Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings The drawings are objected to because : Figures 1-14C have poor line quality such that they would result in unsatisfactory reproduction characteristics. See 37 CFR 1.84(L). The lines are faint, gray, and light. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 recites “ (to define ” . There appears to be a typo. Claim 26 recites “ a ground engagement member (400) ”. Applicant is requested to review whether inclusion of the reference numeral is intended . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 19-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites “ a body comprising a plurality of interconnected cells ”. However, the cells care closed (see e.g. Fig 1 and claim 22 ) . It is unclear what applicant means by interconnected. The cells are not connected or joined, but rather discrete and closed. Claims 20-32 are rejected for depending from an indefinite claim. Claim 25 recites “the end cells”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for the claim limitation. Claim 25 recites “the end cells […] are of substantially semi-circular shape ”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for the claim limitation. Shape 130, see e.g. Fig 1, is not “semi-circular” if semi-circular is intended to refer to a semi-circle (i.e. a half circle). It is unclear what “substantially semi-circular” is intended to mean in view applicant’s disclosure. Claims 26 is rejected for depending from an indefinite claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 19-26 and 28-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni ( CN 105672086 A ) , in view of Rosier ( US 20170137999 A1 ) . Regarding claim 19, Ni as modified teaches a structural surface enhancing panel comprising: a body (Fig 1, body 1) comprising a plurality of interconnected cells (Fig 1-2, cells 3) ; a first plurality of arms which extend along a first side of the body and which are coupled at a proximal end thereof to the first side of the body (Fig 2, arms indicated at 4 on the side with reference numeral 4) , and a second plurality of arms which extend along a second side of the body and which are coupled at a proximal end thereof to the second side of the body (Fig 2, arms on the opposite side of reference numeral 4 i.e. the same structure as the first plurality of arms, but on the opposing side ) ; the arms of the first plurality of arms being separated along the first side to define a first plurality of receiving portions therebetween (Fig 1-2, void between the arms 4 ) ; the arms of the second plurality of arms being separated along the second side to define a second plurality of receiving portions therebetween (Fig 1-2, void between the arms 4) ; wherein a distal end of at least a portion of the first plurality of arms of the panel is arranged to locate within a respective second plurality of receiving portions of a further panel (Fig 1-2, the “far” end of 4/furthest away from main body 1 is able to be located in a receiving portion of another panel). While Ni teaches a coupling feature between panels (Fig 1-2, feature 4), Ni is silent on wherein a distal end of the arms of the first and second plurality of arms comprise a bore; wherein the bores formed in the first plurality of arms are colinearly orientated along a first axis to define a first channel for receiving a connecting member; wherein the bores formed in the second plurality of arms are colinearly orientated along a second axis to define a second channel for receiving a connecting member; wherein the panel body further comprises a first and second end, at least one of the ends comprises a pivotable closure means, the pivotable closure means configurable bet ween a position closing the first or second channel and an open position allowing access for the connecting member to pass into the first or second channel. Rosier teaches wherein a distal end of the arms of the first and second plurality of arms comprise a bore (Fig 2-3, middle flanges/arms at hinge 20 /22 have a bore for a connector, as seen) ; wherein the bores formed in the first plurality of arms are colinearly orientated along a first axis to define a first channel for receiving a connecting member (Fig 2-3, middle flanges/arms at hinge 20 have a bore for a connector, as seen . They are colinear . Axis is B ); wherein the bores formed in the second plurality of arms are colinearly orientated along a second axis to define a second channel for receiving a connecting member (Fig 2-3, middle flanges/arms at hinge 2 2 have a bore for a connector, as seen. They are colinear . Bore is B’. Note this is a modification to Ni ) ; wherein the panel body further comprises a first and second end (Fig 3, left most and right most sides seen; note as a modification to Ni, this would be the opposing ends of each side with feature 4) , at least one of the ends comprises a pivotable closure means (Fig 3, left most flanged feature of hinge, not this is smaller and different than the element drawn to the arms) , the pivotable closure means configurable between a position closing the first or second channel and an open position allowing access for the connecting member to pass into the first or second channel (Para 0034, the members are flexible and capable of being pivoted/bent into the aligned and unaligned state) . It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Ni