DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1) belantamab mafodotin, 2) cevostamab, and 3) multiple myeloma in the reply filed on 7/1/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 11, 14, 16-19, 21-23, 30, 32-34, and 41 are pending.
Claims 21 and 22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/1/26.
Claim 33 is directed to the elected species of multiple myeloma and will be examined.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 11, 14, 16-19, 23, 30, 32-34, and 41 are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Only one period is allowed in a claim except for when used with abbreviations (MPEP §608.01(m)). The use of “a.” and “b.” in claim 1 does not appear to be an abbreviation and so should not be accompanied by a period. Further, if these are in fact abbreviations, it is not a common abbreviation and must be accompanied by the full name of what is being abbreviated at its first recitation.
Appropriate correction is required. While Applicant may choose any acceptable way to create a list, the Examiner notes that “a)” and “(a)” are both acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, 8, 30, 32-33, and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1-2) as being anticipated by Daley (WO2018201051; IDS 11/21/23 FOR citation 1).
Regarding claim 1, Daley teaches a bispecific antibody (antigen binding protein; ABP) that binds BCMA at one portion (BCMA antigen binding protein) and CD3 in another (CD3 antigen binding protein); see for example claim 1. See also figure 5 and the description on p.24, which measures a BCMA x CD3 bispecific antibody via a T-cell cytotoxicity killing assay. Thus, the bispecific antibody is a combination (two antigen binding proteins) comprising a BCMA ABP and a CD3 ABP. A composition that meets all of the structural requirements of the instant combination must necessarily have the same function as structure dictates function. Further, Daley uses a T-cell assay to measure the antibody, supporting the conclusion that the CD3 ABP is a “T cell engager”.
Regarding claim 2, the BCMA ABP is part of the bispecific antibody of Daley and therefore the BCMA ABP comprises an antibody. See also Daley claim 25 teaching the BCMA agent is an antibody.
Regarding claim 5, Daley teaches the antibody is afucosylated (claim 29).
Regarding claim 7, Daley teaches the BCMA x CD3 combination comprises SEQ ID NOs: 1118 and 1119 (table 26). These sequences contain the instant sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 1-6 at the relevant CDR positions.
Regarding claim 8, Daley teaches the BCMAxCD3 antibody comprises SEQ ID NOs: 1118 and 1119 (table 26). SEQ ID NO: 1118 comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 7 and Daley SEQ ID NO: 1119 comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 8.
Regarding claims 30, 32, and 33, Daley teaches administering the above antibody to treat multiple myeloma (claim 69, 70, 75).
Regarding claim 41, Daley teaches administering 1-25 mg/kg (p.152).
Therefore, claims 1-2, 5, 7, 8, 30, 32-33, and 41 are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 11, 14, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daley (WO2018201051; IDS 11/21/23 FOR citation 1) as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 7, 8, 30, 32-33, and 41 above, and further in view of Becnel (IDS 11/21/23 NPL citation 4).
The teachings of Daley are discussed above and incorporated herein.
With respect to the antibody, Daley teaches the antibody as multispecific (e.g., p.2 L33). Daley teaches the BCMA portion of this antibody comprises SEQ ID NOs: 1118 and 1119 as discussed above. Daley further teaches the antibody comprising SEQ ID NOs: 1120 and 1121, where SEQ ID NO: 1120 is 98% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 9 and Daley SEQ ID NO: 1121 comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 10. As above, Daley teaches this antibody in the treatment of multiple myeloma.
Becnel is also concerned with using BCMA antibodies to treat multiple myeloma (abstract). Becnel teaches belantamab mafodotin is approved for treatment of relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (abstract).
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to substitute the BCMA binding portion of the Daley antibody with belantamab mafodotin. Both the BCMA antibody of Daley and the BCMA antibody of Becnel are taught as effective for the treatment of multiple myeloma. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because both are taught as effective for the stated therapeutic purpose.
Regarding claim 9, the remarks filed 7/1/26 state that instant SEQ ID NOs: 9 and 10 are the sequences of belantamab mafodotin (p.5) and so the inclusion of belantamab mafodotin also meets these limitations. This also adds evidence to the reasonable expectation of success since the antibody of Daley is nearly identical to belantamab mafodotin with an identical light chain and 98% identity to the heavy chain including 100% identity to the variable region.
Regarding claim 11, Daley teaches conjugating the BCMA with MMAE (p.198). It would have been obvious to conjugate the multispecific antibody with MMAE to gain the same benefits, e.g., as a cytotoxic payload to treat cancer (Daley: “enhanced potency of BCMA antibody drug conjugates” p.199).
Regarding claim 34, administering the combination to treat multiple myeloma is taught as above. Further, Becnel teaches this applies to relapsed and/or refractory multiple myeloma as above. Such a teaching would have made treatment of RRMM obvious with a reasonable expectation of success since the construct is taught as treating MM and Becnel teaches the BCMA itself is approved to treat RRMM.
Regarding claim 41, the dosage is taught as above. Further, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP §2144.05(I). Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP §2144.05(II). “[I]t is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions” (MPEP §2144.05(II)(A)).
Therefore, claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 11, 14, 30, 32-34, and 41 would have been obvious.
Claim(s) 16-19 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daley (WO2018201051; IDS 11/21/23 FOR citation 1) as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 7, 8, 30, 32-33, and 41 above, and further in view of Cohen (form 892) as evidenced by Conference (form 892).
The teachings of Daley are discussed above and incorporated herein.
Cohen teaches the compound BFCR4350A targets FcRH5 and CD3 on T cells with the result of efficient immune synapse formation and T cell killing of myeloma cells (p.1). The compound demonstrates “potent killing of…patient-derived myeloma cells”.
It would have been obvious to combine the BCMAxCD3 therapeutic for treating myeloma with the FcRH5xCD3 therapeutic for treating myeloma because both are taught as effective for treating myeloma. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2144.06(I). As evidenced by Conference the compound BFCR4350A is also known as Cevostamab (p.1). Including Cevostamab meets the limitations of instant claims 16 (bispecific; binds FcRH5 and CD3), 17 (is cevostamab), 18 (binds FcRH5 and engages T cells), 19 (is cevostamab), and 23 (binds FcRH5 and engages T cells).
Therefore, claims 1-2, 5, 7, 8, 16-19, 23, 30, 32-33, and 41 would have been obvious.
Conclusion
/Adam Weidner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675