DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 cites “a first end of each of the pole ears is fixedly connected with the anode plate or the cathode plate” in lines 3-4 encompasses an embodiment in which both of the pole ears is connected to the same anode or cathode plate, which would not make sense and does not appear to be taught in the Specification. Clarification requested. Suggested amendment: “wherein a first end of a first of the two pole ears is fixedly connected with the anode plate and a first end of a second of the two pole ears is fixedly connected with the cathode plate”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 113285268) (cited by Applicant) in view of Lu, S. et al. “A Primary Study on the Security of Lithium Ion Phosphate Battery and Its Detection Methods”, Journal of Inspection and Quarantine, Vol. 24, No. 06, 20 Dec. 2014 (2014-12-20), pgs 27-28, Fig. 1) (cited by Applicant) and Depa (CN 108712877).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a battery shell integrated analyte detection device, (Figs. 1-3; Abstract) which comprises: a bottom case (10) used for mounting on a skin surface of a user; a sensor (113) assembled on the bottom case for detecting analyte parameter information in a body of the user; a transmitter (12) electrically connected with the sensor for transmitting the analyte parameter information to external equipment; a battery cavity located within the transmitter (12) (See Figs. 2-3; Page 11, last 3 lines, Page 12, lines 1-4, the battery is located within the transmitter 12, hence the battery cavity would also be located within the transmitter 12 so that the analyte detection device is integrated with the battery case.)
However, Yang does not specifically teach “wherein the battery cavity comprises a cavity shell, a diaphragm, electrolyte, an anode plate, a cathode plate and two pole ears, the cavity shell comprises an upper cover shell and a lower shell, the lower shell is integrated with a shell of the transmitter”.
Lu, in a related field of endeavor, teaches (See Fig. 1; Page 1, 2.1 Working Principle of Machine Translation).
Lu discloses a lithium iron phosphate battery which includes the positive pole, the negative pole, the electrolyte, the diaphragm, the positive lead, the negative lead, the pole ears, the center terminals, insulating materials, safety valves, sealing rings, power transmitter cylinder (PTC), and the shell. The battery is sealed by a metal shell, aluminum-plastic composite film or plastic shell. (Fig. 1; Page 1 of Machine Translation)
Depa, in a related field of endeavor, teaches an analyte detection instrument (Figs. 1, 2C) comprising a battery cavity (37) comprising a cavity shell, the cavity shell comprises an upper cover shell (38) and a lower shell (bottom part of compartment 37), the lower shell is integrated with a shell (12) of the transmitter (plug 20 of test strip reader 10). (See Fig. 2C).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the structure of Yang to teach “wherein the battery cavity comprises a cavity shell, a diaphragm, electrolyte, an anode plate, a cathode plate and two pole ears” as taught by Lu, “the cavity shell comprises an upper cover shell and a lower shell, the lower shell is integrated with a shell of the transmitter” as taught by Depa. Doing so provides a protected placement area for the battery.
Regarding claim 5, Yang does not teach “wherein material of the cavity shell material is one of PE, PP, HDPE, PVC, ABS, PMMA, PC, PPS or PU.”
Depa teaches wherein material of the cavity shell material is one of PE, PP, HDPE, PVC, ABS, PMMA, PC, PPS or PU (Page 7, lines 14-16 cavity shell material is formed of plastic or other suitable material).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the structure of Yang to teach “wherein material of the cavity shell material is one of PE, PP, HDPE, PVC, ABS, PMMA, PC, PPS or PU” as taught by Depa. Doing so provides a lightweight biocompatible material to house the device.
Regarding claim 12, Yang teaches a connector (114), which comprises at least two conductive zones and an insulating zone arranged alternately for using as an electrical connection medium for the sensor and the transmitter. (Page 16, lines 19-24).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Depa and Lu, further in view of Ogata (US 20200194749).
Regarding claim 2, Yang as modified does not teach “wherein an electrolyte insulation layer is arranged inside the cavity shell”.
Ogata, in a related field of endeavor, teaches wherein an electrolyte insulation layer is arranged inside the cavity shell (Paragraph [0028] the electrically conductive and thermally conductive material for the housing 105 of the battery cell 100).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the structure of Yang as modified to teach “wherein an electrolyte insulation layer is arranged inside the cavity shell” as taught by Ogata. Doing so provides electrical conductivity or thermal conductivity for the housing. (Paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Yang as modified does not teach “wherein the electrolyte insulation layer is made of TPE or PET material”.
Ogata, in a related field of endeavor, teaches wherein the electrolyte insulation layer is made of TPE or PET material. (Paragraph [0028]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the structure of Yang as modified to teach “wherein the electrolyte insulation layer is made of TPE or PET material” as taught by Ogata. Doing so provides electrical conductivity or thermal conductivity for the housing. (Paragraph [0028]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Depa and Lu, further in view of Yokoyama (WO 2010032484).
Regarding claim 4, Yang as modified does not teach “wherein a thickness of the electrolyte insulation layer is 300-500um”.
