Designated or Elected Office in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office is covered in Chapter 1800.” Wherein Chapter 1800, and specifically, 1893.03 (d), clearly states that, “Examiners are reminded that unity of invention (not [US] restriction practice pursuant to 37 CFR 1.141 -1.146)) practice is applicable …in national stage applications submitted under 35 U.S.C. 371.” (Emphasis added). Therefore, an argument for rejoining groups on an alleged lack of undue search burden is not persuasive.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of
browser-executable code on page 54 line 25. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink
and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level
domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 10-11, 15, 18, 23, 36-38, 110 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US20190360044A1, EFD: Dec. 17, 2018).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses method for analyzing a target molecule from a sample, the method comprising:
contacting at least one target molecule in the sample with at least one probe, (e.g. Chen’s claim 45 (a)&(b) delivering proximity dependent probe to cells and links the bound probes)
probe comprises a target molecule binding domain; wherein the target molecule binding domain is capable of specifically recognizing the at least one target molecule in the sample; (e.g. Chen’s claim 45 (a) each proximity dependent probe comprises a target binding region configured to bind one or more target RNAs and a primer binding site region)
attaching the at least one probe to a sample-specific barcode to obtain a barcoded probe (e.g. Chen’s claim 45 (c) using combinatorial split-and-pool strategies, such as ligation, to add sequential barcodes to the linked proximity dependent probes to attach a unique barcode to the set of probes derived from single cells)
determining a composition of the barcoded probe; (e.g. Chen’s claim 45 (d)&(e) amplifying and sequencing barcode containing probes)
determining a presence and/or content of the at least one target molecule in the sample from the composition of the barcoded probe. (e.g. Chen’s claim 45 (e) quantifying target RNAs in each individual cell based at least in part on sequencing the resulting amplicons.)
Regarding claim 2, Chen further discloses the at least one target molecule comprises a protein, a nucleic acid molecule, a metabolite, and/or a lipid. (e.g. Chen’s claim 45-target is RNA)
Regarding claim 6, Chen further discloses the sample comprises at least one cell. (e.g. Chen’s claim 45 (a) delivering proximity dependent probe to cells)
Regarding claim 10, Chen further discloses the at least one cell is immobilized. (e.g. In some embodiments, the proximity dependent probes are delivered to a population of fixed cells [¶¶0083, 0089, 0098, 0122, 0198, 0349, 0369, 0373, 0421, 0435]).
Regarding claim 11, Chen further discloses at least one target molecule comprises a nucleic acid molecule (e.g. Chen’s claim 45-target is RNA)
wherein the target molecule binding domain comprises a single-stranded nucleic acid. (e.g. The targeting probe may be single stranded [¶0184])
Regarding claim 15, Chen further discloses a composition of the at least one target molecule is known. (e.g. Targeting probes are designed to hybridize specific known target such as GAPDH [¶0626])
Regarding claim 18, Chen further discloses the at least one probe further comprises a probe identity tag. (e.g. In some embodiments, the at least one targeting probe comprises a barcode. The barcode may comprise a unique molecular identifier. [¶¶0019, 0031, 0255, 0257])
Regarding claim 23, Chen further discloses contacting the at least one target molecule in the sample with two or more probes. (e.g. Chen’s claim 45 (c) using combinatorial split-and-pool strategies, such as ligation, to add sequential barcodes to the linked proximity dependent probes to attach a unique barcode to the set of probes derived from single cells)
Regarding claim 36, Chen further discloses the at least one target molecule in the sample is mRNA in a single cell, and the method does not comprise reverse transcription. (e.g. Example 12 shows probes hybridize to target mRNA and ligated to sensing oligonucleotides to form DNA sequencing constructs, which then subjected to PCR and sequencing. The process does not require reverse transcription of mRNA to cDNA [¶¶0554-0627 and Figs. 12-13])
Regarding claim 37, Chen further discloses at least one probe further comprises an amplification primer binding region. (e.g. the at least one targeting probe comprises a primer binding site. [¶¶0019, 0030])
Regarding claim 38, Chen further discloses at least one probe further comprises an oligonucleotide adapter. (e.g. In certain embodiments, the at least one targeting probe includes or is linked to sequencing adapters (for example, universal primer recognition sequences) [¶0248])
Regarding claim 110, Chen further discloses the at least one target molecule comprises a protein, wherein the target molecule binding domain comprises an antigen binding portion that specifically recognizes the protein. (e.g. Chen’s claim 54-55 and 108 discloses method comprises delivering DNA-tagged protein binding molecules, amplifying the DNA tags to generate sequencing amplicons and quantifying target protein abundance based at least in part on sequencing of amplicons.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Chen et al. and Marshall et al.
Claim(s) 42-43 and 62-65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US20190360044A1, EFD: Dec. 17, 2018) in view of Marshall et al. (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2020;117(52):33404-33413).
Regarding claims 42 and 65, Chen further discloses droplets containing beads; wherein the beads are linked to at least one primer of the primer pair. Additionally, at least one primer of the primer pair comprises a barcode sequence that uniquely identifies the individual discrete volume [Chen’s claims 53 and 61-63). However, Chen does not expressly establish relationships between the bead-bound PCR handle, the probe 5’ end, and the free primer.