by having the coupling flanges contain bores for a connecting rod with the additional pivoting closure means as disclosed by Rosier because it would allow for the individual panels to be effective retained together and stored/transported in a coupled state, as seen in e.g. Fig 2. Regarding claim 20 , Ni as modified teaches wherein the first and second axis are substantially parallel (Fig 2-3 of Ni, Fig 3 of Rosier, the axis as defined B/B’ are parallel) . Regarding claim 21 , Ni as modified teaches wherein the connecting member comprises a substantially rigid elongate body (Fig 2-3 of Rosier, Para 0011) . Regarding claim 22 , Ni as modified teaches wherein the plurality of interconnected cells are closed cells (Fig 1-2, cells 3 are closed ) . Regarding claim 23 , Ni as modified teaches wherein first and second plurality of arms define open side cells, the open side cells become closed when the panel is coupled with a further panel on a side adjacent to the side cells (Fig 2-3 of Ni, the voids are open and then would be closed when another element is inserted therein, see also Fig 3 of Rosier) . Regarding claim 24 , Ni as modified teaches wherein the plurality of interconnected cells are hexagonally shaped cells (Fig 1-2 of Ni, hexagonally shaped) . Regarding claim 25 , Ni as modified teaches wherein the end cells adjacent to a first and second end of the panel are of substantially semi-circular shape (Fig 2, circle 5/6) . Regarding claim 26 , Ni as modified teaches wherein the end cells adjacent to the first and second ends of the panel are configured to receive a ground engagement member (400) to releasably secure the panels to a surface (Fig 2, ground engagement member 2 received in 5/6) . Regarding claim 28 , Ni as modified teaches detachably coupled to one or more panels to form a deployable roadway ( Fig 1 , Abstract of Ni,) . Regarding claim 2 9, Ni as modified teaches modular platform assembly suitable for use as a portable deployable roadway, the platform assembly comprising: at least a first and second structural surface enhancing panel according to claim 19 (Fig 1, Abstract of Ni, top and bottom panels of Fig 1 as seen, see parent claim ) ; and at least one connecting member for detachably coupling one panel with another (Fig 2-3 of Rosier, Para 0011) . Regarding claim 30 , Ni as modified teaches a kit of parts comprising at least a first and second structural surface enhancing panel according to claim 19 (Fig 1, Abstract of Ni, top and bottom panels of Fig 1 as seen , see parent claim ) and at least one connecting member for detachably coupling one panel with another (Fig 2-3 of Rosier, Para 0011) , the panels configured to be moveable between a storage configuration, wherein said panels are detached from one another (Fig 2-3 of Rosier, Para 0011 , capable of being detached ) , and a surfacing configuration wherein said panels are coupled together at respective adjacent sides (Fig 2-3 of Rosier, Para 0011) . Regarding claim 31 , Ni as modified teaches kit of parts according to claim 30, further comprising one or more ground engagement members to releasably secure the panels to a ground surface (Fig 2, ground engagement member 2 received in 5/6) . Regarding claim 32 , Ni as modified teaches portable deployable roadway comprising a plurality of structural surface enhancing panels according to claim 19 (Fig 1, Abstract of Ni, top and bottom panels of Fig 1 as seen, see parent claim) and a plurality of connecting members for detachably coupling one panel with another (Fig 2-3 of Rosier, Para 0011) , wherein the portable deployable roadway is reconfigurable between rolled configuration comprising a cylindrical bale (Fig 2 of Rosier) and an unrolled configuration comprising an elongate roadway (Fig 3 of Rosier) . Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni (CN 105672086 A), in view of Rosier (US 20170137999 A1) , in view of Sambre ( FR 1067377 A – supplied by applicant) . Regarding claim 27 , Ni as modified teaches panel according to claim 19, wherein the cells extend from a top face of the panel to a ground face of the panel (Fig 2, top and bottom of cells 3) . Ni is silent on the cells have a cell body which tapers from a greatest perimeter at the ground face of the panel to a narrowest perimeter at the top face of the panel. Sambre teaches the cells have a cell body which tapers from a greatest perimeter at the ground face of the panel to a narrowest perimeter at the top face of the panel (Fig 5, cells have a tapered structure as seen, please note that the respective faces can be selectively defined so that the limitation is met) . It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Ni by having the recited cellular taper structure as disclosed by Sambre because it is a structure which allows for it to “adapt to the unevenness of a floor that is not perfectly flat” (Page 4 of translation). Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT THEODORE N YAO whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8745 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT typically 8am-4pm ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT TARA SCHIMPF can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-7741 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THEODORE N YAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676