Yokoyama, in a related field of endeavor, teaches (Figs. 4-5) a battery storage unit (12) comprising battery (13) and an insulating layer (16a), wherein a thickness of the electrolyte insulation layer is 300-500um. (Page 6, line 8).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the structure of Yang as modified to teach “wherein a thickness of the electrolyte insulation layer is 300-500um” as taught by Wolfe. Doing so provides a sufficient thickness for the insulation layer. (Page 6, lines 8-10).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Depa and Lu, further in view of Wolfe (CN 102803947).
Regarding claim 6, Yang as modified does not teach “wherein a connection between the upper cover shell and the lower shell is coated with sealant”.
Wolfe, in a related field of endeavor, teaches an analyte sensor (Fig. 4) comprising a battery (210) in housing (206) wherein a connection between the upper cover shell (214) and the lower shell (216) is coated with sealant (Paragraph [0136] silicone sealant).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the structure of Yang as modified to teach “wherein a connection between the upper cover shell and the lower shell is coated with sealant” as taught by Wolfe. Doing so provides a waterproof seal that prevents moisture in other plastic material. (Paragraph [0136]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Depa and Lu, further in view of Itoi (CN 102549803).
Regarding claim 7, Yang as modified does not teach “wherein the cavity shell is also provided with two through-holes, a first end of each of the pole ears is fixedly connected with the anode plate and a second end of each of the pole ears is fixedly connected with the cavity shell through one of the through-holes”.
Itoi teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the cavity shell (311) is also provided with two through-holes (See Fig. 2 holes 311), a first end (annotated Fig. 2 below) of each of the pole ears (Paragraph [0035]) is fixedly connected with the anode plate (400) or the cathode plate (500), and a second end (annotated Fig. 2 below) of each of the pole ears is fixedly connected with the cavity shell through one of the through-holes. (See annotated Fig. 2 below).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the structure of Yang as modified to teach “wherein the cavity shell is also provided with two through-holes, a first end of each of the pole ears is fixedly connected with the anode plate and a second end of each of the pole ears is fixedly connected with the cavity shell through one of the through-holes” as taught by Itoi. Doing so enables an electrical connection between the battery, plates, and housing.
[AltContent: textbox (“second end” fixedly connected with the cavity shell )][AltContent: textbox (“first end” that connects to one of the plates)][AltContent: textbox (cavity shell with through-hole )]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Depa, Lu, and Itoi, further in view of Nobre (US 20200099231).
Regarding claim 8, Yang as modified does not teach “wherein each of the pole ears also comprises a wire, a first end of the wire is fixedly connected with the second end of the pole ear, and a second end of the wire is electrically connected with an internal circuit”.
Nobre, in a related field of endeavor, teaches a charger case for wearable devices comprising a battery (138) wherein each of the pole ears (positive and negative terminals) also comprises a wire (138a, 138b), a first end of the wire is fixedly connected with the second end of the pole ear, and a second end of the wire is electrically connected with an internal circuit (136). (See Fig. 4B; Paragraph [0059]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the structure of Yang as modified to teach “wherein each of the pole ears also comprises a wire, a first end of the wire is fixedly connected with the second end of the pole ear, and a second end of the wire is electrically connected with an internal circuit” as taught by Nobre. Doing so provides an electrical connection between the battery, plates, and housing.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Depa, Lu, and Itoi, further in view of Yasui (WO 2010098067).
Regarding claim 9, Yang as modified does not teach “wherein the first end of each of the pole ears is fixedly connected with the anode plate or the cathode plate through solder or solder paste.”
Yasui teaches a battery module (Fig. 7B) which comprises a battery unit (240), wherein the first end of each of the pole ears is fixedly connected with the anode plate or the cathode plate through solder or solder paste (Page 10, lines 23-32).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the structure of Yang as modified to teach “wherein the first end of each of the pole ears is fixedly connected with the anode plate or the cathode plate through solder or solder paste” as taught by Yasui. Doing so allows for strong, conductive, and reliable connections between electrical components.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Depa, Lu, Itoi, and Nobre further in view of Brister (WO 2009035773).
Regarding claims 10-11, Yang as modified Nobre teaches a connection between the second end of each of the pole ears and the one of the through-holes (See Fig. 4B; Paragraph [0059]), but does not teach wherein the connection “is coated with an insulating sealing material” (claim 10) and “wherein material of the insulating sealing material is one of hot melt adhesive or silica gel” (claim 11).
Brister, in a related field of endeavor, teaches a transcutaneous sensor contact assembly (Figs. 4a, 11b) comprising a mounting unit (14) comprising an electronic unit (16) with a contact (28) that fits within the elastomeric sealing portion (36), and forms an electrical connection between the sensor (32) and the electronic device unit (16). (Paragraph [0164]). In some embodiments, the sealing member can extend through an outlet port (126) above or below the plane of the adhesive layer surface, where separator seals such as silica gel are sandwiched between upper and lower sealing layers. (Paragraph [0306]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the connection of Yang as modified to such that it “is coated with an insulating sealing material” (claim 10) and “wherein material of the insulating sealing material is one of hot melt adhesive or silica gel” as taught by Brister. Doing so allows for secure seal to reduce or eliminate migration of other contaminants. (Paragraph [0306]).
Conclusion
/OM PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791