DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 13, & 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the acoustic impedance of a region that is outside the frame structure" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 refers to “an acoustic impedance of an effective resonance region that is outside the frame structure,” but it is not clear if “the acoustic impedance” as per claim 11 is the same as that referred to above in claim 1. As such, it is not clear which acoustic impedance that is outside the frame structure (as the invention discloses multiple components with acoustic impedances outside of the frame structure) is referred to by the limitation of claim 11.
Claim 13 recites the limitation " the cavity" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 12 refers to “a Bragg reflection layer or a cavity” in the alternative, but does not positively cite “a cavity” to provide antecedent basis for “the cavity” of claim 13. For proper antecedent basis, claim 12 or claim 13 must positively cite the presence of “a cavity” to be referred to as “the cavity.”
Claims 18 & 19 cite the limitation “an uneven structure on the uneven structured surface thereof and an uneven structure on the uneven structured surface of the first material layer are arranged alternatively.” It is not clear what is meant by the phrase “arranged alternatively.” The phrase is mention in the specification without further elaboration, but is not specifically shown in the figures in a way as to clarify the meaning of the phrase. It is not clear if the arrangement of each uneven structure are provided as alternatives as in a choice or alternate as in occurring or succeeding by turns, thus rendering the claims indefinite.
Claims 4, 11, & 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In claim 1, a limitation is provided that the frame structure comprises “a second passivation layer, a first material layer, and a first passivation layer,” provided in the limitation as three separate components. The limitation of claim 4 provides the first material layer and the second passivation layer “fabricated as/from a same layer,” effectively removing the requirement of three separate components as required per claim 1, thus failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
As per claim 11, claim 1 cites the limitation “an acoustic impedance of an effective resonance region corresponding to the frame structure is greater than an acoustic impedance of an effective resonance region that is outside the frame structure,” which is similar to the limitation of claim 11 wherein “the acoustic impedance of the effective resonance region corresponding to the frame structure is no less than the acoustic impedance of a region that is outside the frame structure.” While not exactly the same, the limitation of claim 1 is narrower than that of claim 11, such that the limitation of claim 11 is met by the limitation of claim 1. Therefore claim 11 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1.
As per claim 15, claim 14 provides a similar situation to that of claim 1, wherein a first dielectric layer with a second dielectric layer are provided with a third material layer arranged between the first and second dielectric layers, such that the limitation of claim 15 wherein “the first material layer and the first dielectric layer are fabricated as/from a same layer” conflicts with the stated limitation of claim 14, and thus fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 10-12, & 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yen et al. (US PGPub 20200373908)
As per claim 1:
Yen et al. discloses in Figs. 9 & 5:
A bulk acoustic resonator, comprising:
a substrate (810);
a bottom electrode (502/802), a piezoelectric layer (503/803), and a top electrode (501/801) that are stacked above the substrate;
an acoustic reflection structure (Bragg mirror 821), arranged between the substrate and the bottom electrode, wherein an overlapping region of the bottom electrode, the piezoelectric layer, the top electrode, and the acoustic reflection structure is configured as an effective resonance region of the bulk acoustic resonator (active region plus borders, as seen in Figs. 5 & 9); and
a frame structure (layers above electrode 801 in border region 912 in Fig. 9, corresponding to acoustic reflector 520 and protective overcoat 822), arranged at an edge of the effective resonance region, wherein the frame structure comprises a second passivation layer (protective overcoat 822), a first material layer (flat conductive member 524), and a first passivation layer (flat dielectric layer 521) that are stacked above the top electrode;
one end of the frame structure is located within the effective resonance region, another end of the frame structure extends at least to the edge of the effective resonance region to align with the edge (as seen in Fig. 5), and an acoustic impedance of an effective resonance region corresponding to the frame structure is greater than an acoustic impedance of an effective resonance region that is outside the frame structure (acoustic mirror 520 comprises Tungsten, ~101 MRayls vs the piezoelectric layer being AlN [0032] and having an acoustic impedance of ~36 MRayls).
As per claim 5:
Yen et al. discloses in Figs. 9 & 5:
the frame structure further comprises a second material layer (flat conductive member 523) arranged between the first material layer and the first passivation layer.
As per claim 6:
Yen et al. discloses in Figs. 9 & 5:
the second material layer is made of a material different from a material of the first passivation layer and different from a material of the second passivation layer ([0035 & 0043]).
