DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/15/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 4/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden. This is not found persuasive because the inventions are distinct and there is a serious burden. Note that even though claim 13 is dependent on claim 1, it is a separate apparatus and does not require the elements of claim 1 and is just capable of being used with the tool body of claim 1.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:On page 1, line 21: REPLACE “US10201862 “ WITH – US Patent 10,201,862 --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:On line 17, DELETE “wherein” This change is necessary since flank face is part of the cutting insert and the word wherein makes the limitation not make sense. On line 4th to last line, DELETE “wherein”This change is necessary since the step of “coolant emerging from the outlet will pass..” is a result from the step preceding it, “when a cutting insert… is mounted..”. Addition of “wherein” disrupts and confuses the claimed steps.Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a cutting insert can be securely mounted formed in a transition”. It is unclear what “securely mounted formed” means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Prast (WO2021051145, machine translation relied on).
Re Claim 1, Prast discloses a tool body 20 for a milling tool having a central rotation axis around which the tool body is rotatable, the tool body comprising: a front end 22; a rear end 21; an envelope surface extending between the front end and the rear end (Fig. 4); a central recess extending from the rear end (Fig. 4) and [configured to receive coolant from a spindle of a machine]; at least one insert seat 23 [in which a cutting insert 1 can be securely mounted formed in a transition between the front end and the envelope surface; and at least one coolant passageway for passage of coolant from the central recess to an exterior of the tool body, wherein the coolant passageway includes a first portion extending from the central recess in an outward direction towards the envelope surface, and a second portion extending from the first portion to an outlet 26 in the exterior of the tool body (Fig. 4-5; pg. 7: “the various coolant outlets 26 are connected to an internal common coolant supply in the base body 20 in such a way that they are supplied with coolant via this.”), wherein the outlet is located in the insert seat and/or in the envelope surface behind the insert seat with respect to a rotation direction of the tool body (Fig. 4-5), and wherein the second portion of the coolant passageway is directed towards the insert seat such that, when a cutting insert having a cutting edge and a flank face is mounted in the insert seat such that the flank face faces outward with respect to the tool body, coolant emerging from the outlet will pass along the flank face towards the cutting edge, and wherein the second portion of the coolant passageway is a channel having a length that is greater than a width thereof (Fig. 4-5; pg. 7). The recitation in brackets [ ] is considered functional language. The reference discloses all the structural components of the apparatus, which read on those of the instant invention. Therefore, the device is capable of performing the same desired functions as the instant invention as claimed.
Re Claim 2, Prast discloses the outlet is located partly in the insert seat and partly in the envelope surface behind the insert seat with respect to a rotation direction of the tool body (Fig. 4-5; pg. 7).
Re Claim 3, Prast discloses the length of the channel is at least two times the width thereof (Fig. 4-5; pg. 7).
Re Claim 4, Prast appears to disclose the length of the channel is at most twelve times the width thereof (Fig. 4-5; pg. 7). Note that since the second portion constituting this channel can be chosen to be just a short portion of this channel, the reference implicitly discloses this limitation.
Re Claim 5, Prast discloses the channel is circular cylindrical and the width is a diameter of the channel (Fig. 4-5; pg. 7).
Re Claim 6, Prast discloses the channel is straight (Fig. 4-5; pg. 7).
Re Claim 8, Prast discloses the channel is directed in a forward direction (Fig. 4-5; pg. 7).
Re Claim 10, Prast discloses the first portion of the coolant passageway is directed in a rearward direction (Fig. 4-5; pg. 7).
Re Claim 11-12, Prast discloses the first portion of the coolant passageway is a blind hole having an end located at a distance from the envelope surface that is less than 10 mm, the channel extends from the end of the blind hole (Fig. 4-5; pg. 7). Note that since the second portion constituting this channel can be chosen to be just a short portion of this channel, the reference implicitly discloses this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prast in view of Kachler (US 10,201,862).
Re Claim 7, Prast does not disclose the channel extends at an angle of 80°-100° to a radial line of the tool body passing through a location from where the channel extends. However, Kachler teaches channel 56/46 extends at an angle of 80°-100° to a radial line of the tool body passing through a location from where the channel extends (Fig. 6; col. 7, lines 45-67). it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the channel at an angle of 80°-100° to a radial line, as taught by Kachler, in order to orient coolant against desired surfaces for improving temperature and thus service life of cutting inserts.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prast in view of Takiguchi (JP 2000 005924 A).
Re Claim 9, Prast does not explicitly disclose the channel extends at an angle of 20°-70° to a line parallel to the central rotation axis. However, Takiguchi teaches a channel 18 extends at an angle of 20°-70° to a line parallel to the central rotation axis (Fig. 1, 7). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the channel extending at an angle of 20°-70° to a line parallel to the central rotation axis, as taught by Takiguchi, in order to orient coolant against desired surfaces for improving temperature and thus service life of cutting inserts.
Conclusion
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799