DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-10 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the upper cover body". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination the indefinite limitation has been deemed to claim “the upper cover shell”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the battery cavity". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination the indefinite limitation has been deemed to claim “a battery cavity”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20170290546 A1 to Antonio et al. (hereinafter, Antonio).
Regarding Claim 1, Antonio discloses an analyte detection device with circuit board and shell integration which comprises inter alia:
a bottom case (lower housing 1130) used for mounting on a skin surface of human skin a user (via adhesive patch 1200) ([0091] “The adhesive patch 1200 is below the components for attaching the sensing device to the skin of a user.”);
a sensor (sensors 1012A and 1012B) assembled on the bottom case for detecting analyte parameter information in a body of the user (via sensor elastomeric connector 1350 and locating posts 1326);
a transmitter module comprising a shell (interior lower wall 1135) and an electronic circuit (PCBA 1320) arranged on the shell ([0091] “The lower housing or shell 1130 with interior lower wall 1135 houses the electrical components…”), wherein the electronic circuit comprises at least one electronic component (antenna 1704) (see plurality of electrical components in FIG. 12), the electronic component at least comprises a transmitter antenna (antenna 1704), the transmitter antenna is used to communicate with an external equipment to send the analyte parameter information to the external equipment (antenna 1704 is capable of being used to communicate with an external equipment to send the analyte parameter information to the external equipment, as this is how antenna perform); and
a battery (batteries 1300) located in the bottom case (FIG. 12), wherein the battery is used to provide electric energy for the transmitter module ([0094] and [0095] describe power/pairing to preserve power in the batter to power the PCBA).
Regarding Claim 2, Antonio discloses the analyte detection device with circuit board and shell integration according to claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit (PCBA 1320) also comprises a substrate embedded in an inner side of the shell of the transmitter module (surface of PCBA 1320 which is surrounded and embedded within interior lower wall 1135), at least one electronic component comprises electronic components (see plurality of electrical components in FIG. 12), and the electronic components are fixed on the substrate (surface of PCBA 1320 holds and is fixed to all the electronic components as seen in FIG. 12, and surrounded and embedded within interior lower wall 1135).
Regarding Claim 3, Antonio discloses the analyte detection device with circuit board and shell integration according to claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit (PCBA 1320) is integrated with the shell of the transmitter module (surface of PCBA 1320 which is surrounded and embedded within interior lower wall 1135), at least one electronic component comprises electronic components (see plurality of electrical components in FIG. 12), and the electronic components are fixed on an inner side of the shell of the transmitter module (surface of PCBA 1320 holds and is fixed to all the electronic components as seen in FIG. 12, and surrounded and embedded within interior lower wall 1135).
Regarding Claim 19, Antonio discloses the analyte detection device with circuit board and shell integration according to claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit (PCBA 1320) also comprises an electrical contact that is electrically connected to the sensor to obtain the analyte parameter information ([0092] “The sensors 1012A and 1012B are attached to the PCBA 1320 using elastomeric connector 1350.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-9, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonio in view of in view of US 20180309168 A1 to Liao et al. (hereinafter, Liao).
Antonio discloses the analyte detection device with circuit board and shell integration according to claim 1, including (Claim 4 - Partial) where the cavity shell comprises an upper cover shell (top face of upper housing 1120, FIG. 11) and a lower shell (interior upper wall 1125 of upper housing 1120, FIG. 11), (Claim 5) wherein the upper cover body and/or the lower shell are integrally formed with the shell of the transmitter module (when the device as seen in FIG. 11 is fully assembled, all elements mate and are integral), (Claim 11) wherein a sealant is coated at a junction of the upper cover shell and the lower shell ([0102] “The sensors may extend from the housing/case via an opening in the lower housing and lower major wall, there being a seal separating the opening from an internal cavity of the case housing of the PCBA, said seal being held in compression between the upper and lower housings, wherein the back-to-back strips separate to a side-by-side relationship where they pass through the seal.”) and (Claim 12) wherein the sealant is one of hot melt adhesive or silica gel (Claim 15 of Antonio describes where the upper and lower housings are ultrasonically welded together).
Antonio discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing (Claim 4 - Partial) wherein the battery comprises a cavity shell, an electric core and electrolyte, and the electric core comprises a diaphragm, an anode plate, a cathode plate and two pole ears, (Claim 6) wherein an electrolyte insulation layer is arranged in the cavity shell, (Claim 7) wherein the electrolyte insulation layer is made of TPE or PET material, (Claim 8) wherein the electrolyte isolation layer is a film arranged on an inner wall of the cavity shell, (Claim 9) wherein a thickness of the layer is 300-500um, (Claim 10) wherein the electrolyte isolation layer is a closed shell independent of the cavity shell.
However, Takamura teaches under Chapter “Nickel-based batteries for medium and large-scale energy storage” at 4.3.1.2 Classification and FIG. 4.3 a battery including (Claim 4 - Partial) a cavity shell (as defined by the outer surfaces of the negative cap and positive cap), an electric core (space within and defined by the negative cap and the positive cap) and electrolyte (“…electrolyte is added…”), and the electric core comprises a diaphragm (“Separator” in FIG. 4.3), an anode plate (“Negative electrode” in FIG. 4.3), a cathode plate (“Positive electrode” in FIG.. 4.3) and two pole ears (proximal and distal ends of “Spring” in FIG. 4.3), (Claim 6) wherein an electrolyte insulation layer is arranged in the cavity shell (“…electrolyte is added…”) (Chapter Secondary Batteries – Nickel Systems, Button Cells “…electrolyte is poured, and a lid is crimped on the cup with a sealing O-ring.”).
One having an ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the battery of Antonio to have the battery specifics as taught by Takamura, as Takamura teaches under Chapter “Nickel-based batteries for medium and large-scale energy storage” at 4.3.1.2 Classification that such construction of a button battery is “routine”.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonio in view of in view Liao and further in view of CN 113540555 A Liu et al. (hereinafter, Liu).
Antonio in view of Liao teach the analyte detection device with circuit board and shell integration according to Claim 6, except for expressly disclosing (Claim 7) wherein the electrolyte insulation layer is made of TPE or PET material, (Claim 8) wherein the electrolyte isolation layer is a film arranged on an inner wall of the cavity shell, (Claim 9) wherein a thickness of the layer is 300-500um, (Claim 10) wherein the electrolyte isolation layer is a closed shell independent of the cavity shell.
However, Liu teaches a button cell battery type (Page 4 “…the battery 11 is a button type silver oxide battery…”) that includes insulation such as PET that is in a closed configuration (surrounded by elements 1a and 1b), where the PET thickness is 0.05mm to 0.15 mm (Page 6 “…the insulating gasket 31 is PET (polyethylene terephthalate) material with gum, or PVC (polyvinyl chloride, polyvinyl chloride) material, or PP (polypropylene) material, or PA (polyamide, polyamide) film. the thickness of the insulating gasket 31 is 0.01mm to 0.5mm, preferably the thickness is 0.05mm to 0.15mm…”). One having an ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the battery of Antonio in view of Liao with the electrolyte insulation layer is made of PET material with a thickness of 300-500um, as Liu teaches at Page 6 that this would have satisfied good processing quiet and would have realized better insulating properties (“…the thickness not only satisfies the good processing yield, but also can realize the better insulating property.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 (and Claims 14-18, which depend from Claim 13) are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SEAN P DOUGHERTY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791