As per claim 7:
Yen et al. discloses in Figs. 9 & 5:
the second material layer is made of a metal material ([0035]).
As per claim 10:
Yen et al. discloses in Figs. 9 & 5:
an acoustic impedance of the second passivation layer is greater than an acoustic impedance of the first passivation layer (SiN, [0043] with acoustic impedance ~20 MRayls, vs Silicon oxide [0035], ~13 MRayls).
As per claim 11:
Yen et al. discloses in Figs. 9 & 5:
the acoustic impedance of the effective resonance region corresponding to the frame structure is no less than the acoustic impedance of a region that is outside the frame structure (acoustic mirror 520 comprises Tungsten, ~101 MRayls vs the piezoelectric layer being AlN [0032] and having an acoustic impedance of ~36 MRayls).
As per claim 12:
Yen et al. discloses in Figs. 9 & 5:
the acoustic reflection structure is a Bragg reflection layer or a cavity (Bragg mirror 821).
As per claim 16:
Yen et al. discloses in Figs. 9 & 5:
an upper surface of the first material layer is configured as an uneven structured surface (Fig. 9 discloses the outer edges of the first material layer taper off, thus being uneven).
As per claim 17:
Yen et al. discloses in Figs. 9 & 5:
an upper surface of the second material layer is configured as an uneven structured surface (Fig. 9 discloses the outer edges of the second material layer taper off, thus being uneven).
As per claims 18 & 19 (as best understood):
Yen et al. discloses in Figs. 9 & 5:
an upper surface of a part of the first passivation layer corresponding to the first material layer is configured as an uneven structured surface (as seen in Fig. 9, wherein the layers forming Bragg mirror 920 spread beyond the edges of the resonator with uneven surfaces), an uneven structure (additional layers above the first passivation layer) on the uneven structured surface thereof and an uneven structure on the uneven structured surface of the first material layer are arranged alternatively (one above the other).
As per claim 20:
Yen et al. discloses in Figs. 9 & 5:
A method for manufacturing a bulk acoustic resonator, comprising:
providing a substrate (810);
sequentially forming a bottom electrode (502/802), a piezoelectric layer (503/803), and a top electrode (501/801) on the substrate and forming an acoustic reflection structure (Bragg mirror 821) between the substrate and the bottom electrode, wherein an overlapping region of the bottom electrode, the piezoelectric layer, the top electrode and the acoustic reflection structure is configured as an effective resonance region of the bulk acoustic resonator (active region plus borders, as seen in Figs. 5 & 9);
forming a frame structure (layers above electrode 801 in border region 912 in Fig. 9, corresponding to acoustic reflector 520 and protective overcoat 822) at an edge of the effective resonance region, wherein the frame structure comprises a second passivation layer (protective overcoat 822), a first material layer (flat conductive member 524), and a first passivation layer (flat dielectric layer 521) that are sequentially formed above the top electrode, one end of the frame structure is located within the effective resonance region, another end of the frame structure extends at least to the edge of the effective resonance region to align with the edge (as seen in Fig. 5), and an acoustic impedance of an effective resonance region corresponding to the frame structure is greater than an acoustic impedance of an effective resonance region that is outside the frame structure (acoustic mirror 520 comprises Tungsten, ~101 MRayls vs the piezoelectric layer being AlN [0032] and having an acoustic impedance of ~36 MRayls).
As per claim 21:
Yen et al. discloses in Figs. 9 & 5:
A filter ([0072]), comprising the bulk acoustic resonator according to claim 1 (as rejected above).
As per claim 22:
Yen et al. discloses in Figs. 9 & 5 & 16:
An electronic device (SOC 1600), comprising the bulk acoustic resonator according to claim 1 (as rejected above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen et al. (US PGPub 20200373908)
As per claim 13:
Yen et al. discloses in Fig. 13 the use of a cavity (released volume 1321) above a substrate (1310) in place of a lower acoustic reflector ([0049]).
Yen et al. does not disclose in Figs. 5 & 9
A cavity is arranged inside the substrate or above the substrate.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the lower acoustic reflector of Fig. 9 of Yen et al. with a cavity inside or above the substrate as an art-recognized alternative/equivalent acoustic reflector as is well understood in the art and as described by Yen et al. ([0049])
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen et al. (US PGPub 20200373908) in view of Pollard (US PGPub 20210143792).