Marshall discloses this arrangement. The bead oligo has a barcode followed by a 3′ priming region whose terminal sequence is “CTTACGGATGTTGCACCAGC”, the terminal sequence matches the beginning sequence of “readout” oligo ligated to probe’s 5’-end. Marshall also discloses a soluble indexing primer for opposite end amplification [Materials and Methods, “Initiator probes”, “Custom Barcoded Bead Design”, and “Generation of emulsions” sections, and Fig. 1B].
As of the application’ s effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement Chen’s bead based PCR using Marshall’s compatible barcoded primers to assign amplified probe products to their original cells. Chen already contemplates amplifying target bound probes in droplet using bead to deliver barcode primers. Marshall provided the practical implementation, and explicitly teaches the approach can test over 1,000 probes in a single experiment and scale to profile more than 100,000 single cells [Marshall’s Discussion] and described performing bead-based barcoding using a commercially available automated microfluidic droplet-maker [Marshall’s Result]. Hence a killed artisan would have been motivated to use Marshall’s method in Chen’s workflow to enable high-throughput processing. This modification represents (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as set forth in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 — 97 (2007) (MPEP § 2143, C, D).
Regarding claim 43, Marshall further discloses co-dispensing the at least one probe, the solid support attached with at least one PCR tag, and the free primer into a discrete compartment; and attaching the at least one probe with the sample-specific barcode. (e.g. To generate emulsions, first combined 12.5 µL 2× EvaGreen Supermix , 500 nM indexing primer, 2,000 cells and 20,000 barcoded beads in a 25-µL reaction follow by droplet PCR amplification to incorporate barcode [“Generation of emulsions” section])
Regarding claim 62, Marshall further discloses after obtaining the barcoded probe and before determining the composition of the barcoded probe, releasing the barcoded probe from the discrete compartment. (e.g. To break and clean the emulsions, one to four PCR wells were combined in a tube and 40 µL of 97% 1H,1H,2H,2H-Perfluoro-1-octanol (Sigma-Aldrich #370533) was added. The tubes were vortexed for 5s to ensure complete emulsion breakage and spun at 1,000 × g for 1 min. The top aqueous layer was carefully removed and cleaned with 1.8× SPRI beads according to manufacturer’s instructions. [“Generation of emulsions” section])
Regarding claim 63, Marshall further discloses after releasing the barcoded probe from the discrete compartment and before determining the composition of the barcoded probe, sequencing the barcoded probe to determine the composition of the barcoded probe. (e.g. Sequencing the HyPR-seq libraries on the MiSeq and NextSeq [“Sequencing” section]
Regarding claim 64, Chen and Marshal further disclose after determining the composition of the barcoded probe, determining the presence and/or content of the at least one target molecule from a number of the barcoded probes. (e.g. Chen’s claim 45 (e) quantifying target RNAs in each individual cell based at least in part on sequencing the resulting amplicons. Marshall teaches counting probes with PCR duplicates removal using UMIs [“HyPR-Seq Computational Pipeline” section])
Chen et al. and Mikkelsen et al.
Claim(s) 89 and 128 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US20190360044A1, EFD: Dec. 17, 2018) in view of Mikkelsen et al. (US20200239874A1, EFD: Feb. 22, 2018).
Regarding claims 89 and 128, Chen does not disclose the probe architecture recited.
Mikkelsen discloses a solid support attached with at least one oligonucleotide tag (e.g. nucleic acid barcode molecule attached to a bead may be attached to the bead [¶0164]),
wherein each of the at least one oligonucleotide tag comprises a first strand (e.g. nucleic acid barcode molecule 2022 [Fig. 20A-B below]) and a second strand (e.g. splint molecule 2021 [Fig. 20A-B below]),
wherein the first strand comprises the sample-specific barcode and a hybridization sequence at a 3′ end of the sample-specific barcode, wherein the second strand comprises a first portion complementary to the hybridization sequence of the first strand and a second portion complementary to a sequence of an oligonucleotide adapter in the at least one probe; wherein the first and second strands form a partially double-stranded structure (e.g. The barcode nucleic acid molecule 2022 comprises an adapter sequence 2028, barcode sequence 2026, and binding sequence 2024, which is complementary to binding sequence 2023 of splint molecule 2021. Splint molecule 2021 also comprises a region complementary to adapter/probe [0166 and Fig. 20A-B below].)
As of the application’ s effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Mikkelsen’s probe architecture in Chen’s method to facilitate hybridization and attachment of barcode oligo to probe’s adapter. Chen already uses oligo nucleotide probes and compartment specific barcoding, while Mikkelsen discloses a mean to bring the barcode and probe adapter together for ligation (using oligo 2021, i.e. the splint, which comprises two complementary regions that hybridize/bring probe adapter and barcode together). This modification represents (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results as set forth in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 — 97 (2007) (MPEP § 2143, A).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KHAI QUYNH TIEN PHAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/JEREMY C FLINDERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684