As per claim 8:
Yen et al. does not disclose:
both the first passivation layer and the second passivation layer cover the effective resonance region.
Pollard discloses in Figs. 1 & 6:
The use of a first passivation layer (TiN) and a second passivation layer (DL) to cover an effective resonance region of bulk acoustic wave resonator (as seen in Fig. 1), wherein the first passivation layer is used as an etch stop to allow for patterning of additional material above the top electrode (TE) ([0042]) and the second passivation layer is used for device passivation and frequency fine-tuning ([0046]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
to provide the first and second passivation layers of Pollard et al. as the first and second passivation layers of Yen et al. to provide the benefit of providing an etch-stop layer to protect the top electrode from etching (such as in the formation of opening 911) and to provide the benefit of device passivation and frequency-fine tuning as taught by Pollard ([0042 & 0046]).
As per claim 9:
Yen et al. does not disclose:
the first passivation layer covers the effective resonance region, and the second passivation layer is arranged at the edge of the effective resonance region;
or the second passivation layer covers the effective resonance region, and the first passivation layer is arranged at the edge of the effective resonance region.
Pollard discloses in Figs. 1 & 6:
The use of a second passivation layer (DL) to cover an effective resonance region of bulk acoustic wave resonator (as seen in Fig. 1), wherein the second passivation layer is used for device passivation and frequency fine-tuning ([0046]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
to provide the second passivation layer of Pollard et al. as the second passivation layer of Yen et al. to provide the benefit of providing device passivation and frequency-fine tuning as taught by Pollard ([0046]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen et al. (US PGPub 20200373908) in view of Burak (US PGPub 20140354115)
As per claim 14:
Yen et al. discloses in Figs. 5 & 9:
The acoustic reflector 520 comprises a first dielectric layer (flat dielectric member 521) and a second dielectric layer (flat dielectric member 522), wherein the first dielectric layer is arranged between the nearest electrode (501) and the second dielectric layer;
a third material layer (flat conductive member 523) is arranged between the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer, and the third material layer is arranged at the edge of the effective resonance region, one end of the third material layer is located within the effective resonance region, another end of the third material layer extends at least to the edge of the effective resonance region to align with the edge (as seen in Fig. 5), and an acoustic impedance of an effective resonance region corresponding to the third material layer is greater than an acoustic impedance of an effective resonance region that is outside the third material layer (acoustic mirror 520 comprises Tungsten, ~101 MRayls vs the piezoelectric layer being AlN [0032] and having an acoustic impedance of ~36 MRayls).
Yen et al. does not disclose:
a first dielectric layer and a second dielectric layer, wherein the first dielectric layer is arranged between the bottom electrode and the second dielectric layer; a third material layer is arranged between the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer, and the third material layer is arranged at the edge of the effective resonance region, one end of the third material layer is located within the effective resonance region, another end of the third material layer extends at least to the edge of the effective resonance region to align with the edge, and an acoustic impedance of an effective resonance region corresponding to the third material layer is greater than an acoustic impedance of an effective resonance region that is outside the third material layer.
Burak discloses in Fig. 3:
The use of multi-interface frame patterns (150) that may comprise materials that are conductive and insulative ([0049]) at the edge of an effective resonance region of a bulk acoustic wave resonator (FBAR 300), wherein the frame patterns may be formed on the bottom electrode of a resonator in addition to the top electrode ([0098]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the acoustic reflector on the top electrode of Yen et al. to the bottom electrode as well as the top electrode as an art-recognized alternative/equivalent configuration for bulk resonator frame structures as taught by Burak ([0098]).
As a consequence of the combination, the combination discloses a first dielectric layer and a second dielectric layer, wherein the first dielectric layer is arranged between the bottom electrode and the second dielectric layer; a third material layer is arranged between the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer, and the third material layer is arranged at the edge of the effective resonance region, one end of the third material layer is located within the effective resonance region, another end of the third material layer extends at least to the edge of the effective resonance region to align with the edge, and an acoustic impedance of an effective resonance region corresponding to the third material layer is greater than an acoustic impedance of an effective resonance region that is outside the third material layer.
Conclusion
/Samuel S Outten/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843